My Car PC, You can post your's here too

wiraone
post Jun 9 2009, 05:52 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

@zealless

Where did you source your ODBII interface from? Ebay? And how much? Does it work with any of the software/e.g Centrafuse?
wiraone
post Jun 10 2009, 07:53 AM

3,892 posts

Thanks both of you .. will source the OBDII from ebay then. Sometimes, those from ebay looks the same as the real thing .. but doesn't work the same tho' .. Junhe, when you got everything set, please update me .. I guess the most critical part is to have the TFT mounted replacing the RV meter.. the rest should be easy peasy ..
wiraone
post Jun 10 2009, 01:05 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(zealless @ Jun 10 2009, 12:00 PM)
the audio part is hard ... at least i did it for my frens car .... damn irritating.
Ah, I've no idea if my radio has aux port at the back of it. I guess adding a PC to the car will add a ground loop into the sound system with humming sound all over. Turning my netbook with wifi/3g does affect my amateur radio set.. I've no idea if it will become worst if I add a full time pc running in the car.

wiraone
post May 7 2010, 10:59 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(grinders @ May 1 2010, 09:11 PM)
cool diy btw how to make the pc using car speaker in the car.
Check first few posting in this thread, you can see the sifus have done this .. with some diagrams and options to play around with.

Anyway, after a year +, I'm still stuck on what to choose for my setup smile.gif I've saw a few carpc unit sold in ebay and wondering if it is worth it to get these customised carpc. One that I'm interested on is the one with voompc2 + zotac configuration.. around RM1700++ shipped.
wiraone
post May 10 2010, 10:13 AM

3,892 posts

Any other progress other than from friexs? I'm still thinking after so many years to go for this little project .. found one ebay seller which is selling older model of EBY701 for RM542 shipped. I guess this one doesn't have the LED backlight though.

I'm still thinking what is the best carpc to be installed .. I like those carpc made casing like voompc and aero pc .. and probably mate this with ZOTAC with Nvidia ION .. but importing the case and the ZOTAC mobo will be a bit expensive compared to getting like say an ACER Revo or DELL Zino. I believe with off the shelf nettop, I probably need to go for the power-up/shut-down controller like Carnetix which cost quite a bomb .. RM500 imported from US..

BTW, saw in ebay.. MITXPC is selling a ZotacION-F-E + VOOMPC2 + M2-ATX PS + 2GB RAM + 160GB HD for RM1600 delivered.. and MO-CO-SO is selling ZotacION-D-E + Aero + M2_ATX PS + 2GB RAM + 250GB HD for RM1500. Tempted for sure..!!
wiraone
post May 10 2010, 03:14 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(LittleMin @ May 10 2010, 01:47 PM)
a used liliput screen for rm542?
it's stil considered reasonable if d condition is still good..
btw wat is LED backlight?
It is brand new but from I guess old stock ..

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/Lilliput-7-Touch-Sc...c#ht_5464wt_941

LED backlight means that the unit is using LED instead of the fluorescent lamp to light up the LCD.. energy wise, LED is much better.
wiraone
post May 10 2010, 05:02 PM

3,892 posts

Still waiting for an answer about the case from mo-co-so, since it is cheaper, probably going to go with this pre-assembled unit .. but, argh.. the unit could only support 11n, wonder why they're going for 11n and not 11g/n .. once my pay check is in, probably will go with this one..

Oh, btw, for littlemin, check if the tft has touch screen support .. or otherwise, you need to get it extra .. the EBY701 has it .. and for now I believe that is the cheapest could be had from ebay. Online stores charge unbelievably high price for shipping cost..
wiraone
post May 11 2010, 12:36 AM

3,892 posts

Received a reply from mo-co-so and put an order for complete set .. now I should've broke by RM2100 smile.gif

Will try to post my progress here.. but probably a slow one ..

Added on May 11, 2010, 1:02 amList of items ordered from mo-co-so:

1. Prebuilt mitx Zotac IONITX ..

2. Lilliput 7" EYB701

3. Centrafuse Standard 3.1

Now bidding for OBD Scantool from China ..

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 11 2010, 01:02 AM
wiraone
post May 11 2010, 11:06 AM

3,892 posts

Haha.. not rich lah, but been thinking from day one I got my Triton .. took ages before plunging into this carpc thing.. the only thing I'm concerned when doing it DIY way is to provide good power to the system.. with normal pc inside the car, you need something to power it up.. m2-atx cost around rm200-300 alone .. using inverter with ac power supply is surely a no-no .. hope this can be done in my weekend time.. hopefully could get them all by end of the week..
wiraone
post May 11 2010, 11:54 AM

3,892 posts

Bought the EBY701 off ebay, RM542 ..
wiraone
post May 11 2010, 08:10 PM

3,892 posts

Another solution is using Carnetix but it is expensive too when factoring the shipping cost.. Carnetix works with nettop like dell zino or acer revo or any laptop that requires 19v source and it has auto start and shutdown..
wiraone
post May 11 2010, 10:09 PM

3,892 posts

junhe,

I believe you've seen this before:

http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/show-off-y...shi-triton.html

That is the main reason why I'm going for EBY701, since the guy has it perfectly fit the monitor to the RV display (which in some part of the world, holds a 2 DIN nav system). Since underneath of the cig.lighter has my amateur radio, I guess I'll just keep the RV meter safe in a box, inside my store smile.gif

If you're thinking of using a netbook, the only option for auto-on/auto-off is by getting a carnetix dc-dc regulator. It'll cost you US$99 + around US$50 for shipment .. I've read about someone having a problem running a notebook with a dc-dc step up converter .. the battery went bulging and need to replace it .. so, be aware if you go for this cheap solution.

This guy uses carnetix dc-dc regulator.

On the OBD, someone said that the cheapo one from ebay might works with centrafuse .. so, am getting the less than RM60 one found on ebay .. as in this :

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 11 2010, 10:18 PM
wiraone
post May 11 2010, 11:13 PM

3,892 posts

No more RV meter for me.. nothing much that the OBD couldn't show that the RV meter could .. oh.. the front end temp.

Only reason why I go for 701 is, because the guy could have a perfect fit .. probably you could do this with 629 too.

For a chepo way, get the DC-DC step up transformer sold for cheap on ebay or probably found in lelong too.. the one that supply a 19V to the netbook. BUT .. take out the battery .. and probably it couldn't survive the engine cranking ..

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2011-04D...ger-12V-24V.htm

or this
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2005-01D...wer-Adaptor.htm

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 11 2010, 11:23 PM
wiraone
post May 12 2010, 11:04 PM

3,892 posts

LittleMin, don't need to quote the whole thing lah .. make it difficult to find which one is your post .. which one you're replying to smile.gif

On the power supply issue, you can't use M2ATX unless you're using the normal desktop or ITX motherboard. Nettops, netbooks and notebooks are all using either 19V or 20V, so you need a step up DC-DC regulator. So you're pretty much limited on the choice of power supply available with auto-on/off thingy.

The one that I bought doesn't have the auto switching, so if I need to put a reverse camera, probably need to use the remote to switch from VGA to AV. As for now, am not thinking of adding a reverse camera, but might change my mind afterward. If I were to have this camera, probably I'll have a push button somewhere which I can use to switch between AV & VGA.
wiraone
post May 13 2010, 06:41 AM

3,892 posts

I will suggest you to go for a low power mb and processor, since m2-atx could only supply 140-160W power. ATOM based mini-itx mobo just fine to be used with this power supply but the Intel graphics adapter will surely not good enough if you want to do HD movies. This is the reason I went for Zotac which uses Nvidia ION.
BTW, since you're running the setup in your car with 12v battery, there is no point buying the HV model.

Look for eby701 which specifically stated auto swtching feature, or go for lilliput model that has it.

TS is using the tft in single din IIRC, so you may want to check his setup. Surely, costwise will be much more but the convineant of hiding the screen and be able to replace the stock radio will tempt you smile.gif

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 13 2010, 07:50 AM
wiraone
post May 13 2010, 08:09 AM

3,892 posts

On the PS issue, when I said 12V setup.. hehe.. that is usually what the battery delivers... the HV => High Voltage, means it could cater from 6-32V INPUT voltage. The non-HV version could take 6-24V INPUT voltage, good enough to be used in normal car setup.

Mine is ZOTAC IONITX-D-E (there are few versions from ZOTAC, no idea what the differences between them).. it has Atom Dual-Core and it has Nvidia ION along with built in n-type wifi. It couldn't be expanded further though since it has no PCI slot. If you're not interested in playing any HD movies, then the stock ATOM mobo/process (those RM200-300 price) should be fine I guess.

Couldn't help you on the 1-DIN solution .. most of the things I bought are from ebay, and I couldn't find 1-DIN touch vga tft on ebay .. probably you could try those China website like alibaba and ask the manufacturer that list out the 1-DIN solution where you could source one.
wiraone
post May 13 2010, 09:31 AM

3,892 posts

Big boat usually have a very high voltage batteries, 36V deep charge cycle is common for marine use, so I guess that is why they need to cater for this kind of setup.

On S-video, I believe some stock Intel Atom MBs do have S-video.. but why you need an S-video? Are you thinking of streaming a video to backrest TFT monitors?

Anyway, you may want to check out some other options out there. MINIX has mini-itx motherboard for AMD processors .. and I think few other manufacturers have mini-itx mobos that you could combine with normal processors. I suggested on Atom because they're cheap, almost everything there .. integrated .. smile.gif
wiraone
post May 13 2010, 03:32 PM

3,892 posts

Found this in mp3car forum:

CODE
A note from Mo-Co-So website. This should clear the confusion.

"There is no longer any difference in hardware between the EBY701 and the 629GL. The internal components are identical. Only the outer plastic housing is different. Unless you like the way the GL629 looks better then the 701 there is no reason the purchase it over the EBY701."

And EBY701 can be modded to do auto switching ..

http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/lcd-displa...n-enable-2.html
wiraone
post May 15 2010, 10:30 PM

3,892 posts

According to the tracking page, my stuffs are at KLIA already. Now to get ready to rip my dashboard apart ...
wiraone
post May 18 2010, 03:50 PM

3,892 posts

Stuck at Customs .. received letter from PosLaju saying my PC is detained .. going to go down to KLIA tomorrow to do the clearance, I thought PC shouldn't be taxed, but I guess when they see the value > RM500, I guess they just detained it .. grrr..

Added on May 19, 2010, 12:54 pmOk, went to KLIA to do the clearance, it was detained because the officer said the PC doesn't look like a normal PC, the case is more like car audio amplifier, the monitor is so small it doesn't like a normal desktop monitor and the power supply connector, it uses DIN-8, doesn't look like those normal PC power supply socket. Anyway, POS M'sia charged me RM18 for the clearance document and I don't need to pay anything else.

.. photos can be found here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/wiraone/sets/72157624099265686/

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 21 2010, 03:40 PM

0.0269sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:41 AM