126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Travel Taiwan, Refer pg 1 for compiled attractions

daruma
post Mar 18 2010, 07:00 PM

7,559 posts

is it safe to leave laptop in the hotels?
andrienne
post Mar 18 2010, 11:10 PM

429 posts

kudos to transit for updating live from Taiwan! the queen's head at yehliu geopark is getting thinner by years!

it's still quite cold there in taiwan. hopefully by 1st week of april, the weather will be not tht cold(i cant tahan cold. hehe).
chezzball
post Mar 19 2010, 01:52 AM

Cheese
1,542 posts

the gocityinn hotel 3 ppl 1 room can or not ah.. dowan add the NT$400 for addition charge for 1 more guest.
ahcheap
post Mar 19 2010, 10:23 AM

TM UniFi/Streamyx Reseller
1,466 posts

QUOTE(daruma @ Mar 18 2010, 07:00 PM)
is it safe to leave laptop in the hotels?
Should be no problem thumbup.gif
stimix
post Mar 19 2010, 11:14 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

better dun take the risk unless hotel having save deposit. My fren lost notebook in a 5star hotel b4
AngelLingLing
post Mar 19 2010, 01:12 PM

31 posts

erm.. anyone walk before frm xi men ting mrt to taipei main mrt? is it very far?

stay near xi men ting / taipei main better? which one at nite got things to do and see? cause i heard taipei main at nite at those underground also got things to buy?

advise needed~~ and for shop at wu fen pu or other places do they close on weekends?

causei check already weekdays and weekends flight+hotel are the same~ dont know wantto go during weekdays/weekends @.@

tyty~~
stimix
post Mar 19 2010, 01:46 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Not really far ~ 1.5 km distance. Near Main station normally all high end shopping. & at the back having one big gigantic new shopping mall Just opened mid Dec 2009. & also at the undeground level, there are 2 underground malls. & opposite the station is the Mistsuko Mall & buiding which is the 2nd tallest building in Taipei 7 2rd in Taiwan

Xi Meng Ding more lively & more like Petaling st in KL..or Sg Wang Plaza open air conept
AngelLingLing
post Mar 19 2010, 04:31 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 19 2010, 01:46 PM)
Not really far ~ 1.5 km distance. Near Main station normally all high end shopping. & at the back having one big gigantic new shopping mall Just opened mid Dec 2009. & also at the undeground level, there are 2 underground malls. & opposite the station is the Mistsuko Mall & buiding which is the 2nd tallest building in Taipei 7 2rd in Taiwan

Xi Meng Ding more lively & more like Petaling st in KL..or Sg Wang Plaza open air conept
so stay where better? near XiMenDing / Taipei Main MRT @.@ any idea~ planning to book nxt week already haha~~ because im afraid if stay between it would be very far~ goolge already looks far~ if stay in between haha~~
stimix
post Mar 19 2010, 04:50 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Stay near any of the MRT station will do. Xi meng ding good for food & open air shopping. taipei Railway good for centre of everything.. Well i also stay 1 station after main station (Shandong temple) & even walked b4 to the main station..i decided to take MRT the nxt dau esier that way.

Up to you & your budget loh...
SUSSyedBrix
post Mar 19 2010, 07:00 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 18 2010, 03:08 PM)
I wanna try this hi-end tart 1st b4 can comment. I'm actually very dissapointed wth the tart...M'cca LW much better liao...
puchong tarts are the bestest
SUSSyedBrix
post Mar 19 2010, 07:01 PM

51 posts

anyway u cant try coz i ate all liao. u can ask ah mund if he still got.
andrienne
post Mar 20 2010, 12:01 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Mar 19 2010, 01:52 AM)
the gocityinn hotel 3 ppl 1 room can or not ah.. dowan add the NT$400 for addition charge for 1 more guest.
I don't think possible coz my sister mailed gocityinn and they said they wouldn't give you an extra bed for 3 but they will charge you for the additional guest. therefore, it's 3 to a double bed and GCI is quite small for 3 pax.
dylan88
post Mar 20 2010, 03:16 AM

27 posts

june willl be very rainy or not?cuz my dad birthday at june ,so my mum wanted to go at june.. hmm.. how a?it will be so waste if our family tour is ruined by rainy days..

ANgelLingLing u planned to TW at which months?looking for Flight+hotel ma?or juz flight ticket then find hotel ur own?which is better?
stimix
post Mar 20 2010, 07:57 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just chk pg1 for the weather chart. BTW, flight+hotel or hotel only all depend on any promotion u can get...My friend just got RM350 return ticket coming Nov.

So you wanna get cheap..u need to be on lookout for AA sales..or even any other airline companies big Sales...6 mths ahead of time
AngelLingLing
post Mar 20 2010, 09:45 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 19 2010, 04:50 PM)
Stay near any of the MRT station will do. Xi meng ding good for food & open air shopping. taipei Railway good for centre of everything.. Well i also stay 1 station after main station (Shandong temple) & even walked b4 to the main station..i decided to take MRT the nxt dau esier that way.

Up to you & your budget loh...
hmm.. stay in between is a bit cheaper then stay near to taipei main mrt, so... so headache, because if i choose to stay near Taipei Main MRT, if at nite i wanna go xi men ting walk walk will there be train around? do they close at 12midnite like msia lrt?

Added on March 20, 2010, 9:48 am
QUOTE(dylan88 @ Mar 20 2010, 03:16 AM)
june willl be very rainy or not?cuz my dad birthday at june ,so my mum wanted to go at june.. hmm.. how a?it will be so waste if our family tour is ruined by rainy days..

ANgelLingLing u planned to TW at which months?looking for Flight+hotel ma?or juz flight ticket then find hotel ur own?which is better?
hmm.. planning to go in the last week of june or maybe 21st~ 1st page got weather chat~ june will be hot like stimix hadmention at the 1st page haha~~ come back can become black pig~ lol no choice~~

i book via air asia, hotel+flight around 1k it is free and easy, if you need some others day tour or what air asia can do the booking for you of coz have to pay~ else like stimix say book earlier then cheaper~ so after this 1st trip to taiwan then i can wait for AA/MAS promo hehehe =)

This post has been edited by AngelLingLing: Mar 20 2010, 09:48 AM
stimix
post Mar 20 2010, 09:51 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Not really sure on the timing..probably you visit their site on pg1? Me too staying ~1km away from the main station but only 150M away from Shandong Temple station..well for me any hotel/hostel beside a MRT line will do even far-far away from ctr Taipei...

Sumore my hostel BT$600/room nia..haha
AngelLingLing
post Mar 20 2010, 09:59 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 20 2010, 09:51 AM)
Not really sure on the timing..probably you visit their site on pg1? Me too staying ~1km away from the main station but only 150M away from Shandong Temple station..well for me any hotel/hostel beside a MRT line will do even far-far away from ctr Taipei...

Sumore my hostel BT$600/room nia..haha
erm.... for the train is it this one? http://www.railway.gov.tw/en/ticket/ticket-1.aspx ( i found from 1st page) This train for the city? they dont have airport to taipei main? @.@ cause if got then i can buy my train ticket from airport - taipei main ~ train better then bus right? and hor dont know how much shopping am i going to do~ hahaha so maybe bringing big bag, but im afraid when i go there dont have so much things to buy lol!!

ya i saw your hostel cheap~ nxt trip might go and stay there heheheh =)
stimix
post Mar 20 2010, 10:07 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Opss i think I forgotten to put the link to Taipei MRT liao..OK google & found it: http://english.trtc.com.tw/ct.asp?xItem=10...27496&mp=122032

There is no train from Taouyuen airport to taipei..yeah the airport although huge but look like outdated airport liao..Even Jakarta airport look more impressive..haha..

Anyway, if I'm not mistaken, there is a feeder bus to the nearest high Speed train station not far away..Not sure how this works..Take bus OK dy..~ 45min-1 hr to taipei..& very efficient,, located far left end of the arrival hall
transit
post Mar 20 2010, 11:08 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(andrienne @ Mar 18 2010, 11:10 PM)
kudos to transit for updating live from Taiwan! the queen's head at yehliu geopark is getting thinner by years!

it's still quite cold there in taiwan. hopefully by 1st week of april, the weather will be not tht cold(i cant tahan cold. hehe).
Just mananged to get online in Taipei today evening after going to Tai Dong, Kaohsiung.

The temperature here is 24'C, No cold for me and my wife. Only the 1st day (arrival in March 16, 2010) is 16'C (coolest in last 5 days). From the past 5 days average temperature, the time we have traveled from North to East, to South and then back to North today, the weather is good with 22 to 29'C. No need to bring thick jacket during this period, just normal jacket will do. Will share more tomorrow as we will be here until March 24, 2010. Tomorrow we will go around Taipei.

Yes the Yeh Liu's Queen head is getting thinner therefore no advise to touch it.

March 20 (Sat): Morning time we are traveling 5 hours in Freeway from Kaohsiung to Taipei. From observations, their highway service center is a good one. Got many shops and information center inside and it is built by open tenders by local county's authority, not like Malaysia. Very clean & convenience. Noon time, we are having the best steam dumpling (mini size) in Taipei. After lunch we are moving to 101 Tower. At Palace Muzium, so crowd and the muzium is not allow to snap photo inside. The muzium is great if you like the Chinese Culture. They use lots of Ni-MH AA Sizes Rechangeable Batteries in the ear set. [in Palace Muzium]

March 19 (Fri): Morning left Master Bear Resort to Kaohsiung. Kaohsiung is the 2nd largest CITY in Taiwan; however according to tour guide the economic there now is WORST there. it has the highest unemployment rate among in Taiwan. We went to Temple(s), Love River, Dream Mall.

March 18 (Thu): The only country side resort we stay during this few days in Taiwan. It is called Master Bear Resort; it is a bear themes. You may found many bears in rooms, in their dinning halls, customer service counter and etcs. Watcing A-Mei Culture show in evening.

Some observations in these few days: The 7-11 outlets is found in many town, places. No plastic bag is given when you buy less items. Many foods are available here. The steak is GREAT !!! The living cost for sure is higher than KL/Penang. Batteries (non rechargeable or Rechargeables) are much cheaper in Taiwan. (as usual I went to check the Eneloop price here and the fact is their retailed price is lower than our cost price; bo pian) Many of their toilet, the water basin are always located in the Middle of MALE and FEMALE washroom. Taiwanese are positive thinking. [majority from the way they converse with us]. Food are oily (but is delicious). BEERS are cheaper here!!!

This post has been edited by transit: Mar 20 2010, 11:35 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
dylan88
post Mar 21 2010, 01:46 AM

27 posts

AngelLingLing..the flight+ hotel juz cost about rm1k?
how many night u are staying at there?

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:53 PM