11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Discussion can c.ronaldo be a captain?

blinky
post Sep 28 2007, 11:24 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

First off, age has no influential factor on a player being selected for captaincy. Look at Torres, Terry, Gerrard and occasionally, Fabregas. Torres captained Atletico Madrid when he was only 19 years old.

Secondly, captains may not necessarily be the best player of the team. Captaincy is all about individual characters. Vocal, influential, responsible and just. And these attributes do not make a good footballer, but it creates a good captain.

However, as much of a Liverpool fan I may be, I definitely respect Cristiano Ronaldo. His plays never fail to mesmerise me (the only reason I watch Man Utd's games) and I think he is maturing by the days.

What do I think of Cristiano Ronaldo being a captain? Not now, but I do see that side of him though, the side that is capable of captaining Man Utd or maybe Portugal.

Why not? He conciliated with the whole World Cup fiasco appropriately. He inspires his team when all hopes all lost. He never gives up, which infuses passion to his team mates as well. I guess he just have to be a little more vocal and toughen his character and you may have your next Man Utd captain.

Just my two cents. Cheers!
Jonno
post Sep 28 2007, 01:29 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

I have no idea why this is even mooted, there are players wo are born leaders and there are some who'd never be able to be a captian, even for a while. Ronaldo falls into the 2nd category, yes, he is a good player, can turn a match in a moment of magic (and I hate saying that, but that is the truth).

However, he hasn't got the temprement to be a captain of any team, be it Man U or Portugal (I am baffled that someone would even nominate him as the captain of the national team). This is pretty much the same as Owen being vice captain of England during the Beckham days, even Beckham was a bad choice.

To me a captain need not be the best player in the team but has to be a commited player, one that would give his all, rally his troops when necessary, responsible, and most importantly act like a leader, C*** Ronaldo, for all his quality, does not posses any of the character and chrisma of a captian. I am sorry to say this, but he is not a captain material. All the others mentioned, Torres, Gerrard or even Fabregas are matured players who'd give their all and support the team mates when necessary.

C*** Ronaldo is too much of an individual player to be a captain, not being bias, but if you watch Man U's game, watch closely, he'd know when the camera is on him. Especially when he misses a goal, watch his facial expression, it'll be one of those, hands in his face, teary eyed look telling the viewers that "I so much wanted to score for you, my fans", rather than a shrug, or hitting the ground in frustration. For that alone, he is not fit to be a captain. Watch the others, when they missed a goal or a pass or a shot, they would not have as big a reaction. A bit of a "damn it" maybe, but his reaction is too big to be caring for the team and wanting to do well. It has been well documented too, that his personal life would not warrant him to be a captain, the shenigans with Nani and Anderson at his place with some prostitutes will not helped his cause, nor is picking up 3 different chicks at the same club, taking them back to the hotel for a bit of a romping, within a night, and one after another would help his reputation or credibility.

Not knocking the player, as a player, he is good, but character is too much of a suspect to be a captain.

My 2 cents.
kasperskyz
post Sep 28 2007, 02:10 PM

121 posts

although im the fan of man utd i dont think that cristiano qualify enough to be the captain..
he doesnt have captain criteria at all..
air_mood
post Sep 28 2007, 05:49 PM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

QUOTE(jam_lennon @ Sep 28 2007, 10:07 AM)
i afraid he will shout to his teammate,"dive, dun stand up!"
Lucky Eboue ain't the captain of Ivory Coast then ehhh?? He would hav told his teammates, " Don't just dive!!!! Roll ffs!!!"

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 28 2007, 11:01 AM)
damn. someone beat me to saying captain of the portugal diving team smile.gif
So should England be worried of the vice captain when Terry steps down as a captain. He's been known to criticize divers but somehow is a master of the art himself. Well not really a master in that gif. Horrible dive there. But you know what they say, "Never give up, always try!!!"

"It annoys me. I don't think there is anything worse than seeing not just a foreign player but any player who has received a knock lying down on the floor to get an opponent booked - or diving when no one's been anywhere near him. If I saw a team-mate doing it I would definitely have a word. It's happened here at Liverpool a couple of times, where players have gone down too easily, and the manager has said: 'Get up, get on with it, don't be doing that. It's wrong'. I think managers and captains, leaders and experienced players have a responsibility to grab people after a training session or a game and say 'None of that. That doesn't happen here'."

-Steven Gerrard-

This post has been edited by air_mood: Sep 28 2007, 05:56 PM
clsiluf
post Sep 28 2007, 05:53 PM

2,058 posts

i lol laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif to the gif file of eboue

well done air_mood, hate those people keep saying our player dive, forgot their captain as well...

This post has been edited by clsiluf: Sep 28 2007, 05:55 PM
Jonno
post Sep 28 2007, 06:21 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

I think diving or not is not the criteria of the player is suitable of being a captain or not. Obviously every player does it. Including Gerrard, seen that a few times, not proud of it, but you get on with it. I think most criticise the player in question is because of a few high profile incidents in which he blatantly dived and got away with it.

My assessment of him is purely bassed on his temprement as a player, he is not a Keane type of player. That's all.
Duke Red
post Sep 28 2007, 06:29 PM

6,112 posts

I'll have to repeat myself again looks like. It appears that ALL players have dived at some point of their careers. The question becomes, who dives THE MOST? Why do some players get the reputation, and others don't? Reputation is only developed through some form of consistency. That being said, some players have cleaned their act up.
aa1985
post Sep 28 2007, 06:45 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Sep 28 2007, 06:29 PM)
I'll have to repeat myself again looks like. It appears that ALL players have dived at some point of their careers. The question becomes, who dives THE MOST? Why do some players get the reputation, and others don't? Reputation is only developed through some form of consistency. That being said, some players have cleaned their act up.
THE MOST?its not the point..when the player is dive its a dive..nothing to do with the numbers of dive they did..
again..well done air_mood.. rclxms.gif they just dont know or dont want to know when their players also dive..

This post has been edited by aa1985: Sep 28 2007, 06:49 PM
Duke Red
post Sep 28 2007, 06:48 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aa1985 @ Sep 28 2007, 06:45 PM)
THE MOST?its not the point..when the player is dive its a dive..nothing to do with the numbers of dive they did..
again..well done air_mood..  rclxms.gif they just dont know or dont want to know when their players also dive..
Erm if you keep up with recent times, you'll notice we admit that Gerrard dives as like any other player. What I meant is players get reputations by repeating certain acts. Would you disagree? Let's not turn this into a player bashing thread. If there are legit reasons why some people don't believe he should be captain now then so be it. Let's not start another war of words shall we? I understand some people instigated this but it doesn't mean we all have to stoop to that level, or do we?

What do you say?
aa1985
post Sep 28 2007, 06:55 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Sep 28 2007, 06:48 PM)
Erm if you keep up with recent times, you'll notice we admit that Gerrard dives as like any other player. What I meant is players get reputations by repeating certain acts. Would you disagree? Let's not turn this into a player bashing thread. If there are legit reasons why some people don't believe he should be captain now then so be it.  Let's not start another war of words shall we? I understand some people instigated this but it doesn't mean we all have to stoop to that level, or do we?

What do you say?
oopss sory..i didnt mean that, but this is our response..its normal rite?
back to the topic i dont think cristiano ronaldo have a captain criteria..one of captain criteria is who can shout to their team mate when they did wrong on the field..or back up them..
Duke Red
post Sep 28 2007, 07:00 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aa1985 @ Sep 28 2007, 06:55 PM)
oopss sory..i didnt mean that, but this is our response..its normal rite?
back to the topic i dont think cristiano ronaldo have a captain criteria..one of captain criteria is who can shout to their team mate when they did wrong on the field..or back up them..
No worries, I completely understand. I'm just hoping this doesn't turn into another war of words. Would be great if we can have a discussion rather than argument.

I'm with you on this. I like vocal captains who lead by example. They don't have to be the most skillful or the best but they must have good match temperament. He may mature into that mould one day, like Figo did.
Jonno
post Sep 28 2007, 07:07 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Sep 28 2007, 07:00 PM)
No worries, I completely understand. I'm just hoping this doesn't turn into another war of words. Would be great if we can have a discussion rather than argument.

I'm with you on this. I like vocal captains who lead by example. They don't have to be the most skillful or the best but they must have good match temperament. He may mature into that mould one day, like Figo did.
I am with the brigade who thinks he hasn't got good match temprement. He would go missing in games at times and sometimes even totally annonymous in games. If he does mature into the Figo type of a player, it'll take a lot of effort and bucking up from his side.

zeist
post Sep 28 2007, 07:48 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

His brain is not there yet. tongue.gif
madmoz
post Sep 28 2007, 09:34 PM

4,250 posts

1. gerrard ain't no saint.
2. everyone should lighten up a little bit, save the hostilities for RWI smile.gif

Added on September 28, 2007, 9:39 pmAnyways, I have a rather different view on captains. For me the first criteria for a captain is that he must not be your best player. Maybe it's something i learnt from cricket, whenever a No.3 is appointed as captain, his run rate will more often than not take a nosedive. Secondly, when the captain and star roles are combined, i'd say that when the said player is having an off day, the team losses both its spark and leadership. Spread the love so when the captain is piss poor, the star player can stand up and be counted. When the star is piss poor, he gets a barracking from the captain.

Put it this way, CR is captain, playing against Barca, 2-0 down and he has been missing for 65 minutes, who does he barrack? Himself?
Oh noes, did I just imply CR is the best player in Man Utd?

This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 28 2007, 09:40 PM
skyliner
post Sep 28 2007, 11:19 PM

aku orang
627 posts

not way, he has no criteria it takes to be a good leader.
amalost
post Sep 28 2007, 11:44 PM

798 posts

who cares about ronaldo??
zeist
post Sep 28 2007, 11:46 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(amalost @ Sep 28 2007, 11:44 PM)
who cares about ronaldo??
Hahahahaha, LoL! laugh.gif
SUSkillingspree
post Sep 29 2007, 12:04 AM

456 posts

this thread is for joke or wat.... even high school student can tell whether c. ronaldo can become a captain... what a joke of the year....
zeist
post Sep 29 2007, 12:08 AM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

I miss his indo-mee hairstyle. laugh.gif
mono_demon
post Sep 29 2007, 01:12 AM

Cibo
1,458 posts

QUOTE(jam_lennon @ Sep 28 2007, 10:07 AM)
i afraid he will shout to his teammate,"dive, dun stand up!"
oo.. i thought he gonna say.. hey! im ur captain! follow me.. lets go partying with pros**tutes.. haha~!
but its true ma.. if later he ask all his teammates to redo that party... how le? icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by mono_demon: Sep 29 2007, 01:12 AM

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0639sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:19 PM