My Car PC, You can post your's here too

junhe
post May 11 2010, 10:55 PM

78 posts

so ur RV meter where to put?

EBY701 comapre with the 629 , EBY better?

i thinking put the netbook to my car.... now looking at the way to power up the netbook... unscrew the netbook now... but still cant find the way
wiraone
post May 11 2010, 11:13 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

No more RV meter for me.. nothing much that the OBD couldn't show that the RV meter could .. oh.. the front end temp.

Only reason why I go for 701 is, because the guy could have a perfect fit .. probably you could do this with 629 too.

For a chepo way, get the DC-DC step up transformer sold for cheap on ebay or probably found in lelong too.. the one that supply a 19V to the netbook. BUT .. take out the battery .. and probably it couldn't survive the engine cranking ..

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2011-04D...ger-12V-24V.htm

or this
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2005-01D...wer-Adaptor.htm

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 11 2010, 11:23 PM
LittleMin
post May 12 2010, 10:25 PM

167 posts

[quote=friexs,May 11 2010, 06:11 PM]
but my laptop comes wif s-video port~n it cannot detect when i plug in s-video connector..duno y.. cry.gif
while my fren's laptop which comes wif ATI graphic card can use pulak..

dunno, last time i'm using Dell inspiron 6000 which is dont have any external graphic card. using intel bla bla bla. still can use. yet still can read. what laptop u use?

resolution wise do u encounter any problem so far?
cz last time i cant see the font and graphic clearly if i use so high reso like urs..

if i set the resolution too low, i can't acces the OK, CANCEL, APPLY button at the bottom of the dialog box. also , i'm not using keyboard. all operation in carpc using mouse. so that's the reason i put it at the highest resoltion.

oic..so u mean u on/off d car-pc by urself la?
i think get m2-atx power supply is better den use laptop battery~if u hv d budget..
cz m2-atx is designed specially for car pc which it wil hibernate automatically once u off ur car~n auto on when u start ignition..
thus no nid to wait to boot up..
n i think it's better for car battery oso..
if use laptop battery i sked either car battery or d laptop battery wil kong very soon..

well, my carpc actually is laptop motherboard. i can't use the m2-atx power supply. plus right now i'm looking for laptop in car charger. so that's the reason i'm hunting for this laptop model batery.

aiks..im so gatal nw after seeing bro friex's car pc..

currently i jz nid a decent motherboard n processor den i can try to start my low-budget car pc dy!!slurrpp..

maybe we can discuss in PM cause i have something to offer. right in time.

monitor wise perhaps i wil try to plug in to my current china screen since bro friex can do so..hopefully mine can success too..

btw bro friex~ur DC-AC power inverter supports til hw many watts?wat is d max watt required?i hv one power inverter nw..bt if nt wrong d watt value nt very high..
n do u connect d inverter direct to car battery or via d power socket?

i'm connecting the inverter direct to car battery, adding 2 fuse. 1 at the batery terminal. and another 1 is located near the 12v input inverter. just a precaution. and 1 switch at inverter, i pull and rewire it, put it near my dashboard, so i can turn on and off the inverter. dont want the inverter to drain power when not using.
china inverter is not really good inverter. outside the case, it state 500w. but i dont believe it. it's just a number. i believe inverter best working power at 100~150w

[/quote]

[/quote]

1. im using acer aspire 5800 series if nt wrong..using intel integrated graphic card oso..

2. hmm..bout resolution problem mayb i wil try plug in another laptop see how 1st~since u said integrated graphic card can use oso..btw~wat kind of cable u using?where u bought from?im using s-video port to rca cable..

3. oic..so d one u offer me is laptop mobo oso?i stil prefer using m2-atx due to d auto open/off issue..

4. oic..d inverter tat i bought frm china oso..bt mine dun hv d output to let me modify direct to battery..perhaps i wil buy another one or see how..

Added on May 12, 2010, 10:28 pm

[quote=wiraone,May 11 2010, 10:09 PM]
junhe,

I believe you've seen this before:

http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/show-off-y...shi-triton.html

That is the main reason why I'm going for EBY701, since the guy has it perfectly fit the monitor to the RV display (which in some part of the world, holds a 2 DIN nav system). Since underneath of the cig.lighter has my amateur radio, I guess I'll just keep the RV meter safe in a box, inside my store smile.gif

If you're thinking of using a netbook, the only option for auto-on/auto-off is by getting a carnetix dc-dc regulator. It'll cost you US$99 + around US$50 for shipment .. I've read about someone having a problem running a notebook with a dc-dc step up converter .. the battery went bulging and need to replace it .. so, be aware if you go for this cheap solution.

This guy uses carnetix dc-dc regulator.

On the OBD, someone said that the cheapo one from ebay might works with centrafuse .. so, am getting the less than RM60 one found on ebay .. as in this :

[/quote]

bro wiraone,

does ur liliput support auto switch reverse camera function?
i suddenly think of tis..so perhaps i wont be getting d usb monitor dy since it shud doesnt support tis function.. sad.gif sad.gif

Added on May 12, 2010, 11:02 pmhow come my quote function cant use one?:S

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 12 2010, 11:09 PM
wiraone
post May 12 2010, 11:04 PM

3,892 posts

LittleMin, don't need to quote the whole thing lah .. make it difficult to find which one is your post .. which one you're replying to smile.gif

On the power supply issue, you can't use M2ATX unless you're using the normal desktop or ITX motherboard. Nettops, netbooks and notebooks are all using either 19V or 20V, so you need a step up DC-DC regulator. So you're pretty much limited on the choice of power supply available with auto-on/off thingy.

The one that I bought doesn't have the auto switching, so if I need to put a reverse camera, probably need to use the remote to switch from VGA to AV. As for now, am not thinking of adding a reverse camera, but might change my mind afterward. If I were to have this camera, probably I'll have a push button somewhere which I can use to switch between AV & VGA.
LittleMin
post May 12 2010, 11:11 PM

167 posts

bro wiraone,

oic..so i think i better go for PC's motherboard..can support m2atx..

wor~dun hv auto switch function ah?den gt any used liliput model which support tis function on ebay?if can find 7" 1-din size one lagi best~hahaha..

Added on May 12, 2010, 11:29 pmhttp://cgi.ebay.com/M2-ATX-Car-PC-CarPC-Ca...=item255a6c7721

http://cgi.ebay.com/M2-ATX-HV-140W-6-32V-B...=item255a70f7aa

which one better ah?

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 12 2010, 11:29 PM
wiraone
post May 13 2010, 06:41 AM

3,892 posts

I will suggest you to go for a low power mb and processor, since m2-atx could only supply 140-160W power. ATOM based mini-itx mobo just fine to be used with this power supply but the Intel graphics adapter will surely not good enough if you want to do HD movies. This is the reason I went for Zotac which uses Nvidia ION.
BTW, since you're running the setup in your car with 12v battery, there is no point buying the HV model.

Look for eby701 which specifically stated auto swtching feature, or go for lilliput model that has it.

TS is using the tft in single din IIRC, so you may want to check his setup. Surely, costwise will be much more but the convineant of hiding the screen and be able to replace the stock radio will tempt you smile.gif

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 13 2010, 07:50 AM
LittleMin
post May 13 2010, 07:31 AM

167 posts

oic..d HV model u mentioned is m2-atx model?wat is d diff wif another model actually?sorry im noob.. sweat.gif
y is no point to buy HV model?hw to say?cant get ur mean..

can u let me have a look d spec of Zotac?izit a low power consumption mobo oso?

actually my car dashboard gt onli one 1-din size for d screen on the top there..so i prefer to put 1-din screen since the 2-din size is quite below there(my car is kenari~so if u see before u might know wat im talking bout~lol..)

if my car same like ur triton den things gonna b ezier dy..sad..sad.gif

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 13 2010, 08:05 AM
wiraone
post May 13 2010, 08:09 AM

3,892 posts

On the PS issue, when I said 12V setup.. hehe.. that is usually what the battery delivers... the HV => High Voltage, means it could cater from 6-32V INPUT voltage. The non-HV version could take 6-24V INPUT voltage, good enough to be used in normal car setup.

Mine is ZOTAC IONITX-D-E (there are few versions from ZOTAC, no idea what the differences between them).. it has Atom Dual-Core and it has Nvidia ION along with built in n-type wifi. It couldn't be expanded further though since it has no PCI slot. If you're not interested in playing any HD movies, then the stock ATOM mobo/process (those RM200-300 price) should be fine I guess.

Couldn't help you on the 1-DIN solution .. most of the things I bought are from ebay, and I couldn't find 1-DIN touch vga tft on ebay .. probably you could try those China website like alibaba and ask the manufacturer that list out the 1-DIN solution where you could source one.
LittleMin
post May 13 2010, 09:01 AM

167 posts

oic..so wat is d good point of HV version?i mean wat kind setup nid to use high voltage?hehehe..

oic..im nt reali interested wif HD movies la..n i guess tis mobo shud b quite expensive oso~i cant afford oso..sad.gif
i jz wana find those like wat u say~stock ATOM mobo nia..n my requirement is i wan vga port and s-video port..is tat possible?lol..

bout d 1-din solution..hv find many china website dy..even ask my fren who went to shenzhen help me find..bt cant find any..many manufacturers said tat they hv started to phase out 1-din model as currently 2-din is d trend dy..sad.gif

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 13 2010, 09:04 AM
wiraone
post May 13 2010, 09:31 AM

3,892 posts

Big boat usually have a very high voltage batteries, 36V deep charge cycle is common for marine use, so I guess that is why they need to cater for this kind of setup.

On S-video, I believe some stock Intel Atom MBs do have S-video.. but why you need an S-video? Are you thinking of streaming a video to backrest TFT monitors?

Anyway, you may want to check out some other options out there. MINIX has mini-itx motherboard for AMD processors .. and I think few other manufacturers have mini-itx mobos that you could combine with normal processors. I suggested on Atom because they're cheap, almost everything there .. integrated .. smile.gif
LittleMin
post May 13 2010, 09:39 AM

167 posts

oic..so means tat we do not nid to use HV model la?hehehe..

erm~actually i wan s-video is i wana assemble my PC 1st and temporary connect it to my cheap china normal rca monitor..hehehe..
stil considering wana take usb monitor or liliput monitor like ur eby701..mostly going for latter as d latter hv reverse camera input..and tv function oso..
but i nid to mod it into my 1-din deck~which is a big project for me..tats y i wana take mobo wif s-video in case my vga monitor plans fail i stil can back up mah~hahaha..
btw~streaming video to backrest TFT monitor is a good idea oso~lolz..

actually i prefer atom processors oso due to d low power consumption of it..wondering whether intel core 2 duo processor can combine wif m2-atx onot..those normal processors can combine wif m2-atx onot ah?

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 13 2010, 09:40 AM
wiraone
post May 13 2010, 03:32 PM

3,892 posts

Found this in mp3car forum:

CODE
A note from Mo-Co-So website. This should clear the confusion.

"There is no longer any difference in hardware between the EBY701 and the 629GL. The internal components are identical. Only the outer plastic housing is different. Unless you like the way the GL629 looks better then the 701 there is no reason the purchase it over the EBY701."

And EBY701 can be modded to do auto switching ..

http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/lcd-displa...n-enable-2.html
LittleMin
post May 13 2010, 03:35 PM

167 posts

yea..bout d auto switching problem..
i noe a acc. shop boss who noe to mod tis..
my fren's old school type monitor jz modded by him..

so nw i jz nid a monitor tat provide few input to switch between different devices..
thus..d 7" usb monitor shud wont in my list dy..

Added on May 15, 2010, 2:05 pmbro wiraone~dun forget to share ur items here when they reach ah~hehehe..

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 15 2010, 02:05 PM
wiraone
post May 15 2010, 10:30 PM

3,892 posts

According to the tracking page, my stuffs are at KLIA already. Now to get ready to rip my dashboard apart ...
wiraone
post May 18 2010, 03:50 PM

3,892 posts

Stuck at Customs .. received letter from PosLaju saying my PC is detained .. going to go down to KLIA tomorrow to do the clearance, I thought PC shouldn't be taxed, but I guess when they see the value > RM500, I guess they just detained it .. grrr..

Added on May 19, 2010, 12:54 pmOk, went to KLIA to do the clearance, it was detained because the officer said the PC doesn't look like a normal PC, the case is more like car audio amplifier, the monitor is so small it doesn't like a normal desktop monitor and the power supply connector, it uses DIN-8, doesn't look like those normal PC power supply socket. Anyway, POS M'sia charged me RM18 for the clearance document and I don't need to pay anything else.

.. photos can be found here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/wiraone/sets/72157624099265686/

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 21 2010, 03:40 PM
shaunk86
post May 20 2010, 12:43 AM

52 posts

After reading and gathering information from various forums for over a year.. Finally,I am going to built my own Car PC. biggrin.gif

My Spec:

[CPU]
[attachmentid=1584725]
Stock PSU will be removed and replace with M4-ATX
[attachmentid=1584734]

-Intel D510MO motherboard+Atom D510
-1 GB DDR2 800mhz
-320gb 2.5' HDD
-M4-ATX power supply
-OEM ITX casing
-Generic USB GPS receiver (Not yet cod)
-MSI Bluetoes 3x
-Level1 USB Wifi N
-ADS Tech USB FM receiver with RDS (Not yet arrive)

[Display]
[attachmentid=1584726]
Test fitting, will get a double din casing and mod it to fit the screen

Lilliput 629GL-70NP/C/T

[Other]
[attachmentid=1584729]
Satria Neo's stock steering button will work with this smile.gif
Now I'm able to control the volume, select track, change mode, answer phone with my stock steering button
I believe other proton's steering button will work with this too

Joycon EX Steering control to USB
Logitech USB Hub with power adapter

After waiting for 1 week, my M4-ATX power supply that i bought from eBay arrived this morning.. alas.. It went up in smoke when i power it up.. cry.gif
Upon closer inspection, i found out the defective capacitor's polarity is upside down !! WTH.... doh.gif
[attachmentid=1584701]

Waiting for their reply on how to proceed with r.m.a.

wiraone
post May 20 2010, 04:24 PM

3,892 posts

Hey Shaunk, good luck man .. I got a fully built carpc from mo-co-so.. I was thinking of ordering parts from ebay but after calculating the price and effort, I found that buying a complete unit is much cheaper. If you're not going to play HD movies, I believe your setup is good .. what kind of case do you use?

Anyway, I ripped apart few things from my dashboard today.. the carpc has been configured, running centrafuse .. was scratching my head last night trying to get HD audio to work but stupid Microsoft XP SP3, it wouldn't .. after spent few hours, found the way around it.. arghh.. went to sleep at 1AM and was really sleepy this morning.

2 DIN compartment, before, I've the RV meter here .. ripped off the radio too and fabricated my own AUX cable for Kenwood HU.

Added on May 20, 2010, 4:31 pmBTW, on the power supply, that is bad .. do you got the one from mini-box or is it the China copy one? There are quite a number of sellers selling the China copies on ebay.. so, be aware of that. BTW, when connecting it to the car, please remember to ground the GND to your chasis and not direct to the GND of the battery.

Added on May 20, 2010, 10:35 pmDone with the cabling .. ripped the centre part to route the cables and to add the AUX cable to HU.. wow.. didn't realised it took hours .. tomorrow will see, if I've enough time, I might have the display and the cpu installed.

Added on May 21, 2010, 10:27 amLatest update, display is fixed now..

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 21 2010, 03:45 PM
wiraone
post May 21 2010, 03:47 PM

3,892 posts

Ok, here is my installed setup:

1. Preparing for display ..

2. Display installed ..

3. CPU unit installed ..

5. Garmin PC under centrafuse ..

Missing are the photos of my messy installation .. didn't take any photos while lying the cables etc..

wiraone
post May 23 2010, 09:15 PM

3,892 posts

Hi Shaunk,

When you got your ADS Tech Instant FM, please do share how the quality like when you put it in the car. From Centrafuse forum, many are moaning about the low quality after moving their setup into their car .. probably, due to body of the car are made of steel, the signal penetrating to the unit is much much less compared to their home environment. For now, I'm not throwing my HU.. so, don't really need the USB radio but still thinking of getting one .. my HU doesn't have RDS .. smile.gif

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 24 2010, 09:06 AM
shaunk86
post May 23 2010, 11:25 PM

52 posts

Hi wiraone,

I built my cpu coz if anything get roasted, it is easier for me to do R.M.A. The mobo n HDD both have 3 yrs warranty. All the parts i sourced locally except the Joycon EX steering control, M4-ATX and the ADS USB FM.

I install my pc in the boot coz there isn't much space in the cabin. I plan to stick the usb fm radio's antena to my rear shelf, hoping to get a good signal, if the reception is still bad, i will connect it to my existing radio antena. Btw, wiraone, how long does it take for ur mo-so-co car pc to be deliver to you? it has been 2 week and i still haven't receive the usb fm radio sad.gif

Went to Pasar Road to pick up some wires, switch, connectors etc etc and a few capacitors to replace the dead caps on my M4-ATX. Turns out after changing the caps, my psu is working fine..phew.... This M4-ATX is bought from Mo-SO-Co's ebay store..so i guess its the original smile.gif
[attachmentid=1590938][attachmentid=1590943][attachmentid=1590948]

Stripping the interior, need to run cables along the center and side.
Powering my hub and screen from the psu's regulated power.
[attachmentid=1590956][attachmentid=1590958][attachmentid=1590960]
Will connect my car pc directly to the amp.
[attachmentid=1590970]
These buttons have led in them, so they will serve as manual power & reset button + power and hdd indicator

This post has been edited by shaunk86: May 23 2010, 11:39 PM

25 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 >Top

0.0274sec    1.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:57 AM