LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

Zot
post Apr 28 2020, 07:58 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Apr 27 2020, 11:48 PM)
both is not heavyduty model right?
Are you in construction business? I think that blue color series is already pro series. Green is for DIY like me biggrin.gif
Zot
post May 17 2020, 06:39 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Archibeard @ May 17 2020, 02:14 PM)
Hi guys. I'm planning to buy my first drill and I only know so little about it. Would like to use it for drilling, screwing things. The thing is, house that I stay right now, the wall is made from concrete not the usual brick and cement. So I think it is harder to make a hole? I hope can receive some suggestions from you guys.

I'm not a serious user. Just want to buy a drill that can get the job done. Make a hole on wall and wood, screwing cabinet from IKEA. My requirement is the drill must be cordless and powerful enough. Max budget RM1.5K thank you
What house use only concrete wall, not cement rendered brick wall? hmm.gif
Zot
post May 18 2020, 08:00 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Archibeard @ May 17 2020, 10:10 PM)
Low cost one
Most flat or low cost house is using material so called hollow concrete block. Well, I'd say not really concrete like pillar or beam smile.gif

Most hammer drill will do. What is your budget? I think many experience people in this forum can advise you.
Zot
post May 18 2020, 08:47 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Archibeard @ May 18 2020, 08:30 AM)
Ah yes sorry. I'm not really familiar with the material. Only heard my neighbour say concrete.  sweat.gif  That's what I'm hoping the sifus in here can advise some model for me. Max budget RM 1.5k. Can hammer drill used for screwing? I have so little knowledge about drill
Normal hammer drill is not that expensive. Nowadays most have speed control and advertised as it can be used as driver as well, but I think you are better off with separate driver. More flexible with torque adjustment and more precise speed control.

These is what I just Googled. Even if you buy both, it is still way below your budget. If you buy no known brand, even cheaper

Instead of hammer, this is rotary hammer which is more recommended by many here. It has 3 functions; normal drill, hammer drill and chisel

https://shopee.com.my/STANLEY-SHR263KA-26MM...56835.295024301

For driver, I'd recommend cordless one and this is not bad price for brushless motor which is popular now because can last longer and no need to replace carbon bursh (wear and tear part)

https://shopee.com.my/-ORIGINAL-STANLEY-18V...0120.5712010061

I'm not a Stanley promoter laugh.gif , but the good thing about them is Stanley has 2 years warranty. His bother, under Black and Decker, which is more for occasional DIY like you has 1 year warranty usually.

You can search around. There will be other shops that sell cheaper, but probably some come with no casing and something like that. Just double confirm. You can also search for other brand if you like Bosch, Hitachi but they are more expensive but shorter warranty laugh.gif
Zot
post Jun 17 2020, 07:53 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jun 17 2020, 06:49 AM)
Any shop provide cutting wood in these sizes? Plywood
[attachmentid=10518271]
Maybe /k wood expert near you can provide the service if you provide location. wink.gif
Zot
post Jun 17 2020, 10:24 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jun 17 2020, 10:10 AM)
Sorry, Location Seri Kembangan
Yes sir. I will try and ask them.
Most kitchen cabinet shop are just installer and woodwork done by 3rd party factory. This one do their own

https://www.cabinex.my/index.php
https://www.facebook.com/cabinex.my/
Zot
post Jun 17 2020, 10:52 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 17 2020, 10:49 AM)
No need make lar. Go to Puchong police station jln BP7.

Ask the police can sell 1 to you or not. Beside the station, they confiscate alot and dump at there. (Not sure still have or not la)
Looks like mini pinball machine. biggrin.gif
Zot
post Jun 17 2020, 03:29 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ianlti @ Jun 17 2020, 02:17 PM)
I am bias to cordless so I will choose this, but i don't like bosch 12v after I use 18v brows.gif  it feels so meh.. but I will still get this for my 1st drill.
2) Bosch GSR 120-LI Cordless
https://www.bosch-pt.com.my/my/en/products/...0-li-06019G80L0
cyclone9

For light DIY duty and portability, cordless is nice. Furthermore, this one is keyless chuck. Much easier to change bit.

Need to take care of battery though. The best if it is not use for long time, keep battery half charged to prolonged its life.
Zot
post Jun 26 2020, 03:59 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Jun 26 2020, 02:21 PM)

12x12, almost 6 inch thick. Sudah beli, mesti pakai. The day before buat 5" dia exhaust for dryer.

Chisel sudah tumpul, then cannot use grinder to cut because the whole house dusty nanti. Still cannot find proper dust attachment for grinder.
I saw many grinder dust extractors in Shopee that would work for Bosch and others. I think around RM60~70. Some with different size attachment for rare size as well.

Yes, without dust extractor it become very cloudy like thunderstorm is coming laugh.gif
Zot
post Jun 26 2020, 04:00 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 26 2020, 03:35 PM)
I would normally use grinder to cut a groove. Than rotary hammer to have a clean hole cut.

So no need to cement repair the crack edge. Which is very ugly after repair. (Not my expect)
Many just put bezel to cover it and look nice laugh.gif
Zot
post Jun 30 2020, 08:04 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(j45on @ Jun 30 2020, 01:21 AM)
Stay in condo walls. I have 3 windows and balcony to drill for installing blinds
But expensive tool, drill 1 hole in 5s and got everything done in no time, customer said, "Wah, so expensive. Easy job only" laugh.gif

So, need to delay and make it slow and steady biggrin.gif
Zot
post Jul 2 2020, 03:46 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(wenloong78 @ Jul 2 2020, 03:41 PM)
Hi sifu sifu sekalian, i need some advice in getting a table saw.
Advice not in term of which brand to get but is it suitable to operate a table saw at the car pourch of a double storey terrace house? Will it be too noisy and get complain by neighbor?
Noise cannot do anything. You make noise, then neighbor make noise. So, even thumbup.gif So depends on neighbor. Probably just don't start working at 7am smile.gif

Many small size table saw to your requirement.
Zot
post Jul 2 2020, 04:19 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Jacqu3lin3 @ Jul 2 2020, 04:09 PM)

Hi all.. would like to ask for opinion. Is this brand better compare to Bosch?

or any other recommendation.

Sorry i do not have any knowledge of power tools but plan to buy as a gift.
Thanks alot  biggrin.gif
This is one of big name for the US manufacturer. Bosch is German. In general, this brand is more expensive. I'd say both are comparable.
Zot
post Jul 3 2020, 10:58 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Jul 3 2020, 10:22 AM)
More than 100dB SPL when cutting. My cordless circular is less than 100dB when cutting, noise level is more than double. My wired Makita pun not table saw noisy. But i see online some ppl are saying circular=table sound level.

But still, figuratively mcm x banyak, but i can cut using my circular without earplug. I cannot even switch on my table saw without one.
The table saw noise is amplified by the table itself. It cannot be less or equal to circular saw biggrin.gif

I think for occasional woodwork, circular saw is enough wink.gif
Zot
post Jul 3 2020, 09:39 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Jul 3 2020, 03:02 PM)
My bad, my cordless is 80dB (not 90dB) thus 100+dB vs 80dB, no brainer. the table saw punya noise, but 9dB=4 times noisier anyways. On the table amplifying I dunno, that is something new, cant google that. And, my table saw is universal motor anyways, bukan the big ass induction.

HOWEVER, once ada table saw...once ada table saw aaa, you would hate your circular saw, haha! Susah, inaccurate, troublesome - that coming from me with a cordless saw and kreg accu-cut jig

When i have to cut something my table saw cannot i would find a way to be able to use my table saw, paling cikai la my sliding mitre..kalau xdpt, ada sad sikit in my heart. Thus kena beli panel saw liao, but no place to keep. I pernah gila 4x8 18mm blockboard crosscut on table saw, no in/out feed, lone ranger buat.
Amplify in term of the enclosure that hold the blade in table saw acts like speaker box laugh.gif Remove speaker from the box, the volume gone smile.gif

As guide every 3dB increase actually 100% increase of sound energy. You need a 200W amplifier from 100W amplifier to increase sound just by 3dB

I think with proper jig you can cut board as good as table saw. It is just that it takes a bit more time for preparation. I want table saw but probably use once a year and main problem is no place to keep growing tool unless stay at kampung laugh.gif
Zot
post Jul 5 2020, 06:48 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Jul 5 2020, 05:18 PM)
it is possible Milwaukee dont have service center here, I am not sure.

Generally, most local industry user/contractor use Bosch or china brand. Some use Hilti is due to their company's global contract.
I believe at least got Penang and KL service center. Got HQ in KL
Zot
post Jul 6 2020, 10:10 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Jul 6 2020, 09:44 AM)
Pakai HP x bley la.

https://youtu.be/r5ec6hsEnL4?t=64

Its the same, just different table size, extension, and market. 100dBA

Kalau you eyeing the GTS-10J, if la ada other model can explore dulu because my GTS-10J problem aa
1) table support width  too small, max ~16 inches, kacau2 17" saja. Its PIA to cut my frequent 18-24" width cabinet  carcass.
2) mitre guide is rubbish, mitre slide is rubbish. Its abit too big, bergerak2, never true. There is too much play.

Other than that, its light, portable, keep upright, tick my decision to buy, so can keep. Power sometimes off, depending on materials la, the last Keruing wood stalled the motor sket, banyak sap kot, ooozing saja.

Zot
post Jul 9 2020, 05:33 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Jul 9 2020, 05:07 PM)
Any idea where is selling those tool box come with drill?
Not the L-Boxx, the one similar to b&c picture.
Cant find in shopee and ali..

You meant the box only?

I don't think they sell box separately. Only comes with power tool on version that comes with the box.
Zot
post Jul 9 2020, 05:36 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 9 2020, 05:31 PM)
Wow ... does Bosch has box for every tool its produce?
Zot
post Jul 9 2020, 05:44 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 9 2020, 05:40 PM)
When buying wired drills, usually it comes with a nice hard plastic case.

Cordless drill and rotary hammer devil.gif must buy the version with hard plastic case. Some are cheaper but it comes with a rather useless cardboard box/soft tool bag/no box editions especially for solo unit.
Ditto for grinder, jigsaw, circular saw, usually just comes with cardboard box.
I need one for my oscillating tool that comes in paper box, but it has hard box for storing blade though biggrin.gif

I did not see the shop has the casing and I thought the model has no hard casing laugh.gif

17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0401sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:44 PM