19 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

TSwengherng
post May 10 2017, 04:38 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ May 10 2017, 03:02 PM)
if it really reaches 10k, i would be the happiest guy on the planet lol. rclxm9.gif

Really hope its not another story of gold in which a few guys have been waiting for it to reach 10k/ounce
Consider the fact that, just a few years ago, bitcoin was still trading below USD 1 cent, and today it is worth more than USD 1,700 per coin. smile.gif

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 10 2017, 03:08 PM)
Yup. Physical as in hardwallet and not your wallet in your physical pocket. tongue.gif
My first buy in is USD 4.  smile.gif

Actually, it is also possible to send it to your physical pocket wallet too, if you print out the private keys into paper wallets.
Technically possible, although I wouldn't do it.

USD 4 entry is an incredible profit, good for you!
I got in too late......but my average cost is still below USD 10......so, still not too shabby I suppose.

TSwengherng
post May 10 2017, 06:37 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 10 2017, 04:40 PM)
Any good coins to buy and keep for years so value gets increase to 1000X?
QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ May 10 2017, 05:21 PM)
Previously was bitcoins which most ppl didn't expect it...
Now most talk about Ripple / ETH the next bitcoin
For the long term, my bet is still on BTC and ETH.
Many people say bitcoin is so expensive now, but remember that when BTC surged from USD 0.01 to USD 1, many people were saying the same, and look where we are now.
Just accumulate slowly and methodically, and don't let the fluctuations scare you.
To a lesser degree, I also have some LTC and XMR, which I believe will slowly and steadily rise up, though maybe not with any exponential meteoric rise.
I also have a few others, but I wouldn't count on them achieving the same scale of profits.

TSwengherng
post May 11 2017, 11:42 AM

1,865 posts

WTF......I sent some bitcoin on the morning of 2nd May 2017, did not get any confirmations for more than 48 hours, and then when I looked up the transaction ID on blockchain, I discovered that it was "previously accepted but later pruned from the database"......so basically rejected due to congestion and probably too low transaction fee.
The bitcoin was subsequently returned to my hardware wallet (or more accurately, it never left)......so, all good.

BUT apparently the transaction was still floating around in limbo somewhere, because just 30 minutes ago today, PRESTO! the bitcoin magically appeared in my Poloniex account!

So, all in all, it took my bitcoin transaction a freaking total of 9 days (about 216 hours) to get confirmed. vmad.gif

I probably won't be buying any Starbucks coffee with bitcoin anytime soon......

TSwengherng
post May 11 2017, 04:23 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ May 11 2017, 02:07 PM)
wengherng

from the first page about the loan, which mean if i offer 0.09000% interest, so from this 0.09000% - 15% = total i earn ?

example :

BTC 0.0699% 0.04550326 2 Days On Provided 2017-05-11 06:12:36 0.00000017 BTC
BTC 0.0699% 0.00825419 2 Days On Provided 2017-05-11 06:12:35 0.00000003 BTC

the fee is wat? the 15%?
Sorry mate, I can't advise you as I have not done any lending before.
Better to ask kmarc and jack2, as they are experienced "loan sharks" here.

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 11 2017, 02:47 PM)
BTC 1850

2000 level GO GO GO
I unloaded some BTC earlier today to load up on some ETH.
Should have waited a few more hours......would have gotten a better deal. sad.gif

QUOTE(KyleBear @ May 11 2017, 03:23 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  I thought the bubble was gonna burst at that point
I don't think cryptocurrency is in a bubble now......at least not yet.
Corrections will happen now and then, but not a full fledged bubble.

TSwengherng
post May 11 2017, 04:40 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(archangel22 @ May 11 2017, 04:27 PM)
Mempool is full? It's fine, we humans deal with it internally. BTC code must not change. We should change, we adapt. You need to accept that BTC will remain as it is until we have Segwit.
Current 1MB and fees are meant to prevent spam and miners centralization.

If traffic is congested, so what? It is something that we must sacrifice. A very small trade-off with BTC offering security, immutability, decentralized in nature. These are extremely valuable if you understand its purpose. If you want a good service, you must pay for it.

You cant have it all. Thats simply being greedy.

Besides this congestion is actually still a good transition if you are a business owner/institutions. Few days delay in BTC is nothing compared to the huge risk of not getting paid by customers even after you give 60 or 90 days credit terms.
As a store of value, I think it's great, which is why I believe in BTC and hold it.
As a digital currency, though, I'm sure you also agree there's still a long way to go before it can actually be used practically in daily life.
I do not think it is greedy or unreasonable to expect quick confirmation times.

If I buy a cup of coffee with bitcoin, I expect to be able to drink my coffee then, not several days later.
And if I buy a USD 2 cup of coffee, I do not want to be paying another USD 1 for the transaction fee either.
I'm sure these hiccups will be somehow addressed in future, though......I just hope that day comes soon.
TSwengherng
post May 11 2017, 05:15 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(wiisg @ May 11 2017, 05:09 PM)
Oh God save me, anyone foreseeing BTC dipping anytime? RM8000 now. It's like a now or never thing.
Seems like just yesterday when I was buying them at around RM 3550.
Ah, those were good times.

TSwengherng
post May 11 2017, 11:56 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 10 2017, 09:01 AM)
wengherng Stop staring at the sea of red and help me. tongue.gif

I posted this in post #4. Need to add more and finalize it. Later can put a link in the first post.

Important advices and tips for cryptocurrencies

Looks good to me, I can't think of anything more to add at this moment.
Actually, looking back at it, I think the first and second posts have become too long, keep this one on post #4, it looks neater that way.
As usual, kudos for making these guides! thumbsup.gif

TSwengherng
post May 11 2017, 11:59 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ May 11 2017, 11:40 PM)
Sweet, that's a pretty long time there!
So a better way to fund my Poloniex accounts with BTC's would be to ask the seller to transfer them directly to my Polo's wallet right ?
My personal experience was anything from 10 minutes to 9 days.
OK, the 9 days one was probably one of the most extreme ones.
Mostly I got confirmations within the hour, usually less than 30 minutes.

It is always advisable to minimise the number of transactions (both for saving time and saving transaction fees), so yes, it is better to ask the seller to transfer directly to your Polo account.

TSwengherng
post May 12 2017, 02:29 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Davez89 @ May 12 2017, 01:33 PM)
finally got my ledger nano s today yeehaa
Sweet.
How long did it take from order to arrival?

TSwengherng
post May 13 2017, 01:02 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ May 13 2017, 12:15 AM)
Glad i wasn't the only one that realised it.

Well the problem here i guess is that we dont have enough sellers on the exchange.

Buyers> Sellers hence the increase in price.
I really need another source to get my BTCs at a price close to spot. Not going to pay a price that's highly inflated bruce.gif  mad.gif  bruce.gif
Have you tried XBit Asia?
It also has relatively low liquidity (nothing we can do about that in Malaysia) but in my experience, the buy price is usually not too far from the global average.
But my last purchase there was many weeks ago, so things might have changed since the latest spike.

TSwengherng
post May 13 2017, 11:38 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 13 2017, 09:40 AM)
Ok, I'm not sure what's happening but it looks BTC is dropping. Was planning to sell off some of my deep fishes for BTC but decided against. Instead, jumping all into altcoins.
Why not?
I was thinking about the same thing, sell altcoins at a high now and get BTC on the cheap.
When the dust settles on BTC, it will probably be a sea of red again for altcoins. Discount mega sale time!
Or maybe wait till next Monday and see how is the situation first.

TSwengherng
post May 13 2017, 02:56 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ May 13 2017, 12:48 PM)
To be frank, I'm putting all my coins on standby, if there's a 15% drop coupled with grievous news. I'm liquidating all and hang back for awhile.

Governments of the world will respond, I'm anxiously waiting on the how part.
QUOTE(kmarc @ May 13 2017, 01:20 PM)
Owh, forgot you all have other fiats. Me stuck with MYR.

Oh well, I think this is just a hiccup in BTC's march upwards. 0.0000001 BTC opinion biggrin.gif
Do you guys think it is really that bad...?
I'm still somewhat cautiously skeptical......I can probably live with a 15% plunge, as I still think the overall trend is upwards.
To be honest, if ETH drops by more than 15%, I'll probably load up more.

QUOTE(wiisg @ May 13 2017, 01:52 PM)
Question. Say I am at polo/luno and wanna buy eth at 80usd, but current lowest open sell order is at 81usd but i place a buy order at 90usd, would the lowest open sell order at 81usd be matched first before anything priced higher than that?

p/s point is how orders are matched, not the type of coin each of these exchanges offer.
Yes, if you buy order price is higher than the lower sell order, the lowest sell order will be fulfilled first, then moving up to the next lowest, etc.
Means your actual buy price could be lower than your placed order price.

TSwengherng
post May 15 2017, 03:26 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 14 2017, 02:59 PM)
wengherng Please put this section in the first post (after overview). Thx!

Done!

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 15 2017, 06:51 AM)
That's the part I cannot really understand. ETH will function regardless of whether it is USD 80, USD 800 or USD 8000. The same with XRP. But why is it increasing in price? With my limited understanding of value, I think it is because of human's nature need to attach a value to something, the higher the demand, the higher the value. A good example is gold. I guess there would be a lot of articles on the value of gold........but anyway, I don't want to crack my head on this. What's important is the price increase and we profit from it!  rclxms.gif
I have no experience with Jaxx or shapeshift. At the moment, I'm using Poloniex and Bittrex to trade ETH and other altcoins.
At the end of the day, it all boils down to supply and demand.
Yes you're right, cryptocurrencies will still function regardless of the fiat value. However, in order to use that cryptocurrency, you need to actually own it first.
So, for example. with only 16 million BTC available and a total of USD 29 billion being invested in it by people around the world, simple math will come to the figure of approximately USD 1770 per BTC.
As more and more people realise the inherent capability and use of cryptocurrency, they want to start owning it, and with that demand comes a natural increase in value, as people are willing to pay more to own it.
The same goes for any other cryptocurrency.

This post has been edited by wengherng: May 15 2017, 03:26 PM
TSwengherng
post May 15 2017, 03:45 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ May 15 2017, 03:33 PM)
Exactly
smh
i'm asking bout millions of cash , gotten from btc (for example)
and you're telling me $100
$100 of course don't need to declare any shit
I think you misunderstood his statement.
Basically, what he is saying is that he could explain that the BTC was received a long time ago, when the price was maybe USD 100, and it has appreciated until now (whatever the amount is when he wants to cash it out to buy stuff, like for example when 1 BTC = RM 1 million).
The government cannot ask you to prove where you got the BTC from originally, and there is no legislation to declare such "income" like angpao, donations, etc. so effectively, LHDN can query you, but there is legally nothing they can do to tax this money.
Also, most importantly, there is currently no legislation or legal regulation by BNM or any other Malaysian government department, regarding the buying, holding or usage of cryptocurrency.
It is not recognised as legal tender, nor is it recognised as a property/asset, so it falls through the crack and is not considered as something that can be taxed.
Unless the government or BNM changes the ruling in future (and they probably will), at the moment you will not be taxed, even if you sold all your bitcoin and converted them to your millions of ringgit.

This post has been edited by wengherng: May 15 2017, 03:46 PM
TSwengherng
post May 15 2017, 03:50 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ May 15 2017, 03:05 PM)
you must be living in the future. the last i remember, i cant use bitcoin in AEON to buy my groceries, the last i remember i cant use my bitcoins to buy my honda, the last i remember i cant use bitcoin to buy my house from sime darby, the last i remember i cant use bit coin to pay TNB bills and other utilities, the last i remember i cant pay UBER using bitcoins, the only thing i can remember paying using bitcoins are some games from steam. and man, no offence ... you talk like JJPTR. so now BTC can JJPTR?
There are actually a few countries where you could do all those......but unfortunately for us, Malaysia is always slow to catch up.
It will probably take another couple of years before we can start to do any of that.

TSwengherng
post May 15 2017, 04:36 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ May 15 2017, 04:12 PM)
as far as i know, even profit from trading in share market (bursa) is taxable in income tax if the 'badges of trade' condition are met. if you are trading btc and the badges of trade requirements are met, you deemed running a business.
as far as i know, there are quite a few. but mostly tech company like microsoft, dell, steam and maybe amazon.
Oh? This is something new for me.
I know in the income tax declaration form, when you do your filing, you have to fill in the dividends received from the stocks you own. I've done this in the past, but then over the past few years, most companies have already switched to single tier system, meaning they will withhold the tax for the dividend on their side, so the stockholders do not need to separately declare their dividends received anymore (no double taxation).
I read from LHDN that if the source of profit is a realisation of capital investment, then it is exempt from tax, but if it was from the nature of trade, then it is subject to taxation.
In this case, I would say that it depends on how you argue with the authorities on the nature of the profit.

But, in order to do that, the first question to ask is, is cryptocurrency considered a legal tender or an asset?
Then, the hardest part will be to determine, what is the amount of profit? How would the authorities be able to determine at which point I bought the BTC, since they are almost always bought in fractions and there would have been thousands of transactions, both in and out, amongst the thousands of fractions of BTC that I own?
Not saying that it is impossible to do, just that I think LHDN would have a hell of a time working out the details of the regulations and legislation, before they can even think about issuing it, never mind trying to enforce it.

Meanwhile, I could just as easily sell my BTC at an international exchange for USD and TT the money back in multiple smaller transactions, or whatever.

TSwengherng
post May 15 2017, 04:43 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Memories_Fallen @ May 15 2017, 04:40 PM)
anyone know a good website similar to luno to buy bitcoins from? luno is crazily exp man, is there any good website that i don't have to deal with the sellers and simply buy from the system at a cheaper price than luno? thanks
One more Malaysian exchange that I know is XBit Asia, but I am not sure whether the price is any cheaper than Luno.
When you say it is expensive, how many percent more expensive from the global average are we talking about here?

TSwengherng
post May 15 2017, 10:49 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 15 2017, 07:37 PM)
EMC2 is flying!  biggrin.gif

Yeah, supply and demand. So we can conclude that we already bought some cheap supplies!  rclxms.gif
Woah, you're right!
I was busy the whole day and just managed to check the prices now.
What a shocker.
Do you know why? Has there been any news?

TSwengherng
post May 16 2017, 09:57 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Ash1988 @ May 16 2017, 09:24 AM)
Dear all, am new here. Do I really need a hardware wallet for me to start invest in crypto please?

Am a small player smile.gif
Depends on how much you are invested in it.
Your "small player" may be different to the definition of others. smile.gif

Normally, if you are just starting out, with let's say a few hundred ringgit invested, then don't bother getting a hardware wallet yet.
You can use any of the various online secure wallets for now.
You only need one when your stash gets significant enough and you have decided that you are serious in this investment.

I have mentioned my "Rule of 5" to others before (and this is purely my own recommendation), if your investment in cryptocurrencies exceed 5 times the cost of a hardware wallet, then it makes sense to go and get one.
Currently, a Ledger Nano S is going for slightly less than RM400, so if your investment in cryptocurrencies exceed RM2k, you should get one.

Hope this helps, and welcome to the exciting world of cryptocurrency.
TSwengherng
post May 16 2017, 11:12 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 16 2017, 10:29 AM)
If 50k, need how many hardware wallet? tongue.gif

Humaniq dropped about half. Are you buying any?
In your case, need at least 2 hardware wallets. smile.gif
I just tracked my shipping order, and it seems that I should be getting my Ledger Nano S either today or tomorrow. rclxm9.gif
But it took 17 days.

I actually forgot about Humaniq totally.
But I got in during the original ICO, so I got in relatively cheaper.
It's now coming down near to my original buy price, though.
But oh well, I invested because I liked the idea and wanted to support their idea.
It might go huge once their expansion project to India and South Africa proves successful, or it might just tank and never recover......who knows.
I started with the expectation that I will never see my investment capital again......so anything else will be a plus, I guess. sweat.gif

19 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.1752sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:35 PM