My Car PC, You can post your's here too

LittleMin
post Dec 18 2008, 09:40 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(uglyvamp @ May 10 2007, 03:55 AM)
Integrating this on my best frend's rig in SG currently. Have not really figured where to mouch yet, cos its quite big. And still deciding which chasis to use.

if this has a place integrated in car will be darn cool  rclxm9.gif

8" widescreen LCD. ( non touch screen )

VGA input or RCA input. 2choices.

12volt power

bro~~where u get d monitor??
how much $$$?? smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

Added on December 18, 2008, 10:24 pm
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Sep 18 2008, 04:55 AM)
In dash offcourse, u gila?
This is Malaysia, if it's not in-dash, a month or so, you'll find a glass of your car broken. laugh.gif
bro how much is ur pioneer indash monitor??

This post has been edited by LittleMin: Dec 18 2008, 10:24 PM
LittleMin
post Jul 9 2009, 10:19 AM

167 posts

Bro Zyntherius and bro zealless,

may i noe what is the screen resolution of ur car pc screen?? smile.gif
for ur information, im currently using 7" china tv monitor~i think same type wif bro Zynth..
(i oso hope gt d budget to get liliput screen like bro zeal~it's so nice!! drool.gif )

so what kind of resolution i should set to?
cz last night i jz try to plug in my laptop to the monitor using s-video port~
n screen resolution i set 800*600...
but my screen still looked blur.. cry.gif i cant even see the font clearly.. cry.gif

can u 2 teach me what kind of setting i should do? blush.gif
i'm noobie in this..and planning to get a pc as my car pc~
any suggestion about the spec of pc and so on? smile.gif

thx... thumbup.gif

Added on July 9, 2009, 6:58 pmnobody here?sad.gif

Added on July 10, 2009, 12:29 amstil nobody here ah?sad.gif

This post has been edited by LittleMin: Jul 10 2009, 12:29 AM
LittleMin
post Jul 14 2009, 02:02 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(swmung @ Jul 12 2009, 01:12 AM)

bro,u use laptop as carpc ar ?
y not build a car pc ?
hi bro~yup im planning to build a car pc..
bt hvnt build yet lah~n nw using laptop as pilot testing loh~hehehe..

stil headche bout d resolution of my car monitor.. doh.gif
aikz...
LittleMin
post Jul 14 2009, 02:23 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(junhe @ Jul 14 2009, 07:16 AM)
what monitor u using now in ur car?
bro~im using cheapo china 7" 1-din motorized monitor nw.. smile.gif

LittleMin
post Jul 14 2009, 10:39 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(lun1986 @ Jul 14 2009, 06:36 PM)
bro,how much u bought ?? i also lookin it
i bought at 340..wif tv antenna n installation.. smile.gif

nobody can help me about d pc screen resolution? sad.gif
LittleMin
post Jul 15 2009, 02:40 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(junhe @ Jul 15 2009, 04:20 AM)
is that 800 X480?

ur lcd can use as touch screen with pc? got 1 usb connect to pc to use the touch screen for ur pc....
i duno actually~bt thx for ur suggestion..
i wil try it to see is d best resolution onot~ smile.gif

no lah~my lcd cheapo one..no touch screen... sad.gif

Added on July 15, 2009, 2:42 pm
QUOTE(lun1986 @ Jul 15 2009, 09:31 AM)
nice price,mind to share where u get it ar???
got tv atenna summore  drool.gif

properties there cant set mer ? doh.gif
i get it frm my fren's acc shop at jb masai.. smile.gif
frenship price~ biggrin.gif
tv antenna laoyah one lah~cant receive channels most of d time.. sweat.gif

yes properties can set~bt i nid 2 figure out d correct n best resolution for my screen loh..
cz using s-video port...
if using vga port wont gt tis problem.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by LittleMin: Jul 15 2009, 02:42 PM
LittleMin
post Jul 18 2009, 05:19 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(zealless @ Jul 16 2009, 03:34 PM)
the china motorised screen have problem with its resolution, it is not tune for PC output ... try to lower the resolution ...
your button or words might look big, but guarantee better viewing ... try 160x200 or 320x400

why not get a touch screen ? i bought one for my friend RM800 include delivery within Semenanjung
thx for ur suggestion~wil try it on.. smile.gif

my budget nt enuf.. sad.gif

ur touch screen is motorized one (can simpan one) or jz cum wif a tapak one?
my car can onli put those simpan type..cz dun hv place to put a direct screen..

actually i think i shud get a screen wif VGA port..rite? smile.gif

This post has been edited by LittleMin: Jul 18 2009, 05:20 AM
LittleMin
post Jul 20 2009, 07:47 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(zealless @ Jul 20 2009, 11:14 AM)
my screen is not motorized, is those with a stand ...
should fit in normal car 7" audio dock ...

yup, a screen with VGA port should have no problem with resolution problem
oic...my car don't hv place to fit in those with a stand type monitor..

as u can see from the pic i hv attached my current china monitor on top of the dashboard of my car..
i got 7" audio dock but it is too below for me dy~hard 2 concentrate driving if i put my screen there.. sad.gif

hmm~im finding those screen with VGA port dy..
but seems like in m'sia hard to find this stuff.. sad.gif

any suggestion where can find motorized VGA screen?
new one or used one oso can?if gt used one better..cz cheaper cost.. laugh.gif
LittleMin
post Jul 22 2009, 01:42 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(zealless @ Jul 21 2009, 12:13 PM)
Very hard to find, plus cannot sync resolution with PC resolution.
aikz..sad den.. sad.gif

wat i noe is china n taiwan gt alot of those motorized screen with VGA port..
some r motorized while some hv 2 use hand flip one..
both r ok for me actually..

d problem is they aren't brought into malaysia market..sigh.. sad.gif
anybody can help me bring in? brows.gif
LittleMin
post May 10 2010, 12:43 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(friexs @ Apr 6 2010, 01:13 PM)
hi,

wouldnt be problem if u change the setting for font. i forget where the tab it is, but every pc is capable on doing this,
just enlarge the font, and u good to go.

click on advanced tab, will bring you to the font tab,

depend on your LCD quality, i change the font to 120%. big enough to read,

the 7" lcd for me, quiet ok la. able to read my windows.
the price is around 200, and using s-video from my pc, and connect to RCA yellow at LCD.
as you can see, the picture quality is good enough for 200rm lcd. able to play Most Wanted.. good enough for me.
hey bro~ask u sumthing..
does my computer nid graphic card if connect to d normal car LCD using s-video?
cz last time i tested my integrated graphic card laptop to connect to my car LCD using s-video..bt kenot.. sad.gif
n den i use my fren's laptop which come wif graphic card..den can liao..
bt d resolution like shit..hahaha..
mayb wil try ur method to setup d resolution..

so wat is ur current resolution setting?mind to share?
ur LCD is those normal LCD for automotive use eg. connect to car dvd player one izit?
do u ever try to watch rmvb or wateva video file using ur car pc monitor before?
cz last time i tried using s-video..n when i open video file~d video graphic like shit oso..zzz..
izit resolution setting problem?

lastly..hw do u settle d problem of car pc on/off problem when u switch on/off ur car?
i noe foreign country gt special psu for car pc..r u using it?

Added on May 10, 2010, 1:03 amhttp://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1328058

i like tis monitor..ezy n convinience..
bt it is pricey..sad.gif
btw~those liliput car pc monitor resolution is hw much liao ah?

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 10 2010, 02:32 AM
LittleMin
post May 10 2010, 01:47 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ May 10 2010, 10:13 AM)
Any other progress other than from friexs? I'm still thinking after so many years to go for this little project .. found one ebay seller which is selling older model of EBY701 for RM542 shipped. I guess this one doesn't have the LED backlight though.

I'm still thinking what is the best carpc to be installed .. I like those carpc made casing like voompc and aero pc .. and probably mate this with ZOTAC with Nvidia ION .. but importing the case and the ZOTAC mobo will be a bit expensive compared to getting like say an ACER Revo or DELL Zino. I believe with off the shelf nettop, I probably need to go for the power-up/shut-down controller like Carnetix which cost quite a bomb .. RM500 imported from US..

BTW, saw in ebay.. MITXPC is selling a ZotacION-F-E + VOOMPC2 + M2-ATX PS + 2GB RAM + 160GB HD for RM1600 delivered.. and MO-CO-SO is selling ZotacION-D-E + Aero + M2_ATX PS + 2GB RAM + 250GB HD for RM1500. Tempted for sure..!!
a used liliput screen for rm542?
it's stil considered reasonable if d condition is still good..
btw wat is LED backlight?
LittleMin
post May 10 2010, 03:48 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ May 10 2010, 03:14 PM)
It is brand new but from I guess old stock ..

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/Lilliput-7-Touch-Sc...c#ht_5464wt_941

LED backlight means that the unit is using LED instead of the  fluorescent lamp to light up the LCD.. energy wise, LED is much better.
oic..
i found tis..
http://cgi.ebay.com/LILLIPUT-7-UM-70-MODEL...=item2eaa271a84
it is cheaper den EBY701..but im nt sure whether it reali suit for car use onot..

http://store.taobao.com/shop/view_shop-6a2...0e.htm?ssid=r11
tis one at china~lagi cheap..

LittleMin
post May 11 2010, 03:53 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ May 10 2010, 05:02 PM)
Still waiting for an answer about the case from mo-co-so, since it is cheaper, probably going to go with this pre-assembled unit .. but, argh.. the unit could only support 11n, wonder why they're going for 11n and not 11g/n .. once my pay check is in, probably will go with this one..

Oh, btw, for littlemin, check if the tft has touch screen support .. or otherwise, you need to get it extra .. the EBY701 has it .. and for now I believe that is the cheapest could be had from ebay. Online stores charge unbelievably high price for shipping cost..
yea..the 7" usb monitor comes wif touch screen..
i think mayb i wil go for tis as d price is ok..
u hv bought the eby701 dy?

Added on May 11, 2010, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(friexs @ May 10 2010, 06:03 PM)
for s-video input thru LCD, i think the computer need to have s-video out same like laptop do. it doesnt matter using internal or external video card, as long u have s-video connector, good to go.

about the resolution, i'm using 1280*1024, but cause using s-video, the font quite blur, so that why i increase the font size as i show before. dont have any problem watching movie, or playing game. i can see everything clearly, no blur. yup my screen is same like those selling at car accesories shop..

i will try to upload my current progress tonight if i have time.
about the on/off problem, i'm using DC-AC inverter. the wiring same as other. direct power source to inverter without going thru key igntion.. because i'm using laptop motherboard, i'm thinking to get a laptop battery for my carpc. with battery on it, i can hibernate@standby my pc. so there's no need to wait it to boot up.
but my laptop comes wif s-video port~n it cannot detect when i plug in s-video connector..duno y.. cry.gif
while my fren's laptop which comes wif ATI graphic card can use pulak..

resolution wise do u encounter any problem so far?
cz last time i cant see the font and graphic clearly if i use so high reso like urs..

oic..so u mean u on/off d car-pc by urself la?
i think get m2-atx power supply is better den use laptop battery~if u hv d budget..
cz m2-atx is designed specially for car pc which it wil hibernate automatically once u off ur car~n auto on when u start ignition..
thus no nid to wait to boot up..
n i think it's better for car battery oso..
if use laptop battery i sked either car battery or d laptop battery wil kong very soon..

Added on May 11, 2010, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(wiraone @ May 11 2010, 11:06 AM)
Haha.. not rich lah, but been thinking from day one I got my Triton .. took ages before plunging into this carpc thing.. the only thing I'm concerned when doing it DIY way is to provide good power to the system.. with normal pc inside the car, you need something to power it up.. m2-atx cost around rm200-300 alone .. using inverter with ac power supply is surely a no-no .. hope this can be done in my weekend time.. hopefully could get them all by end of the week..
bro where u source d m2-atx from?
i found some china website selling tis..bt nt sure is genuine one or fake one~hahaha..
bt function wise is same i think..

Added on May 11, 2010, 4:01 pm
QUOTE(friexs @ May 11 2010, 03:28 PM)
have any warranty by manufacture?
i think even gt warranty~u hv 2 send it bek to US oso gua..since d item bought frm US..

Added on May 11, 2010, 4:06 pmaiks..im so gatal nw after seeing bro friex's car pc..

currently i jz nid a decent motherboard n processor den i can try to start my low-budget car pc dy!!slurrpp..

monitor wise perhaps i wil try to plug in to my current china screen since bro friex can do so..hopefully mine can success too..

btw bro friex~ur DC-AC power inverter supports til hw many watts?wat is d max watt required?i hv one power inverter nw..bt if nt wrong d watt value nt very high..
n do u connect d inverter direct to car battery or via d power socket?

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 11 2010, 04:06 PM
LittleMin
post May 12 2010, 10:25 PM

167 posts

[quote=friexs,May 11 2010, 06:11 PM]
but my laptop comes wif s-video port~n it cannot detect when i plug in s-video connector..duno y.. cry.gif
while my fren's laptop which comes wif ATI graphic card can use pulak..

dunno, last time i'm using Dell inspiron 6000 which is dont have any external graphic card. using intel bla bla bla. still can use. yet still can read. what laptop u use?

resolution wise do u encounter any problem so far?
cz last time i cant see the font and graphic clearly if i use so high reso like urs..

if i set the resolution too low, i can't acces the OK, CANCEL, APPLY button at the bottom of the dialog box. also , i'm not using keyboard. all operation in carpc using mouse. so that's the reason i put it at the highest resoltion.

oic..so u mean u on/off d car-pc by urself la?
i think get m2-atx power supply is better den use laptop battery~if u hv d budget..
cz m2-atx is designed specially for car pc which it wil hibernate automatically once u off ur car~n auto on when u start ignition..
thus no nid to wait to boot up..
n i think it's better for car battery oso..
if use laptop battery i sked either car battery or d laptop battery wil kong very soon..

well, my carpc actually is laptop motherboard. i can't use the m2-atx power supply. plus right now i'm looking for laptop in car charger. so that's the reason i'm hunting for this laptop model batery.

aiks..im so gatal nw after seeing bro friex's car pc..

currently i jz nid a decent motherboard n processor den i can try to start my low-budget car pc dy!!slurrpp..

maybe we can discuss in PM cause i have something to offer. right in time.

monitor wise perhaps i wil try to plug in to my current china screen since bro friex can do so..hopefully mine can success too..

btw bro friex~ur DC-AC power inverter supports til hw many watts?wat is d max watt required?i hv one power inverter nw..bt if nt wrong d watt value nt very high..
n do u connect d inverter direct to car battery or via d power socket?

i'm connecting the inverter direct to car battery, adding 2 fuse. 1 at the batery terminal. and another 1 is located near the 12v input inverter. just a precaution. and 1 switch at inverter, i pull and rewire it, put it near my dashboard, so i can turn on and off the inverter. dont want the inverter to drain power when not using.
china inverter is not really good inverter. outside the case, it state 500w. but i dont believe it. it's just a number. i believe inverter best working power at 100~150w

[/quote]

[/quote]

1. im using acer aspire 5800 series if nt wrong..using intel integrated graphic card oso..

2. hmm..bout resolution problem mayb i wil try plug in another laptop see how 1st~since u said integrated graphic card can use oso..btw~wat kind of cable u using?where u bought from?im using s-video port to rca cable..

3. oic..so d one u offer me is laptop mobo oso?i stil prefer using m2-atx due to d auto open/off issue..

4. oic..d inverter tat i bought frm china oso..bt mine dun hv d output to let me modify direct to battery..perhaps i wil buy another one or see how..

Added on May 12, 2010, 10:28 pm

[quote=wiraone,May 11 2010, 10:09 PM]
junhe,

I believe you've seen this before:

http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/show-off-y...shi-triton.html

That is the main reason why I'm going for EBY701, since the guy has it perfectly fit the monitor to the RV display (which in some part of the world, holds a 2 DIN nav system). Since underneath of the cig.lighter has my amateur radio, I guess I'll just keep the RV meter safe in a box, inside my store smile.gif

If you're thinking of using a netbook, the only option for auto-on/auto-off is by getting a carnetix dc-dc regulator. It'll cost you US$99 + around US$50 for shipment .. I've read about someone having a problem running a notebook with a dc-dc step up converter .. the battery went bulging and need to replace it .. so, be aware if you go for this cheap solution.

This guy uses carnetix dc-dc regulator.

On the OBD, someone said that the cheapo one from ebay might works with centrafuse .. so, am getting the less than RM60 one found on ebay .. as in this :

[/quote]

bro wiraone,

does ur liliput support auto switch reverse camera function?
i suddenly think of tis..so perhaps i wont be getting d usb monitor dy since it shud doesnt support tis function.. sad.gif sad.gif

Added on May 12, 2010, 11:02 pmhow come my quote function cant use one?:S

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 12 2010, 11:09 PM
LittleMin
post May 12 2010, 11:11 PM

167 posts

bro wiraone,

oic..so i think i better go for PC's motherboard..can support m2atx..

wor~dun hv auto switch function ah?den gt any used liliput model which support tis function on ebay?if can find 7" 1-din size one lagi best~hahaha..

Added on May 12, 2010, 11:29 pmhttp://cgi.ebay.com/M2-ATX-Car-PC-CarPC-Ca...=item255a6c7721

http://cgi.ebay.com/M2-ATX-HV-140W-6-32V-B...=item255a70f7aa

which one better ah?

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 12 2010, 11:29 PM
LittleMin
post May 13 2010, 07:31 AM

167 posts

oic..d HV model u mentioned is m2-atx model?wat is d diff wif another model actually?sorry im noob.. sweat.gif
y is no point to buy HV model?hw to say?cant get ur mean..

can u let me have a look d spec of Zotac?izit a low power consumption mobo oso?

actually my car dashboard gt onli one 1-din size for d screen on the top there..so i prefer to put 1-din screen since the 2-din size is quite below there(my car is kenari~so if u see before u might know wat im talking bout~lol..)

if my car same like ur triton den things gonna b ezier dy..sad..sad.gif

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 13 2010, 08:05 AM
LittleMin
post May 13 2010, 09:01 AM

167 posts

oic..so wat is d good point of HV version?i mean wat kind setup nid to use high voltage?hehehe..

oic..im nt reali interested wif HD movies la..n i guess tis mobo shud b quite expensive oso~i cant afford oso..sad.gif
i jz wana find those like wat u say~stock ATOM mobo nia..n my requirement is i wan vga port and s-video port..is tat possible?lol..

bout d 1-din solution..hv find many china website dy..even ask my fren who went to shenzhen help me find..bt cant find any..many manufacturers said tat they hv started to phase out 1-din model as currently 2-din is d trend dy..sad.gif

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 13 2010, 09:04 AM
LittleMin
post May 13 2010, 09:39 AM

167 posts

oic..so means tat we do not nid to use HV model la?hehehe..

erm~actually i wan s-video is i wana assemble my PC 1st and temporary connect it to my cheap china normal rca monitor..hehehe..
stil considering wana take usb monitor or liliput monitor like ur eby701..mostly going for latter as d latter hv reverse camera input..and tv function oso..
but i nid to mod it into my 1-din deck~which is a big project for me..tats y i wana take mobo wif s-video in case my vga monitor plans fail i stil can back up mah~hahaha..
btw~streaming video to backrest TFT monitor is a good idea oso~lolz..

actually i prefer atom processors oso due to d low power consumption of it..wondering whether intel core 2 duo processor can combine wif m2-atx onot..those normal processors can combine wif m2-atx onot ah?

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 13 2010, 09:40 AM
LittleMin
post May 13 2010, 03:35 PM

167 posts

yea..bout d auto switching problem..
i noe a acc. shop boss who noe to mod tis..
my fren's old school type monitor jz modded by him..

so nw i jz nid a monitor tat provide few input to switch between different devices..
thus..d 7" usb monitor shud wont in my list dy..

Added on May 15, 2010, 2:05 pmbro wiraone~dun forget to share ur items here when they reach ah~hehehe..

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 15 2010, 02:05 PM
LittleMin
post May 25 2010, 01:26 PM

167 posts

may i ask a noob question..
wat is centrafuse?blush.gif

Added on May 25, 2010, 1:29 pmbro shaunk~hw much u buy for ur m4-atx ya??smile.gif

This post has been edited by LittleMin: May 25 2010, 01:29 PM

0.0190sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:31 AM