Which Brand Laptop is good?
foongkh
Jul 29 2003, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 29 2003, 09:25 PM) Hi foonhkh, Since your friend's budget is on a high range, then this is what I recommend: 1) Fujitsu S6120 - RM7,788 2) Compaq Evo N620c - RM5,999 & RM8,999 3) IBM T40 - Check www.ibm.com/my for complete prices. 4) Sony TR1 - RM7,488 5) Fujitsu P5010 - RM6,888 Does your friend like a small unit like the Vaio TR1? If your friend acccept those extra small size notebook, then consider Fujitsu P5010 as well. Thanks for the info .... But for Centrio model like Fujitsu P 5010 and Sony TR 1 running at 900 Mhz..... Would it be very slow running at this speed ....
sonic_cd
Jul 30 2003, 12:02 AM
apple 15" inch powerbook.. =)
netboy
Jul 30 2003, 01:43 AM
Fujitsu P5010 and Sony TR1's CPU speed is slow because of its extra small size. How can you pump in a 2gig CPU to a mini size laptop?
BTW, Acer 290XCi is priced at RM4,588 while Compaq 2164AF is priced at RM4,999.
The good thing about Compaq is better after sales support, compared to Acer.
chding
Aug 1 2003, 09:13 AM
i am going to get a notebook too.My fren just got a compaq 2131 cost around 4.6k with 512mb...is that worth?or should i take travelmate 290xci,is it realible and solid?i prefer this acer model coz the price is really attractive ar......centrino plus dvd combo under 5k
Zypher
Aug 1 2003, 06:07 PM
hi to all, I'm planning to get a notebook but don't know which ones to get. budget RM4.5K to RM5.5k. travel a fair bit. now using compaq presario - the bloody floppy drive kong twice already and each time to fix costs >RM300 cos different size as compared to normal and so cannot buy from notebook shops......  purposes - work, wifi and some ut2k3 occasionally (as long as can frag a little with minimum settings also nevermind (800x640 happy already). any recommendations? cheers....
netboy
Aug 2 2003, 01:39 AM
Hi chding, Your friend got a reasonable deal. Acer 290XCi and Compaq 2131AD almost the same... It depends on which brand you prefer - Compaq or Acer. Centrino may have longer battery life but Compaq has got better after sales support.
Hi Zypher, Which model of presario you're talking about that you faced the floppy problem?
Anyway, Compaq released a new model. It's 1031x (If not mistaken). The model is on Centrino with Combo, priced at RM5,488. It's wide screen too. You should give that a shot.
This post has been edited by netboy: Aug 2 2003, 01:42 AM
newbie79
Aug 2 2003, 12:49 PM
How about Asus M2000N series??? My friend just bought it in Japan... around rm5000, what is the price in malaysia?
netboy
Aug 2 2003, 10:51 PM
With Asus, you'll get 2 years international warranty. But be prepared that it might not be available in your area. The international service centres for Asus is quite limited.
Zypher
Aug 3 2003, 09:56 AM
hi all, anyone used/tried benq joybook 5000? it's centrino 1.3Ghz, 256MB RAM, 14" TFT, Radeon 9000 with wifi and CDRW/DVD. looks pretty interesting setup! please share your thoughts about this unit if you are using it. i won't be rushing to pc fair to purchase it so, you can post your thoughts over the next few days. netboy - i am using the compaq presario 1255 which gave me floppy nitemares!!  cheers
moselvitalic
Aug 3 2003, 11:58 AM
asus m2400n :>
netboy
Aug 3 2003, 11:28 PM
For Benq 5000 (Centrino 1.3, RM5,999), the specs are quite nice but it's little bit pricey, compared to Compaq x1031 (Centrino 1.3, wide screen, Radeon 9200, RM5,488)... And Benq's casing is a little bit cheapskate... That's MHO.
Zypher
Aug 5 2003, 12:54 AM
hi netboy - thanks for your input on the benq 5000 and the compaq x1031. I'll check on the compaq specs. btw, does the compaq x1031 have fdd? it looks heavier than the benq ....  cheers
netboy
Aug 5 2003, 01:18 AM
I've forgotten about the Compaq x1031 fdd availability. Check back this post as I shall edit as soon as possible.
The Compaq's weight is approx. 2.5kg. Benq is 2.4kg. Just 100grams approx. extra. Like I said before, the Benq case does seems little bit cheapskate.
For the price difference, get the Compaq. The plus side is the widescreen and the new JBL Pro stereo speakers. The JBL on this new Compaq does sound better than older Presario models. And x1031 is using USB2.0, rather than 1.1 on it's previous models.
netboy
Aug 5 2003, 10:57 AM
xcalibur: you're almost 100% correct.
ghazali
Aug 5 2003, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(foongkh @ Jul 26 2003, 05:06 PM) Plan to get him Fujitsu S 6120 how come this laptop model have higher 2ndary cache? or any centrino come with 1mb cache?
netboy
Aug 5 2003, 10:22 PM
Notebook with Centrino Mobile Technology (or known as Intel Pentium M) have 1024KB=1MB of L2 cache.
foongkh
Aug 6 2003, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(xcalibur @ Aug 5 2003, 09:31 AM) aiyo...why buy benq ppl? benq everything oso trying to copy acer...first the joybook then at pc fair i saw this speaker looks like the harmod kardon apple one...only a lot worse of course! BenQ is actually ACER..... Just marketing hype......
kukichi
Aug 7 2003, 02:16 PM
yupooo.... u were right!!! i don't like most of benq products....... bad in quality.
netboy
Aug 7 2003, 08:14 PM
FYI, Benq has already separated from Acer. It's an independent entity now. Anyway, I have no comments about it's quality at the moment. Like I said before, Benq still need time to settle down, independently, in the notebook market.