259 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

WooTz
post Mar 20 2017, 12:11 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Mar 20 2017, 12:01 PM)
anyway, like i have said before. im one of those who benefited from higher eth price. i just felt tat it is not right to keep quiet while every1 rushing to eth like a gold mine. it can collapse anytime but at same time double or triple your money.... fundamental, there isnt any if you ask me. but if there is fundamental, the impact is extremely less because 90% of the people do not know what is eth. if fundamental matters, etc price should be more or less the same price as eth because it is the same thing (maybe i missed something as im not really a technical guy).
You see. you don't get it.

Stop looking at the price and try to understand where we're going with this tech.

This isn't about just a company, or a country or continent, this is planetary scale, and scalability allows billions to be a part of it.

A redditor mentioned this a few days back when we touched $55. Don't count your dollar profits/loses, focus on accumulating ETH as much as you can.

End of the day we don't need USD once the tech matures.

A house would be valued at 500 ETH for all we know.

Mainstream media will eventually report this once further advancements are made, the key is you grab some before the others.
klthor
post Mar 20 2017, 12:13 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 20 2017, 12:11 PM)
You see. you don't get it.

Stop looking at the price and try to understand where we're going with this tech.

This isn't about just a company, or a country or continent, this is planetary scale, and scalability allows billions to be a part of it.

A redditor mentioned this a few days back when we touched $55. Don't count your dollar profits/loses, focus on accumulating ETH as much as you can.

End of the day we don't need USD once the tech matures.

A house would be valued at 500 ETH for all we know.

Mainstream media will eventually report this once further advancements are made, the key is you grab some before the others.
a house will be value at 500 eth. you are using it as a currency instead of a fuel for software. anyway, i have achieve my objective. you guys out there, the day we do not need to use RM, USD had arrived. good luck my friends, turn all your RM into ETH before dooms day.
archangel22
post Mar 20 2017, 12:13 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Mar 20 2017, 11:47 AM)
isnt this speculation ? it has nothing to do with what eth can be use as. just simple buying eth selling eth. this fella felt sad because he did  not keep eth thats all. i couldnt even find a simple explanation in what u share, its just a sad story of a guy who didnt keep his eth. thats all. it proves that 90% of people hold eth for speculation, to gain. not to use it, so there is no fundamental talk it in.
Yes that's why I was trying to tell Wootz here. biggrin.gif

I'm fine investing in any other crypto, but until I find the use case of ETH, it's all papers. ETH devs keep on building infrastructure (EEA, forks, etc.) but no one actually using it, yet. Fine, there are some crypto enthusiasts willing to spend money and time trying it. But that happened in any kind of innovation, including Bitcoin. The difference now is that Bitcoin has been used for 8yrs.

And for Bitcoin, there's no PR, nor a person like Vitalik Buterin giving the call. Yes they build a consensus algorithm, but still Buterin is the single point of failure, both in crypto or physical world. What if his dad told him to buy Bitcoin, or his future wife is a maximalist bitcoiner. Maybe too ridiculous, but wait till something like that happen to that person. ETH to the very core/founder, is centralized.

kmarc
post Mar 20 2017, 12:17 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Mar 20 2017, 11:47 AM)
isnt this speculation ? it has nothing to do with what eth can be use as. just simple buying eth selling eth. this fella felt sad because he did  not keep eth thats all. i couldnt even find a simple explanation in what u share, its just a sad story of a guy who didnt keep his eth. thats all. it proves that 90% of people hold eth for speculation, to gain. not to use it, so there is no fundamental talk it in.
Humans practically speculate on everything they can get their hands on!!!! Sometimes I just wonder why nobody is doing anything about it but I guess when money is involved, nobody cares.

Anyway, to each its own. No need to fight! Whether you are right by pulling out or others are right by holding ETH doesn't matter. At the end of the day, I'm not going to brag if I'm right as it doesn't achieve anything. Let's all make money during this crazy times!!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 20 2017, 12:18 PM
klthor
post Mar 20 2017, 12:19 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 20 2017, 12:17 PM)
Humans practically speculate on everything they can get their hands on!!!! Sometimes I just wonder why nobody is doing anything about it but I guess when money is involved, nobody cares.

Anyway, to each its own. No need to fight! Whether you are right by pulling out or others are right by holding ETH doesn't matter. At the end of the day, I'm not going to brag if I'm right as it doesn't achieve anything. Let's all make money during this crazy times!!! biggrin.gif
thats what im trying to say, dun get pulled in because of some 'fundamental' points. its all speculation AKA gamble.
klthor
post Mar 20 2017, 12:19 PM

5,469 posts

delete

This post has been edited by klthor: Mar 20 2017, 12:19 PM
WooTz
post Mar 20 2017, 12:20 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Mar 20 2017, 12:13 PM)
a house will be value at 500 eth. you are using it as a currency instead of a fuel for software. anyway, i have achieve my objective. you guys out there, the day we do not need to use RM, USD had arrived. good luck my friends, turn all your RM into ETH before dooms day.
Nope, I never once mention all into ETH, but zero in ETH at this point is unfortunate.

Don't be a maximalist and try to learn it at your pace.

Archangel also, time is running short.

This post has been edited by WooTz: Mar 20 2017, 12:21 PM
kmarc
post Mar 20 2017, 12:22 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Mar 20 2017, 12:19 PM)
thats what im trying to say, dun get pulled in because of some 'fundamental' points. its all speculation AKA gamble.
Hehe, I posted earlier in the thread. I AM actually sort of "gambling" but it is only up to 10% of my total investments. wink.gif My high risk high return portfolio. Definitely won't put too much in cryptos. wink.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 20 2017, 12:26 PM
WooTz
post Mar 20 2017, 12:28 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(archangel22 @ Mar 20 2017, 12:13 PM)
Yes that's why I was trying to tell Wootz here. biggrin.gif

I'm fine investing in any other crypto, but until I find the use case of ETH, it's all papers. ETH devs keep on building infrastructure (EEA, forks, etc.) but no one actually using it, yet. Fine, there are some crypto enthusiasts willing to spend money and time trying it. But that happened in any kind of innovation, including Bitcoin. The difference now is that Bitcoin has been used for 8yrs.

And for Bitcoin, there's no PR, nor a person like Vitalik Buterin giving the call. Yes they build a consensus algorithm, but still Buterin is the single point of failure, both in crypto or physical world. What if his dad told him to buy Bitcoin, or his future wife is a maximalist bitcoiner. Maybe too ridiculous, but wait till something like that happen to that person. ETH to the very core/founder, is centralized.
Circle and alphabay is using it tho. Bitpay will also eventually capitulate.

Still papers meh?

And bitcoiners gradually stop using it this month, that's why mempool so chill, all run off elsewhere liao.

Don't be emotional when the transition occurs, think why it's happening now.

Why miners chill during 2012-2016, then now suddenly rushing to fork and core vs btu began?
klthor
post Mar 20 2017, 12:38 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 20 2017, 12:28 PM)
Circle and alphabay is using it tho. Bitpay will also eventually capitulate.

Still papers meh?

And  bitcoiners gradually stop using it this month, that's why mempool so chill, all run off elsewhere liao.

Don't be emotional when the transition occurs, think why it's happening now.

Why miners chill during 2012-2016, then now suddenly rushing to fork and core vs btu began?
mining is extremely profitable around late 2015 to early 2016 before dao hack. even eth at 40usd cant even get half of what i earn in early 2016. i believe in dao, but ended up being silly (i still have a few of them, do you want it?) . from there i learn we can not believe 100% on what the dev said as we have min knowledge on everything. including what is dao, what is eth, wat it can do and dev never going to tell us the weaknesses of the coin. or maybe they dont even know the weaknesses that is why dao hack happens (which is not really a hack, some1 just abuse the weaknesses within dao). eth never meant to be a currency, it is a fuel to begin with.
WooTz
post Mar 20 2017, 12:48 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Mar 20 2017, 12:38 PM)
mining is extremely profitable around late 2015 to early 2016 before dao hack. even eth at 40usd cant even get half of what i earn in early 2016. i believe in dao, but ended up being silly (i still have a few of them, do you want it?) . from there i learn we can not believe 100% on what the dev said as we have min knowledge on everything. including what is dao, what is eth, wat it can do and dev never going to tell us the weaknesses of the coin. or maybe they dont even know the weaknesses that is why dao hack happens (which is not really a hack, some1 just abuse the weaknesses within dao). eth never meant to be a currency, it is a fuel to begin with.
We have had formal verifications since then, google if you're curious, we will get another DAO eventually, with escape hatches and all. It's programmable money, it can be anything it wants, keys to car, house, locker also can.

Please research further on smart contracts.
klthor
post Mar 20 2017, 12:56 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 20 2017, 12:48 PM)
We have had formal verifications since then, google if you're curious, we will get another DAO eventually, with escape hatches and all. It's programmable money, it can be anything it wants, keys to car, house, locker also can.

Please research further on smart contracts.
nah i dun need uncle google to teach me what is eth, i know what a smart contract is and what it does. i used to be a fan boy, but now im a casual guy. eth promises to go POS (and delayed over and over again) which is what i used to think wow thats great... but now, i think POS will create even more problems (do not ask me why, its hard to explain to fan boys). so which alt coins give me more profit i will go to them aka mere speculation method. if they re-announce dao, i will jump in for a few if the price is ok. but again, its mere speculation and gamble again.... not believing in dao can make the world runs on itself.
WooTz
post Mar 20 2017, 01:08 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Mar 20 2017, 12:56 PM)
nah i dun need uncle google to teach me what is eth, i know what a smart contract is and what it does. i used to be a fan boy, but now im a casual guy. eth promises to go POS (and delayed over and over again) which is what i used to think wow thats great... but now, i think POS will create even more problems (do not ask me why, its hard to explain to fan boys). so which alt coins give me more profit i will go to them aka mere speculation method. if they re-announce dao, i will jump in for a few if the price is ok. but again, its mere speculation and gamble again.... not believing in dao can make the world runs on itself.
Ok man. Just be sure to diversify.
kmarc
post Mar 20 2017, 01:22 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Mar 20 2017, 12:56 PM)
Cool. Are you targeting any altcoins at the moment?
WooTz
post Mar 20 2017, 02:28 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 20 2017, 01:22 PM)
Edit:

Oops, scratch that. Qtum seems sketchy as heck.

This post has been edited by WooTz: Mar 20 2017, 02:56 PM
klthor
post Mar 20 2017, 02:29 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 20 2017, 01:22 PM)
actually, the current situation isnt good for btc...and all atl coins are linked to btc except for a few which trade directly to USD. i will go for those which can directly trade to USD. investing in cryto from malaysia includes lot of 'variables', so try to minimised these 'variables'.... example, RM to USD, USD to BTC, BTC to crypto. its a double edge sword anyway. at least i would prefer those which can turn into usd without going tru BTC market.
kmarc
post Mar 20 2017, 03:42 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Mar 20 2017, 02:28 PM)
Edit:

Oops, scratch that. Qtum seems sketchy as heck.
I saw it! tongue.gif

QUOTE(klthor @ Mar 20 2017, 02:29 PM)
actually, the current situation isnt good for btc...and all atl coins are linked to btc except for a few which trade directly to USD. i will go for those which can directly trade to USD. investing in cryto from malaysia includes lot of 'variables', so try to minimised these 'variables'.... example, RM to USD, USD to BTC, BTC to crypto. its a double edge sword anyway. at least i would prefer those which can turn into usd without going tru BTC market.
Ermmm... don't understand. Why would linking to BTC be bad? Even if BTC dropped to USD 100, can still convert to BTC then to MYR. The problem is MYR can't be used to buy any altcoins!! For MYR to USD, also the hassle of conversion unless you have foreign currency account or earning USD.

Can you give an example of what coins you are talking about and how to go about acquiring those coins?

TSwengherng
post Mar 20 2017, 04:52 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 20 2017, 03:42 PM)
I saw it! tongue.gif
Ermmm... don't understand. Why would linking to BTC be bad? Even if BTC dropped to USD 100, can still convert to BTC then to MYR. The problem is MYR can't be used to buy any altcoins!! For MYR to USD, also the hassle of conversion unless you have foreign currency account or earning USD.

Can you give an example of what coins you are talking about and how to go about acquiring those coins?
When you add one additional link in between, you are introducing another variable in the equation.
True, you can easily convert your fiat currency to any altcoin via BTC, but you have to first consider the forex rate between MYR/USD, then consider the buy/sell spread between USD/BTC, and then another buy/sell spread between BTC/altcoin.
Which means you have already lost three times in the spread, even before you get your altcoins.
But, I suppose in Malaysia, your choices are severely limited.
Where I am now, I can deposit the local currency to a local exchange, and purchase ETH directly, so that's good, but still no other choice if I need to purchase other altcoins like XMR, etc.

1wildcat1
post Mar 20 2017, 08:17 PM

I'm still a n00b :(
1,371 posts

Terrible liquidity and prices on xbitasia and luno...
-CoupeFanatic-
post Mar 20 2017, 08:22 PM

812 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Mar 20 2017, 08:17 PM)
Terrible liquidity and prices on xbitasia and luno...
adoption in malaysia is too low, plus KYC regulations not as lenient.

few more years hopefully more bitcoiners in malaysia using the platform

259 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0390sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:46 PM