Which Brand Laptop is good?

boringpig
post Dec 1 2004, 05:56 PM

1,344 posts

well.. i want to get a notebook for my study..
budget is <RM6000

what i will do most with my laptop would be some programming, multimedia such as flash, director, graphics editing, a little bit of gaming.. most important thing is with wireless features!

i prefer something like toshiba, ibm or hp/compaq

which one is better.. what i heard most is ppl telling u toshiba and ibm would be the best.. so, which one?

boringpig
post Feb 14 2005, 11:48 AM

1,344 posts

hi guys, i'm kinda interested in these model..
any comments for these models?
1. Fujitsu S7011 and S7010
2. NEC Versa E6000

what type is the warranty (domestic/regional/international) and for how long?
are those available in m'sia and if yes, what's the offer/price?

thank u..
boringpig
post Feb 14 2005, 10:16 PM

1,344 posts

so how about the price of E6000? i think this was launched for quite some time, right? how about its performance?
boringpig
post Feb 15 2005, 09:43 PM

1,344 posts

yeah, that s7011 is kinda cool.
so, how does a fujitsu performed overall?
i guess it's comparable with toshiba, right?
boringpig
post Feb 15 2005, 09:49 PM

1,344 posts

ohh.. and how about dell?
since in the early of this thread there's a lot of +ve comments about dell but i heard my friend know someone work in dell and said that their after-sales service is not really good and slow then the machine's life is kinda short..
well, all i got is just a one-sided story and i want to hear more side of the stories..
boringpig
post Feb 16 2005, 05:42 PM

1,344 posts

if i'm not mistaken, s7011 is using an integrated intel extreme graphics 2 with a maximum shared memory of 64MB..
well, i'm not a hardcore gamer but i do play once in a while.. not really into a very high-end graphic game..
is graphic card upgradable?
boringpig
post Feb 16 2005, 06:12 PM

1,344 posts

well, after pages and pages of reviews i've read, it seems that the overall opinions regarding s7011 is not really impressing..
so, i tried to survey for some other options.. just to make sure i dun regret after getting one.. hahah biggrin.gif

anyone has comments on IBM? particularly T40
but IBM also uses the same graphic card as s7011, righT?

sorry if i'm being a bit of fussy here... tongue.gif
boringpig
post Feb 22 2005, 06:03 PM

1,344 posts

kinda decided not to buy so-expensive notebook as i'm still a student..
planned to buy like dell, nec.. once out for work maybe can change to high-end notebook like fujitsu, toshiba... hehehe biggrin.gif

for dell.. after i bought it.. can i say like want to upgrade a bigger hdd other than getting an external hdd?? under configuration.. there's an option on whether i want to partition the hdd or not? can i make a partition later when i get a hold on the notebook??
boringpig
post Feb 23 2005, 08:03 PM

1,344 posts

i have these few model in mind... it's from NEC
hope to get some opinion from u guys..
1. Versa M540 (this is my 1st choice though)
2. Versa E6000

sorry for asking so many questions.. biggrin.gif
boringpig
post Mar 22 2005, 10:01 PM

1,344 posts

hihi.. I AM BACK! and this time, i had decided to get this notebook..
it's a NEC Versa M540

Processor: 1.8GHz Pentium M 745 processor, 2MB L2 Cache, 400 FSB)
Chipset: Intel i855GME Chipset
Memory: 512MB DDRAM
HDD: 60GB
Audio: Integrated audio
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon 9700
Video Memory: 128MB Video Memory
Optical: DVD Dual R9 no idea what this is??
Network Card: 10/100MB Integrated LAN + 802.11b/g Mini PCI Integrated
Modem: 56K ITU v.92
Screen: 15.4" Wide SuperShine View WXGA TFT
Ports: 1 x PCMCIA; 3 x USB 2.0; 1 x IEEE 1394; 1 x VGA-out; 4-in-1 Card Reader (SD, MMC, Memory Stick, Memory Stick Pro)
Speaker: with SubWoofer
Service and Support: 1-year international warranty
Price: RM 5,999.00

what do u guys think about this model? worth buying? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

thanks thanks!!!
boringpig
post Mar 24 2005, 02:49 AM

1,344 posts

there is another cheaper spec.. in only rm4699
all same but the only difference is.. 256mb ram, 40gb, 64mb video memory, dvd/cd-rw combo, ati mobility radeon 9600 and 802.11b mini pci

any one of these can be upgraded other than the ram and hdd?
boringpig
post Mar 24 2005, 09:43 PM

1,344 posts

ya.. i saw that compaq b3819ap today too.. it's rm5,999
but i dun like its color.. kinda creamy color.. easier to get dirty.. but other than that.. the spec are quite good too but if price-wise.. i'll have to agree to what u said.. nec is worthy to buy compare with compaq..

maybe i'll have a look around at the fair tomorrow.. and it will be my first time getting a notebook.. is there anything i have to pay attention to when buying a notebook?? like what to check or anything?? what kinda precaution/steps (whatever it is) i should take before actually making the payment??

thank thanks!!
boringpig
post Mar 25 2005, 10:24 PM

1,344 posts

i went to the fair today and checked on the m540. it's indeed rm 5799 with a lot of free gifts too!! hah smile.gif

then i saw a dell inspiron 6000 and think it is quite nice too..

oh dear... dunno how to choose... heehhe smile.gif
boringpig
post Mar 25 2005, 11:45 PM

1,344 posts

there is one thing that i dun understand..
notebooks with intel pentium m with centrino technology has different stickers on it.. some has the intel pentium m sticker while other has that intel centrino sticker?

i tot centrino is just a concept and every pentium m has that concept in.. so, why different stickerS?
boringpig
post Mar 26 2005, 12:03 AM

1,344 posts

hahaah.. ya.. it looks much more better than pentium m's..
anyway.. i think i had decided to get that m540-1800dr..

thanks to wsl.. for answering all my questions and giving me some opinions!

boringpig
post Mar 27 2005, 06:49 PM

1,344 posts

hey there..
too bad about that acer.. i just bought the nec versa m540-1800dr for rm5799
they dun have the stock in the fair and had to order separately.. the salesman said i can get it around 5 days..

beside that booth is actually selling toshiba.. actually i was in a dilemma then.. whether to get a toshiba or nec that i preferred.. at the end i chose nec.. even though toshiba is an all-time favorite..

not much free gifts actually.. got a feeling like being cheated on how many free gifts to get.. hahaha biggrin.gif smile.gif biggrin.gif from nec i got a 256mb pendrive and a mobile optical mouse (got to pay extra rm58 cos they said can't cover cost woh but nvm lah since i'm going to need it anyway), lucky dip got a Ground Control II: Operation Exodus game pack and then streamyx package rm88 with a free modem and 1st month subscription free (but too bad my area dun have the service yet). Other than that, got a water bottle from Pikom and a t-shirt from Intel.. maybe luck was not at my side during these lucky draws!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
boringpig
post Mar 27 2005, 06:57 PM

1,344 posts

sorry.. what is dead pixels? quite blur to these term.. haha smile.gif
boringpig
post Mar 27 2005, 11:27 PM

1,344 posts

ohh.. icic.. does this apply to any TFT LCD monitor? well, since i haven't got my notebook yet.. i tested with my LCD monitor.. and i noticed a tiny crystal-like dot.. is this what u call a dead pixel?
boringpig
post Mar 27 2005, 11:39 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(wsl @ Mar 26 2005, 12:11 AM)
remember to give ur comment, the best price u get and free gift when u start to enjoy it!
dun worry.. i'll give u a first-hand comment on it after i got and play around with that 'book'.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
boringpig
post Apr 8 2005, 01:39 AM

1,344 posts

hi.. it's me again.. finally i got my notebook..
its screen is not like other LCD monitor.. it has a smooth surface like a mirror.. and the display is very clear and it's very wide.. good for someone who need to read a lot of things or programming like me.. hehehe biggrin.gif
the keyboard's buttons are soft even though i trying to get use to it since i had been using big big keyboard for so many years that i keep pressing the wrong key and tend to press quite hard cos big keyboard's key depth.. it has a dvd dual optical drive which allows me to play cd/vcd/dvd and the best part is able to burn cd and dvd.. quite fast too..
then.. the battery kinda drain up quite fast.. initially charged for 9 hours as i had been told.. when i brought it to my college and used the wifi for not more than 2 hours.. it uses about 50% of the battery power..

overall.. this m540 is great! hehehe:)

0.0193sec    1.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:15 AM