sniper on the roof
post Jun 23 2017, 02:49 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(observ @ Jun 23 2017, 02:32 PM)
If the revamp was meant to retain players, then setting Gym Raids to Level 35 and above will totally discourage all except the hard core players. It is no mean feat to dedicate so much time and effort to grind millions and millions of XP.

I for one may finally throw in the towel.
Beta only lah... they'll open up after this.
TSOM
post Jun 23 2017, 02:51 PM

2,145 posts

I miss the smoke to show that someone is battling at the gym ... sad.gif
hybridkit
post Jun 23 2017, 03:44 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 23 2017, 11:08 AM)
In summary... this update despite the bling new look and all... is quite boring.

- Decays too fast. defenders not challenging... just one big Ttar/D9 more or less clean sweep the whole lineup at least 1.5x if dodge. Takes waaaaay less resources to take down gym.

- Raids not out yet but regular gym doesn't encourage building strong mons since don't need strong ones to attack and all defenders become equally rubbish.

- Not rewarding. Battled whole morning for 2 coins. Previously blur blur also at least 10 coins.

- Encourages spoofing.

- The bugs but this will eventually be ironed out.

What I do like:

- Entering the battle... it showed my DB/DC D9 had won 600+ battles.  biggrin.gif

- Bling
You notice your charge bar and health bar jumping up and down?

Also when switch pokemon, it will switch back to the previous pokemon and back to the switched pokemon

I fought a DT / DClaw D9 just now, took me by surprise biggrin.gif
mulut99
post Jun 23 2017, 03:45 PM

5,258 posts

How to collect coins? It will automatically collect when the gym is down?
hybridkit
post Jun 23 2017, 03:47 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(mulut99 @ Jun 23 2017, 03:45 PM)
Yes, you will get a notification as well.
mulut99
post Jun 23 2017, 03:52 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 23 2017, 11:08 AM)
In summary... this update despite the bling new look and all... is quite boring.

- Decays too fast. defenders not challenging... just one big Ttar/D9 more or less clean sweep the whole lineup at least 1.5x if dodge. Takes waaaaay less resources to take down gym.

- Raids not out yet but regular gym doesn't encourage building strong mons since don't need strong ones to attack and all defenders become equally rubbish.

- Not rewarding. Battled whole morning for 2 coins. Previously blur blur also at least 10 coins.

- Encourages spoofing.

- The bugs but this will eventually be ironed out.

What I do like:

- Entering the battle... it showed my DB/DC D9 had won 600+ battles.  biggrin.gif

- Bling
Agree....not so fun and excited like last time. Play whole morning only got 1-2 coins. If the gym is near my house then ok la....everytime have to go out to feed the mons. If rain then how? Takan nak jaga gym sampai malam malam to earn a few coins? This idea not so good.

QUOTE(hybridkit @ Jun 23 2017, 03:47 PM)
Ohh...okok, thanks.

This post has been edited by mulut99: Jun 23 2017, 04:00 PM
TSthirty6whoisit
post Jun 23 2017, 03:55 PM

Guys, i've tried taking down a level 6 gym solo in a park near office. Tried out using 3 scenarios: - (1) Using my most powerful mons (cp higher than defender), (2) Using similar or slightly lower cp than the defender and (3) Using half the cp of the defender. All 3 does not significantly affect the quantum of "motivation" reduction. I wonder what the formula is to reduce motivation.

QUOTE(observ @ Jun 23 2017, 02:32 PM)
If the revamp was meant to retain players, then setting Gym Raids to Level 35 and above will totally discourage all except the hard core players. It is no mean feat to dedicate so much time and effort to grind millions and millions of XP.
I for one may finally throw in the towel.
Like what sniper said, still in beta. I would think the min limit is TL 5 (same like gym).
However, there is a possibility (not certainty) that they release the raids to different tainer levels based on the raid level. Still kinda sucks i know, but hang in there. Level up as much as you can and instead of using gyms / raids as motivation, use legendaries as motivation. (Note: I suspect they planned that legendaries will only be released to level 35 and above, why, i don't know).

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jun 23 2017, 02:51 PM)
I miss the smoke to show that someone is battling at the gym ... sad.gif
IKR... totally agreed. At least with smoke we can decide - help (if same team), fight a lower level gym (a diff team) standby to slot (if same team takes over). Selfish or not different matter. LOL...

Overall, although the graphics look nice, the game is still buggy. These are some of the issues i noticed since morning.

1) Death loop still exists.
2) Dodging is laggy, but able to dodge.
3) Defender avatar is too huge (for some mon), can't visually see when they wanna release charge move .
4) HP reduction of defender not accurate; similar with the charge bar of our charged move.
5) Defending team can add health (berries) while we are attacking.
6) After defeating entire gym, screen black outs before existing gym.
7) Time vs reward totally not worth it. To solo a level 6 gym and place 1 mon in is extremely time consuming.
8) Territorial gyms still exist; making # 7 tougher.
9) Overall, loading screen slow, phone heats up faster, sightings / nearby often go blank.

Unfortunately, that is what Niantic's plan is all along - "Cooperative Gameplay" - i.e. you need to gangbang. Solo = sorry.
I'm not saying i totally hate the new system, but i don't think many lower level players will be enticed to join / rejoin the game (unless they can play in a group), which i have to say is kinda sad. I might go over to the park nearby my place to check out the gym scene. I have 9 gyms near my house, 2 are in the next door high rise (private, rely on drift) while the rest are accessible. Lets see if there are more ppl playing.

mulut99
post Jun 23 2017, 03:57 PM

5,258 posts

If people attacking the gym.....feed feed feed also no use. I tried this morning. CP going down faster than feeding......then lose the gym. No good no good. If attacker comes in group....then wasting time & berries.

This post has been edited by mulut99: Jun 23 2017, 03:58 PM
sniper on the roof
post Jun 23 2017, 04:04 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(hybridkit @ Jun 23 2017, 03:44 PM)
You notice your charge bar and health bar jumping up and down?

Also when switch pokemon, it will switch back to the previous pokemon and back to the switched pokemon

I fought a DT / DClaw D9 just now, took me by surprise  biggrin.gif
Yeah.. buggy af now.

My first battle with the new system caused the app to crash after going through 5 mons.

QUOTE(mulut99 @ Jun 23 2017, 03:45 PM)
When ur defender gets knocked out and returns. Theres also a time delay and may not get notification.. my first few mons got notified but the last one dont have.

sniper on the roof
post Jun 23 2017, 04:11 PM

23,414 posts

I just discovered another hidden feature of the update!!

Its causing trainers motivation meter to decay faster than the pokemon.

I just dont feel incentivised to battle with buggy gym or power up as well since i may not get any coins since battling and whether that gym holds depends on spoofers feeding it and/or which the team's territory.

SUSfuzzy
post Jun 23 2017, 04:12 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Logged in after a long while since I saw the update. It's somehow laggy?

But my mon have been in a gym for the past 5 hours around KLCC gym perhaps thanks to the new system. It would have never survived even 30 mins in the old one.
TSthirty6whoisit
post Jun 23 2017, 04:15 PM

QUOTE(hybridkit @ Jun 23 2017, 03:47 PM)
I noticed that if return within 1 hour, no notification.

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 23 2017, 04:11 PM)
I just discovered another hidden feature of the update!!

Its causing trainers motivation meter to decay faster than the pokemon.

I just dont feel incentivised to battle with buggy gym or power up as well since i may not get any coins since battling and whether that gym holds depends on spoofers feeding it and/or which the team's territory.
Mind sharing?
hybridkit
post Jun 23 2017, 04:41 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(thirty6whoisit @ Jun 23 2017, 04:15 PM)
I received this notification

SUSfuzzy
post Jun 23 2017, 04:47 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Mind sharing?
Nope, got notification.
fkinmeng
post Jun 23 2017, 04:59 PM

6,373 posts

decided to stop solo gym, too time consuming for too little reward. sleep.gif
sniper on the roof
post Jun 23 2017, 05:01 PM

23,414 posts

Mind sharing?
Firstly... I was hyped just like everyone else but my first battle ended up with app crash. So first impression was bad.

And its awful for players in an area dominated by different team.

Like this morning I arrive at the office earlier because I tried to take this new gym nearby. Battled for awhile and then soome other likeminded folks arrived so we tok kok while battle.

1 guy was instinct while another 2 guy was valor like me. Battled for dunno how long di but mons keep getting topped up until all of us gave up. In the previous system, we would've long taken down a blissey stack di.

Then the battling itself feels boring and un-involving with health bar going up and down all the time. Didn't Niantic say they're not fixing the death loop as the update will fix it?

Death loop can be anticipated and worked around but the current state of gym battling is like the health bar/charge bar is going all over the place.. up and down. Never in any point of time I can be sure of how much damage I dealt or taken.

It's more frustrating rather than challenging.

Pls don't take it as bragging.. it's not...but I didn't even bother to pick attackers.. just autoselect and never once I felt that I need more than 2 mons to complete one round.

But its frustrating cos no matter how many times I clear the defenders... they just get fed berries and more defenders being added in.

Last time cheaters can stagnate gyms but even lowly solo players like myself could take them down but now can't even dent it.

By the way, that near office gym is still standing with the same mons inside and forever close to full motivation meter.

While my motivation meter is close to empty.

Oh.. and lastly... you know I don't really care about coins and I'm glad to shell out real $$ whenever I feel like it.

This update made me feel like I'm being made a fool... if the reduction from 10coins every 21 hours if you bothered to battle to 1 pokecoin per hour is not blatant enough.. now they selll max revives and max pots in the shop.

TSthirty6whoisit
post Jun 23 2017, 05:43 PM

QUOTE(hybridkit @ Jun 23 2017, 04:41 PM)
I received this notification
more than 1 hour.. U got 1 coin so got notification.
I collected quite a lot today. smile.gif
TSthirty6whoisit
post Jun 23 2017, 05:48 PM

sniper on the roof I totally agree. It doesn't matter How strong or how good you are. And whoever ones out with a best defender n best attacker list won't make any diff. If they were to tweak it and allow attackers to have a fighting chance, at least no complains.. Something like more motivation reduction based on cp of mon selected ( like how prescribing used to work).

They may have just killed off the game.
yeelong
post Jun 23 2017, 05:59 PM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(thirty6whoisit @ Jun 23 2017, 05:48 PM)
sniper on the roof I totally agree. It doesn't matter How strong or how good you are. And whoever  ones out with a best defender n best attacker list won't make any diff. If they were to tweak it and allow attackers to have a fighting chance, at least no complains.. Something like more motivation reduction based on cp of mon selected ( like how prescribing used to work).

They may have just killed off the game.
lol yeah, CP is the deciding factor instead of HP.. well played Niantic
kww
post Jun 23 2017, 06:14 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 23 2017, 05:01 PM)
Firstly... I was hyped just like everyone else but my first battle ended up with app crash. So first impression was bad.

And its awful for players in an area dominated by different team.

Like this morning I arrive at the office earlier because I tried to take this new gym nearby. Battled for awhile and then soome other likeminded folks arrived so we tok kok while battle.

1 guy was instinct while another 2 guy was valor like me. Battled for dunno how long di but mons keep getting topped up until all of us gave up. In the previous system, we would've long taken down a blissey stack di.

Then the battling itself feels boring and un-involving with health bar going up and down all the time. Didn't Niantic say they're not fixing the death loop as the update will fix it?

Death loop can be anticipated and worked around but the current state of gym battling is like the health bar/charge bar is going all over the place.. up and down. Never in any point of time I can be sure of how much damage I dealt or taken.

It's more frustrating rather than challenging.

Pls don't take it as bragging.. it's not...but I didn't even bother to pick attackers.. just autoselect and never once I felt that I need more than 2 mons to complete one round.

But its frustrating cos no matter how many times I clear the defenders... they just get fed berries and more defenders being added in.

Last time cheaters can stagnate gyms but even lowly solo players like myself could take them down but now can't even dent it.

By the way, that near office gym is still standing with the same mons inside and forever close to full motivation meter.

While my motivation meter is close to empty.

Oh.. and lastly... you know I don't really care about coins and I'm glad to shell out real $$ whenever I feel like it.

This update made me feel like I'm being made a fool... if the reduction from 10coins every 21 hours if you bothered to battle to 1 pokecoin per hour is not blatant enough.. now they selll max revives and max pots in the shop.
I agree with you. I think many trainers will feel the same. It's totally unplayable if you're in an area dominant by rival team with spoofer running riot.

Expect another gym "readjustment " from them soon.

31 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:52 AM