259 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

WooTz
post Mar 13 2017, 01:22 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 13 2017, 12:51 PM)
Easy there mate.
I know it's none of my business, but you're starting to sound just a little too euphoric.
The current so-called bull run started around December 2016 and although showing no signs of stopping yet, you should be very cautious still.
As you said, the market is getting crazy and there's really no fundamentals to support this kind of bull run for long.
I'm not fully convinced about the flippening (not to say it won't happen, of course, just that I have my reservations).
But in any case, I am quite optimistic that both BTC and ETH have their respective roles to play, and that I envision a future where both co-exist.
Just like how I think that many of the cryptocurrencies today will still be in existence for quite some time, although they do not seem to have any actual use at all.
Well, it's $27 now. There's euphoria, then there's fiat money rushing in, especially the Koreans, they're leading the rise ever since EEA.

Flippening has yet to occur, Bitcoin dominance still staying at above 80%

effectz
post Mar 13 2017, 01:25 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 13 2017, 08:52 AM)
I was a bitcoiner back in the late 2015.

I donated hashpower to support Bitcoin Classic, not only that they FFK on their promise, they returned next to nothing on my investment.

Never again.
What did they promise?
WooTz
post Mar 13 2017, 01:27 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Mar 13 2017, 01:25 PM)
What did they promise?
To mine 2MB blocks, thanks to the HK agreement, I began looking elsewhere and stumbled across the Ethereum subreddit. The rest is history

cheefai7
post Mar 13 2017, 01:47 PM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 13 2017, 12:50 PM)
Wow! I thought cryptocurrencies were high risk and you're already talking about lending futures?  notworthy.gif But then again, I guess if we're expecting most cryptos to increase markedly, I guess playing futures (or shorts) would be a good idea.  biggrin.gif As for me, I will never ever touch those..... ever..... I think.....  whistling.gif

Anyway, the "gameplay" is as such because as far as I know, there is not much exchanges that accepts MYR. The only way is to use websites that accepts MYR such as localbitcoins, remitano, xbitasia, etc, to buy bitcoins. Bitcoins is accept in all exchanges (that's why they exist!) where you can trade BTC or buy altcoins using BTC. Poloniex is just one exchange. wink.gif
ATH!!!!  thumbup.gif
Come come now. Everybody has their own preferences and opinions. Don't have to be so blunt. wink.gif

WooTz is just giving a word of caution. It is up to each person to decide for their own. Let's all profit from cryptocurrencies!  thumbup.gif
It's all financial gameplan, if the future is what we envisioned it, then we should put forth, but I need to understand the fundamental of the cryptocurrency value, if all of this is just a hype, then it should be diminishing soon.
TSwengherng
post Mar 13 2017, 01:58 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 13 2017, 12:58 PM)
Again, thx for your wise words of advice.  thumbup.gif Good that you didn't say I sounded a bit too crazy.  biggrin.gif

I'm almost finished with buying what I wanted. Almost reaching my 10%. Will save a bit more after seeing the trend.

This morning added AUGUR, Belacoin, clams and Dogecoin. I know I know. Crazy, but it's not much... Dogecoin 50k for 0.01 BTC!
I wouldn't call anyone crazy, as long as they know the risks and are aware of what they are doing.
Your money is your own business, after all.
Of course, I wish you all the very best in your investment endeavors.
I myself also have Dash and Monero, so who am I to judge? blush.gif

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 13 2017, 01:22 PM)
Well, it's $27 now. There's euphoria, then there's fiat money rushing in, especially the Koreans, they're leading the rise ever since EEA.

Flippening has yet to occur, Bitcoin dominance still staying at above 80%
I have both ETH and BTC (although with a bigger portion in BTC) so a rise in either one will benefit me. biggrin.gif
I will slowly increase my stake in ETH, that's for sure.

kmarc
post Mar 13 2017, 02:16 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Mar 13 2017, 01:47 PM)
It's all financial gameplan, if the future is what we envisioned it, then we should put forth, but I need to understand the fundamental of the cryptocurrency value, if all of this is just a hype, then it should be diminishing soon.
Noted. However, I sincerely don't think it will diminish any time soon. More people are getting more aware of cryptocurrencies and more money will pour in. Probably some BTC funds going into altcoins too. I think to many, the prospect of get-rich-quick is just too tempting. My opinion only. wink.gif

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 13 2017, 01:58 PM)
I wouldn't call anyone crazy, as long as they know the risks and are aware of what they are doing.
Your money is your own business, after all.
Of course, I wish you all the very best in your investment endeavors.
I myself also have Dash and Monero, so who am I to judge?  blush.gif
I have both ETH and BTC (although with a bigger portion in BTC) so a rise in either one will benefit me.  biggrin.gif
I will slowly increase my stake in ETH, that's for sure.
All the best to you too! thumbup.gif

Are you lending out your DASH? It's going for 0.2-0.3% interest/day at poloniex.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 13 2017, 02:16 PM
cheefai7
post Mar 13 2017, 03:08 PM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

Some good read on bitcoin and prediction on it's future.

https://www.technologyreview.com/s/600781/t...bitcoin-dreams/

TSwengherng
post Mar 13 2017, 03:33 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 13 2017, 02:16 PM)
Noted. However, I sincerely don't think it will diminish any time soon. More people are getting more aware of cryptocurrencies and more money will pour in. Probably some BTC funds going into altcoins too. I think to many, the prospect of get-rich-quick is just too tempting. My opinion only. wink.gif
All the best to you too!  thumbup.gif

Are you lending out your DASH? It's going for 0.2-0.3% interest/day at poloniex.
No, I have no idea how this "lending" works, and have not actually had time to read into it, to be honest.
How's it working out for you?
What's the risk?

kmarc
post Mar 13 2017, 03:57 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 13 2017, 03:33 PM)
No, I have no idea how this "lending" works, and have not actually had time to read into it, to be honest.
How's it working out for you?
What's the risk?
So far so good. DASH has the highest lending rate on poloniex so far. Probably due to high demand. I just transfer a certain amount of Dash from the exchange fund to the lending fund within poloniex. Transfering within your own "account" funds are easy, just have to use the transfer function.

Once DASH is in the lending fund, you can lend out the funds. However, you have to quote the lowest rate if you want it to be taken up fast. Say the lowest quoted rate is 0.2%. So you can quote 0.199% for a 2-days loan with or without auto renew. Duration is flexible but I think the shorter the better. Once the loan offered is taken up, the interest will start to accumulate and update every 20-30 seconds.

The person taking the loan can cancel at any time and your funds will be available to be loaned out again. If you set auto-renew, it will just offer the loan at that rate again. If you don't set auto-renew, the returned loan amount will have to be manually offered again.

Pros and cons of auto-renew. With auto-renew, you don't have to frequently check to see whether the funds are returned. However, the cons is that the rate might be higher. For example, my first Dash loan was offered at 0.088% and auto-renewed and loaned out later at the same rate when the going rate was 0.2%! Without auto-renew, you can try to get the best rate at that point of time but the cons is that you have to frequently check. Remember that a loan offered for 2 days doesn't mean that it will be loaned out for 2 days. It might be returned a few seconds later!!!! So far, Dash loans are taken up the full 2-days due to demand.

I think have to try it out for yourself then you'll understand the whole process. I guess the returns over days are not much especially if the amount is small and you have no time to micromanage. For me, it's better than sitting on the exchange doing nothing!

Do remember a rate of 0.2% is for 24 hours. Meaning in the unlikely event that you managed to loan out that rate for 1 year, the effective annual interest rate is 0.2% x 365 days = 73%!!!!

I even loaned out my ETH which is like 0.0003%. Just for the fun of it. biggrin.gif So far, I have loaned out like 50 loans and no problems so far (because some loans are returned very fast when somebody offers a lower rate).

Risk-wise, the moderators say that the loaned out coins cannot be taken off the exchange. They also said that there were some other safeguards. Meaning if you loaned out 20 DASH, it cannot be transferred out. Even if DASH value dropped 10% and the person made a lost, it is still 20 DASH which he will return back! That's what I understand anyway. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 13 2017, 04:06 PM
archangel22
post Mar 13 2017, 04:41 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 13 2017, 03:57 PM)
So far so good. DASH has the highest lending rate on poloniex so far. Probably due to high demand. I just transfer a certain amount of Dash from the exchange fund to the lending fund within poloniex. Transfering within your own "account" funds are easy, just have to use the transfer function.

Once DASH is in the lending fund, you can lend out the funds. However, you have to quote the lowest rate if you want it to be taken up fast. Say the lowest quoted rate is 0.2%. So you can quote 0.199% for a 2-days loan with or without auto renew. Duration is flexible but I think the shorter the better. Once the loan offered is taken up, the interest will start to accumulate and update every 20-30 seconds.

The person taking the loan can cancel at any time and your funds will be available to be loaned out again. If you set auto-renew, it will just offer the loan at that rate again. If you don't set auto-renew, the returned loan amount will have to be manually offered again.

Pros and cons of auto-renew. With auto-renew, you don't have to frequently check to see whether the funds are returned. However, the cons is that the rate might be higher. For example, my first Dash loan was offered at 0.088% and auto-renewed and loaned out later at the same rate when the going rate was 0.2%! Without auto-renew, you can try to get the best rate at that point of time but the cons is that you have to frequently check. Remember that a loan offered for 2 days doesn't mean that it will be loaned out for 2 days. It might be returned a few seconds later!!!! So far, Dash loans are taken up the full 2-days due to demand.

I think have to try it out for yourself then you'll understand the whole process. I guess the returns over days are not much especially if the amount is small and you have no time to micromanage. For me, it's better than sitting on the exchange doing nothing!

Do remember a rate of 0.2% is for 24 hours. Meaning in the unlikely event that you managed to loan out that rate for 1 year, the effective annual interest rate is 0.2% x 365 days = 73%!!!!

I even loaned out my ETH which is like 0.0003%. Just for the fun of it.  biggrin.gif So far, I have loaned out like 50 loans and no problems so far (because some loans are returned very fast when somebody offers a lower rate).

Risk-wise, the moderators say that the loaned out coins cannot be taken off the exchange. They also said that there were some other safeguards. Meaning if you loaned out 20 DASH, it cannot be transferred out. Even if DASH value dropped 10% and the person made a lost, it is still 20 DASH which he will return back! That's what I understand anyway.  unsure.gif
fractional reserve and leveraged trading. thumbup.gif

seems like you are experiencing what bankers did and felt back in 2008 crash with CDOs. With the hope that Dash is (theoretically) performing asset/mortagage.

Thanks. Quite an eye-opening. so when altcoins crash happens after this bull run, 1 or 2 altcoins and/or exchanges will close shop. doh.gif
i dont think it'll be bitcoin, The Chinese had done that with bitcoin, and it survived that end of last year, again by use case and so called 'maximalists' hodlers bailing it out + interestingly a small 'help' by PBOC. Are Dash/Eth/altcoins owner loyal to its currency? Altcoins holders who's into this world just for the money are likely go back to bitcoin, proven store of value.

But mybe it'll be different this time. smile.gif
kmarc
post Mar 13 2017, 05:50 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(archangel22 @ Mar 13 2017, 04:41 PM)
fractional reserve and leveraged trading.  thumbup.gif

seems like you are experiencing what bankers did and felt back in 2008 crash with CDOs. With the hope that Dash is (theoretically) performing asset/mortagage.

Thanks. Quite an eye-opening. so when altcoins crash happens after this bull run, 1 or 2 altcoins and/or exchanges will close shop.  doh.gif
i dont think it'll be bitcoin, The Chinese had done that with bitcoin, and it survived that end of last year, again by use case and so called 'maximalists' hodlers bailing it out + interestingly a small 'help' by PBOC. Are Dash/Eth/altcoins owner loyal to its currency? Altcoins holders who's into this world just for the money are likely go back to bitcoin, proven store of value.

Yes, fractional reserve and leveraged trading....... have no idea what it means! laugh.gif

I'm not sure I fully understand your comments but anyway, I'm not loyal to any coins. I just don't want to miss this golden opportunity even though I'm a late comer. Those entering much earlier would be laughing all the way to the bank by now..... bye.gif
TSwengherng
post Mar 13 2017, 06:23 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 13 2017, 03:57 PM)

I even loaned out my ETH which is like 0.0003%. Just for the fun of it.  biggrin.gif So far, I have loaned out like 50 loans and no problems so far (because some loans are returned very fast when somebody offers a lower rate).

Risk-wise, the moderators say that the loaned out coins cannot be taken off the exchange. They also said that there were some other safeguards. Meaning if you loaned out 20 DASH, it cannot be transferred out. Even if DASH value dropped 10% and the person made a lost, it is still 20 DASH which he will return back! That's what I understand anyway.  unsure.gif
Thanks for the detailed explanation.
Except the part where your coins are locked during the duration that they are loaned out (which is logical), there doesn't seem to be any risk involved.
Sounds a little too good to be true. hmm.gif

QUOTE(archangel22 @ Mar 13 2017, 04:41 PM)
fractional reserve and leveraged trading.  thumbup.gif

Thanks. Quite an eye-opening. so when altcoins crash happens after this bull run, 1 or 2 altcoins and/or exchanges will close shop.  doh.gif

I think the ones at risk would be those that have no real function and are purely sustained by hype and investors' greed.
True cryptocurrencies with real life uses (even though they overlap) like bitcoin, ether, monero, etc. will still have their place in the game.
And with the world population getting more and more acquainted with cryptocurrencies in general, it will be more and more difficult for any world government to "kill" them.
Exchanges earn their money from trades, either in bull runs or bear crashes, so I do not think they will close shop, except in extreme cases like a hack and theft.

kmarc
post Mar 13 2017, 06:58 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 13 2017, 06:23 PM)
Thanks for the detailed explanation.
Except the part where your coins are locked during the duration that they are loaned out (which is logical), there doesn't seem to be any risk involved.
Sounds a little too good to be true.  hmm.gif

Agreed. Only Dash has such high interest. Here's some comparison of spot interest as of now:

Dash : 0.4998% rclxub.gif
Eth : 0.003%
BTC : 0.0198%
XMR : 0.0085%
LTC : 0.0069%

My Dash loan at 0.3997% is still on loan since morning.....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 13 2017, 07:00 PM
WooTz
post Mar 13 2017, 11:03 PM

1,011 posts

Just breached $30

Let's see if this holds over a week

ATH on 24hrs volume too, seeing all those fiat volume is glorious. Mini FOMO is occurring as we type here.

[attachmentid=8588694]

This post has been edited by WooTz: Mar 13 2017, 11:04 PM
TSwengherng
post Mar 14 2017, 01:50 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 13 2017, 11:03 PM)
Just breached $30

Let's see if this holds over a week

ATH on 24hrs volume too, seeing all those fiat volume is glorious. Mini FOMO is occurring as we type here.

[attachmentid=8588694]
Personally, I think this week is going to be another volatile week with a lot of new All Time Highs achieved.
In a couple of days, Donald Trump and the congress will have to deal with the American debt ceiling issue which Obama deferred from Oct 2015 to March 2017.
If they do not suspend or raise the debt ceiling in time, and the US Treasury exhausts its extraordinary measures, the federal government would no longer be able to borrow more money to service its financial obligations, including government bonds and securities. If that happens, then basically that would mean that for the first time in history, the US government has defaulted on its payments, and that would surely mean that all the rating agencies around the world would immediately downgrade the credit rating of the US, and I am pretty sure that in the ensuing chaos the US stock market will crash, the GDP will contract and the US economy will go into a recession, bringing several other economies with it.
Or......Trump could just suddenly decide to abolish the entire debt ceiling legislation altogether, which has been around for the past 100 years. He's crazy enough to pull something like that.
I might be mistaken, but I think 15th March was the deadline......or was it 30th?
Either way, there's going to be a lot of uncertainty in the coming days/weeks, and every time that happens, you can bet there's going to be massive capital inflow into cryptocurrencies, as the masses try to store their wealth away from fiat.
Exciting times.

-CoupeFanatic-
post Mar 14 2017, 03:04 PM

812 posts

You guys can check out this site.

http://alunacrypto.blogspot.my/

beginner's guide on crypto trading. Don't know who this guy is, but thanks to him we've got an elaborate explaination to cryptotrading.

kmarc wengherng WooTz if you guys are active trading daily, wanna start a telegram group or something?
piscess16
post Mar 14 2017, 04:39 PM

35 posts

want to ask, where are u all going to exchange the bitcoin to ringgit ?

today i have try using remitano, sell 0.056btc around RM 300, for the platform selling price is ok, because i checking from google the price is RM308.

but when i want to selling the btc, i need deposit to remitano 1st, i transfer 0.056 around USD 69 but the transaction fee is need USD 4

actual the fee is quite high, how to all transfer to rm without so high transaction fee ?
-CoupeFanatic-
post Mar 14 2017, 05:05 PM

812 posts

QUOTE(piscess16 @ Mar 14 2017, 04:39 PM)

today i have try using remitano, sell 0.056btc around RM 300, for the platform selling price is ok, because i checking from google the price is RM308.

but when i want to selling the btc, i need deposit to remitano 1st, i transfer 0.056 around USD 69 but the transaction fee is need USD 4

actual the fee is quite high, how to all transfer to rm without so high transaction fee ?
Personally I use Luno Exchange (formerly BitX) to buy and sell my BTC.

But if you're looking to do a one off sell, just sell it on localbitcoins.com
TSwengherng
post Mar 14 2017, 05:48 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(-CoupeFanatic- @ Mar 14 2017, 03:04 PM)

beginner's guide on crypto trading. Don't know who this guy is, but thanks to him we've got an elaborate explaination to cryptotrading.

kmarc wengherng WooTz if you guys are active trading daily, wanna start a telegram group or something?
Personally, I am more of a hodler, so I don't really do active daily trading.
There's another forummer here who mentioned that there is already a telegram group, you might want to check out the final page of version 1 of the thread.

QUOTE(piscess16 @ Mar 14 2017, 04:39 PM)

I've never used Remitano, but USD4 transaction fee sounds quite high.
I remember I transferred to XBit Asia with 0.0004BTC transaction fee, which at today's rate, is less than USD 0.50.

kmarc
post Mar 14 2017, 07:06 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 14 2017, 01:50 AM)
Personally, I think this week is going to be another volatile week with a lot of new All Time Highs achieved.
In a couple of days, Donald Trump and the congress will have to deal with the American debt ceiling issue which Obama deferred from Oct 2015 to March 2017.
If they do not suspend or raise the debt ceiling in time, and the US Treasury exhausts its extraordinary measures, the federal government would no longer be able to borrow more money to service its financial obligations, including government bonds and securities. If that happens, then basically that would mean that for the first time in history, the US government has defaulted on its payments, and that would surely mean that all the rating agencies around the world would immediately downgrade the credit rating of the US, and I am pretty sure that in the ensuing chaos the US stock market will crash, the GDP will contract and the US economy will go into a recession, bringing several other economies with it.
Or......Trump could just suddenly decide to abolish the entire debt ceiling legislation altogether, which has been around for the past 100 years. He's crazy enough to pull something like that.
I might be mistaken, but I think 15th March was the deadline......or was it 30th?
Either way, there's going to be a lot of uncertainty in the coming days/weeks, and every time that happens, you can bet there's going to be massive capital inflow into cryptocurrencies, as the masses try to store their wealth away from fiat.
Exciting times.
Every time I see the US debt ceiling news, I think it is a joke that will never end. Either the US gov does not have a solution to it or they don't dare take the necessary important steps to address the issue. I won't be surprise if they increase the debt ceiling right at the end, which is what they usually do.

However, Donald Trump is a business man and I'm thinking the opposite, that he will do something drastic to address the situation. Either that or he will just follow past actions like usual.

Anyway, just lent out my Dash for 0.1998%. Also lent out my ETH but I accidentally type an extra zero - 0.00003%. doh.gif Oh well, luckily it is two days only. dry.gif

QUOTE(-CoupeFanatic- @ Mar 14 2017, 03:04 PM)

Hey thx for the invite. However, as with wengherng, I don't do trading because I'm not good at it. My plan is just to buy and hold as many types of coins as possible that has the potential to shoot up. I'm not looking for a 10-20% gain. I want 10000% at least!!! sweat.gif In this crazy world of cryptocurrencies, the probability is much better compared to other available investment instruments.

Anyway, I'm out of ideas on what other coins to buy now. I have google for "Best altcoins 2017", "Best recommended altcoins", "Potential altcoins 2017" and whatever I can think of. That's why I now have........ six...teen... types... of... cryptocurrencies..... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 14 2017, 07:19 PM

259 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0386sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:27 AM