Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

TSwengherng
post May 8 2017, 01:17 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ May 8 2017, 12:27 PM)
is luno avaiable in malaysia? im looking for more channel to sell off my eth or btc. and roughly what is the charges compared to xbit asia? i heard from my friend that coinhako is kinda expensive.
Yes, Luno is available in Malaysia, and can deal in Ringgit.
However, I believe it is only dealing with BTC.
There is currently no way to sell ETH directly over Malaysian online exchanges. You'll have to sell it on an international exchange and convert to BTC first.
Or sell it directly to somebody you know and trust.

QUOTE(Mali @ May 8 2017, 01:03 PM)
so localbitcons not really safe?
To be honest, I've not used it personally, so I cannot comment on that.
However, I've heard many stories and feedback from people who got scammed on Localbitcoins, because it is basically just an online P2P platform, and you have to deal with the other party by yourself.
Localbitcoins do serve as an escrow service, and they do have some measures in place to try and prevent fraud, and there are also many satisfied customers, so I can't really say that it is not safe either.
Perhaps you can get a better feedback from the other forumers here who have actually used its services.

TSwengherng
post May 8 2017, 01:49 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 8 2017, 01:23 PM)
anyone checks bytecoin?

Personally, I wouldn't touch it.
Looks like a FOMO pump and dump case to me.
Normally it just trades at a very low volume, normally below 2 BTC......I wouldn't risk my money with that kind of low liquidity.
Good for traders though, I guess.

TSwengherng
post May 8 2017, 02:18 PM

1,865 posts

BTC slowly inching up, while ETH is slowly leveling down.
Looking good.
If this persists, I should be able to get some more ETH at more "reasonable" prices soon.

TSwengherng
post May 8 2017, 03:55 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 8 2017, 03:54 PM)
It is believed that besides BTC, with much ETH progress and development,  that ETH will be a very good long-term investments. Granted that buying ETH is very painful but in the long run, it should be a good investment. wink.gif

Some nice discounts at the moment. Who's buying?  biggrin.gif
All out of bullets...... sad.gif

TSwengherng
post May 8 2017, 04:27 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(nanomugen @ May 8 2017, 03:56 PM)
sorry noob here, from my understanding, if i wanna start in cryptocurrency investment...i need to have at least 1 BTC right?
QUOTE(Mali @ May 8 2017, 04:06 PM)
nope, i start with RM 100 (m poorfaq don't laugh at me  sad.gif )
You can start with any amount you are comfortable with.
In fact, for newbies, it is strongly encouraged to start small first and gradually build up, because you first need to learn how to navigate on the various different exchanges, etc. and always bear in mind that confirmed transactions on the blockchain are NOT REVERSIBLE.
So, you need to start by buying small amounts, and trading small amounts first.
RM 100 is a good place to start.

TSwengherng
post May 8 2017, 04:56 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 8 2017, 04:19 PM)
y
Stellar (STR) is the old name, which has since changed to Lumens (XLM) over a year ago.
But strangely, Poloniex still retains the old name STR for its exchange.
So, technically, you're not wrong. biggrin.gif

TSwengherng
post May 8 2017, 06:42 PM

1,865 posts

I just did a quick calculation on my holdings, and realised that my cryptocurrency allocation has shifted quite a bit since I started.

BTC 40%
ETH 40%
Various altcoins 20% (majority in XMR, LTC, EMC2 and NAV)

And due to the sudden meteoric rise of cryptocurrencies, they now represent more than 50% of my life savings.
Not sure what I feel about that, but the past 2 months have definitely been surreal.
Wow.

This post has been edited by wengherng: May 8 2017, 06:44 PM
TSwengherng
post May 9 2017, 12:03 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(nanomugen @ May 8 2017, 07:26 PM)
alright got it, but if 0.1 btc is usd 160..rm100 would get me?
Don't worry about starting small.
You can buy in very small fractions, up to eight decimal places, so technically speaking, you can even start with RM 1.

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 8 2017, 07:32 PM)
Nice to read all these news of ETH. One would wonder why ETH is not in the hundreds or thousands?  hmm.gif Anybody can explain?
Aaaahhhhh! So you segwit in secrecy aaaa?  biggrin.gif Glad to hear that. I think in crazy cryptolands, our strategies have to hardfork, softfork, UASF and segwit a lot if we want to stay ahead.  bruce.gif
Yup. Influenced by your incredible enthusiasm in accumulating altcoins. Hehe.

QUOTE(sohaikia96 @ May 8 2017, 08:09 PM)
how to mining???and using wat software to run..sry im newbie
To be honest, I don't think mining is worth the effort anymore.
The returns you get will barely cover your operating expenses.

TSwengherng
post May 9 2017, 11:22 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ May 9 2017, 11:11 AM)
What's the word on polo? DDoS right after Kraken?

Almost like a coordinated attack....
Hmmm......you're right, Polo is down.
Very suspicious.
Especially right during a mega bull run.
A few weeks back, there was only around 70k BTC trading volume and yesterday it was well in excess of 400k BTC.

To be honest, this whole bull run thing sounds too good to be true, too euphoric.
We're still undervalued, the whole cryptocurrency industry, but money is being dumped in by the truckloads every day, too fast.
I still believe there will be a massive correction soon, when the weak and nervous investors start cashing out their profits, and then it will be mega sale discount time! biggrin.gif

Meanwhile, I think I will sit this one out for the time being.

This post has been edited by wengherng: May 9 2017, 11:23 AM
TSwengherng
post May 9 2017, 11:27 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(archangel22 @ May 9 2017, 11:23 AM)
False-narrative Bitcoin Core/maximalists/enthusiasts incoming.  whistling.gif 

Here's a hint: Exchanges are running out of bitcoins. These 'financial events' (hacks, DDos, megapump&dump) are just bail-ins by so called banks (read: exchanges).  cool2.gif
How does that work?
I thought exchanges are just platforms?
If someone wants to sell their bitcoin, they have to put it on the exchange first, so how do exchanges "run out of bitcoin "?

TSwengherng
post May 9 2017, 11:42 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Memories_Fallen @ May 9 2017, 02:02 AM)
thx for the recommendation, it will b my first time trading crypto

i believe in order to buy xrp, i need to buy some bitcoins from remitano and buy xrp through the address i got from polo right?
QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ May 9 2017, 10:02 AM)
Me done the trade.. yeeeeah..
so what's now? wait for better offer? hold? sell?
I know it is very exciting to trade on coins that are experiencing massive bull runs, but please exercise extreme caution and do your own due diligence before putting your hard earned money on them.
In this early infancy stage of cryptocurrency, prices are still highly volatile, and you could just as easily lose 80% of your investment as you could gain 80% in a day.
Only invest whatever amount you are prepared to lose.

In fact, looking at the way things are going now, I'd recommend buying and holding, rather than doing quick trading.
Good luck everyone!

TSwengherng
post May 9 2017, 12:38 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 9 2017, 11:49 AM)
Damn, every time Polo does the connection error stunt, my heart skips a beat.

Yeah, always be a safe investor. I usually buy in only when I have a nice cushion. Usually when there's a 300-400% or even 500% gain. With such strategy, I'm still quite safe if it drops a lot. Without bad news, it will eventually pick up.

Wengherng, I'm think of doing a section on tips and advises, something like the following:

1) Decision to buy or sell is yours and your alone.
2) Please read and do some research before deciding which coin to buy
3) for safe investors, allocate only 10% of your investment
4) only invest the amount you are willing to lose
5) Don't keep too much on exchanges
6) good to keep in hardware wallet
5) don't fall in love with a coin too much

Just a quick list of what I can think of for now. Let's have a proper list and once finalized, we can put it in the front page.

Edit : Poloniex twitter for updates : https://mobile.twitter.com/poloniex?lang=en
Yup, in fact we should perhaps put it as the FIRST section before anything else.
Sort of like a disclaimer.

TSwengherng
post May 9 2017, 01:14 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ May 9 2017, 12:46 PM)
wah... the price so volatile for ETH..

i clicked buy 1 ETH = 123.11, after finish look at it, it drop to 122.96 @_@
That's only a 0.1% difference.
In cryptocurrency terms, that's nearly nothing.
During a volatile market, prices can fluctuate up and down by 10% or more within a matter of minutes.
Do not be alarmed by these fluctuations.
If you believe in cryptocurrency, just hold on to it.
It will serve you well in the long run.

TSwengherng
post May 9 2017, 03:43 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 9 2017, 03:25 PM)
Why no body is talking about Litecoin and Dogecoin?
With over 100 billion coins in existence, and more than 5 billion added every year, and relatively little real life practical usage, I don't think I will be putting my money into Dogecoin anytime soon.
But that's just me.

TSwengherng
post May 9 2017, 04:58 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ May 9 2017, 04:50 PM)
my first purchase was 123.34...

then it start to drop like flies 3 hours ago  drool.gif

so i have been slowly purchasing...  innocent.gif

now my hand itchy... drop to 116 again...  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

i keep trf money into account  bruce.gif

today is my first time trade cryptocurrency... lol... spend like rm750 liao.. sleep.gif"'
Don't get too emotional about it, whether good news or bad.
Just identify how much in total you want to invest, say RM750 or RM1k or whatever, and stop once you hit that number.
Then don't look at it anymore.
You need to keep your emotions out of investing, otherwise investing in cryptocurrency will definitely give you a heart attack.

TSwengherng
post May 9 2017, 11:11 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(wind424 @ May 9 2017, 08:17 PM)
Yes. I send it to the bitcoin address of my Poloniex acc.

EDIT: Is it normal if Blockchain shows "unconfirmed transaction" even after 30min?
Due to the scalability issue with bitcoin, during periods of very high transactions, there will be massive congestion.
Especially if your transaction does not offer a high enough transaction fee, it could take not only hours, but days even, for your transaction to clear, as all the other transactions with higher fees will be given priority.
I had an experience where I sent some bitcoin but due to some technical issue, the transaction fee was not set high enough, and my bitcoin got dumped into the mempool for 2 days without any trace.
After more than 48 hours in limbo, I got the message that the transaction was finally rejected and pruned from the database, and subsequently it returned to my hardware wallet.
So, let's just say that at the current moment, anything below 30 minutes is good, and anything below one hour is still considered normal.

QUOTE(luotang @ May 9 2017, 10:13 PM)
really? need to pay fee when transferring from exchange to hardware wallet and vice versa?
Sending bitcoin from any one address to any other address (be it another exchange, or online wallet, or hardware wallet, etc.) will incur transaction fees.

TSwengherng
post May 10 2017, 10:26 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 10 2017, 09:01 AM)
wengherng Stop staring at the sea of red and help me. tongue.gif

Yesterday was the first time that I saw each and every single coin on Poloniex being in the red...... blink.gif
Some pretty good discounts there, but unfortunately no more money to buy in.
Yup sure, let me have a look at it shortly. thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(Davez89 @ May 10 2017, 09:54 AM)
How most of u here buys ur eth?  Buy btc from luno the exchange at poloniex? 1 btc at link already at 7.7k God damn
Buy BTC from either Luno or XBit Asia, then send to any international online exchange to trade for ETH (Poloniex is the most popular, but there are many others, like Bittrex, Kraken, etc. so do shop around).
If you have a Singapore bank account, you can also buy ETH directly using SGD.
Start small, do not be pressured to buy one whole bitcoin, as you can buy fractions of it.
The smallest denomination is 0.00000001 BTC.
But......note that when you send your BTC to another address, there will be a transaction fee, which is something like 0.0004 BTC or thereabouts, so it does not make sense to send too small an amount either.

This post has been edited by wengherng: May 10 2017, 10:27 AM
TSwengherng
post May 10 2017, 11:07 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(luotang @ May 10 2017, 10:31 AM)
strange? how come when I transfer from Luno to Poloniex I always got back my full BTC?
I am not sure, but when you transfer from Luno, I believe they will deduct the transaction fee from your remaining balance at Luno, not from the amount you transfer.
For example, you have 4 BTC at Luno, and you transfer 2 BTC to Poloniex, you will get 2 BTC at Poloniex and (2 - 0.0004) BTC remaining at Luno.
Technically speaking, transactions with zero fees are also possible, but with the massive congestion these days, such zero fee transactions will most likely be ignored by miners and the transaction will never get confirmed.

QUOTE(VoxPopuli @ May 10 2017, 10:34 AM)
Is buying off ethereum from bitpanda using CC advisable or should i just buy bitcoin then convert it to ethereum to get more out of my RM?
Be wary of any additional charges and fees if you buy using credit card.
However, if there are no additional charges, and the rate you get is as good as (or better than) converting from bitcoin, then why not?
At least if you buy direct, you know the exact amount you will be getting.
If you convert from bitcoin, you have an uncertainty risk that the BTC/ETH rate might go up or down by the time you trade.

TSwengherng
post May 10 2017, 12:59 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(KyleBear @ May 10 2017, 12:53 PM)
Do you guys think it's a good time to put more into BTC now? Considering it's meteoric rise, not sure if a fall is imminent soon doh.gif
Nobody can tell you that, unfortunately.
But consider it this way......if BTC were to reach USD 10k or more in future, would it matter so much whether you bought at USD 1700 vs USD 1500 now?
Really, it depends on how much confidence you have in the future of BTC.

TSwengherng
post May 10 2017, 02:34 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ May 10 2017, 01:14 PM)
Vicki just went long on ETHUSD

with only 10.3% names available for bidding, the highest ENS whale bid is 12,889 ETH or RM5.1 million

bullish
At first glance, I thought you said "bullshit"...... sweat.gif

19 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.1623sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:09 PM