6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

UniFi's TP-Link Routers C5, C7 & C1200, Newer is not better.

SilentVampire
post Jan 2 2018, 12:30 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(8823 @ Jan 2 2018, 12:15 PM)
After looking at the threads, I got a lot of choices now. Either I get
1. TPLINK C3150v2 - 256MB ram, dual core 1.4GHz
2. Asus AC68U - 256MB ram, dual core 1GHz
3. Asus AC87U Second Hand - 256MB ram, dual core 1GHz
4. Mikrotik router + Archer C1200 as access point - 256MB ram, dual core 800MHz

All around the same price except choice 4 where I get mikrotik router.
Which one should I get?

Most importantly I would like stability despite of what I throw at it

Not sure about the stability of C3150v2. Anyone have run it for at least a month and seen any restarts or any restarts required for good performance?
If you are just looking for something that works without much configuration, I would recommend the TP Link Archer C3150v2. I have been running it for about a month now, who restarts and no issues. It is one of the best routers for me, in terms of coverage, and its internal antivirus does a good job preventing spam, malware, and even intrusions to my CCTV. It just protects your entire network and devices.

The two Asus routers that you describe is also protected by the same antivirus company, Trend Micro, that is proctecting the TP Link C3150v2, and Asus routers are generally reliable. I would also recommend them, if you can get them cheap, but they are slightly older than the C3150 v2, and they can be pricier as well.

Mikrotik is another great brand if you are someone who likes to configure and do your own settings. I will be eventually changing to a Mikrotik router when I upgrade to 100Mbps in the near future. I don’t need it now yet, but have been learning and will be getting my own Mikrotik to explore in the next few weeks.

So, it is up to you, based on your own preferences.
SilentVampire
post Jan 3 2018, 04:59 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Mr.7 @ Jan 3 2018, 04:16 PM)
Not problem with the budget. Based on your experience with both devices, which one is better? Thanks
I would recommend the C3150 v2. I am using that and it is very stable. Get it here from a reliable seller: http://www.lazada.com.my/tp-link-archer-c3...53bfnEzAjv&mp=1
SilentVampire
post Jan 6 2018, 09:48 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 6 2018, 09:47 PM)
how do we actually cpu load on the router? is there a command or something?
Just torrent heavily, play some 4K videos, and your CPU will be pushes to the limit.
SilentVampire
post Jan 6 2018, 11:45 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 6 2018, 11:32 PM)
archer c5 cant see cpu load
Yes, you can’t see CPU load on the C5.
SilentVampire
post Jan 16 2018, 10:49 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 16 2018, 09:59 AM)
TP-Link managed to identify the issue and have produced an official fix.

Apparently, it was caused by Android and Chromecast.

http://www.tp-link.com/us/faq-2050.html
Hi bro, it is only for US firmware unfortunately and TP Link does have a disclaimer that if there are any warranty issues and your firmware does not correspond on what is released for your local version, it voids the warranty so I wouldn’t update the firmware yet until it is released for the Malaysian website.
SilentVampire
post Jan 18 2018, 08:06 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(nixuotan @ Jan 15 2018, 12:04 PM)
So the problem comes from "cast" feature? Does that mean everyone who has a problem with the C1200 over here has a google chromecast or cast enabled device? I do have one so seriously wondering that.
QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Jan 15 2018, 01:00 PM)
wait for EU version. Most of the router supplied by tm using eu version. So it is better to wait for the eu version.
QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jan 16 2018, 01:49 PM)
EU firmware extremely slow to release if compare to US version sad.gif  sad.gif
QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Jan 18 2018, 07:21 AM)
I think someone should e-mail to TP-LINK support team regarding the EU firmware status.
Why does it takes too long for the EU version release?
Hopefully they will give some updates...
New update guys, EU beta version released. See here for a write up by bro BookerLewitt:

“They do have the EU version (which is what we use) on the FAQ.

Just updated mine (unifi EU V1) to the beta firmware. It wipes out all your settings, so before upgrading, make sure you keep your unifi username and password handy.

Turns out the unifi specific firmware makes the router way shittier than it already is. After upgrading to the beta firmware, I noticed two big thing:
1. I no longer have to deal with the shitty @unifi thing on my SSID. It's no longer there.
2. There's a check for update button on the firmware settings page.

Waiting for the Malaysian specific update might take a while (and there's two version locally, the TM and Time version), so if you're comfortable dealing with your router settings, I dont see any issue with upgrading with the firmware they provided. If shit go south, just flash the old firmware back.”

Link here for clarification: http://www.tp-link.com/us/faq-2050.html

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Jan 18 2018, 08:11 AM
SilentVampire
post Jan 21 2018, 11:33 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(basara2020 @ Jan 21 2018, 11:24 AM)
How to reflash back to stock firmware? Cannot use upgrade method in router page.  I flash back using tpfd32 seem success but when login to router,  still beta firmware.
I flash back using TM in the website. My router archer c1200 v1.
No idea bro.
SilentVampire
post Jan 24 2018, 06:00 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(teen08 @ Jan 24 2018, 05:55 PM)
i dont see any eu upate for v1. still using the beta ver. theres a new update?
They removed it for some unknown reason, so use at your own risk. See here for link: http://static.tp-link.com/2018/201801/2018...180101_Beta.zip
SilentVampire
post Jan 25 2018, 07:35 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(teen08 @ Jan 25 2018, 06:17 PM)
Is this the beta get that was released a few weeks ago. I’m using that now.
Yes that is the beta that was released a few weeks ago.
SilentVampire
post Feb 16 2018, 11:26 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 16 2018, 08:01 PM)
Hi. Please enlightened me your problem with the firmware (180124)? Why you wish to upgrade / shift to tm's unifi firmware?
I am not using c1200. I did, but to test the current firmware (non unifi firmware). Although it is slightly better than before. I believe the tm firmware does comes with suffix "@unifi" at the back of your ssid name.
If i've given opportunity to choose to go back to stay a night with tiger or using tm's firmware, i would choose to stay with a tiger
Hahaha laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

You gave me a good laugh bro. But this is exactly my sentiments. I rather switch to a third party router than have ‘@unifi’ included on my SSID.
SilentVampire
post Feb 17 2018, 12:07 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 17 2018, 02:16 AM)
Hahaha. Glad that it makes you laugh bro. That is why i dismantle the router and void that damn warranty. Although the current firmware does improves, but still, i don't feel convincing enough of using the router for my home use. i shift back to dlink dir615 flashed with ddwrt. Currrently surveying the routers and archer c3150 does caught my attention thou. btw, Happy Chinese New Year bro.
Thanks bro. As I say before, the Archer C3150 is one of the best, if not, the best router for its price range. If you get it, you won’t need to buy another router for quite some time.
SilentVampire
post Feb 18 2018, 10:43 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 18 2018, 06:54 PM)
survey around yesterday. This router caught my attention. Asus RT-AC87R. I bought it for rm700 (promo) price from a singapore agent. Once get the router, immediately flash to the asus-merlin firmware. Going to test this router for sometime. Hope it caught my attention and will be my loyal "friend".

[attachmentid=9599810]

[attachmentid=9599812]
Very nice bro. Good find. I don’t think you will need to buy the AC3150 now as this router is sufficient for your daily use.
SilentVampire
post Feb 20 2018, 11:56 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Feb 20 2018, 11:18 AM)
Anyone using Archer c7? Is it good enough? Someone tell me something about the newer v4
Archer c7 v4 is good enough for your daily use, and much better than the C1200. I would recommend it.
SilentVampire
post Apr 10 2018, 08:34 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(lelynx @ Apr 10 2018, 12:19 AM)
Tried to search the forum on this but cannot seems to find the answers. Hopeful sifu here can help me out smile.gif

Current setup
- Upgraded to 100mpbs with Archer C1200 router
- Firmware, flush to 20180208 EU version
- Use NAT boost. Disable QoS
- Disable WPS
- Disable ipv6

Issue 1:
No matter how I change the setting, I cannot get 100mpbs download from speedtest.net (with 2.4). Normally getting 30-40 mpbs only
Any special setting which I need to configure in this router to get the right speed?

Issue 2:
Cannot update the DDNS for no-ip. Save but it have a message prompt 'failed to update ddns'

Any guide on the above is much appreciated
2.4 is congested and full of interference so is not optimal for getting the full speed of 100Mbps. You can try increasing the bandwidth from 20Mhz to 40Mhz, but if the wireless network in your area is congested, you can forget getting full sleeked unless you go on the 5GHz band,

Have you tried rebooting and see here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=88480977
SilentVampire
post May 5 2018, 12:08 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ May 4 2018, 11:59 PM)
Anybody can point me to settings for port forwarding for torrents for TP Link C1200... sorry noob here tongue.gif
Google is your friend: http://www.cfos.de/en/cfos-personal-net/po...rcher-c1200.htm
SilentVampire
post May 5 2018, 10:52 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ May 5 2018, 10:27 AM)
Hahaaaa, thanks, but how do you find out what the "Internal IP" is?
Ah, maybe it would be easier if you have uPNP enabled on your router. See here:
http://screenshots.portforward.com/routers...nP_Settings.htm
SilentVampire
post May 5 2018, 10:54 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ May 5 2018, 10:27 AM)
Hahaaaa, thanks, but how do you find out what the "Internal IP" is?
But, why do you need to port toward for torrent? It should be an automatic process for your torrent client to find a port to use, unless you have a firewall that is set to block all connections for the torrent client. Try to include the client on the firewall exclude list.
SilentVampire
post May 6 2018, 01:08 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ May 6 2018, 12:23 PM)
I've got it enabled already but my torrent app still shows it's peer listening port is closed.
Do you have a firewall of any sort? Try a different torrent client as well. Deluge or Vuze or utorrent.
SilentVampire
post May 6 2018, 05:18 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(donthitmyface @ May 6 2018, 04:53 PM)
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/tp-link-...s283259148.html

Is archer c50=c5? Is tplink more reliable than tenda? Anyone use both before?

Also the ac1200 etc number it means speed?
No to archer c50 being same to C5. This is the older version, and you can see that from the price. Tenda is actually not too bad, but TP-Link is slightly better. AC1200 does not mean speed. It is just a number. You have to see your budget and decide what you can afford.
SilentVampire
post May 16 2018, 04:57 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ May 16 2018, 03:35 PM)
Is normal when i i multiple download then the Router hang for a minute? If not how to solve this issue?

Using Archer C1200 given by TM.
Using latest firmware? If you are, then the router is getting overheated. Try to elevate it somehow or cool it down. If it still hangs, it is considered a crappy router to be honest.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0416sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:35 AM