post Jul 5 2017, 09:20 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 5 2017, 08:02 AM)
As per advise before, no need to reply to this thread
Let it idle n move to page 2 so no one will bother
There's specific optima thread in car clubs where he's not welcome there
U can contribute there

Maybe goldfries can move this thread to /k since it's not helping to optima buyer at all
@kluseng replying to you too.

How come both of you still here when you mentioned several times to ignore my post and don't feed the troll? The few of you pro Korean supporters been replying between just the few of you in Elantra thread forcing moderator to remove several forumners who debated, discussed, shared information there without breaking law. That thread of yours went quiet ever since with just few of you syok sensitive replying each other until nothing left to post.

I opened my own thread for all forumners to discuss, debate, post, share comments on real car talk, ownership, situation, etc. Everyone was posting happily until the few of you came and began reporting against several forumners turning them away. Despite they stopped posting, you can see the high numbers of genuine viewers visiting my thread.

@goldfries
If a gpu or CPU have faulty driver issue that cause game to crash or stuck at low speed, does the owner or reviewer allow to voice out in forum? If a new gpu that claimed superior failed to challenge old gtx980ti, can the people post the actual gameplay fps results? Sitescope here is like preventing gamers from posting anything adverse or negative perception, the cause, issue, etc that turn people away. LYF FnF forum is supposed to be discussion forum, more viewers more ratings and advertisements. You buy pc and cars too, you would like to see more before deciding which car to buy.
TSjayraptor
post Jul 5 2017, 09:32 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 4 2017, 11:37 PM)
What's the big deal that Kia uses the Theta engine instead of the Nu engine for the Optima GT? It just means that they haven't developed turbo for the Nu engine, that's all. Do you think that such a big corporation like Kia can't maintain 2 separate engines? What confusion for the technicians? Every auto company have a variety of engines and they have no problem on spare parts and training for all of them. You talk as if Kia will collapse under the weight of maintaining both the Theta and Nu engines. Even Proton has lots of different engines and Proton is a fraction of Kia's size.

The problem with you is that you tend to blow things out of proportions to fit your blinkered view that Korean cars are dying without you and your friends' help. You can talk till the cows come home but Kia and Hyundai are doing very well without your help. Your vision of doom and gloom is just to satisfy your biased mind but it isn't going to happen. Korean cars continue to improve every year and they are almost on par with the Japs. Give them a few more years and they will overtake the Japs. Korean cars no longer compete on being cheaper, they compete on quality and value for money now.

If you think Korean cars are dying then so be it. It's enough that you convince yourself, there is no need to try and convince others. There's so much prejudice and hatred in you towards Korean cars that you can't be a good judge of their future.
@legend2014

Optima GT turbocharger is outsourced, they don't make on their own. Nu engine can be turbocharged with their preference on tuning. But no, they chose the old engine.

Take the i40 for example, only small numbers were sold. It's Nu GDI engine cannot share certain parts with Sonata LF Nu MPI engine. 5 or 10 years later, with so few i40 on the road, you think spare parts will be brought in bulk? Common sense, spare part suppliers and SC quantity surveyor won't stock in many stocks if they'll end up collecting dust most of the time. Now Optima GT at more expensive rm180k, sales volume so poor, you think the only theta GDI will get more spare parts than i40?

Pointing out weakness and serious flaws is not flaming. Do you know what flaming means in the first place?

Some present Korean models sales volume are as poor as the old Kia Clarus 1999, Rio 2001, Sonata 1998 after they exceeded 5 years old?. Have you checked these cars maintenance issue and serious no spare parts issues before you spread lies to public on no worry on spare parts?

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 5 2017, 09:46 PM
TSjayraptor
post Jul 5 2017, 09:37 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 5 2017, 11:14 AM)
As you said, walk in customer care about the car it self, not much about the specification details. Then why so much talk about specification la, power numbers la, torque ratings la, engine family la....etc

It is their engines, and they will decide what engine characteristics suite what particular model. Multiple engine families can give headache to technicians/mechanics??!! oh wow  mega_shok.gif

Before you discuss about the korean engine family "confusion", please make known to your members how to deal with this first ar :  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Toyota_engines
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Honda_engines
later he say you infringe his freedom of speech rights  sweat.gif
Anyone who said walk in customers don't care about anything is total ignorant, especially if this comes from marketing staff. No wonder so many end up walking to next door Honda, Toyota, Mazda showroom.

If all active car talk threads being moved to kopitiam, then who will visit FnF then? Just the few of you who condemns people from talking about cars?
TSjayraptor
post Jul 6 2017, 10:01 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 6 2017, 03:21 PM)
Oh wow....implying it yourself then pusing your words....seriously great "respect"  notworthy.gif

Putting on the hat of a "commentator", using the impassioned image of standing on the great ideologies for open/transparent discussion and freedom of speech, bemoaning on the declining quality of comments, with approaching 40 years of "industry experience", seeing unfettered lies....got to clap hands dude  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

And just few years ago, you're the same person who points out all the good points that you now turn it to bad points...

With the great irony in preference to commenting in absolutes, not willing to consider some context, subtext and pretext of a given matter, people give another side of the view or requesting clarification or refuting you, but anything contrary to your views, confirm kena label as die hard korean fans or employees working for hyundai/kia. ....just wow....

No harm to point out issues, but your unreasonable amplification and constant unnecessary alarmist tone, that is something to reflect about. Certain subjects are not as simple binary like the CPU/GPU example you gave to the moderator. For CPU/GPU, the points to consider are just a handful, the max performance, performance per value, and to some degree, cooling performance and form factor considering the sizeable demand for HTPC. Nothing much subjective other than some people preferring how bling bling the LEDs are. But coming to cars, got so much more to factor in as people have different personal preference for any given price point, but you make it seems so binary.
A failed marketing and product planning that led to poor sales and no spare parts is best described with CPU and GPU that failed to come up with working driver.

As for your comments on past Mitsubishi Chrysler alliance with Korean, that was the chance for Korean carmakers to obtain technology to compete with Japanese. Upon seeing little success, the kiasu Koreans think they could do better on their own and ditched Mitsubishi and Chrysler. If you compared the original theta and early theta 2 and gamma, these engines were more refined. The newer version that the Koreans replicated on their own are rough and tend to transfer less efficient power to wheels.
TSjayraptor
post Jul 6 2017, 10:25 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(legend2014 @ Jul 6 2017, 06:53 PM)
Optima GT turbocharger is outsourced ??? When did manufacturing of Kia Optima GT outsource to 3rd party ? Mind to share with us what is the company name ?
If what you mean is the turbo turbine then I can answer yes, FYI, most of the car manufacturing in the world do not make their own turbo turbine, BMW, VG, Audi, MB, Honda, Toyota do not make turbo turbine.

I advise you to do some homework on Hyundai engine before giving any nonsense comment, please check the objective of development of nu engine and Theta engine respectively.
A lot of enhancement(not only engine tuning) has been done on Theta engine use in Kia Optima GT as compare with the 1st version of Theta use in 2010, At least I would say Hyundai is honest, they did not play around with engine code name even though they can change it to new code name, technically it can qualify as a new engine. Take the current Honda engine 2.4 EarthDream as example, Initially I though it is a new engine when it launched 3 years ago, but I found out it just a gimmick, this engine is almost the same as K24 engine which was developed at 2002, Honda just did some enhancement on existing K24 engine and market it as EarthDream engine, what's wrong with Hyundai did the same thing and keep using the old code name,  what say you ?     

It is not an issue if you share with us the serious flaws, but the problem is you are keeping to tell us the flaw with some point is not make sense and obviously you are bias and not from the neutral point of view.

I still remember you are the one who put a lot of flame in Autoworld/Nissan forum in many years ago, at that time you commented Nissan car is not worth a single sen, this round is Korean car, so what is next ? Honda ? Toyota ?

and Last I would like to update you, Most parts in Nu GDI is identical with Nu MPI engine
Any car company that fails to provide safe long term ownership deserved to receive criticism. Totally wrong product planning, failed strategies that cause owners to lose resale value badly are most serious offense. Worst is they rejected best people for the job that led to current disasters. Based on the Koreans current course, most likely the few seriously failed models could end up like the few cars in photos below after 7 or 10 years where owners suffer from zero resale value and left with no spare parts.

Audi-VW 1989cc engine block from old Audi 100 2.0E 1994 is identical to 2007 Audi A4 2.0FSI engine. Can they share spare parts? No, almost nothing can be shared despite similar engine code with different heads. Nu GDi is made for more powerful combustion with totally different head. You want to say the same? Theta i4, theta II single VVT and theta II dual VVT already have parts that are totally different. Now theta II GDI in Optima GT?

Koreans mentality veered off from practical to money oriented thinking owners will change cars like how they change phones. That's why they fail. Had they hired ace strategist like my few friends, they would have ensure the Koreans don't go off track unlike the idiots they hired that personally won't buy Korean cars nor knowing what they're doing.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSjayraptor
post Jul 7 2017, 08:40 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Jul 7 2017, 01:13 AM)
So the reason for this hatred is because your friend failed to be employed by kia/hyundai Malaysia?
@kapalterbang_737
@overfloe

Don't twist the story and made up your own. I stated clearly they failed to safeguard the long term ownership of buyer being the main reason. They failed to hire capable ace strategist after I stopped spoon-feeding, the resale value of Korean cars keep slumping while their sales volume keep diving drastic. If distributor failed but principal doesn't it could save the day. Unfortunately, principal also ignorant that only point finger at distributor for failure.

My Santa Fe 2011 gets poorer resale value than Honda CRV 2011 when I sold it in early 2015. I sold it before the Korean brands killing their own models leaving owners on their own like old Kia Clarus and Sonata 1998 owners. The moment they started bringing i40 fighting own Sonata, i30 fighting own Veloster with crazy high throwing discount on all models with sales slumped to almost bottom for cars categories are all because of failed incompetent people. I quickly run first. Check how many staff got laid off.

TSjayraptor
post Jul 7 2017, 11:44 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 7 2017, 11:35 AM)
Wah..since when become chassis, thermodynamics and physics engineer? Even experienced auto news journalist don't simply make such claims but you  ohmy.gif

How much more rougher?

How much less inefficient?

How much more incapable ar?? 

What are the metrics you used ar??

Be very careful of what you want to say, because what you commented on the engine alliance is falsehood, the other way round was true. It was hyundai that came out with the general blueprint for the engine block and headers. And it was then Chysler (now FCA group) that decided to end the joint venture and buy out both mitsubishi and hyundai's stake.

http://www.automotive-fleet.com/news/story...r-business.aspx
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Engine_Alliance
https://www.automotiveworld.com/analysis/78...ngine-alliance/
I think the friend thingey is a facade of saying that they didn't hire him. But regardless, he will sway like the wind wherever the wind blows. He/his strategist friends are just lucky opportunists that managed to hop to Honda at the right opportune time.

So much ego to claim the global and regional team's effort as their very own.
Can go higher, but pay more for higher rated tyres, strengthened internal components and enhanced suspension to handle that additional speed.
You took only propaganda news from Korean company? If Koreans are that capable, they won't rebadged, get serious protectionism from their government and failed to replicate for so long. I bet you don't have general common sense knowledge on replicating materials. They don't have ability to replicate nor reverse engineer technology. Korean car company gets backing and funding from their government. Older Korean cars bought engines from Mitsubishi and gearbox from JATCO.

After year 2000, they paid a lot to Mitsubishi and Chrysler to help build advanced engine that the 3 could share. Mitsubishi 4B11 is most advanced able to generate 200Nm@4000rpm while Korean theta i4 could only get 189Nm@4000rpm. Ofcourse Mitsubishi reserved some tech for itself. Theta 2 single VVT tweaked up to gets 194Nm@4300rpm while theta 2 dual VVT gets 198Nm@4600rpm. Despite higher output, theta 2 dual VVT cannot beat 4B11. Korean car company relies on buying foreign technology and engineers to build new engines while Koreans claim credits like lembu punya susu, Sapi punya nama. If they keep such practice without much effort on replicating and learn how to build (which is very difficult), China that is doing the same thing could easily overtake especially China is more interested in reverse engineering.
TSjayraptor
post Jul 8 2017, 12:04 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(legend2014 @ Jul 7 2017, 07:22 PM)
Did I say Nu MPI and Nu GDI is 100% identical ??? What I trying to say is most of the parts is identical, don't try to tell me both type of engine use different engine oil filter and air filter...

Based on the parts number I got from stockist, the short block, throttle body, VVT mechanism, oil pump, water pump, MAF, O2, EGR valve, PCV and many other parts is all identical, the diff parts is fuel injector, fuel pump, cylinder head, spark plug and of course the ECU.

Top Car manufacturer in 2016 (Based on the total number of cars sold in the world)

2.Toyota
3. Renault/Nissan
4. Hyundai/Kia
7. Honda
10. Suzuki

The ranking is telling the truth

I 100% agree that Malaysia authorized Korean car distributor need to improve their marketing strategy and after sales service, they still left behind from the Japanese brand competitors, nevertheless we able to see the improvement over these few years  but this is not enough to change the old school perception from the public.
FYI, Koreans buy cars like hand phones. Koreans would get bored very fast and change after 2 or 3 years. Which is why the Korean cars would change new model in 3 or 4 years. The Cerato 2012 already underwent 2-3 minor facelift in such short time before the redesigned Cerato being launched in Korea in end 2015.

That top car manufacturer, if car makers exclude own home country sales and count only personal cars owned by private owner, Japanese brand would dominate with far bigger gap than Korean cars.

Before this Koreans attack VW, then they attack Subaru. Now they go against Volvo that is gaining popularity. If Volvo come up with more practical cars, it'll sure gain more market share.
TSjayraptor
post Jul 8 2017, 12:16 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(victorr @ Jul 7 2017, 10:45 AM)
I think the so called ACE Strategist is himself la. Rejected by Korean Company, so now spreading all the hate here.
Nobody in their right mind would hire such employee.  biggrin.gif
Last time Kind Strategist, now Ace Strategist. Next will be Hyper Ultra Mou dak Deng Strategist.

K Thx Bye before he come and flame me  rclxs0.gif
I'm waiting for permission from 2 more friends with Japanese car company whether I can post advantage of buying Volvo. Once they agree, I'll get to post strategies on Volvo against other cars especially Optima GT vs V40 thread, really entice me to post. They'll approve as long as Volvo doesn't affect their Japanese cars sales. Please do give support to either 1. More to come...If got greenlight. VW not allowed to comment much on strategies and technical. Heeheee.... 3 already agreed... I'll pick Volvo ofcourse, tahan lasak actually...
TSjayraptor
post Jul 8 2017, 12:23 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(jorrne00 @ Jul 7 2017, 10:39 PM)
currently have any pre-reg unit for optima GT ? or any 1 that bought this car?
Preregistered cars only allowed to sell after 6 months old if not mistaken. Whether they dare to stock in also question mark coz this car is expensive subject to higher tax. If preregistered selling too low, they'll be making serious losses. Cannot play play with price also. The few models already facing overstock with far less buyers issues. So they slowly become like conti cars during 90's only sell at low volume fully imported.
TSjayraptor
post Jul 9 2017, 09:54 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jul 8 2017, 09:46 AM)
Please share, on what is volvo's strategy to overcome their poor resale value.

And please share on how is volvo's great strategy will affect japanese car sales..

What is the advantage of buying a volvo also need permission?
@wkc5657

Volvo is not rival to Toyota but it's still rival to Lexus. Of course must confirm first to avoid angering friends. I don't think any of my member with Lexus, should be OK to post general info. Funniest thing ever from Korean fan, like pot calling the kettle black. Check your own Korean cars price over rm150k when brand new resale value first before saying others poor RV. Check how much is Santa Fe 2011 today compared to Honda CRV 2011. The more expensive Santa Fe cost much lower than CRV today. Sonata LF will have even worse RV for such poor demand.

V40 vs Optima GT both at rm180k price range, would you believe that more people would buy Volvo mainly because it's design is more original, it's built more solid and actually reliable. Just the gearbox alone from Aisin already beats Korean gearbox in eyes of public in terms of reliability and technologically more advanced.

Talking about RV between these 2, I won't be surprised if Volvo v40 beats Optima GT. Reason being the Volvo has more on the road with better public perception. Spare parts shops outside will bring in more spare parts. Don't forget China Geely owned Volvo and they manufacture parts in China. Which means spare parts costs much lower now with China mass production and shipping cost from there. When comes to fuel consumption, most important, the Volvo today known to be better unlike yesterday.

Korean Optima GT at the other hand, the theta GDi is 1 of its kind and only 1 in Korean lineup. Which means in future this engine will no longer exist in newer Korean models that will come to local market. The Koreans present trend in making cars are like making hand phones which is bad for long term ownership especially spare parts. If a model only last 3 years then come up with partial or total redesign, you expect lots of spare parts available when that model only lasted less than 3 years on the road?

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 9 2017, 09:55 AM

TSjayraptor
post Jul 10 2017, 08:18 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(fong928 @ Jul 9 2017, 08:15 PM)
Imaging a family trip with ferrying 4-5 persons in a v40 on a 4 hours journey ,
maybe shorter time, bcos T5, vroom vroooom !!!! Ignoring of aes too !!!
And small luggages behind the tiny boot.
Really ?????
If those really wanted to ferry family, they would have gone for comfort cruiser with peace of mind, mostly going for NA 2.4L or 2.5L Japanese. Mazda 2.5L 0-100kmh sprint in 8.1s if not mistaken already adequate for family cruiser.

If really wanted turbo performance, they will look at handling so Passat 1.8T will come to mind for being technically more advanced, some would fork out more for 2.0T if needed extra power. Volvo v40 most likely capture heart of ladies and men that don't ferry passengers.
TSjayraptor
post Jul 10 2017, 08:36 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jul 9 2017, 08:40 PM)
V40 is tiny. I would prefer Optima GT... but then RM180k for Kia/Hyundai brand...  hmm.gif

... might just end up with Camry Hybrid. lol
@hihihehe replying to you in 1 go for similar reply.

The price is the factor. Like before this, Cerato and Elantra 1.6L cut price so much until challenging vios, city at rm80k price range. Koreans failed to achieve anything yet sales plummeted.

Size is a factor but people look into overall score. V40 is tiny but those really wanted performance and handling will go for it. VW scirocco entry level also price around there? Volvo good reputation and strong history record giving it the edge.

Japanese D segment (toyota, Honda, Mazda) is like insurance policy to public, it's always the safe buy. Those that wanted alternative, they'll go for conti. Koreans failed few things that less likely people will still buy, looking at their affordable price range models also failed to convince public.

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 10 2017, 08:37 PM
TSjayraptor
post Jul 10 2017, 09:37 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 10 2017, 04:31 PM)
wow...really a sign of desperation for using a car of different segment and market segmentation to make the comparison and making things up without proper reasoning. I can't believe that an industry "giant" with approaching 40 years of experience together with so many industry "insider" can make such a write up.

Aiyo why can anger them? It is actually good for their development as you "challenge" them to up their game constantly. Kaizen right, continuous improvement, your gang working in Honda should be very familiar with this culture and should actually thank you.

Are you so sure that it is more technologically advanced against the koreans version of the 8 speeder? No industry experts say that but you can?
Why don't you also state the annoying points of the korean gearbox? I stated it before sometime ago, why don't you use my word against me? Oh i know why, because your mazda also have part of the similar annoying point regarding the gearbox, don't want to spoil own market?

I really thought you would use more points, but just only that gearbox thing? Why don't state the obvious also :
- faster acceleration
- class leading safety features
- conti feel, etc

Why don't you also state the not so obvious :
- the V40 is actually a shared platform with the ford focus, with interchangeable suspension components. Since you say Ford here is shitty strategy and parts damn rare, do you think that volvo malaysia with even lesser sales volume and service centres will have a better situation?
- the facelift is late by almost 2 years and it will be "obsolete" in less than 2 years as the replacement is just on the near horizon
- it uses belt driven timing
- the turning radius is larger than average
- you really think the maintenance costs actually cheaper??

Come on la...You only think just because of the Volvo belonging to China, the parts will be cheaper. Please enlighten us which tier 1 major parts suppliers that are not manufacturing in China? They only supply to Volvo exclusively in your mind? Did you even read the automotive news before commenting? Volvo is going to have electrification on all of their products before 2020, you think that more hybrid parts will be cheaper to replace and maintain? You keep bemoaning there are no electrical experts in malaysia, and you think by going exclusively doing all maintenance work in the official service centre throughout the lifetime of car ownership is going to be easy on the pocket? Oh wait....the hybrid battery pack is from LG wor.... and how much is it going to cost to replace electric driven air cond compressor ar??

And you really have a hard time really understanding what is model facelift do you? All brands does that on the average of 3.5 years, even your dear Honda does that. Die die want to say sonata new horizon as new model when it is actually facelift.
Desperation? I'm not desperate at all, just car talk. My
5 members with Japanese companies, they aren't desperate neither since their products are dominating. Things just getting back to like late 90's to 2009 where Japanese dominated major foreign brand market shares. Kaizen is just a concept, brands that won top sales are winner anyway.

Volvo v40 FL already came in 2016 if not mistaken. The 2017 is revised version. Volvo belong to China, sales volume improving, spare parts still more than Optima GT in few years later if situation remains bad. Volvo is just mere pleasing the European as part of European environmental treaty that European left wing politicians hoping to realize after many few years later. Remember Trump rejected that treaty that angered France? Volvo will never phase put petroleum and diesel engines. Who ask you to buy hybrid if afraid?
~~~ If Ioniq, people avoid because Korean brand uncertain future in technical expertise, spare parts, lengthy wait, repair and cost.

Toyota's Aisin gearbox has been in the field for long, they are known to come up with performance gearbox apart from proven reliability. V40 shared platform with Focus, the focus has good handling. Only thing is Focus failed to beat Japanese brand due to wrong strategies.

The only Korean 8AT is in the failed Genesis 3.8L that only sold few units, confirmed 1x grey colour with P, 1 very dark blue wit D. Volvo s90 that is priced rm3xxk competing head on with BMW 5series entry level yet able to sell. So is XC90 challenging BMW X5 head on. How come Genesis failed? Now Optima GT reminds me of Genesis footsteps trying to challenge conti VW and Volvo , also preowned 3 series and Mercedes C-Class. What korean gearbox issue that you wanted to bring up? The gear hunting when flooring pedal or the reported shift issue similar to old Matrix case?

Refer Sonata LF 2015 vs New rise 2018 front and rear. You call this facelift? Facelift only changes on bumpers, lights, grill without much change on mounting. Example FL City 2016 and non FL city 2014, you can put the FL lights, bumpers into old 2014. Sonata case, almost entire front and rear unibody totally different, this is total redesign already. If your Sonata LF headlamp broken, you cannot take 2018 headlamp to fit.

Others quickly come comment, is this redesign or FL?

This post has been edited by jayraptor: Jul 10 2017, 09:43 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSjayraptor
post Jul 15 2017, 03:45 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 11 2017, 02:07 PM)
Car talk, yup, with more and more misinformation and misrepresentation of facts.

Looks like you getting more sloppy to even try fact checking, Volvo didn't say they are fully phasing out internal combustion, nor did i mention it. But it is a fact that they are not keen in diesel anymore :

http://autoweek.com/article/diesel/volvo-s...-demise-horizon

They will only have hybrid/battery electric propulsion for all models in the turn of the decade :

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/07/05/business...ectric-car.html

And the environmental treaty is called the Paris Agreement :

https://ec.europa.eu/clima/policies/interna...ations/paris_en

So, using your very own nomenclature, despite both the koreans being top 5 in the world in terms of car volume, you still insist in claiming that parts damn rare, owner will suffer till die...

http://www.infographicsarchive.com/economi...les-statistics/
Despite Volvo being owned by Chinese, how much more they sell around the world, malaysia's volume is almost like a rounding adjustment in the company as a whole, and you actually expect can have more parts here? And, if you really pay just a little more attention, the approach that Volvo will be embarking is approaching what range rover is doing, going even more upmarket. With more and more hybrid parts and batteries that come from "be-hated" Korea instead of China, you really think maintenance and ownership cost will be cheaper and easier?

[attachmentid=8956713]
[attachmentid=8956714]

You really like out of context comparison, how old is the genesis range in the market and how old is the 5 series or volvo s series? Genesis range only come into market around 2008-2009, less than 10 years to date. Nevermind, this one how hard they try, still many years to go to have even a little more brand presence.

Eh, you were so good last time to be able to pin point steering rack no smooth to machining residue from manufacturing? Still don't know what am I trying to hint you? It is a hardware nuisance, not the mere subjective juddering of the matrix; and best of all, I'm referring to the 6 speed box, how come you can go to matrix old box? That point is such a good point for your propaganda against the korean brand, even i won't refute you a single bit on that.

Haih...sonata new rise argument again, still cannot accept that it is facelift :
http://www.caradvice.com.au/530970/2017-hy...ealed-in-korea/

You should be more aware then me right? When marketing, must hype as much as possible, but why hyundai so "humble" to claim it is just a more aggressive facelift? Won't it create even more hype by "lying" to the world to say this is a new generation model? Let me tell a real product that like your words, a short lifecycle like a handphone --> Honda Civic FB

Year in production : Jan'11 to Sept'15 (4 years 8 months)

Fitting on facelifted parts to the non facelifted version is not the determining factor whether it is actually a facelift or not. Some cars yes, but more and more of them not. Don't believe me, since you have so many insider contact, please go try fitting in the facelifted mazda3 GVC LED headlights into your very own non facelifted version. Associated electronic components aside, try physically fitting it in just the headlight assembly.
Yawn... You can post tons of links based on your Google only knowledge. Volvo only said whatever to please European environmentalist. Volvo will only go all electric if EU set strict ruling that discourage people from buying diesel and petrol engine cars. Asia, America, Arab, Australia, NZ, Africa, as long as they favour diesel and petrol engines, Volvo will continue making fuel combustion engines. I see more Volvo v40 than Optima GT on the road now, how come it sells better?

Korean Failed product planning and strategies now blamed Genesis not old enough in market. Apa ini? Whatever defect and weakness with the Korean technical nowadays, people don't bother to care anymore as they have turned elsewhere. You and you fellow Korean fans can keep replying each other in Elantra thread in attempt to overtake new CRV thread, nobody bothers now. As for your claim that turbocharger operates from idling rpm instead of 1500rpm for Elantra turbo and Optima GT 1400rpm, you can play torque test with powerful Mazda 6 2.5L on the strength at 1300rpm.

Mazda 3, 6, cx5 all went through just facelift, not redesign. Don't make your own fairytale as if these are total redesigned like Sonata rise.

Civic 2011 retires in 2016, not 2015. Get your facts right. New Civic only launched in 2016. Compared to Sonata lf, new rise will launch few months after camry. If launched this year, Sonata lf only around for 2 years?

New CRV already launched, how come more crowds there compared to quiet like nothing happen over new Cerato, Elantra, Optima GT launch?
TSjayraptor
post Jul 16 2017, 04:19 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 16 2017, 01:13 AM)
yupe, continue yawning under your own ego....

I can come out with links to refute your points because i read it before, i don't even need to try so hard to trawl google. I know you don't believe all these, and likely that you don't even care to read what was in it. It's all right, because it is for other readers to be wary of your misrepresentation of facts by your comments.

Volvo made the statement loud and clear :
- hybrid and electric lineups at the end of the decade
- they will no longer put in resources to develop new diesel engine

And this is the 3rd time i'm repeating it, they didn't say they are giving up internal combustion engines. If yes, how is it still a hybrid?

What you see on the road is not what i'm seeing, as the 2 unit of v40 i saw were the time with ford engines and transmissions. Anyway, there is no way of verifying either of our observation on this.

Outside of home market, Genesis was a car mainly catered for the US taste, Malaysia is the odd one out in the asia region selling this. In their main target market, they are picking up speed :

http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/2017/06/h...al-predecessor/

If you want to use this argument, why honda legend isn't here? I read about it 2 years back and sounds like a car overbuilt, almost like vw phaeton. Damn taukeh type of car. Your gang should have super great ideas as it is equivalent to a 5 series/E class right?

Here, i'm specifically addressing your comment on the "activation" of the turbocharger rpm range as what you say is misleading. Have you ever tried just using your fingers to flick the turbocharger's blade and see how easy it starts spinning? And that is still without the full pressure of oil lubricating it. Normal turbochargers at operation can spool more than 100,000rpm. How much more force would the car exhaust be generating even at idle. And it also seems like you have no understanding of reading the engine power/torque graph.

[attachmentid=8968693]

I'm using the 8AR-FTS power graph used in the NX and GS as an example. The torque curve is 1650-4000rpm. If really as per what you say that the turbocharger "activate" at 1650rpm, how come the torque curve is stuck flat around there till 4000rpm and after that drop ar??? Going by your thoughts, shouldn't the torque line shoot up sky high? Below 1650rpm, the turbocharger tutup valve and exhaust gas go straight to exhaust and not spooling the turbocharger??

Did i ever said that the mazda3/6/cx5 sold here are whole new generation/redesign? By your thoughts, the new generation CX5 is lie by mazda because it has so much similarities with the current one? I'm pointing out that interchangeability of exterior parts between facelift and non facelift model is no longer a determining factor to categorise the model whether facelifted or not. As i said, you own a mazda3, just got try physically fitting the facelifted GVC headlights into yours. Let the lights do the talking.

I'll also let this picture do the talking :
[attachmentid=8968754]
Turbocharger comments already replied you on maxus g10 thread as per your comment there. Why post twice, afraid that I'll miss your comment there. Or wanted to save your own face?

You haven't done the torque test, why replied so soon? If you have access to Korean cars old and new, if Kia, you can take the Koup 1.6T vs Cerato 2.0 at 1300rpm to check which is more powerful. If Hyundai, you can do that with Elantra sport 1.6T vs elantra 2.0L. I bet you won't dare to post the result here because the turbo valve still closed at 1300rpm with the air goes into bypass inlet. Which means your Koup or elantra 1.6T only has the strength of 1.6L engine at 1300rpm losing to 2.0L NA engine.

Turbocharged engine, you can never get fixed output and torque reading because it varies based on situation and condition. Which is why the max torque of Elantra turbo varies from 1500-4500rpm. Are you trying to cheat customers saying the peak torque confirmed achievable at 1500rpm and you get the turbo power even at 1000rpm?

Do you know that a good diesel engine design could last 2 decades long unlike petrol engine. Diesel engine is simpler and less competition, Volvo just introduced the engine before 2010, it'll retain that design and carry forward to next models, no problem. Petrol engine is more complex that needs contant improvement in order to stay in competition. From VVT to GDi to turbocharged/supercharged, hybrid trying to improve FC and performance. Petrol engine is private car market backbone in most countries, sure must allocate more resources here. If you dodn't know, fyi diesel can be mated to EV engine too and it beats petrol hybrid far more than half.

My Mazda 3 is low spec halogen headlamp, if I fit new light FL, shouldn't be an issue. Even if high spec HID, Mazda is known to use the same part to eliminate variety and less stocks to keep. Doubt they'll give headache to owners and their own SC. Only Koreans love to make sure customers only go SC by creating lots of impractical parts that cannot share.

TSjayraptor
post Jul 16 2017, 04:31 PM

115 posts

Latest news, new Accord release its preview on new Accord 2018 that is scheduled for launch 1 month after new Camry launch this month in America. Based on the pace, both will reach here by Q3 or Q4. Camry powered by 2.0 and 2.5 while Accord 2.0 and 1.5T. Looks like things will get far tougher for the Koreans. These new Japanese D segments are said to come with nice ingredients, no longer empty tin can like back then. People would rather buy Camry 2.5 or Accord 1.5T entry level that priced cheaper than Optima GT. Sonata new rise also cannot rise if compared to new rivals, some more without good Strategist, without strong stance, even if Optima GT preowned throw price at Camry Accord 2.0L level also people will buy Japanese due to insecured long term ownership feel.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSjayraptor
post Jul 17 2017, 10:42 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 16 2017, 05:06 PM)
Mazda is going to lose out as they haven't gone turbo or hybrid. With turbo options from other marques buyers in Malaysia are not going to buy a Mazda 6 with puny 2.0L engine or 2.5L NA engine with high road tax but less power than smaller turbo engines. Even the Mazda 3 will suffer with no turbo option. Nissan is another loser selling dated cars. Kia and Hyundai are right there competing with the Japanese with turbo and hybrid engines like the Optima GT, 2018 Sonata, i30N, Elantra Sport and Ionic. Yet you keep knocking Korean cars but not a word about Mazda or Nissan. Very biased.
Mazda already has turbo, they ventured into turbo way earlier. Mazda was known to come up with power oriented in the 90's. The Skyactiv 1.5, 2.0,. 2.5L engines can be fitted with turbo anytime as they could withstand high combustion. Mazda 3 doesn't suffer without turbo, have you checked its 0-100kmh sprint, re-acceleration, torque test, etc? It was far more impressive that you think. Mazda 6 2.0L and 2.5L already giving you the feel of being powerful instead of lethargic. The i40 with 2.0gdi engine can't even deliver such feel. Why bother the fuss when Mazda NA engine is already optimum enough?

You should ask why there's no Nu 2.0L turbocharged so far and still sticking to old theta.

Nissan car, mpv segments from what I see are failures until I don't bother to look at anymore. Yet Koreans failed to overtake Nissan so far. Why so lousy?

TSjayraptor
post Jul 17 2017, 10:59 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 16 2017, 06:18 PM)
Snap me a photo of the exerpt you read about the turbocharger "valve". I'm fine to be corrected, but please may that valve not point to the blow over valve or wastegate...

Aiyo, why so much talk about torque test. I say about exhaust spooling turbocharger, you point towards torque test?? Apa la ni?? Likewise i can also ask, why you suddenly silent about honda legend, maybe you don't even know it existed?

How many diesel hybrids out there that are on sale?? Volvo and Peugeot did that, but both silently stuttered it. And because you have no context, pretext and subtext on the diesel issue, so you won't be able to understand why diesel will be more and more unwelcomed in the consumer driving. And you have no idea on what is the cost of maintenance for the diesel exhaust after market treatment components. Any engine block, regardless of diesel or petrol, if properly maintained and done at least 1 round of rebuild will not have issues going 20 years.

In the other thread, you referring to volvo powerpulse and mazda's (not honda la) dynamic pressure turbo is it? From what you written, i suspect whether do you even understand how it works??

No need paste photo here, i know how your car looks like. Please go have a good look at you headlight against the photo of the facelifted GVC headlight.
Because he own mazda, don't want to spoil own market. Maybe when he sells off his car or somehow someone in mazda fired his gang member, then all the negativity overflows; like what he does now against the korean counterpart.

Mazda is stubborn, want to pursue something a little oddball against the market trend. It makes sense also as their overall market share in the world is small fry compared to the peers. So instead of fighting in the red ocean and lose out in most of the criterias, might as well play in the blue ocean for the select number of people who just don't concur to the mass appeal of toyota/honda/nissan.
Since when there's blow-off valve in stock personal saloon cars designed for torque and FC? With people like you, better avoid jargon else your Google knowledge will imagine something else. Ofcourse it's the wastegate valve when people said turbocharger activate, operate, kicks in, etc.

Maybe to you, the word lag is when the turbo not yet activate eg. at 1300rpm in Elantra sport since you think it operates from engine idling speed. Just like dumb Paul Tan and CBT infected journalists who thought the same way as you do.

Diesel engine is already optimum enough with turbo, that's why they don't bother to add hybrid further unless they wanted to capture hearts of those really wanted super FC. Friend of mine elsewhere has driven Mercedes E class hybrid diesel that he rarely pumps fuel, really superb as Mercedes engine itself already so advanced that it's diesel engine challenge petrol hybrid, with added EV motor, it gives it superiority.

As for my buddies, they are busy fighting each other now after Korean car went down. I''m looking forward to see the clash of titans when new Camry and Accord launch here.
TSjayraptor
post Jul 18 2017, 10:03 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 18 2017, 11:31 AM)
this is wow....

You're right that not all turbocharged cars need blow off valves, but those that don't use BOV must still employ some kind of diverter valve that serves the same purpose. BOV dump to atmosphere, diverter valve goes back into intake.

When wastegate operates, it means the boost already over the handling limit set in the ECU. That's why there is "waste" in wastegate, the turbine already turning so much earlier than that la....

And already told you, turbo "kick" refers to the reaching of optimal operating range of the turbocharger, also known as surge line. Depending on the model and application, the surge line will be different in line with the exhaust pressure of the applied engine rpm range. Before you hear turbo whine, the turbine is already spinning, and spinning faster than you think.

I know you won't accept that the turbine already spinning at engine idling rpm, because of your vast "insider" knowledge right? And because i'm google keyboard warrior that can't understand "jargon" right? Too bad that you have no way to prove me otherwise either because your facts are incorrect. Go ask your qualified mechanic friend Mr. How.

Anyway, this is for those that are curious :

The video started with the engine at idling :

turbo spool video during engine start and shut down :

Wow, you already kantoi now trying to twist the topic from "turbocharger wastegate activation from certain rpm onwards" to the spool that is spin by exhaust. Really kiasu to such level to save your face. How come owners that owned turbocharged vehicles all know how to prove that I'm correct putting you to shame? Now you knew that I'm correct, quickly point to spool? If I posted how entire turbocharger works earlier, wonder what will you point to after losing? Tayar? Gather all your fellow Korean supporters here to challenge me in new Camry thread debate if got guts.

@alphaz
The one kantoi caught red handed for cheating people that Korean turbo activate from idle rpm that it could beat Japanese 2.5L NA engine at speed below 1400rpm for Optima GT is wkc5657. Most likely he never owned turbocharged car nor Korean cars yet dare to condemn Japanese cars blindly. Remind me of Korean principal and distributor staffs that personally won't buy Korean cars, don't know what is good about Korean cars yet dare to cheat people buying the cars they are selling. Best timing is Maxus g10 owner who showed wkc5657 wrong by testing his Turbocharged 2.0L.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:08 PM