Planted Aquarium, Back to the Natural

pinchboyz
post Sep 2 2008, 11:14 AM

1,710 posts

QUOTE(hihi @ Aug 29 2008, 01:32 PM)
this is my tank mah. Not a high tech plant tank. Just a crs tank.
actually, the left side, the xmas moss, some claim is xmas moss, some claim is singapore moss...

Added on September 2, 2008, 11:16 amsome update on my 3 ft...
just ignore the uv filter, having green water recently...

i personally love this pic very much

This post has been edited by pinchboyz: Sep 2 2008, 11:16 AM
TSnezumitaro
post Sep 2 2008, 12:35 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

waw yujin grow soo nice oledi ah!! next ADA is urs!!
frankzane
post Sep 5 2008, 12:08 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Sep 2 2008, 11:14 AM)
actually, the left side, the xmas moss, some claim is xmas moss, some claim is singapore moss...

Added on September 2, 2008, 11:16 amsome update on my 3 ft...
just ignore the uv filter, having green water recently...

i personally love this pic very much
what is the red plant at the corner?
broken_string
post Sep 5 2008, 12:56 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Mar 22 2007, 09:04 AM)

mine nano tank ah... 12" X 10" X 12". these are what i bought:
1) the flara stone (the lowest base) - $25
2) soil ADA African 3 liter - $74.60
3) CO2 (enoguht for 2ft tank - $69 (mthly refill $16, but can DIY also)
4)Plants - $ 20.50

always wanted to setup one of this, so got a few Q here

1. the 4 thing mention above is the most basic requirement to start right ?
2. how much flara stone and ada soil is needed? is there any measurement like, how big the tank should use how much stone and soil ?
3. i saw those CO2 machine before at pet shop around 90 bucks and the refill is also around 16 bucks, so this machine will produce co2 and all we need to do is replace the refill monthly right? no other maintenance needed for it?
4. once everything is done and in place, what other maintenance needed besides changing the co2 refill monthly ?

thanks alot in advance

wana try this soon laugh.gif
pinchboyz
post Sep 5 2008, 12:18 PM

1,710 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Sep 5 2008, 12:08 AM)
what is the red plant at the corner?
if not mistaken is rotala red

Added on September 5, 2008, 12:23 pm
QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 5 2008, 12:56 AM)
always wanted to setup one of this, so got a few Q here

1. the 4 thing mention above is the most basic requirement to start right ?
2. how much flara stone and ada soil is needed? is there any measurement like, how big the tank should use how much stone and soil ?
3. i saw those CO2 machine before at pet shop around 90 bucks and the refill is also around 16 bucks, so this machine will produce co2 and all we need to do is replace the refill monthly right? no other maintenance needed for it?
4. once everything is done and in place, what other maintenance needed besides changing the co2 refill monthly ?

thanks alot in advance

wana try this soon  laugh.gif
damn, she miss out the lighting....
u need lighting for the photosystesis proces......

1) the most basic thing would be the tank itself....
2) depends on ur tank size, and how thick you planned to have those substrate (depends on ur scaping)
3) what you mean by CO2 machine?
4) u will no need to change the CO2 monthly if u invest in a pressurize tank CO2, can last for more.
what else maintenance?
a) WC
b) inject fert
c) trimming
d) others (can't think now)

another thing, the temperature also matter

This post has been edited by pinchboyz: Sep 5 2008, 12:23 PM
broken_string
post Sep 5 2008, 12:54 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Sep 5 2008, 12:18 PM)

Added on September 5, 2008, 12:23 pm

damn, she miss out the lighting....
u need lighting for the photosystesis proces......

1) the most basic thing would be the tank itself....
2) depends on ur tank size, and how thick you planned to have those substrate (depends on ur scaping)
3) what you mean by CO2 machine?
4) u will no need to change the CO2 monthly if u invest in a pressurize tank CO2, can last for more.
what else maintenance?
a) WC
b) inject fert
c) trimming
d) others (can't think now)

another thing, the temperature also matter
thanks, oh the lighting already got inside the tank
but its those normal fluorescent light only, pink color one. can use?

1. i got some 3ft and 2ft tank only, smaller and bigger one or throw away by my dad adi coz no place to put.
2. for 3ft or 2ft tank how much substrate needed? if dun need much i dun mind buying the expensive ADA but if need alot can recommend some cheap one? tongue.gif
3. CO2 machine is those rectangular machine i saw at pets family, its like a pump but need to put in a bottle of liquid one. the machine is around 80 bucks and the refillable bottle is around 15 bucks those loh. at first wana diy also, to save cost but i quite noob scare make any mistake and i dint notice it end up the plant die sweat.gif .

a. wc means cooling? i can diy fans for it biggrin.gif
b. fertilizer can buy those bottle type right?
c. trimming ok, will get a pair of scissor as well

thanks for the guideline notworthy.gif
pinchboyz
post Sep 5 2008, 02:57 PM

1,710 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 5 2008, 12:54 PM)
thanks, oh the lighting already got inside the tank
but its those normal fluorescent light only, pink color one. can use?

1. i got some 3ft and 2ft tank only, smaller and bigger one or throw away by my dad adi coz no place to put.
2. for 3ft or 2ft tank how much substrate needed? if dun need much i dun mind buying the expensive ADA but if need alot can recommend some cheap one? tongue.gif
3. CO2 machine is those rectangular machine i saw at pets family, its like a pump but need to put in a bottle of liquid one. the machine is around 80 bucks and the refillable bottle is around 15 bucks those loh. at first wana diy also, to save cost but i quite noob scare make any mistake and i dint notice it end up the plant die  sweat.gif .

a. wc means cooling? i can diy fans for it  biggrin.gif

thanks for the guideline  notworthy.gif
here come the mathematic class....

for 2 ft, let say you want to go for 5cm thickness of substrate
60cm x 30cm x 5cm = 9L of substrate needed.
so, 1 pack of 9L ADA substrate is enough, now 1 pack 9L should be selling at ~90.

for the 3ft, let say same 5 cm....
90 x 45 x 5 = 20.25L fo substrate.....

back to the first thing u mentioned, the lighting already inside the tank, and pink color.
is a no no no for that kinda of lighting, and i bet your tank is come with cover, do remove the cover as well.
for the lighting, u can always buy a lighting set from LFS, mention to them is for planting, they know which 1.
if wanna save cost, go for DIY, can always choose phillips/osram brand with the kelvin 6500k ~ 8000k..
maybe u can refer to phillips 865 = 6500k. there are many types of lighting available, FL, PL, PLL, T5, T8 and etc..
dun freak out, those are the names or codes for the shape of the lighting itself, google it out what they mean.
for your 2ft, i'm looking at 50~60w is enough.
for your 3ft, maybe need around 150~180w.

CO2 machine...
since u got some idea on how to DIY CO2, go ahead for it first....
is very fun to do so, plant won die, not that fragile.
if possible save some $$, go for pressurize tank of CO2, is much more convenient.

Filteration
for planted tank, Canister filter is always recommended for beneficial bacteria growth, dun forgot include this.

so, where is ur location, maybe someone here can direct you to some nice/good/trusted LFS to purchase those items.

Added on September 5, 2008, 3:14 pm
QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 5 2008, 12:54 PM)

a. wc means cooling? i can diy fans for it  biggrin.gif

thanks for the guideline  notworthy.gif
forgot to reply on these..

WC mean Water Change
bottle type? yes, i'm using them as well...
siccor yes...
and also this, pinsettes

This post has been edited by pinchboyz: Sep 5 2008, 03:14 PM
broken_string
post Sep 5 2008, 03:37 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

thanks alot pinchboys notworthy.gif

pinsettes is used for wat?

currently i am at setapak but i plan to do this at my hometown in kampar.
most likely will move back there for good soon. so will have lots of free time since that town quite boring.

but the thing is, my hometown lfc is quite lame and dun have much equipment for sale, they mainly only sell fish and tanks sad.gif

so most likely i will need to buy in kl and bring home.

which shop is recommended for planted aquarium biggrin.gif

Added on September 5, 2008, 3:41 pmyes the tank comes with a cover and light, my dad used it for flowerhorn last time. i will buy a new light and remove the cover biggrin.gif

thanks for the guide again, btw is there any book to recommend biggrin.gif

preferbly like idork guide to planted aquarium or step by step guide to aquascaping laugh.gif

This post has been edited by broken_string: Sep 5 2008, 03:41 PM
pinchboyz
post Sep 6 2008, 05:29 PM

1,710 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Sep 5 2008, 03:37 PM)
thanks alot pinchboys notworthy.gif

pinsettes is used for wat?

currently i am at setapak but i plan to do this at my hometown in kampar.
most likely will move back there for good soon. so will have lots of free time since that town quite boring.

but the thing is, my hometown lfc is quite lame and dun have much equipment for sale, they mainly only sell fish and tanks sad.gif

so most likely i will need to buy in kl and bring home.

which shop is recommended for planted aquarium biggrin.gif

Added on September 5, 2008, 3:41 pmyes the tank comes with a cover and light, my dad used it for flowerhorn last time. i will buy a new light and remove the cover biggrin.gif

thanks for the guide again, btw is there any book to recommend biggrin.gif

preferbly like idork guide to planted aquarium or step by step guide to aquascaping laugh.gif
pinsettes is used to cucuk those plant into sand/soil....
some plants are tiny and cannot cucuk by fingers..
LFS, i normally visit kl, will go this 1

AquaWorld aquatic center
(YT Fish shop)
D 008 Jalan PJU 10/3,
Damansara Damai,
47830 Petaling Jaya,
Selangor, Malaysia.

nice boss, reasonable price, very good advice provided together....
i think the ADA website got 1, teach how......
http://www.adana.co.jp/index_e.php
go see see
spacemonkeh
post Sep 8 2008, 12:48 AM

60 posts

SLS in conjunction with MAC Team, headed by Mr Stan Chung will be hosting a workshop on the 14th September 2008 2.00p.m

ALL are welcome!! ESPECIALLY FOR NEWBIES.
For all those who missed previous workshops its a good chance to come over and learn.

See you there!

For more info:
http://www.slipperylittlesuckers.com.my/workshop.php

broken_string
post Sep 8 2008, 10:07 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Sep 6 2008, 05:29 PM)
pinsettes is used to cucuk those plant into sand/soil....
some plants are tiny and cannot cucuk by fingers..
LFS, i normally visit kl, will go this 1

AquaWorld aquatic center
(YT Fish shop)
D 008 Jalan PJU 10/3,
Damansara Damai,
47830 Petaling Jaya,
Selangor, Malaysia.

nice boss, reasonable price, very good advice provided together....
i think the ADA website got 1, teach how......
http://www.adana.co.jp/index_e.php
go see see
thanks...
i will check it out. flex.gif

QUOTE(spacemonkeh @ Sep 8 2008, 12:48 AM)
SLS in conjunction with MAC Team, headed by Mr Stan Chung will be hosting a workshop on the 14th September 2008 2.00p.m

ALL are welcome!! ESPECIALLY FOR NEWBIES.
For all those who missed previous workshops its a good chance to come over and learn.

See you there!

For more info:
http://www.slipperylittlesuckers.com.my/workshop.php
aiks, tat day is mid autum festival, i will have to celebrate it with my family at my hometown sweat.gif

paan
post Sep 10 2008, 12:20 AM

428 posts

my simple 5 gallon tank...

plants...

the quite blur...candid using camara hp... rclxub.gif
coldfusionpower
post Sep 11 2008, 03:47 AM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

anyone know where can i send my Rensun CL650 for repairs ? the fan not moving ar ... and today i attached one big fan blowing toward the condensor .. the temp goes 22c ... haha poor fishes ..
TSnezumitaro
post Sep 11 2008, 11:40 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

22c poor fish? i guess they happy loh hahhha

where u buy ur rensun?? just send to the importer.. make sure urs is not paraler importe. they will charge more.
coldfusionpower
post Sep 13 2008, 03:04 PM

3,158 posts

poor fishes lor.. its like ice batu woo .. when i go sahur .. around 5am.. the tank is 19c .. doh.gif

now ok edi .. i took out the unit .. repair it myself .. haha .. done some wiring, cleaning and service the fan motor.. now good as new .. thumbup.gif

but now, im looking for stand like this one ... anyone have used one ? or know where can i buy a new one and price .. thanks ..

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Sep 13 2008, 03:05 PM
kilatsenja
post Sep 14 2008, 11:00 PM

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Sep 13 2008, 03:04 PM)
poor fishes lor.. its like ice batu woo .. when i go sahur .. around 5am.. the tank is 19c .. doh.gif

now ok edi .. i took out the unit .. repair it myself .. haha .. done some wiring, cleaning and service the fan motor.. now good as new .. thumbup.gif

but now, im looking for stand like this one ... anyone have used one ? or know where can i buy a new one and price .. thanks ..
this 2.5ft metal stand like this was around rm8x.xx
also have a 2.5ft double stand..means can put 2 tank, in one stand.. around rm10x.xx

seen at LFS in tmn kosas, ampang cool2.gif
coldfusionpower
post Sep 15 2008, 03:14 PM

3,158 posts

takpe .. found edi .. someone selling cheap2 from my-mac.net
michanz
post Sep 15 2008, 04:50 PM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

coldfusion got chiller already rolleyes.gif
coldfusionpower
post Sep 17 2008, 02:11 AM

3,158 posts

haha that one troublesome one .. asyik rosak je .
firstDraggir
post Sep 17 2008, 09:12 PM

124 posts

sorry, just want to enquire where can I get some freshwater and seawater seaweed?

127 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0310sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:48 PM