QUOTE(okyjace @ Apr 12 2019, 10:48 AM)
Just answering honestly. Game plan is to hold and enjoy dividends plus capital appreciation. No target price. If public bank stops its trend of gradual price appreciation, then I will stop accumulating this stock and use the dividends to reinvest in other counters. 3% dividend yield plus more than 2% price appreciation would be good enough for me. Currently, I don't have a strategy of trading to take advantage of downward price fluctuations.
All stocks carries downside risk.
There are no exceptions.
Therefore, the 2% price price appreciation should not be taken as a sure thing...
Plus if you invest carries only a 3% yield, it makes no difference in investing in a money market instrument like fd.
The question again remains.... is this the best value for money?
I stressed this point as I have seen many try to play the market and hope to win just kopi money. This doesn't make sense as shares investing involves lots of money. To bet big money to make small money, just doesn't make sense. And the bigger issue is what if the market turns or collapse? Will you dump or will you hold? Or would you put more money to support your losing position?
Me? I play to win big. If I see only small rewards, I rather stay away and wait for better looking odds offered.
I know, different strokes.. and I am just sharing some different opinions why I would shy away from a big name stock like pbbank at current prices. And if I had really wanted to, I would wait for pbbank to trade at yields over 4.5%.
3 sen.