LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

Zot
post Feb 19 2020, 08:20 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 19 2020, 08:14 AM)
Yeah around there. The tool is not expensive but after adding battery and charger it costs more.
Bosch GBH 180 Li - https://shopee.com.my/COMBO-Bosch-GBH180-LI...7548.1559405712

Makita has more range (need to see see). Offerings on shopee not that great (suggest to consider batt+charger price as well as solo unit price)
https://shopee.com.my/Makita-18V-Mobile-Bru...8956.2848854267

https://shopee.com.my/Makita-HR166DSMJ-WAE1...8956.1947162494
The seller sometimes just show the lowest price just to bait people. When you click, it is just drill bit (for example) laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Zot
post Feb 19 2020, 08:36 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Feb 19 2020, 08:27 AM)
Dont buy battery type heavy duty tool if you are not a contractor. Battery replacement is not cheap.
I think this is a good advise. The only practical cordless tool is probably simple drill driver in my opinion.

If you are just doing work in workshop or around your house, traditional corded tool is the wise choice, unless you don't know what to do with excess money you have laugh.gif

Zot
post Feb 19 2020, 02:34 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 19 2020, 02:29 PM)
However of late (2019+) I noticed shop contractors starting to use cordless tools though.  devil.gif
Contractors different story. Sometime they need to do renovation on new house where there is no electricity yet. Last time it was a problem. Need to bring portable generator smile.gif
Zot
post Feb 20 2020, 08:14 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 19 2020, 10:51 PM)
For DB box (i.e. electricity turned off) replacement I will need to drill 4 holes to install the new DB box.
However the wall is (I suspect) 25-30 years old concrete wall which I don't think a cheap cordless impact driver on 12V will make any impact even for 5.5mm hole size laugh.gif
Cost of 18V rotary hammer is too high for a whole set  sweat.gif

I think best to hook up my corded rotary hammer (2-24) from next door neighbour.
Yes, contractor would pay cash to neighbor a sum of money. If neighbor electricity is around 100 per month, then 50 is real deal laugh.gif That is if you get nice neighbor

The real problem is when it is totally new housing area when no supply. If there is electricity but no pay deposit yet, they just connect at the fuse before meter laugh.gif
Zot
post Feb 22 2020, 12:42 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 22 2020, 12:37 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif Just ordered solo unit GBH180Li at 399 and the battery + charger separate.
Funny that the parts total (split separately) is still much cheaper than those all-in-one combos.
Combo probably comes with casing?
Zot
post Feb 24 2020, 08:35 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Feb 23 2020, 05:46 PM)
Just like Seiko, they make low end watch, as wll as their super high end pedigree, Grand Seiko, Credor, but ppl always assume Seiko is cheap.

Just like Bosch, they make lower end, and their higher end. Ppl dun go their higher end sbb mahal. I have few Makita BL cordless, at the same price spectrum, Bosch EC is equivalent if not better. I got the Bosch GBH 18V-26, deciding against the Dewalt, Milwaukee and the Makita cordless ~1", the Bosch is the better quality (for the 1" cordless) even against the Milwaukee (IMHO, nanti milwaukee kaki marah) and the price/performance.

But generally, Milwaukee is the better quality if price is not an issue, that's the general understanding.

So to say, Bosch is Tier 2, even Dewalt as Tier 2. And Hilti and Milwaukee as TOP BUNCH is tidak berapa accurate. Hilti is just RARE in Malaysia, only contractor leasing/rental program itu machiem if im not mistaken. The other parts of the world, pick your weapon saja, and pay for it.
I cannot agree with you more with this. Everyone has his own opinion. Well known brands have the advantage of being elite and ability to mark up the price but not necessarily better than less known brand. You can see many reviews and comparison by people who used equipment on their daily work, especially the review by a bunch of pros and summaries all their opinion. There are clear winners on certain tools for certain jobs. Like Hilti was well known for its power on rotary hammer but there are pros that likes the Hitachi in term of comfort to hold when doing job.

The price/performance for me is not really hold true for high end brands. If you look at disassembled tools, you can see how good they are. Branded one has many series where the high end one use more expensive part, but the high end product line are actually not much higher in cost to build. In my job I am calculating and estimating the cost to manufacture the products, mostly on electronics and some on mechanical parts as well. Since Trump trade war with China, Milwaukee is one of the brand we are involved with.

Now many brands (if not all) are produced in China. The European brand such as Hilti was costly to produce part of it due to manufacturing cost in Europe. Even once produced in China, they will keep the price to keep the image biggrin.gif . As comparison, iPhone wink.gif This way company get higher margin for high end products being less in volume and a bit higher in cost to manufacture compare to mass produced popular lineups.

Some people buy high end product for reliability. Some people buy because they believe it is good. Some people buy for its name.

Worth to note that the price people pay for the higher end product is the insurance you pay for the warranty as well. smile.gif
Zot
post Feb 24 2020, 08:40 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 24 2020, 01:24 AM)
But the problem is that I think Makita got too many overlapping product that its too hard to buy (hard to compare).. imagine Myvi launch with 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.45 1.5 1.6 1.8L engine especially cordless driver/rotary tool. And their website not that user friendly to compare all in one category. So that can map out a price/performance value between the price of product (eg on shopee) vs the features (BL non-BL, 2 mode 3 mode) etc.
Mau beli cordless rotary, keep on seeing that electric jacket search results  laugh.gif

One thing, even abrasives (sandpaper), beli bosch punya mahal but can use until botak.
Buy cheap ones, all the sand came off within 10 passes of sanding down my wooden countertop  cry.gif
Is that so? I thought the Bosch product line even more overlapping. They manufacture in many places and each places has slightly different naming and even use different motor to reduce cost laugh.gif

For consumable part, more like trial and error if you use unknown one. If lucky you can get China cap ayam that is good with price probably half laugh.gif Problen is China one you don't have brand names laugh.gif
Zot
post Feb 27 2020, 04:54 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(limcc @ Feb 27 2020, 01:23 AM)
I don't think Makita Drill/Hammer Drill models are confusing, unless you include models from years ago. Current makita 18V Drills only has 4 model: DDF481 is heavy duty; DDF482 is general purpose with brush motor; DDF483 is light duty sub-compact; DDF484 is general purpose with brushless motor, that's it. substitue DDF with DHP you get hammer drill. The DDF/DHP45X are outdated models. Makita North America label their models with XFD and XPH, different from the rest of the world. eg, DDF484 is XFD12. obviously Makita also make 14.4V, 10.8v/12v, 7.2v, 3.6v....

For comparsion, Bosch GSR/GSB 18V has similar range. Same goes to Dewalt, Milwaukee, Hitachi, bascially every brand offer different model for different purposes.
I guess we've seen too many models online because they are grey markets stuffs. We need to look at the official website biggrin.gif
Zot
post Mar 18 2020, 09:27 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 18 2020, 05:04 PM)
guys where can i buy smaller size SDS drill bits?
I have 6.5 and above
I need all those below 6.5 ada ka?

I dont mind buying a set like this but I cant find in Shopee or Lazada
[attachmentid=10451394]

I needed to drill a 4mm hole today and since I dont have SDS, it was difficult and messy  bangwall.gif
Not sure you want to drill what. Metal or concrete?

https://shopee.com.my/5pcs-4mm-5mm-6mm-Hamm...6907.1572177749

Metal also got... I'm sure you can find in hardware shop
Zot
post Mar 19 2020, 08:21 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 18 2020, 09:31 PM)
ya i saw this but from overseas....haha
i guess i cant buy from hardware shop now and have to wait for the lockdown to be over
i need it for concrete walls. i have non SDS drill bits this size but hammering doesnt work
I believe that branded one starts from 5mm. Only China made can go below 5mm laugh.gif

Just need to find local supplier that sell China made laugh.gif
Zot
post Mar 26 2020, 10:45 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 26 2020, 09:39 PM)
As I was saying I needed a 4mm SDS bit and getting one is difficult. But I do have a SDS chuck with an ordinary round masonry bit and so I used that but drilling thru concrete was much harder. I’m just wondering why it doesn’t hammer that well ? I guess a chuck does not perform the same as a stand-alone bit?
Probably the bit is in worn out condition?
Zot
post Mar 27 2020, 08:08 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 27 2020, 05:42 AM)
It was brand new

Actually, that chuck adapter is not designed for hammering because it will damage the chuck. It is designed for drilling mode only.

All I can think is that the SDS bit is loosely fit into its chuck. It can slide forward and backward, thus act like piston to amplify the hammering. However the adapter also SDS on fitting end biggrin.gif

I guess the hammering strength is dampened by the chuck weight as well as the gripping is not non-sliding itself.
Zot
post Mar 27 2020, 08:28 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Mar 27 2020, 08:05 AM)
Guys need some advise: looking for a hammer drill for home use to drill brick wall to hang wall lights and paintings.

Below r the 2 options:
1.Stanley SCH121S2 B1 12v rm275 (warranty 2 yrs)
2.Bosch GSB120 Li 12v rm299 (6mths)

Which one is better in terms of usage?
Why Bosch only give 6 mths warranty but more expensive ?
Because it is Bosch laugh.gif

If I were you, I'd just go for Stanley simply for its warranty alone. Price wise is negligible.

These are same company
Dewalt - 3 year warranty
Stanley - 2 year warranty
Black and Decker - 1 year warranty

As far as I know the Bosch for this price range, the motor is not something special. Looks like it is using internal brush just like the Stanley. Although the this Bosch is supposed to be at same level as the Dewalt (I think), but I saw Stanley cordless drill even beat Dewalt in drill comparison laugh.gif
Zot
post Mar 27 2020, 12:18 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Mar 27 2020, 12:15 PM)
BOSCH has many grades

always go for bosch professional

bosch is pretty good at making drills. they are one of the best in the industry.

stanley dewalt & B&D are the same company. LOL

"DeWalt (trademarked as DᴇWALT) is an American worldwide brand of power tools and hand tools for the construction, manufacturing and woodworking industries. DeWalt is a trade name of Black & Decker (U.S.) Inc., a subsidiary of Stanley Black & Decker."
Yes but the that Bosch model is still pro (right) but lower end.

That is what I meant, those 3 brands belong to same company.
Zot
post Mar 28 2020, 02:02 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Mar 27 2020, 10:54 PM)
Saw another model Bosch GSB 180Li at RM361.50 so is it worth to buy vs Stanley SCH121S2 at rm275 ?
For occasional use and home DIY (like me), I'd still go for Stanley. I have Bosch, Stanley, Makita, Dewalt. biggrin.gif
Zot
post Mar 29 2020, 12:25 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(odour_stop @ Mar 29 2020, 12:08 AM)
The only reason you would buy that Bosch over Stanley if you're planning to buy another Bosch 12V tools.
I could not agree more. For me, the 12V tool is not you want your cordless tool to be based on smile.gif
Zot
post Mar 29 2020, 03:49 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Mar 29 2020, 01:43 PM)
er... there are some pretty useful 12V tools

i have both 18V & 12V.

the best 12V tool that is indispensable? BOSH GWS 12V-76EC. very compact and very capable grinder.
I meant to say was that for 12V tool, it does matter what brand that much (in my opinion). For higher power tool, then you might want to stick to your favorite brand so that you can share the battery usage.
Zot
post Apr 6 2020, 09:07 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 6 2020, 12:44 AM)
Hi experts. I have a GSR120-Li. Lovely tool to assemble IKEA purchases and online purchase self assembly furnitures.

I need to do some DIY in the house, drilling walls and concretes. Mainly between tiles in bathroom to hang racks up, and also concrete wall to install blinds. As I want to save money, a corded tool is fine (I’ve got a heavy duty 5M extension cord).

Recommendations and bits to get?
Also my GSR120-Li only came with Philips and flat head drivers. Any affordable yet durable kit out there?
Any kit of screw bits from any DIY will do.

You would want to have long bit as well since sometime you need to reach deep and it is impossible to do with big chuck head smile.gif
Zot
post Apr 20 2020, 07:59 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(easywin3 @ Apr 20 2020, 12:30 AM)
Yes, it's shipping cost is high, bought it because the model is not available locally.
SO, the spare part available locally? hmm.gif
Zot
post Apr 22 2020, 09:49 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(micarjun @ Apr 22 2020, 09:43 AM)
I was also thinking on how long the battery last also. that should be a good estimate. it was also in my plan to buy extra batterries. the bigger capacity ones but yeah price is also another issue.

one thing i was sceptical about was the models, cause in the ads they say its this model. but then when i get the item i get a different model, which might be a lower end than the one advertised.
Can reject I guess.

Product sometimes has different package. Some in kit form with hard casing and some just with bag type. Some with just original bag. The price s are different but the same model, except the picture is the most expensive kit package laugh.gif

Better chat with seller for assurance.

17 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.1658sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:38 AM