Sony-Ericsson Sony Ericsson P1i

fx_53_xt
post Nov 11 2007, 02:17 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(lovehewit @ Nov 8 2007, 12:08 PM)
my set has no squeaky sound, very solid n perfect.

The 3rd party softwares is not something WOW enuff, basically, your phone has the basic functions to do the task, or it is not really necessary to have. Perhaps save your points for future applications better.

I just pray it won't hang (so far never happened even though I open a few applications at once), fast (the responce of opening new application is good), and LONG BATTERY (i still think if can last 4 days will be better)

Iss a perfect phone, congrats to those who just joined this P1i family, u have got one of the best so far.
my first set was full with trouble but the second set has been nice though. only hanged one or two times through my two months plus of usage and that is due to extreme abuse of the phone. does not experience squeky sound too.

QUOTE(bluegreen @ Nov 8 2007, 02:55 PM)
Want to ask, does this phone has Megabass?

& writing message/sms, is it possible to change the background to black & alphabets to white?
using a black background with white font theme will do

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Nov 8 2007, 04:28 PM)
yeah! really want to know, ap set got the voucher??  drool.gif  drool.gif
cannot confirm cuz all AP comes from different company. at least mine one bought from renee has it

QUOTE(raycsc @ Nov 10 2007, 12:50 AM)
Hi all,

I'm new here. Quite keen to get a P1i soon and has been reading this forum lately.

So, has anyone answer the questions above? Can P1i uses the WIFI access at Starbucks and Coffee Bean area?

P1i can be used on all public wifi that is B compatible EXCEPT those who uses flash page as login menu such as... coffee bean.
sweat that P1i does not support flash.
fx_53_xt
post Nov 11 2007, 05:11 PM

2,048 posts

no, you cant do that.
you need flash support for browser too in order to browse flash page.

anyone can confirm that i'm unable to login at coffee bean?
fx_53_xt
post Nov 12 2007, 09:10 AM

2,048 posts

anyone realize that when using opera to browse a page, you can actually use the finger to drag the page like an iphone?
fx_53_xt
post Nov 12 2007, 06:55 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(kenji82 @ Nov 12 2007, 12:03 PM)
anyone using opera mini 4?

Added on November 12, 2007, 12:05 pm
i noticed that the charging time is shorter when the phone is off, aprox 1.5 hours,

which is recommended? charging while the phone is on or off?
i never turn off my phone during charging. how to make and receive calls if turn it off?

fx_53_xt
post Nov 12 2007, 10:18 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(raycsc @ Nov 12 2007, 09:16 PM)

Mobile Review website has a review on the W960 and they compare it with P1i...so do read it if you are considering both this phones.

I'm also considering these 2 phones as well....weighing the pros and cons now
the only things that interest me wif W960 is walkman 3.0 and the bundled A2DP earpiece.
if asking me to choose again now, with the affordable price of P1i, i would say P1i suits me better. cuz even topping up a A2DP earpiece would most probably still be cheaper than W960.
and firmware hack also will make walkman 3.0 possible in near future. tongue.gif

QUOTE(convict @ Nov 12 2007, 09:41 PM)
hi all,

Just got my P1i AP set for RM1600 with 1g plus 512mb card.
Overall pretty good, cant really do a review on this cos this is my first PDA phone.

But I got one problem, I dont seem to be able to pull out my simcard from my P1i. does anyone face the same problem. help.
virgin phone is a lil tight.
try to press the sim firmly and drag it out slowly.
you need some friction to bring it out
fx_53_xt
post Nov 14 2007, 02:35 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Nov 14 2007, 10:22 AM)
i want to know more bout this phone now.. hows the firmware and camera all those up till now..?
Camera : if not better then it is at least on par with K800i
Firmware : has been stable enough since the first R6D23 release. in the period of my 3 months usage, it only hanged 1 to 2 times only.

QUOTE(kenji82 @ Nov 14 2007, 11:31 AM)
what is the latest firmware?

who has successfully updated? what are the changes? mind to share?
read back the thread. i posted it few pages back.
fx_53_xt
post Nov 15 2007, 12:11 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(BratPAQ @ Nov 14 2007, 08:46 PM)
seems all camera pictures has a green tint on right side, goggle "p1i green tint"

Added on November 14, 2007, 8:48 pm

new firmware is R9J005 - R6F41, you can update it if you are GW1, to be GW1, you need XS++ to change region.
QUOTE(kenji82 @ Nov 14 2007, 09:00 PM)
thanks....how to check the region is GW1?
the new firmware is not limitedly available for GW1 only, it was available for GW2, GW3 and now available for middle east CDA as well. other CDA will be made available soon. just wait if you do not want to mess with the phone's CDA as it will void the warranty.

as for CDA, just go to main menu > system info , check the number after the slash under CDA. 1,2,3 or 9 would be representing GW1, GW2 , GW3 and middle east.

gosh, SE updated the middle east fellow's before anyone else.

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Nov 15 2007, 12:23 AM
fx_53_xt
post Nov 15 2007, 10:26 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(kenji82 @ Nov 15 2007, 09:27 AM)
my CDA is CDA 162024/95 R5A, is that means mine is G5?

Added on November 15, 2007, 9:53 amanyone knows how to delete the default sounds for ringtones and message?

i hav deleted in c:\music\sounds.
thre's no such thing as G5.
yours is Singapore APAC version
fx_53_xt
post Nov 15 2007, 03:31 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(kenji82 @ Nov 15 2007, 11:33 AM)
what does that mean?
that means your phone settings and content is localized for Singapore

QUOTE(lovehewit @ Nov 15 2007, 01:53 PM)
I worry to change my firmware to something else. Perhaps I should just wait for the update to my current one. How to know when my version is available for upgrade?
depends on youself. the risk of changing CDA is very low. but might void the warranty. depends on the luck of your region, the wait might take place up to a month or two doh.gif

again, if your phone is AP set. i don't think their service center will even bother what CDA you have since they might import the phone from different region all the time. (most probably they don't even know there's such thing called CDA)

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Nov 15 2007, 03:32 PM
fx_53_xt
post Nov 15 2007, 11:55 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(kenji82 @ Nov 15 2007, 05:11 PM)
how come is singapore? mine is original warranty by thorus. care to explain. thank you
it is just regional setting, so it's not to be surprised that we have S'pore setting as we share a lots of things in common (language, time zone etc) i don't think there's a specific CDA for Malaysia as i've never seen a pre-set RM symbol in any phone before. And also, there's very few CDA that has firmware comes with Chinese input support. so far i only notice HK, S'pore and Taiwan has chinese input. And S'pore has two CDA where the other one does not support chinese.

QUOTE(boapike @ Nov 15 2007, 10:36 PM)
does the phone has wifi?

in the website it states that it has WLAN...

whats the difference?

tq
they are the same Wifi = Wireless Fidelity = WLAN = Wireless LAN = IEEE 802.11
fx_53_xt
post Nov 16 2007, 02:27 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(chikanot @ Nov 16 2007, 02:05 AM)
is it just me or anybody else have these kind of problems:

When I switch off or changing theme the date format will revert to YY/MM/DD and time format will revert from 24hrs to 12hrs?

When installing swiss manager pro there is annoying icon when I am in the main menu and in the others menu apart from standby/desktop even after I disable it in the software (swiss manager)...

When I ended up a call there is still blank dialog box on the desktop and hav to press back button or backspace to go to standby/desktop

When I press a speed dial number (ie: no 2 for xxx person) there isnt any xxx person name displayed in the dial box apart from the picture.

Sometimes the phone automatically locked by itself but sometime dont. (the phone's lock was set as auto)

other than that the phone is working superb...
1) i seldom play with theme so cannot confirm this
2) my swiss manager don have this problem
3) blank dialog is there when i end up call
4) i don use speed dial, i have more than 9 people that i call frequently, so instead i make a folder in contact with all the frequently called number in it.
5) my phone lock is working normal
fx_53_xt
post Nov 16 2007, 04:49 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(chikanot @ Nov 16 2007, 02:09 PM)
Thanks dude, maybe because of the firmware..urs is a new one rite?
My firmware (dont know which one is which so here is info@main menu)

Phone: CXC162037 R9H004
Blutooth: quite sure this isnt firmware version but anyway CXC162143 R1D
Organizer: CXC162156 R6E30
CDA: CDA162024/95 R5A 

Fuhh  sweat.gif
just knowing that my phone region is set to spore...That is all I that know of
Swiss manager pro huh...just install it to play around...I think it acts like a system optimizer 4 phone...correct me if i am wrong thou....keylock that is, was set to automatic but sometime need to manually lock. Going to try to update the phone using SEUS later on.

mine is the latest R6F41, yours is the second release (R6E30).
try sending back to service centre to re-flash the firmware if the problem still exist. some of those you mention especially keylock does not occur in all 3 P1i firmware i came across.

i have another problem here with handy clock. previously whenever i set an alarm to be rang weekly, it doesn't work properly and when it is the time it's suppose to be ringing, it's showing bunch of weird code. now that i master reset the phone and reinstall it, it does ring but still comes with the weird code. anyone encountered this?
fx_53_xt
post Nov 17 2007, 12:24 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(kenji82 @ Nov 16 2007, 04:52 PM)
hi fx_53_xt, are you using SEUS to update your firmware?
indirectly, yes. after changed the CDA to GW1, then used SEUS to update.

QUOTE(karlcheong @ Nov 16 2007, 09:59 PM)
Yes you can. Just that there is no update for CDA /95 yet. Its still R9H004. The latest is R9J005
R9J005 is the phone software which normally doesn't affect much, firmware is referred to organizer software version as it govern the overall operation of the phone.

QUOTE(chikanot @ Nov 16 2007, 10:40 PM)
Oh! in the end I hav to wait....haiyaa...
thanks anyway..
you can wait or you can take a lil risk by using XS++, your call rolleyes.gif
fx_53_xt
post Nov 19 2007, 01:00 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(lovehewit @ Nov 18 2007, 11:44 AM)
Does the latest firmware (R9J005?) supports Chinese? I see they just updated the Hong Kong & taiwan firmware yesterday, mine still no luck. And is a German generic. But currently support Chinese.

Added on November 18, 2007, 12:16 pm

Oh we r the same. Do u notice the CDA162024/95 is not listed in the wiki CDA list? I just persume it is the germany generic base on the R5A. Why does it happen? Which region r we in actually? I'm thinking to flash my firmware to Taiwan to support the Chinese writing.

I don't know why my camera shutter has no sound. I tried shutter 1 - 4 and off, all without shutter sound. Please help.
as from my googling around shows that /95 is sg based CDA. but to confirm this you can connect to SEUS and see what it says about /95

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Nov 19 2007, 03:26 AM)
already been posted here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/550103/+20
still a rumour anyway
fx_53_xt
post Nov 19 2007, 02:55 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Nov 19 2007, 01:08 PM)
not sure this question been asked before or not, is there any difference between p1i and p1?

what i found is there are same.
there's only P1i and P1c
p1c is made for china market, 3G radio cut off.
fx_53_xt
post Nov 24 2007, 11:38 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(tracyjz @ Nov 23 2007, 05:06 PM)
good enuf de bro,cost below 10 onli
where to get RM10 MFOP screen protector?
perhaps you can start a bulk then tongue.gif

QUOTE(raycsc @ Nov 24 2007, 12:38 AM)
Has anyone tried viewing "You Tube"videos with the P1i?

Boleh tak?

some tweaks need to be done in router to address the youtube mobile streaming
fx_53_xt
post Nov 25 2007, 02:54 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(lovehewit @ Nov 25 2007, 02:15 PM)
flashing firmware problem:

I'm using XS++2.2 (also 3.1 on my few other tries)

I conected my phone, open XS++, tick smartphone connect, then connect, here's what appeared:-
XS++v 2.2 Ready!
Executed on Microsoft Windows Vista
Exectuing SEMC Smartphone Operations!
Please hold boot key ('@' or 'c") and connect device...
Master Port Detected: COM5
Slave Port Detected: COM6
Opening Port!
Init Master...FAILED

It keeps repeating the same no matter how many times I tried, my cda is 162024/95 R5A, it doesn;t appear in the CDA list, does it compatible with XS++?

Please help
did you hold on to the c button when connecting to your dock/USB cable?
fx_53_xt
post Nov 25 2007, 06:20 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(tjwong @ Nov 24 2007, 11:22 PM)
almost get this phone.. really like it after i test it at sony style.
but only found out the wilreless only support 802.1.1b not g : ~

too bad...
i wonder what are you guys gonna do with the G band wifi?
is there any apps that really gonna extensively abuse the 11mbps limit of wifi B that 54mbps of wifi G has to come to rescue?
anyway, i found the missing of flash support is much more annoying than the missing of wifi G

fx_53_xt
post Nov 25 2007, 08:48 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(bluegreen @ Nov 25 2007, 07:56 PM)
Want to ask. is there any where to see pics taken by P1?
i hear there's a blue tint on pics, is it true?
QUOTE(aH wAi @ Nov 25 2007, 08:06 PM)
Main Menu > Multimedia > Picture Gallery > (Select ur memory stick if u save ur photo to memory stick)

blue tint issue i think the latest firmware already fixed it?
green tint on top right hand corner to be exact.
it is a sensor fault. firmware update reduce it but somehow it still exist
fx_53_xt
post Nov 25 2007, 11:20 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(aH wAi @ Nov 25 2007, 08:53 PM)
oh, yeah, notice it in my unit aswell... very small portion... hmm.gif should i just get it fixed or leave it? hmm.gif

anyway do ur batt can be full charge like 100%?
everytime i leave my it charging with power adapter unit, it seem like maximum to 98% only eventhou i leave it for 3hours sweat.gif
so far i've only seen a person reported that SE acknowledged the problem and changed his CMOS sensor. but ofcourse, that's not in malaysia.
more info here : http://www.esato.com/board/viewtopic.php?topic=159440 blush.gif

regarding the 98%, it is a bug and fixed in the R6F41 firmware release rclxms.gif

QUOTE(lovehewit @ Nov 25 2007, 10:58 PM)
No i didn't. I connect my phone via cable, then i open XS++, I tick smart phone and press connect without pressing C. I tot I only need to press the C when I on the phone after:- disconnected the cable ,reinsert the battery & reconnect the cable?
you need to press C everytime you connect
pressing the C button is somehow like allowing the PC to access the ROM portion of the phone.
and XS++ need this connection as it is messing around with your codes stored inside the ROM

oops, did i said messing around tongue.gif

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0216sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:30 PM