Sony-Ericsson Sony Ericsson P1i

fx_53_xt
post Nov 25 2007, 11:34 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(raycsc @ Nov 25 2007, 11:24 PM)
Hi all,

For those who are keen to read more about this Green Tint problem, you can go to Google Search and type "SE P1i green tint"....and you will see a forum at www.esato.com that talks a lot about this problem with the P1i....

The forumers actually take photos with their P1i and post it there.....check it out if you are keen...

This is one of the issue that is holding me back from buying the P1i.....other than the Wifi(without 'g'), no Flash support and uncertainty of the "user-friendliness" of the rocker Qwerty keypad...
it has been posted tongue.gif

QUOTE(aH wAi @ Nov 25 2007, 11:28 PM)
oh, mine 1 i guess R6E30 hmm.gif

PDA software version:
CXC162156 R6E30
yeah, that's R6E30
an update to R6F41 would solve the 98% fully charged issue
it's just a numbering anyway, i think the battery does fully charged even though it's showing 98%
fx_53_xt
post Nov 25 2007, 11:39 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(aH wAi @ Nov 25 2007, 11:36 PM)
haha, okie... anyway R6F41 released d? cause i try to update my firmware just now, but i state that i got the latest update already
it was released for a few CDA for time being.
what CDA you having?
if you're keen on getting R6F41 you can read few pages back regarding how to change ur CDA to GW and get the latest firmware straight away

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Nov 25 2007, 11:39 PM
fx_53_xt
post Nov 26 2007, 08:03 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(lovehewit @ Nov 26 2007, 05:29 PM)
Thanks Fx, I managed to updated and changed my cda.
However:-

1) It doesn't support chinese character
2) my preinstalled disctionary chinese to english (vise versa) is gone.

What should i do now?
1)GW firmware doesn't shipped witf chinese input by default.
however, the font installing for viewing trick still applies

2) pre-installed software only comes with their assigned CDA. for example european get their free GPS software while we don't and GW firmware only has the main application. i assume yours should be singapore /95 CDA therefore you get the dictionary pre-installed and now it is gone since it is GW flashed

fx_53_xt
post Nov 29 2007, 01:33 AM

2,048 posts

this thread is starting to filled up with repeated posts/questions
fx_53_xt
post Nov 29 2007, 09:43 AM

2,048 posts

yeah...will try to compile that and create a new thread.
anyone that has any useful info plz post it up here
fx_53_xt
post Dec 2 2007, 02:55 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(Glau @ Dec 1 2007, 11:08 AM)
I am planning to change my n73me for the p1i, because of the wifi function. is it a good choice?
QUOTE(iCHiH @ Dec 1 2007, 12:11 PM)
i am also want a WiFi phone that's way i plan to get one P series, but now P1 just few hundred different from N82, N82 hv faster connection speed wor icon_question.gif but not touch screen icon_question.gif
ask yourself, what you want smile.gif
fx_53_xt
post Dec 2 2007, 10:52 PM

2,048 posts

anyone used this software called GDesk before can post some review bout this software?

looks awesome but i don have time to try it out yet

http://gdesk.wetpaint.com/

This post has been edited by sonyclie77: Dec 2 2007, 11:25 PM
fx_53_xt
post Dec 3 2007, 02:00 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Dec 3 2007, 01:32 AM)
jz wanna ask some ques b4 i make up my mind to get this phone:
1. Can i touch it like wat i can do in iphone by using finger, like drag things around?
2. comparing the OS, is N95 8GB can install more type of program than P1i?
3. how is the Wifi function of P1i compare to N95 8GB?
4. Can i "write" chinese word for sms?

sorry for those stupid question but wanna make a decision tat involve big amount of money, really have to think twice  tongue.gif

but for me P1i is in my budget lo compare to N95. As my uni is going to launch wifi, its time to get a wifi phone lo  rclxms.gif
1) certain application designed for finger operation (such as drag n scroll in opera) : yes.
big icon menu : yes
small button chucked away in the corner : no

2) Symbian S series has more software support IMHO. But the UIQ3 apps i found so far is good enough for my organizing stuff. but somehow both Symbian UIQ and S still lag behind WM platform in terms of software IMHO.

3) i never tested the 8GB N95 before, but i suppose since it support Flash lite, i should be better than P1i especially when gonna randomly surfing at all kind of different hotspot.

4) yes if you have the chinese firmware. And even if you don't have, firmware flashing is available from some of the forumer for a reasonable price.
fx_53_xt
post Dec 3 2007, 03:29 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(LivingLife @ Dec 3 2007, 02:09 PM)
When i try to access to internet, suddenly a box pop up and give 4 option, " This time only, sumore got 3 forget d." Which one should i choose?
Sounds like my desktop norton internet security's option tongue.gif
never encountered this though

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Dec 3 2007, 02:42 PM)
What do you mean by Symbian S series? S60 you meant?
What are the options given?
ya...S60 whistling.gif
fx_53_xt
post Dec 4 2007, 12:47 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Dec 3 2007, 09:08 PM)
flash to chinese firmware? will it change all the folder and application name into chinese word?
depends
taiwan/HK version confirm have.
s'pore version i'm not sure.

my best guess is s'pore version remains fully english with native support of mandarin character reading and handwriting recognition
fx_53_xt
post Dec 31 2007, 06:41 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(numerical @ Dec 31 2007, 12:17 AM)
Mine has English (UK) and Simplified Chinese language. I already have the chinese version even the ringtones n pics default are writen in chinese. The main thing is i wan to remove the chinese language option from my hp (the chinese virtual keybod n changing to chinese language in handwritin recognition). Can i do it? i thought if i add american english language and other language i can remove them.
which CDA u having?
HK/SG version support handwritting along wif english display if i'm not mistaken

QUOTE(joshua_chin @ Dec 31 2007, 02:09 AM)
hi all, juz bought a p1i and its an amazing phone. but i hand gatal go and use SEUS, now my phone flash back to middle east firmware. all my chinese language setting(virtual keyboard,chinese character and language support) all gone!!!!is there any way i can revert it back to my original state? or i need to send to phone shop to do it??
if ur phone is original then send back to SE service centre. it only takes them less than an hour to fix the firmware back.
AP set you might get charged.

alternative way is to mess around the firmware yourself through some 3rd party software mentioned before
fx_53_xt
post Dec 31 2007, 04:47 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(numerical @ Dec 31 2007, 02:33 PM)
Thanx to all of u willing to help me out wit ur ideas. my cda version is 162024/74 and it is hongkong. Thats y my phne is chinese language based isn it? Now, at 1st time i bought i already upgrade the firmware wit SEUS. They said mine is already updated n i just reinstal it again.

How can i change the CDA to other genric language?
Another question is, for those who doesnt have the chinese language in P1i they just have english virtual keyboard n cannot change to chinese in handwriting recognition? if that is the case,i just want to make my P1i like that.
the reason SEUS says ur firmware is up to date is because you already had R6F41 installed.
HK version should be able to display in english along with chinese input support.

in case you see your default file name is in chinese, it is because they were in there initially with chinese naming and your phone wont be renaming them to english.

To change your CDA to other region, check out the earlier post by searching for XS++.

other than SG/TW/HK CDA, other region will be stuck with firmware without chinese support at all, not even chinese word display natively.
fx_53_xt
post Jan 3 2008, 01:03 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(numerical @ Jan 1 2008, 03:27 PM)
Hy guys..happy new year to all..just ave these 2 questions..

1)WHat is the startup available memory? (is it 79MB)
2)Is it normal after startup n awhile, the message n contact is automatically run when viewed in task manager.

Thank you all and gudluck in the year of 2008 thumbup.gif
most of the application that doesn't have an exit function wont be terminated when u click "back". they are all running in background unless you terminate it in task manager

QUOTE(blstz @ Jan 2 2008, 06:25 PM)
Just wanna confirm that the P1 still doesnt support flash application? And if i come across a flash based wifi login hotspot, i wouldnt be able to log in? Is that correct? Thanks
no flash. i cant login in penang coffee bean due to this issue i guess

QUOTE(aH wAi @ Jan 2 2008, 07:46 PM)
yeap, not support flash... cant even view youtube... 1 of the drawback for p1i
QUOTE(d@odao @ Jan 2 2008, 08:51 PM)
correction on the youtube...cannot youtube but can mtube...

http://m.youtube.com/warning?next=/
edited : checked and found out m.tube is composed of 3GP movies, not flash based.

QUOTE(milky @ Jan 2 2008, 11:05 PM)
regarding tis p1i the flash on it is LED light rite?
yup, two little LED bulb

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Jan 3 2008, 05:35 PM
fx_53_xt
post Jan 4 2008, 12:44 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Jan 3 2008, 10:13 PM)
Hey. Thanks for the information. That's all I wanted to know. biggrin.gif
This should be correct, as the same thing applies to my P990i as well.
one thing should be noted that no matter the contact is loaded or not, opening the contact from the messaging application always take ages.

QUOTE(d@odao @ Jan 3 2008, 11:30 PM)
it is a great phone...try show off the business card scanner function...ppl really get impressed... wink.gif
most of the people already impressed by the business card scanner from dopod/htc at the first place.
fx_53_xt
post Jan 5 2008, 05:01 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Jan 4 2008, 08:00 PM)
well, not for my case...coz they r nokia user...
they think it is very impressive... hmm.gif
ordinary phone user definitely will be impressed by what this baby could do.
even the TrackID that fetches song name turn my friend's face into holy-mother-god expression

QUOTE(jason83 @ Jan 4 2008, 08:45 PM)
guys, been using the phone for 1month plus..

can i ask something, why is it that there are so few free wifi available?

i have been to so many shopping complex in KL and PG and most of the requires password or something, i have only managed to use my wifi twice in 1 month ++ of trying...

feel like this phone is useless... if free wifi is so hard to be found
there's no free lunch out there.
maybe there is, but they are very little and usually public wifi goes darn slow
fx_53_xt
post Jan 6 2008, 03:36 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(j0ann3 @ Jan 5 2008, 09:59 AM)
Hies..

Was just wondering.. does the AP set come with the USB cradLe?
mine one was one of the early batch of P1i and it does comes with it

QUOTE(shockk @ Jan 5 2008, 11:56 AM)
The cradle is part of the P1i standard package, if it doesn't come with it, it means you are getting cheated, unless of course you are getting it for way below AP market price.

AP sets these days are getting better, with extended 15-18 months warranty and 1 year warranty on the LCD.
problem wif AP distro warranty is they always tend to blame the user for mishandling the phone and refused to fix for free. most commonly used reason is "your phone inside got water le, the water causes the joystick malfunction/LCD to crack/mainboard burnt/speaker defects etc, warranty not covered one, you have to pay". i've heard that numerous time. if that's the case, what is the good even if they extend the warranty to 10years doh.gif

QUOTE(j0ann3 @ Jan 5 2008, 02:05 PM)
>.<
well.. maybe my fren doesnt really know wat 'cradle' means.. cuz he's not really good in english.. it seems his supplier confirmed that everything is same as the original set things.. so it should be there =)

i shall see how it goes.. gonna get it tonite~ wHeeeeee...
tell him : its the thing that make the phone stand up tongue.gif
fx_53_xt
post Jan 6 2008, 07:27 PM

2,048 posts

hey guys, as suggested earlier, should i start a v2 thread with all the important information compiled in the first page?
fx_53_xt
post Jan 6 2008, 08:12 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Jan 6 2008, 08:05 PM)
sure...good idea... nod.gif
want to hv owner listing oso?... hmm.gif
definitely rclxms.gif
fx_53_xt
post Jan 6 2008, 11:15 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(j0ann3 @ Jan 6 2008, 10:53 PM)
Hies..

1)tried edi... if i select all contacts.. it will be blank....
select sim contacts.. only 15 names...

2 aihhh... it wont go away >.<

3. its actually to switch from eng to pinyin or stroke >.< not nice...
did you saved part of your contact inside your previous phone?

new thread is in the middle of creating. biggrin.gif
fx_53_xt
post Jan 7 2008, 02:16 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Jan 6 2008, 11:40 PM)
have a few enquiry of my p1i.
how to have chinese firmware? mean i wanna have chinese word to sms.
how to get a dictionary software juz like the nokia symbian 60 dictionary?

pls help...
thanks in advance
answered here :
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/606077

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0399sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:52 AM