106 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Bottom

Which Brand Laptop is good?

boringpig
post Feb 16 2005, 05:42 PM

1,344 posts

if i'm not mistaken, s7011 is using an integrated intel extreme graphics 2 with a maximum shared memory of 64MB..
well, i'm not a hardcore gamer but i do play once in a while.. not really into a very high-end graphic game..
is graphic card upgradable?
boringpig
post Feb 16 2005, 06:12 PM

1,344 posts

well, after pages and pages of reviews i've read, it seems that the overall opinions regarding s7011 is not really impressing..
so, i tried to survey for some other options.. just to make sure i dun regret after getting one.. hahah biggrin.gif

anyone has comments on IBM? particularly T40
but IBM also uses the same graphic card as s7011, righT?

sorry if i'm being a bit of fussy here... tongue.gif
SUSgogo2
post Feb 16 2005, 10:04 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(johnsilvermoore @ Feb 15 2005, 10:01 PM)
Toshiba -> I am and the my casee made made from cheap material, the spec not worth the price
Fujitsu -> I am very thin, but easy to break
Acer -> I look very solid and rich with features, however i think we need to improve our QC
Dell -> I am littlbe bit more expensive than compaq when compare to their model with the same spec side by side, however i am tough. and i have a body guard. Damn i wish i have a good speaker, recommend model 8600, m510
Compaq -> i am overall good and cheaper than all the above model. Have you seen my new look m2000 and my brother v2000. i personally think that he is a bit pricey but look at me with RM 3299 and inherit all the goodies from centino,i am really cool with JBL speaker.

Well there you go, go see yourself. I had been switching a lot of notebook recent years and now i just got my Dell 8600 <-- it rocks. Find any notebook out there in the market and beat me ? Anyway. i just seen the compaq m2000, the aligment of the input / output port is the best i ever seen after the apple ibook. (i think its better than the ibook) and somemore it have 6 in 1 card reader. What else, it have all the features centrino got and so and so. Too bad its running at P M Celeron however the PM centrino can be reach at 3999 which i think not worth it, my previous notebook running  AMD Duron and it rocks too. Save the money to buy some upgrade ( hardrive and memory)

M2000 ROCKS, don't believe me, go lowyat and take a look at it.your selfd
Your points hit almost correctly, like 90% or so depending on the case.

QUOTE(caspertheghost @ Feb 15 2005, 10:14 PM)
from my opinion never buy NEC. it has alot problem. im not coming here to say bad wordsor what..
but where i work helps to repair alot of NEC laptop as faulty motherboard and so.
it it the highest rank return rate other than other brand.
Heard about it too. Some more its expensive.

QUOTE(guanteik @ Feb 16 2005, 12:00 AM)
if you are particular about the score, S7011 scored about 2365 in 3dmark2001. this is due to the low performance graphics card, but if you are not into gaming, this is a perfect choice for you. Toshiba is fine, but for the design, it's definately a loss. Performance wise, it's about the same.
dells heats up very quickly. the service is poor and the battery lifespan is short. I don't recommand dell.
Fujitsu is more sturdy than any notebook brands you have mentioned. it doesn't break easily. Previously i dropped my S7010 onto the ground and it's still usable + in fine condition. more for high end/business users.
Acer - hinge problem, but i heard it's getting better. Cheap and affordable. You may get student's rebate as well. more for students.
Dell - if you really planned to get a notebook from dell, make sure you get dell latitude. overall, all dell units look the same and heated up very fast.
Compaq - nice hardware. more for students.
Mind you, I'm using IBM T42. It heats up easily too. I think all laptop heats up easily even though its centrino. Most due to processor and some due to hardisk. Imagine if its AMD. I think it'll burn your hand. Hehehe....

QUOTE(boringpig @ Feb 16 2005, 05:42 PM)
if i'm not mistaken, s7011 is using an integrated intel extreme graphics 2 with a maximum shared memory of 64MB..
well, i'm not a hardcore gamer but i do play once in a while.. not really into a very high-end graphic game..
is graphic card upgradable?
No its not upgradeable.

QUOTE(boringpig @ Feb 16 2005, 06:12 PM)
well, after pages and pages of reviews i've read, it seems that the overall opinions regarding s7011 is not really impressing..
so, i tried to survey for some other options.. just to make sure i dun regret after getting one.. hahah  biggrin.gif

anyone has comments on IBM? particularly T40
but IBM also uses the same graphic card as s7011, righT?

sorry if i'm being a bit of fussy here... tongue.gif
If you're talking about X40, yes, same integrated graphic. I'm using T42 that have separate graphic but it is ATI 7500 which is not impressive either.

I use this laptop before:
a)Acer 2012WLCi (1.5GHz with 512MB RAM - ATI 9700 pro 64Mb)
b)Acer 381TCi (1.6GHz with 512Mb RAM)
c)Dell 700m (1.6GHz with 256Mb RAM)
d)IBM T42 (1.7GHz with 1GB RAM - ATI 7500)

Conclusion is, I'm not too impress with laptop itself. It will not be as fast as your PC. Its hot. Its fragile. But good thing is, its mobile.

So, just buy the laptop if you really want mobility.

Second thing is, even I'm using IBM T42 which is consider durable, the case is creaking. What a shame coz it cost almost RM10,000. But overall, I guess its kinda tough though.

Video performance, I still like Acer 2012WLCi. You'll not miss your PC so much if you bought a laptop with ATI 9600 and above graphic card.

If you wanna buy integrated graphic, buy as small and light as possible. Else, if you plan to get big laptop with 15" screen, get one with ATI graphic.

Fujitsu, IBM and Toshiba with high price tag and only with integrated graphic doesn't make sense at all. You get a slow laptop at such a high price for what? By the third year, you dun really care whether it broke down coz it'll be very slow and outdated.

My advice is, get the cheapest one that have high quality and longer warranty period like 3 years. Recommended price will be RM5000 and below. Anything above that is very wasting money.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Feb 16 2005, 10:06 PM
guanteik
post Feb 17 2005, 11:29 AM

2,661 posts

I'm using Fujitsu S7010 that costs me RM15k, 1.7Centrino with 2GB RAM. well, i can tell you that this notebook is not as hot as you think. My meaning hot in here is - it can't boil or fry an egg. So if you were to tell me that notebook won't dissipate heat, i am not convinced.

From what gogo2 said, it makes sense. If you are planning to chance a notebook within 3 years, better get those low end ones, such as Acer or Dell. If you want to make it longer, get those units with 3 years warranty.

FYI, buying a notebook depends on which category of individual you are (gamers, businessman/women, travelers... etc).
guanteik
post Feb 17 2005, 11:32 AM

2,661 posts

==double post==

This post has been edited by guanteik: Feb 17 2005, 11:36 AM
SUSgogo2
post Feb 17 2005, 10:40 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Feb 17 2005, 11:29 AM)
I'm using Fujitsu S7010 that costs me RM15k, 1.7Centrino with 2GB RAM. well, i can tell you that this notebook is not as hot as you think. My meaning hot in here is - it can't boil or fry an egg. So if you were to tell me that notebook won't dissipate heat, i am not convinced.

From what gogo2 said, it makes sense. If you are planning to chance a notebook within 3 years, better get those low end ones, such as Acer or Dell. If you want to make it longer, get those units with 3 years warranty.

FYI, buying a notebook depends on which category of individual you are (gamers, businessman/women, travelers... etc).
The smaller the notebook, the more heat it have. I didn't expect notebook have to much heat. tongue.gif The least heat is from Acer 2012WLCi which is 15.4" laptop at 3kg. So, if you want less heat, get a bigger laptop.

About the 3 year thingy, think about this:
if you were to buy a RM8000 laptop, your laptop, no matter how good, will still obselete. As a matter of fact, the performance difference between RM8000 and RM4000 is not much in 3 three years time. So why dun we buy a RM4000 laptop now and in three years time, just buy another laptop from the RM4000 that you've saved. tongue.gif
wsl
post Feb 18 2005, 07:58 PM

487 posts

what's the main difference between Dell inspiron series with Latitude series? Anyone here try it b4?
SUSgogo2
post Feb 18 2005, 08:23 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

The difference is, Inspiron is something like guinea pig. It uses all the latest technology but still at a very cheap price.

Latitude is something for business. All it used is tried and tested technology. That's why you dun see ATI 9600 Pro in Latitude. Also, the build quality is better.

boringpig
post Feb 22 2005, 06:03 PM

1,344 posts

kinda decided not to buy so-expensive notebook as i'm still a student..
planned to buy like dell, nec.. once out for work maybe can change to high-end notebook like fujitsu, toshiba... hehehe biggrin.gif

for dell.. after i bought it.. can i say like want to upgrade a bigger hdd other than getting an external hdd?? under configuration.. there's an option on whether i want to partition the hdd or not? can i make a partition later when i get a hold on the notebook??
wackyflik
post Feb 22 2005, 07:07 PM

347 posts

i am looking 2 laptops and wanted to buy them around march or april. therefore i need some opinions regarding brands (branded or clone), budget, performance, services and so on.

1st laptop, my budget is around RM3500 and below. i am considering any processors except VIA and CELERON. (can i get any laptop powered by intel centrino with this budget????)

2nd laptop, my budget is around RM5000 and below. i am considering any processors except VIA and CELERON. for this one, i prefer any laptop powered intel centrino.

i need to know the prices and models.

where can i get asus laptop price list in the internet???
guanteik
post Feb 22 2005, 09:48 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(boringpig @ Feb 22 2005, 06:03 PM)
kinda decided not to buy so-expensive notebook as i'm still a student..
planned to buy like dell, nec.. once out for work maybe can change to high-end notebook like fujitsu, toshiba... hehehe biggrin.gif

for dell..  after i bought it.. can i say like want to upgrade a bigger hdd other than getting an external hdd?? under configuration.. there's an option on whether i want to partition the hdd or not? can i make a partition later when i get a hold on the notebook??
You can upgrade to a bigger HDD, depending on which brand you buy. If Dell,you can self configure the size.But when it comes to Fujitsu, you cannot choose to upgrade, unless you wanna void the warranty that comes with it.

Yes, you can partition the HDD into a few parts if you have a large size HDD using fdisk.
boringpig
post Feb 23 2005, 08:03 PM

1,344 posts

i have these few model in mind... it's from NEC
hope to get some opinion from u guys..
1. Versa M540 (this is my 1st choice though)
2. Versa E6000

sorry for asking so many questions.. biggrin.gif
qedx
post Feb 24 2005, 12:03 AM

712 posts

been reading the whole thread and still can't figure out heads nor tails of it, so i figure i'll just go ahead and ask a question: i'm thinking of getting a budget gaming notebook preferably something below rm5k with ati 9700 (is that even possible?). any suggestions?
lemon~
post Feb 26 2005, 10:49 AM

172 posts

is the brand an issue for u ? if not then consider acer , with 5.3k u can get their notebook with x600 .

acer laptops have good specs at low price but their reliability is a thing to concern . but some ppl wont experience any problem with it if they are lucky .

other than acer u might consider dell laptops . their price are reasonable too with nice setup as well .

if u wanna go for branded type like fujitsu , toshiba or asus , i think u need around at least 6-7k to own a system with ati 9700 setup .
rufryder
post Feb 26 2005, 10:01 PM

922 posts

me using DELL Inspiron 8600.
No porblems at all for me. using for about 4 months already.
Great for Desktop replacements. biggrin.gif
qedx
post Feb 28 2005, 02:53 AM

712 posts

i'm not too concerned about the brand (most probably because i'm not too sure which ones are good), as long as the laptop is not made out of cardboard i don't really care i guess.

a friend of mine showed me an @ris laptop with ati9700 which he says retails for about 4.5k. can someone confirm this? Also looking at acer's travelmate 4000 something

This post has been edited by qedx: Feb 28 2005, 03:18 AM
enqvistlim
post Mar 2 2005, 04:18 PM

1,101 posts

i have a few question, some expert pls help me:
1) celeron M and Pentium M also consider as centrino?
2) celeron M and Pentium M power consumption is big different? or same?
3) can i buy from dell but don wan the original OS?
4) possible for 3.5k nb to use for 3dmax autocad?(although slow but still can accept right?
5) pls recomeded a around 3.5k nb with
-posible-->centrino? pentium M?
-long lasting batteries(at least 4hour)
-can use 3d max and autocad
-some gaming(not necesary)
-don too heavy
-must have wireless
-bigger harddisk is better
-screen size is better 14+ since working on 3D
-usb x 3 or more is better

hope u guy expert can help...
rufryder
post Mar 3 2005, 06:23 PM

922 posts

Now Dell selling inspiron 9300. worth a look. great value biggrin.gif
wsl
post Mar 3 2005, 07:36 PM

487 posts

every nb now is below 3.5kg... except the new dell inspiron 9300.

engvistlim, i think u can buy FTEC 8050 which is 15.4 screen, with 128mb ati9700....sure can run all those software smoothly! ant the new price is RM45++... u can check it at the their website.
wsl
post Mar 4 2005, 03:07 PM

487 posts

just back from Ikano Harvey Norman.

for those who are looking for HP notebook, u all can go there for a look since now there is RM400 rebate, cheaper than lowyat. However, the rebate is just for the first 20 units only.

This post has been edited by wsl: Mar 4 2005, 03:08 PM

106 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0167sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:28 PM