Travel Taiwan, Refer pg 1 for compiled attractions

andrienne
post Apr 16 2010, 02:43 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Apr 16 2010, 03:31 AM)
regarding the youth card, which of the hotel acknowledge it's usage as of discounts will be given?

It would be great if there's a list available for reference smile.gif
i will update the list for the youthcard tonight. but u need to let me know which particular area u wish to stay at because the list is is done according to area ie. taipei, tainan, taichung etc. but most of the places tht recognise youthcard are the minsus instead of established/well known backpackers/budget travelers.
lhongwuh
post Apr 16 2010, 03:05 PM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

QUOTE(andrienne @ Apr 16 2010, 02:43 PM)
i will update the list for the youthcard tonight. but u need to let me know which particular area u wish to stay at because the list is is done according to area ie. taipei, tainan, taichung etc. but most of the places tht recognise youthcard are the minsus instead of established/well known backpackers/budget travelers.
Taipei please smile.gif
I currently found a nice 5person apartment style for only NT2.5k per night which looks very nice n high class smile.gif
that price isn't much different from minsus though...the car hotel is nice but it's too pricey...cannot tahan.
i'm also looking for place to stay in jiufen if the price is good smile.gif the scenic view of jiufen posted in previous post is simply mouth watering laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lhongwuh: Apr 16 2010, 03:06 PM
jamince
post Apr 16 2010, 03:55 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Apr 16 2010, 03:05 PM)
Taipei please smile.gif
I currently found a nice 5person apartment style for only NT2.5k per night which looks very nice n high class smile.gif
that price isn't much different from minsus though...the car hotel is nice but it's too pricey...cannot tahan.
i'm also looking for place to stay in jiufen if the price is good smile.gif the scenic view of jiufen posted in previous post is simply mouth watering  laugh.gif
you can consider this minsu.. mayb u think the price is high but it's worthy cos their minsu is special.. is like at the middle of the mountain.. somemore the owner is very frenly. if u have 5 person, i think u may get the big room. i dono how much is the big room.

风之谷民宿(九份) (Feng Zhi Gu in Jiu Fen) - http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/fongigu/
Review: A very comfortable and warm home-stay. The owner is very nice and passion. The place is like heaven. Can see both sea view and mountain view. It really gives me a feel as staying in my home. Feng Zhi Gu has only 3 rooms. 1 small and 2 big. Small room has 1 twin bed while big room has 2 twin beds. I got the small room for NTD2500.
b00n
post Apr 17 2010, 01:57 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Apr 16 2010, 02:21 AM)
Hi all,

I need some suggestions on accomodation in SunMoonLake and Alishan and I got additional 1 day i dunno want overnight in Taichung/Tainan/Chiayi.

My plan
Day 1-3: TPE
Day 3-4: SML  <--- got a few but is those "lovers" package but i dowan.. i wan normal de sad.gif
Day 4-5: Alishan <---  dunno sleep where T_T net kenot find
Day 5-6: Chiayi or TaiChung or Tainan  <--- dilemma
Day 6-7: TPE
Day 7-9: Hualien  <---- stay at roseland biggrin.gif
Day 9-11: TPE

Please help !! Thx !

Your itinerary doesn't seem that good ler...
Alishan, usually ppl only go for day trip. SunMoonLake should be together with Hualien.
I would say skip Taichung and opt for Tainan.

andrienne
post Apr 17 2010, 03:51 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 17 2010, 01:57 AM)
Your itinerary doesn't seem that good ler...
Alishan, usually ppl only go for day trip. SunMoonLake should be together with Hualien.
I would say skip Taichung and opt for Tainan.
Alishan day trip? I thought journey to Alishan from Taipei requires about 6hrs? Yes, SML should definitely be with Hualien and advisable 3days 2 nights. If you have so many days to spare, best to visit HeHuanShan as well for star gazing (done together with Hualien and normally requires another night of stay).

For Hualien, if you plan to go Taroko, do spare more time if you're into hiking. Or else, the tour guide/cab driver(for free and easy) will let you have a touch & go style. Of course you could request for longer time to stay there but other places in taroko they might be 'shortening' the visit time.

But chezzball, currently, the train service to Alishan is not available due to the typhoon.

Quoted from wiki

As of December 2009, the railroad is closed for the next year, maybe two, due to major repairs after a typhoon struck.

Therefore best to take bus ride up for 2.5hrs from Chiayi station (about 2 hrs, 2 different trains to reach Chiayi from Taipei Main Station).
transit
post Apr 17 2010, 03:56 PM

360 posts

A sharing on the Dragon Entry and the Tiger Exit...

McCabePlace
post Apr 18 2010, 01:03 AM

Part 2: 6 April 2010 to 9 April 2010

6 April 2010: Woke up super early at 6am to get everyone ready for the 8am train to Hualien (Taroko Express: adult NTD794 return and child above 120cm or 6~12 years old NTD398 return). Breakfast on board with those bread bought yesterday. Seats were pre-allocated and can't choose but if you get the seats on the left of the train on the way to Hualien, you will get to see superb scenery of the coastline. They also got sell drinks and food on board and many people walking up down to try to get a seat as they bought the standing tickets. Cab driver waiting for us at the front of the station (NTD3,500 whole day) and we went to all those popular spots at Taroko including a city tour. Lunch (all dishes flat NT200) was at one of the restaurant by the river with nice scenery. At 5:30pm we took the train back to Taipei and went for dinner at the self-acclaimed second best beef noodles in Taiwan nearby hotel. After dinner, went to the JSF bookstore and bought countless stationery items which were super cheap.

7 April 2010 - 8:35am, met our cab driver to Yehliu, Pingshi, Jiufen, Jinguashi, Bitou Cape, Nanya and Keelung (NT3,500). Super windy at Yehliu Geopark (entrance NT50) and many people. Bought the Queen's Head magnet (NT20 each) and glow dust (in a bottle with Queen's Head cork) souvenir (NT50) on our way out. Then we went to Pingshi to light Sky Lantern (NT100)..different colours got different meaning. A train passed right through the small town when we were there! Can buy miniature sky lantern as gifts (NT150 to NT300), quite expensive but bought 2 (total NT230 after discount) for the fun of it. After Pingshi it was to Jiufen where we had our lunch of beef noodles (again!! NT90), fishball noodles (NT40) and Tofufa (NT50). All also not so nice. Then jalan-jalan at Jiufen, bought tea (NT900, so much at home still buy!!!), prawn balls (NT50, not nice) and grilled mushroom (NT50, nice!). After that it is to the Gold Museum at Jinguashi (free entrance on Wednesdays, normal NT100 exclude the gold tunnel at NT50), interesting but lots of walking/stairs. Then it was to the Golden Waterfall (so called coz the metal content turned it into yellow), Bitou cape (didn't want to climb up), Nanya Rocks and finally to Keelung for the night market where we tried stinky tofu (NT40m yucks!), crab meat soup (NT50, okok lor), steamed sticky rice (NT25, tasteless), Prawn dumpling (NT35, too much chives), Tako balls (NT40, their version sprinkled with crushed peppercorns, yucks!) and a grilled squid (NT60, nice but must eat when hot coz if not, will be rubbery). Bought many socks, cheap and good quality at average NT20 each pair, handbag organiser (NT500 for 3, NT 200 for 1) and a Princess bag for my little princess (NT150). Back to Taipei and bought take-aways: the 2nd famous beef noodles (very nice, just like our pan mee and the soup is slightly spicy, so made me eat it again), pork lard noodles (NT45) and giant sushi roll (NT40).

8 April 2010 - Rainy day. Woke up late and went to Longshan Temple to pray-pray (not play-play...hahaha) and then to Din Tai Fung (DTF) at Sogo Fuxing (MRT TMS to MRT Zhongxiao Fuxing, no need go out as station is linkted directly to Sogo Fuxing). Need to get number, order and then wait to be called. We had Shanghai dumplings (2 servings), prawn dumplings, wonton noodles, prawn fried rice, prawn noodles, beef noodles (2 servings) and a bottle of oolong tea all for NT1580 for 5 adults and a toddler. After DTF, we went window shopping around Sogo and then to the most stupid place of our entire trip - Danshui! Took MRT from Zhongxiao Fuxing station back to TMS and then changed line to Danshui (last stop). At Danshui station, we took bus R26 (NT15) to Fisherman Wharf. Was there about half hour only as nothing to see and do there one. Waste the time away only and bought Steel Egg (NT100 each pack) and went back to the station via Bus R26. Bought some bread/apstries and went back to hotel coz raining cats and dogs. Rested for a while and went to Everich DFS at Min Chuan East Road (Metro at TMS to Zhongxiao Fuxing and then changed to Nangang line to stop at Zhongshan Junior High School station. Outside station, turn left and walk round the block after passing a bookshop). Bought SK2 (NT7,000, super cheap compared to Malaysia) and went back to hotel to take away pork lard noodles (NT45) for hubby. Pack for home!

9 April 2010 - Woke up and went to TMS to refund our Metro card. Of the NT500 uploaded on each card, hubby got NT126 refund and I got NT99 refund coz I went to Everich DFS without him. After that, we ate in one of the restaurants at the Underground Mall - Prawn dumpling noodles (NT65) and Hakka Bantiao (NT35, this is Pan Mee Taiwan style and it is yucks!). After that back to hotel, check out and take the King bus opposite our hotel. We were smart this time to cross the roads instead of going underground. The journey to airport took like an hour and the queue to check-in was OMG long. The DFS in the airport is interesting with lots of luxury brands and bought Longchamp bags (hehehe...much cheaper than Malaysia depending on the model). They have Hello Kitty nursery for babies and free diapers are supplied. As the queue to get into the check-in area was too long, we did not have much time to walk around and were practically running to the gate. It is then Home Sweet Home.

Do I miss Taiwan? Yes, in a way but definitely not for the food. Will go back there again to visit other parts I haven't been to but not in the very near future.

To all those planning or thinking to go to Taiwan, just do it. You will like it for its scenery, friendly people and convenient DIY trips.

This post has been edited by McCabePlace: Apr 18 2010, 08:08 PM
b00n
post Apr 18 2010, 01:35 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(andrienne @ Apr 17 2010, 03:51 PM)
Alishan day trip? I thought journey to Alishan from Taipei requires about 6hrs? Yes, SML should definitely be with Hualien and advisable 3days 2 nights. If you have so many days to spare, best to visit HeHuanShan as well for star gazing (done together with Hualien and normally requires another night of stay).

For Hualien, if you plan to go Taroko, do spare more time if you're into hiking. Or else, the tour guide/cab driver(for free and easy) will let you have a touch & go style. Of course you could request for longer time to stay there but other places in taroko they might be 'shortening' the visit time.

But chezzball, currently, the train service to Alishan is not available due to the typhoon.

Quoted from wiki
Therefore best to take bus ride up for 2.5hrs from Chiayi station (about 2 hrs, 2 different trains to reach Chiayi from Taipei Main Station).

We actually planned for day trip, but in the end didn't go. Because like u say, travel from Taipeh is far. But if u ask me, I would suggest stay in chiayi and take a day trip to alishan.

Agreed on hualian. My itiniery last trip was arrive Taipeh, straight took the train to Hualian. Then spent 3 nights there. On the 4th day, got SML via rented van with driver through HehuanShan for day trip. To those that have motion sickness, then be prepared as the road is winding and worst then Cameron or Genting (I meant the bends, not the condition of the road) Then afternoon, go straight to ChingJing Noong Chang and spend a night there. Attaction is sheep and flowers.

Then it's Taichung for FuoKuangShang and spend a night at Taichung. After that is Taipeh for 4 nights. All in 10 days trip.

@McCabePlace
Then in Hualian, you missed 七星谭 lor...... Should go there and enjoy the scenary. Also pick some rocks to bring home.... beautiful rocks.

Also, good for you to have rent cab for Yehliu, Pingshi, Jiufen, Jinguashi, Bitou Cape, Nanya and Keelung. We took public trasnport (bus) and wasted a lot of time in travelling. So we only visited Yehliu and Jiufen. Should have spend one night in Jiufen as they say at night, the scenery is quite pretty. Like going up to Genting.

And yes, the hello kitty nursery is so cute... smile.gif
I only find the alcohol cheap in the duty free, very cheap compared to Msia. The travel makeup my wife bought, when we finnaly got to compare with AA internal sale, AA is cheaper. It was Shiseido if not mistaken.
bryancheam
post Apr 18 2010, 02:24 PM

50 posts

just bought 7 days round island for 4 ppl from chan's world.is not package but ground one each ppl around RM899,the price quite ok and the agent also quite nice ppl...the date is on 26th of may...during that time is summer quite hot right?
andrienne
post Apr 18 2010, 04:31 PM

429 posts

Some of the pics from Taiwan. Full blogpost on itinerary will be up soon when I have more time in hand.

Miniatures Museum of Taiwan - worth the visit if you're a photography junkie and also miniatures junkie.

Famous 3 brothers and sisters milk shave at Xi Men Ding - worth the money (about NTD100 to NTD150 per bowl)

Wulai Village

Hot sping eggs

Yums! Non-halal Taiwan sausage. You will not miss it at Wulai because there will be heaps of people lining up for it.

This post has been edited by andrienne: Apr 18 2010, 04:35 PM
andrienne
post Apr 18 2010, 04:43 PM

429 posts

Taroko Gorge, Hualien

Chin Sui Cliff

Yehliu Geopark (no Queen's head pics because all consists of my family members. Haha. Kinda hard to take pics of the Queen's head alone because there were a few groups of students visiting that day)

Pingshi

This post has been edited by andrienne: Apr 18 2010, 04:43 PM
andrienne
post Apr 18 2010, 04:49 PM

429 posts

Jiufen - A nice place to visit and you should spend the night there if you do not have time or budget constraint.

Nanya rocks - Wait till the waves splash on the rocks before you take the pics! Very cold but worth the wait.

Longshan Temple - quite commercialized IMO

Din Tai Fung at Sogo Fuxing

transit
post Apr 18 2010, 04:56 PM

360 posts

yummy yummy the mini dumpling in the last few images....thk for sharing...
andrienne
post Apr 18 2010, 04:57 PM

429 posts

MISC pics from Taiwan

lhongwuh
post Apr 18 2010, 05:07 PM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

wow!!
so ngam the day u went got cosplay...lovely!
McCabePlace
post Apr 18 2010, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 18 2010, 01:35 AM)
@McCabePlace
Then in Hualian, you missed 七星谭 lor...... Should go there and enjoy the scenary. Also pick some rocks to bring home.... beautiful rocks.

Also, good for you to have rent cab for Yehliu, Pingshi, Jiufen, Jinguashi, Bitou Cape, Nanya and Keelung. We took public trasnport (bus) and wasted a lot of time in travelling. So we only visited Yehliu and Jiufen. Should have spend one night in Jiufen as they say at night, the scenery is quite pretty. Like going up to Genting.

And yes, the hello kitty nursery is so cute... smile.gif
I only find the alcohol cheap in the duty free, very cheap compared to Msia. The travel makeup my wife bought, when we finnaly got to compare with AA internal sale, AA is cheaper. It was Shiseido  if not mistaken.
Boon, we did go to 七星谭 and saw those patterned rocks. We believe leaving only our footprints and not pilfer from nature so that future generations will still have a chance to enjoy it. thumbup.gif

Jiufen at night nothing much one...the scenery I know is nice but staying so near to the 'nightclubs' sweat.gif We hired a cab coz we wanted to cover more places and not spend it walking, especially with aged parents. I tell you, though you pay more at NT3,500, it is worth it and when divide by per person, not that much more you will need to spend and you get the benefit of covering more places. Then no need to worry about timing, coz you can stay as long as you like and come/go as you like. Then we also got interesting local stories from the driver ler.... rclxms.gif

Inflight sale this time only got Lancome for famous brands. I am not into alcohol or ciggies, so I didn't go look at the price. Only went to see SK2, Gucci (cannot afford but saje wanna kpc) and Longchamp tongue.gif .

This post has been edited by McCabePlace: Apr 18 2010, 08:29 PM
LazyTongue
post Apr 18 2010, 10:54 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Apr 16 2010, 03:05 PM)
Taipei please smile.gif
i'm also looking for place to stay in jiufen if the price is good smile.gif the scenic view of jiufen posted in previous post is simply mouth watering  laugh.gif
hi lhongwuh, can you tell me what apartment is that?? cos i'm also going in 5...currently still looking for a place to stay. Do you have the website?
thank you!
ck_blink
post Apr 19 2010, 01:25 AM

198 posts

QUOTE(McCabePlace @ Apr 18 2010, 01:03 AM)
Part 2: 6 April 2010 to 9 April 2010

6 April 2010: Woke up super early at 6am to get everyone ready for the 8am train to Hualien (Taroko Express: adult NTD794 return and child above 120cm or 6~12 years old NTD398 return).  Breakfast on board with those bread bought yesterday.  Seats were pre-allocated and can't choose but if you get the seats on the left of the train on the way to Hualien, you will get to see superb scenery of the coastline. They also got sell drinks and food on board and many people walking up down to try to get a seat as they bought the standing tickets. Cab driver waiting for us at the front of the station (NTD3,500 whole day) and we went to all those popular spots at Taroko including a city tour. Lunch (all dishes flat NT200) was at one of the restaurant by the river with nice scenery. At 5:30pm we took the train back to Taipei and went for dinner at the self-acclaimed second best beef noodles in Taiwan nearby hotel. After dinner, went to the JSF bookstore and bought countless stationery items which were super cheap.

the 2nd famous beef noodle u mentioned is it tis one?

i also bump wif some cosplayer@ximending. hehe....

stimix
post Apr 19 2010, 10:22 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

hmnnn I din see any cosplay during my trip to Taiwan last Dec..Winter kua..no cosplay??

But I know there was one blind man standing on one of the light pole & start dancing & singing..I thought he is crazy at 1st b4 realising he is actually young blind man
ck_blink
post Apr 19 2010, 12:18 PM

198 posts

didn't noticed the blind man...but there is one crazy fat guy who danced on the stage from morning till evening on the mini stage.

126 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:35 AM