122 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

V1. Swiftlet Keeping-EVERYTHING About The Industry, Techniques, Tips, Tricks, Complaints etc

swifbuild
post Oct 23 2007, 12:27 PM

256 posts

birds 2 walet

This post has been edited by swifbuild: Jan 19 2008, 04:56 PM
skynest
post Oct 23 2007, 12:32 PM

40 posts

Dear farmers,

This week there are a numbers of break in into farm houses near selangor area, most of the cases they break in from the main door by opening the locks with master key. Those in the area near Kuala Selangor, Sabak Bernam, BB are hot spot as the gang is very active and also, rawang.

KELVINHENG
post Oct 23 2007, 02:58 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(skynest @ Oct 23 2007, 12:32 PM)
Dear farmers,

This week there are a numbers of break in into farm houses near selangor area, most of the cases they break in from the main door by opening the locks with master key. Those in the area near Kuala Selangor, Sabak Bernam, BB are hot spot as the gang is very active and also, rawang.
Dear Sky nest,

Thank you for your information, as i now just received 2 calls regarding this matter which happened in Teluk intanlast nite. I think this buglar are really familiar with swiftlets farming as they tookthe nestlike professional and even took all the eggs. So watch up ur farm and put on high alert...

Sincerely
Kelvin Heng

swifbuild
post Oct 23 2007, 05:45 PM

256 posts

hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhnnjkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by swifbuild: Jan 19 2008, 04:56 PM
skynest
post Oct 23 2007, 07:11 PM

40 posts

guys,
take a look at this website with photos of White Swiftlet and some videos shots that the CONsultant took when testing sites and one particular interesting video was taken at residential area, from the birds population, i guess the nests count should be around 500+.
The website is www.swiftnest.com
Enjoy.

swiftbuild is right, no matter how, if someone wants to steal from you, they will come no matter what.

The theft incident in XX(better don't name the place here) is on monday night. It started when my uncle nest house alarm was triggered. when we all went there to check on 11pm, everything was fine, but then we found that our neighbour nest house door was wide open with all padlocks unlock and placed on the floor nicely without any damaged. and we look inside the house (as all the doors were open), only one nest left. THen we check on the other nest houses, all are fine. we then proceed to call police and then we bought a lock to lock back our neighbour house. and you know what, next morning, we found out that another nest house door was wide open and look inside, only a few nests left. THE THIEF ACTUALLY DID NOT LEAVE THE PLACE AND WAITED THE POLICES AND US LEFT THE AREA,THEN THEY STRIKE AGAIN.
SO, TOTALED 2 HOUSES STOLEN.

ALL THOSE NEST HOUSES ARE WITHOUT ALARM. And if my uncle nest houses is not protected by alarm. I guess all the nest houses there will kena `sapu habis'.
ccheongf
post Oct 23 2007, 08:33 PM

13 posts

Hi to all experienced farmers. My intended farm is a pre war shop and i intended to install a ceiling before nailing the nesting planks.

Any one willing to comment or share which material is better, plywood ,abestos sheets or ceiling board. Please comment. Thks in advance.
Ryan_Cheng
post Oct 24 2007, 09:56 AM

QUOTE(KELVINHENG @ Oct 23 2007, 11:37 AM)
hi swiftbuild,

What you pointed out is true, basically i can't compare or give comment about how effectiveness of my product but ionly can said it is from natural ingredients include fish oil, eggs and other which i can't put it here.

I am happy to send anyone a sample of the product if interested.

Sincerely
kelvin heng
Hi Kelvin,

This post has been edited by Ryan_Cheng: May 8 2008, 07:17 AM
swifbuild
post Oct 24 2007, 02:49 PM

256 posts

[good work boy biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by swifbuild: Jan 19 2008, 04:57 PM
ccheongf
post Oct 24 2007, 07:55 PM

13 posts

Depends on yr budget.

The best I could said is pour concrete. Reason being= 1)thieves can't break concrete roof 2) Resist heat thus create a better cooling enviroment 3) Planks can easily nail to roof because the roof is strong.

Many are doing this now especially in K.Kuala S'gor area.

SwifBuild

+Thanks Swifbuild for your comment.

Will consider all recomendations. By the way how`s your farm`s progress ? Ready ? Still renovating ? Went around enquirying material to use. Came up with a rough caculation.The different is least RM 10K if we plan, design ,some DIY ,some help from professional to do the heavy construction. The $ saved is the consultation fees plus percentage made by contractors .

Added on October 24, 2007, 8:05 pm Calling all members. Could any one show a picture plus description of a dog kennel entrance? Many thanks.

This post has been edited by ccheongf: Oct 24 2007, 08:05 PM
skynest
post Oct 24 2007, 09:43 PM

40 posts

ccheongf,

I agreed that by DIY we can save on construction & consultation fees. But through my years of experience in swiftlet farming, i don't think 10K is sufficient (includes labour cost,material cost,wiring,electrical,water piping,SD card player,planks,insulation matarial & etc) & I'm a contractor myself with years of experience in both housing & factory construction.

But, then, they are those who try to save by cutting what they think is not necessary and try to build it at low budget. 10 out of 10, they have to do another renovation again,again and again.

eventhough we paid consultant fees but if you found a good one, it is worth every ringgit that you paid him.

While THey are a lot of CON-sultants in malaysia, and i knew most of them
. one in kelantan with ONE successful swiftlet farm purported owned by him which harvested purportedly RM60K a month( He will always advice you to wait for new birds to come, thats all he can do).
and one consultant from Ijok, who started with 3 shoplots in BB for almost 5 years and failed, had consulted so many unsuccessful farms that he don't dares to go to any coffee shops in sasaran, and mostly selangor area because he will be screw by his clients.
and one consultant from sitiawan, who drove merc after his mit storm was burned down by angry clients.
and one consultant from rawang, who supply low quality wood plank to clients and consultants ( meranti kuning as meranti merah).
and ......

it is just too many. and i don't blame you for thinking of DIY.

Added on October 24, 2007, 9:44 pmccheongf,

I agreed that by DIY we can save on construction & consultation fees. But through my years of experience in swiftlet farming, i don't think 10K is sufficient (includes labour cost,material cost,wiring,electrical,water piping,SD card player,planks,insulation matarial & etc) & I'm a contractor myself with years of experience in both housing & factory construction.

But, then, they are those who try to save by cutting what they think is not necessary and try to build it at low budget. 10 out of 10, they have to do another renovation again,again and again.

eventhough we paid consultant fees but if you found a good one, it is worth every ringgit that you paid him.

While THey are a lot of CON-sultants in malaysia, and i knew most of them
. one in kelantan with ONE successful swiftlet farm purported owned by him which harvested purportedly RM60K a month( He will always advice you to wait for new birds to come, thats all he can do).
and one consultant from Ijok, who started with 3 shoplots in BB for almost 5 years and failed, had consulted so many unsuccessful farms that he don't dares to go to any coffee shops in sasaran, and mostly selangor area because he will be screw by his clients.
and one consultant from sitiawan, who drove merc after his mit storm was burned down by angry clients.
and one consultant from rawang, who supply low quality wood plank to clients and consultants ( meranti kuning as meranti merah).
and ......

it is just too many. and i don't blame you for thinking of DIY.

This post has been edited by skynest: Oct 24 2007, 09:44 PM
ccheongf
post Oct 24 2007, 09:54 PM

13 posts

Thks Skynest for your comment.

It`s not 10K to set up the farm but the different in total cost done on my own compare to the total charges by the consultant. Put the RM 10K again to lure in the birds with high eng audio,high CDS, ETC. Got bettter chance or not ?

By the way any one to show pictures and descriptions on arrangement of ventilation pipes, the fresh air coming in and the hot air going out.THANKS.

And Skynest, mind sharing which type of insulation gives the best result cause your a contrator. TKS. blush.gif

This post has been edited by ccheongf: Oct 24 2007, 10:02 PM
skynest
post Oct 25 2007, 12:53 PM

40 posts

ccheongf,

if the differences of just 10K....i think you should get the consultant to do it for you. I have seen a lot of folk who DIY and end up renovate many times. it is not that simple as every think.....well experiences cost money...we all paid to gain the experinces...good luck!

insulation...many types...
swifbuild
post Oct 25 2007, 03:13 PM

256 posts

good luck whistling.gif

This post has been edited by swifbuild: Jan 19 2008, 04:58 PM
ccheongf
post Oct 25 2007, 04:26 PM

13 posts

Thank you Skynest and Swifbuild for your comments and opinions.

The consultant who talked to me has a farm himself and just collected 300 g nest begining of this month and there are some more nest currently occupied by eggs and baby birds.I think about 20 more nest uncollected.He took me to his farm the other day.. But he told me to wait about three years to see result.He waited about 3 years and so he told me to wait 3 years.

So ,is his farm cosidered successful or a failed farm? All comment welcome .

This post has been edited by ccheongf: Oct 25 2007, 05:00 PM
swifbuild
post Oct 25 2007, 06:52 PM

256 posts

aaa size good thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by swifbuild: Jan 19 2008, 04:59 PM
ccheongf
post Oct 25 2007, 08:22 PM

13 posts

Thanks Swifbuild.

That`s why I want to try actually not fully DIY. Get and find diferent professional person to do what i intended to build or modify.Not fully depend on one contractor. Some can DIY ,I`ll do on my own.

Back to the above consultant,surely considered fail before starting. And he keeps calling me,think I`m a ~sui yee~ (easy meat )

How many nest per season is quite subjective. In populated area ,maybe more .For Ipoh area not sure lah.

This post has been edited by ccheongf: Oct 25 2007, 08:25 PM
skynest
post Oct 25 2007, 09:22 PM

40 posts

ccheongf,

You should find other consultant, THere are many CON-sultants who has a farm (which was done by other CON-sultant), and they will always show it to potential client. From my experiences, if he is an experienced consultant, he should be able to show you at least 3 established farm houses to you.

THere are many benchmark to grade a successful nest house, some says 50 nests (which is right) and some says at least 70 nests increment / year and some within one year already have 300 nests (this particular house is in Thailand).

ccheongf, from the way you ask info from this forum, i guess your knowledge is about 50%. You must remember every additional % of knowledge will convert into additional nests in your future nest house. if you accept 50% chances of attracting birds into your house, i guess you can try DIY.

Wish you all the best...you need it a lot!!.

ccheongf
post Oct 25 2007, 10:09 PM

13 posts

Thks Skynest

. Actually interested in farming a few years back. Recently got inspired again after visiting the consultant farm a few days ago.

Been collecting info for past 2 weeks. Quite true that I`m still green in this field.

Looking back,if I started few years back,surely failed most of all due to financial constrain and zero knowledge. But this time around ,thks to all who posted their experience here I learned a lot, books and reading materials on swiftlets farming and courses offered by professionals ,maybe this time higher percentage to succeed. That`s a big challenge,right ?

This post has been edited by ccheongf: Oct 25 2007, 10:11 PM
TPE994
post Oct 26 2007, 11:54 AM

29 posts

hello..all swiflet farm member. i'm new member here. my farm house
last week just start renovation in sg petani... hope can success and get
sarang....but my target 3 yaer hope can make money lah..
my farm is shoplot 2nd floor ( 20 x 70) ground fllor ( 20 x 50)
i call consulatant to built it.. any one can tell me after renovation and
what maintain should we do ?

Added on October 26, 2007, 4:05 pmHello, SKYNEST can you recommend me white ants chemical odourless
what brand you recommend.....can i DIY
TQ

This post has been edited by TPE994: Oct 26 2007, 04:05 PM
swifbuild
post Oct 26 2007, 05:10 PM

256 posts

book make me head big mad.gif

This post has been edited by swifbuild: Jan 19 2008, 05:00 PM

122 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top