Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

TSwengherng
post Jun 9 2017, 04:55 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(monk8800 @ Jun 9 2017, 03:48 PM)
Hi guys. Just opened up an xbit asia account how do i transfer bitcoins to poloniex exchange to purchase other altcoins
Open an account on Poloniex, go to "Deposits and Withdrawals", select BTC Deposit, copy the given address, go to XBit Asia account, click withdraw bitcoin, paste the address you got from Poloniex, click withdraw, and you should get the bitcoin credited into your Poloniex account in due time.

QUOTE(cofin @ Jun 9 2017, 04:45 PM)
I join genesis mining a month ago and in 1 month i got 0.07863675 ETH

I spend 80usd to invest in their 2 years contract and return for a month is 20usd ...but that time i join ETH only worth 4 times less than now.

Now i dont know where to turn the ETH to MYR ....change it to BTC in changelly ? THen use luno sell it out ?
Unless you really need the money, why don't you just keep your holding of ETH instead?
In the long term, ETH will undoubtedly be worth a lot more than the current market price.

TSwengherng
post Jun 9 2017, 05:19 PM

1,865 posts

Hey everyone,

Just want to give a short announcement here that we will be starting v3 for the cryptocurrency thread.
Kmarc and myself will start it and work on it a bit (we want to start the thread properly with all the proper and useful information in the beginning).

So, please do NOT visit the new thread yet, and do NOT post anything there first, until we get it up and running, OK?
Meanwhile, let's continue to use this current thread still.

Thank you!

TSwengherng
post Jun 9 2017, 11:49 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 9 2017, 10:33 PM)
The 4 sites to buy BTC recommended in the first post are indeed more expensive than market price. What are the sites you guys recommend to get the cheapest price and, reasonably safe and reasonably quick?
Unfortunately, in Malaysia, we really do not have much choices.
It's not that the site themselves price the coins too high, it's that generally the liquidity in Malaysia is too low to sufficiently even out the buy/sell spread to match global average prices.
Meaning, there are a lot more people trying to buy cryptocurrencies, compared to the amount of people selling.
This imbalance in demand naturally causes the price in Malaysia to rise higher than global average prices.
Personally, I tend to see prices in Malaysia usually around 2 - 5% higher than on US exchanges.
That's still not too bad, considering the fact that in some countries, the premium can go up as high as 10% or more.

TSwengherng
post Jun 10 2017, 12:54 AM

1,865 posts

Hey folks,

Just want to update you guys that the new thread is created, but still needs a lot of work to update the first page properly with the full and comprehensive guidelines.
Till then, we shall continue to keep all discussions on this current thread.
Thanks all!

TSwengherng
post Jun 10 2017, 01:01 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Jun 10 2017, 01:00 AM)
FYI
You can actually lock the new thread to prevent ppl from posting there

I admire your enthusiasm to educate others including ppl who duno anything about bitcoin like me as well
Good job
Oh really?
I didn't know that at all.
How do you lock a thread?

TSwengherng
post Jun 10 2017, 01:10 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Jun 10 2017, 01:04 AM)
The bottom left of the webpage

You can see the word 'CLOSE TOPIC'
Oh, I saw that earlier, but I was afraid that if I closed the topic, it would be permanently closed.
But anyway, I can't lock it because there are a few of us here that will be doing the guide and they will need the access too.
Thanks for the info anyway! thumbsup.gif

TSwengherng
post Jun 10 2017, 03:00 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Jun 10 2017, 01:22 PM)
when btc gonna crash man.....no chance to enter

ETH very bullish ATM. buyer side almost 3x seller side
QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Jun 10 2017, 01:42 PM)
seriously I always want to enter ETH

was hoping for corrections this few days, but never happened

now it is USD290
Well, think of it this way.
When bitcoin first reached USD 1.00, everyone was commenting on how "expensive" it was at that time, because they remembered the time when it was still trading at USD 0.01.
Those people said the same thing when bitcoin reached USD 100, because they remembered the time when it was only USD 1.00.
Instead of waiting for the price to come down by 10% or 20%, why not just buy now and hold it for a while, and aim for 10000% profit instead?
The best time to invest in bitcoin was in 2009.
The second best time is NOW.

QUOTE(luotang @ Jun 10 2017, 02:38 PM)
for those using MEW wallet do you store all ETH in one address or split to different addresses? Which way is better?
It depends on you, really.
I have all my ETH in one single address, then I subsequently opened up a few other addresses, each holding a single type of coin.

TSwengherng
post Jun 10 2017, 03:09 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Jun 10 2017, 03:02 PM)
true enuf  bangwall.gif

cry.gif
Time and tide wait for no man.
Fortune favours the brave.
Do your due diligence, arm yourself with knowledge, and then take action with faith.

Also remember, too much analysis leads to paralysis.

TSwengherng
post Jun 10 2017, 03:26 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Jun 10 2017, 03:14 PM)
this is what dumb money always say.
sorry to disagree.

the current sell level is 2950, buy level at 2600.
but buying side is slightly weaker than seller quantity.
my guess is we'll see 2500 for BTC very soon

but for ETH buying side order is 3x seller around 300.
all buyers lining up around 260
so it's super bullish for ETH. I guess BTC is way too expensive for small investors at the moment
Please feel free to disagree, I think it is very healthy to have constructive debates and that's exactly how we learn from each other.
I am not a very technical kind of investor, so I cannot comment on buy levels and sell levels, etc.
You're probably right.
All I can say is that I speak from personal experience, and when I bought ETH back when it was around USD 16, a lot of people were saying that it was expensive, we'll see it drop back to USD 10 soon, etc.

I'm the very lazy and naïve kind of investor, who just happens to have a little bit of faith in the future of cryptocurrencies, so even if my coins lose 50% of their price tomorrow, I wouldn't be losing any sleep over it.
If I believe BTC will reach USD 10k in future, then it doesn't worry me too much whether I bought at USD 2500 or USD 2950.

But I do get where you're coming from, though.
For traders, entry price levels are important.
TSwengherng
post Jun 10 2017, 04:59 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 10 2017, 03:47 PM)
wengherng - we're almost finished with the guide on v3. I have pm goldfries to add in mining info/videos and hopefully to pin it up. Once he has done that, can finalize the table of contents, remove the v3, and put "Guides in front page" in the topic subtitle. smile.gif
Roger that!
Insane amount of valuable information there, I must say. biggrin.gif

TSwengherng
post Jun 10 2017, 05:12 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 10 2017, 05:06 PM)
You should put info on addresses too.

I have a few ideas:
1) Addresses and capital letters - which you described previously
2) Keeping addresses handy so you don't have to connect your hardware wallet everytime you want to send coins to your wallet or you want to enjoy looking at your coins
3) Bookmarking explorer with coin address which makes it easy to check your coins.
4) Double- or triple-checking addresses before sending

etc.......
OK I will.
Good ideas, those.
Busy now, but I'll get around to it later.

TSwengherng
post Jun 11 2017, 12:05 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(luotang @ Jun 10 2017, 10:38 PM)
I really don't dare to put money into these, too kiasi de  bye.gif

anyway good luck to you!
ICOs are a bit more difficult to grasp, because there is no historical performance for investors to gauge (unlike existing cryptocurrencies where you can see the past trading history and prices, etc.) so a lot of it has to be based on faith alone.
You're basically giving your money to some folks and just "hoping" that they will deliver what they promised.
Inevitably, some really do deliver, and the token prices rise slowly after being made available on public online exchanges.
Some, however, quickly lose 99% of their price within the first few weeks, days or even just hours after launching.

Bottom line is, do not feel pressured to invest in anything that you feel uncomfortable in, no matter how good the projected/potential returns are.
No financial investment is worth losing your sleep over and affecting your quality of life.

TSwengherng
post Jun 11 2017, 02:00 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Jun 11 2017, 01:44 PM)
guys, how can we track bitcoin graph? example buy in at 12k myr. then it will make graph for u on percentage of value etc
There are many apps that can do that.
For iOS, I am using Coincap, but there many others that can do the same.

TSwengherng
post Jun 11 2017, 05:25 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(dc_talkz @ Jun 11 2017, 03:27 PM)
Sorry, but is this a pure trading-only thread? Genuine question. I'm not aware of that and I thought anything crypto goes since the thread is about crypto currencies?
We actually didn't start off with that in mind, but as the early forumers in this thread are mostly traders and investors (as compared to miners), the entire thread's tone was focused on trading and investing only, since the beginning.
But since now there are more and more people joining into the thread, with quite a bit of interest on the topic of hardware mining, I would say that we should separately have a thread, specifically on Cryptocurrency Mining, and have it in the Hardware section, where it should be.
But I personally do not mine, so some of the other mining sifus here will have to take the lead on the mining thread.

TSwengherng
post Jun 11 2017, 11:04 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 11 2017, 10:40 PM)
amazing revelation by TenX team, they actually work closely with MAS (Singapore Central Bank)

how much more legit can they get?

also there's a pre-sale starting tomorrow, cap of 100,000 ETH, minimum 125 ETH to participate

email julian@tenx.tech to be added into the waiting list, in case some FFK.

meaning 100,000 ETH left for ICO peeps.

Fun video, show this to doubters that claimed crypto can't be spent as money

125 ETH minimum......that's pretty steep.
Not accessible for the average Joe.

TSwengherng
post Jun 11 2017, 11:10 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 11 2017, 11:06 PM)
I'm in the waiting list  biggrin.gif

*crosses fingers*
Cool.
I wish you all the best!
I think I'll sit on the sidelines for all these ICOs for now.
Want to concentrate on researching more about the many popular altcoins first.

TSwengherng
post Jun 12 2017, 09:42 AM

1,865 posts

Hello folks!

We're at 260 pages on this thread, with more than 5000 posts already!
Incredible progress, and I'm in awe of how many new faces we see (figuratively speaking) on this thread over the last few weeks!

As announced earlier, we have created a new v3 thread, and both @kmarc and @WooTz have spent considerable time compiling the guides on the first page.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4320604

Let's officially migrate to the new thread now, and continue on the excellent discussions and helpful debates on cryptocurrencies!
See you there!
rclxm9.gif

19 Pages « < 17 18 19Top

0.1638sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:48 PM