QUOTE(kimmie @ Mar 19 2007, 04:46 PM)
lol ya.. but what can i do ? whack her harder ? the only way i can do is ignore her.. haha..Puppy care- Guide!, Answers and questions on your 1st pup
Puppy care- Guide!, Answers and questions on your 1st pup
Mar 19 2007, 11:03 PM
4,246 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Corrupted Land |
Mar 20 2007, 12:54 AM
7,578 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taman Segar Perdana, Cheras |
QUOTE(kimmie @ Mar 19 2007, 04:40 PM) we never leave her alone for long time without lights close.that day got lots of guest came over.and the maid forgotten got dog there and closed the doors and light...had a bad feeling halfway thru the meeting but noticed that the door locked.the maid clamly just said later la open...then i grab the keys and open only to find the horror..how come the head can stick out while the cage is still close...sigh kimmie , im so sad when i hear what have happen to your shih tzu . sigh , may ur shih tzu rest in peace too . honestly , is really sad when i hear your story of ur beloved shih tzu . |
Mar 20 2007, 09:00 AM
2,823 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
oh, many ppl own a shih tzu wor............I think becoz the price is cheaper. But the thing is its quite stubborn, needs more patience to be trained. Like my frens shih tzu, noti loh....but stil young lah, can be trained.
That day i go to the Tmn Megah Pet Shop (4got wat name), i see a yorkshire terrier, very very cute!!! The sales asst there told me that this type of breed are very intelligent and less yappy than a shih tzu. and can be easily trained, is it true?? Since its a terrier, will it suitable to be kept indoor? is it a hyperactive dog like JRT? But the price is RM2k+ lah......too much for me for now........ |
Mar 20 2007, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Mar 20 2007, 09:00 AM) oh, many ppl own a shih tzu wor............I think becoz the price is cheaper. But the thing is its quite stubborn, needs more patience to be trained. Like my frens shih tzu, noti loh....but stil young lah, can be trained. yorkshire terrier is very xpensive wan .That day i go to the Tmn Megah Pet Shop (4got wat name), i see a yorkshire terrier, very very cute!!! The sales asst there told me that this type of breed are very intelligent and less yappy than a shih tzu. and can be easily trained, is it true?? Since its a terrier, will it suitable to be kept indoor? is it a hyperactive dog like JRT? But the price is RM2k+ lah......too much for me for now........ but yorkshire breed is more friendly , self confident , and vocal . although yorkshire is a terrier , but one of my neighbour own a yorkshire terrier too , is a very quiet dog . and not a hyperactive dog . she told me that she bought her yorkshire around rm 3K + . so you plan to buy a yorkshire terrier soon ? but the way their maintainance to take care is quite high , because their coat is glossy , silky . so have to take care their fur very very gentle. |
Mar 20 2007, 12:30 PM
1,532 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(Digitral @ Mar 20 2007, 12:54 AM) kimmie , im so sad when i hear what have happen to your shih tzu . sigh , may ur shih tzu rest in peace too . honestly , is really sad when i hear your story of ur beloved shih tzu . ya she cried also refuse to let the dog go...we had to burry the dog the same day... |
Mar 20 2007, 12:34 PM
Mar 23 2007, 08:28 PM
2,720 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I just got back home a puppy, he is a mixed breed of poodle n shitsu(I'm not sure how to spell...lol)....white colour...
He is very cute n very adorable, but I really have no idea how to teach him to pee on the specified area, such as newspaper, he WAS a very good dog, he always pee on the newspaper, but 2-3 days after, he begin to forget to pee on the newspaper, then i warn him n shout at him, after that, he pee on the newspaper again, very good dog...ok...the most headache thing has just begun, he pee on the floor again!!!!! he is very cute, I really don't want to beat him, but this time, I have no idea but just to beat him, ok, things change better....and then after a period, he pee on the floor again!!!!!!! What can I do? I really don't want to beat him, He will cry...I can c his tears.... |
Mar 23 2007, 08:38 PM
2,309 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Kepong, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Mar 23 2007, 08:28 PM) I just got back home a puppy, he is a mixed breed of poodle n shitsu(I'm not sure how to spell...lol)....white colour... Firstly, your teaching method is wrong. Your puppy will learn faster & happier by praising them, when they pee at the right spot, make sure you praise them a looo000OOOt!!! Or perhaps u can give him treats. Dogs love to do what their owners like them to do, they love to be praised, so if you beat your pup when he pee, he will only think that it is wrong to pee in front of you, so he will wait u r not there & pee. Since he doesnt understand human language, u need to show him what you like by praising.He is very cute n very adorable, but I really have no idea how to teach him to pee on the specified area, such as newspaper, he WAS a very good dog, he always pee on the newspaper, but 2-3 days after, he begin to forget to pee on the newspaper, then i warn him n shout at him, after that, he pee on the newspaper again, very good dog...ok...the most headache thing has just begun, he pee on the floor again!!!!! he is very cute, I really don't want to beat him, but this time, I have no idea but just to beat him, ok, things change better....and then after a period, he pee on the floor again!!!!!!! What can I do? I really don't want to beat him, He will cry...I can c his tears.... Secondly, you said you just bring the pup back & the fact that it is just still a pup, he needs time to get use to the environment, & since he is a pup, he cant hold the bladder for long, so you must accept accidents do happen. To me, your pup considered achieve great achievements already, so fast already understand where to pee, but remember for a pup understand is real smart already, if they miss sometimes, you should forgive them. |
Mar 23 2007, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Mar 23 2007, 08:28 PM) I just got back home a puppy, he is a mixed breed of poodle n shitsu(I'm not sure how to spell...lol)....white colour... hmm , actually ur furkid is a fast learner edi lor , dun angry ur furkid ya ^^He is very cute n very adorable, but I really have no idea how to teach him to pee on the specified area, such as newspaper, he WAS a very good dog, he always pee on the newspaper, but 2-3 days after, he begin to forget to pee on the newspaper, then i warn him n shout at him, after that, he pee on the newspaper again, very good dog...ok...the most headache thing has just begun, he pee on the floor again!!!!! he is very cute, I really don't want to beat him, but this time, I have no idea but just to beat him, ok, things change better....and then after a period, he pee on the floor again!!!!!!! What can I do? I really don't want to beat him, He will cry...I can c his tears.... well , if u no time to train ur furkid , u may consider to buy a wee wee pad to train ur furkid . is economy , clean , cheap and easy btw . white palace do consider those dog and owner and found that a wee wee pad is more economy ! here is the link : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=424775 This post has been edited by Digitral: Mar 23 2007, 09:09 PM |
Mar 23 2007, 09:34 PM
Mar 23 2007, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(White Palace @ Mar 23 2007, 08:38 PM) Firstly, your teaching method is wrong. Your puppy will learn faster & happier by praising them, when they pee at the right spot, make sure you praise them a looo000OOOt!!! Or perhaps u can give him treats. Dogs love to do what their owners like them to do, they love to be praised, so if you beat your pup when he pee, he will only think that it is wrong to pee in front of you, so he will wait u r not there & pee. Since he doesnt understand human language, u need to show him what you like by praising. Er...not really just got it back, ad got it for 1.5 months, lol...Secondly, you said you just bring the pup back & the fact that it is just still a pup, he needs time to get use to the environment, & since he is a pup, he cant hold the bladder for long, so you must accept accidents do happen. To me, your pup considered achieve great achievements already, so fast already understand where to pee, but remember for a pup understand is real smart already, if they miss sometimes, you should forgive them. I did praise him by giving him dog food immidieatly, yes he listen, but he will pee on the floor another day... -.-" So headache ar, he is a "water tong" (sui tong in cantonese), he loves drinking water, he can pee more than 10 times a day...-.-" Any special treats to praise him? -.-" Wat he os likes to eat 1, paper, orange skin, bread -.-", he is not hungry, but just loves to eat....-.-" U c how cute is him...really feel hurt to beat him.... This post has been edited by DaViDcHiN: Mar 23 2007, 09:42 PM |
Mar 23 2007, 09:51 PM
Mar 24 2007, 12:14 AM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
Merged... questions and answers are here.
Mar 24 2007, 12:17 AM
2,903 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Somewhere in KL |
For some reason this could make a very nice sticky. Just modify some posts to have it more informative and Voila!
Mar 24 2007, 12:32 AM
HAhah... yah... well, give it time for awhile... and see who is free to summarize everything heheheh....
Mar 24 2007, 09:18 AM
4,105 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: eE-pOh | KL |
dogs have short term memories. u have to keep reminding him. just like u teach ur dog tricks, u have to keep practising.
Mar 27 2007, 04:56 PM
115 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Regarding deworming....
I read that puppies need to be deworm every 3 months rite? Regarding heartworms, not quite understand..... Info says that a blood test need to be done on puppies after 6 months old, to check whether they r infected wif heart worms, coz the heart worm will take around 6 months to be full grown. HeartGuard cannot be taken by dogs which r infected wif heart worms. Heartguard can only kill young heartworms, not adult. Heartguard should be taken after the 3rd jab, this time the puppy will be around 4months old rite?? so can take heartguard or not?? need to do blood test?? Since the heartworm need around 6 months to be matured, so a 4months old pup should not hv adult worms rite?? so Heartguard can kill the young worms rite? If the pup is given Heartguard since 4months old, meaning chances for them to be infected is rather low rite?? And if Heartguard is taken, the normal deworming pill can be excluded rite?? |
Mar 27 2007, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(shittzu @ Mar 27 2007, 04:56 PM) Regarding deworming.... If your pup is from a bad breeder or petshop, yes, you will have to test him for heart worm. Certain animal clinics got do heart test, takes about 2 days to get the results.I read that puppies need to be deworm every 3 months rite? Regarding heartworms, not quite understand..... Info says that a blood test need to be done on puppies after 6 months old, to check whether they r infected wif heart worms, coz the heart worm will take around 6 months to be full grown. HeartGuard cannot be taken by dogs which r infected wif heart worms. Heartguard can only kill young heartworms, not adult. Heartguard should be taken after the 3rd jab, this time the puppy will be around 4months old rite?? so can take heartguard or not?? need to do blood test?? Since the heartworm need around 6 months to be matured, so a 4months old pup should not hv adult worms rite?? so Heartguard can kill the young worms rite? If the pup is given Heartguard since 4months old, meaning chances for them to be infected is rather low rite?? And if Heartguard is taken, the normal deworming pill can be excluded rite?? HeartGuard is a heart worm prevention drug. It needs to be eaten every month. Once a month. The active ingredients that are in HeartGuard not only kills heart worms but also tape worms and round worms and hook worms as well so you do not need to deworm your dog often. Yes, the normal deworming pill can be excluded. Dogs will get worms if they eat rubbish, old dogfood, dirty rotten food and unfresh meat. Just do a blood test lah if you wanna make sure. No harm to it. Ask a vet for advice. For the HeartGuard, best is to start the puppy after all vaccination. Normally I let my dogs start HeartGuard at 5 months old to be safe. |
Mar 27 2007, 05:05 PM
4,105 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: eE-pOh | KL |
yupyup. and becareful on vets which slaughter your money. i have read one before, after the vet drew blood from the pup, the dog went ill.
look for a trusted one. |
Mar 27 2007, 05:08 PM
Draw blood till become ill? Maybe the vet reused needles...
Anyway, I sent my dog to Brickfield's vet for blood test before. My friend brought a german shepherd there too and had a heart worm test done before... but I forgot the price LOL.... |
| Change to: | 0.0227sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:17 AM |