233 Pages « < 188 189 190 191 192 > » Bottom

BWC

statikinetic
post Jan 26 2021, 09:29 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(MedElite23 @ Jan 26 2021, 09:14 PM)
There’s a saying in mandarin that goes: when you invest in a company, you’re actually buying its ability to generate cash flow in the future. Warren Buffet is a proponent of this approach.

As a matter fact, you can use 3 years, 5 years or 10 years, it’s an arbitrary number based on your own estimation. There’s no fixed value but only a range to be used as guidance.

The pre-requisite is the earnings should be consistent and predictable. With a small deviation of CAGR, projected earnings won’t vary much as well.
I do agree that the benchmark to value a business is in the revenue generation.
If you are using the measurement of a business in turning earnings to net cash (Disregarding profit margins, revenue growth, etc), wouldn't it be better to use Cash from Op instead? Free Cash Flow (As a bank balance) is influenced by investing and financing activities, and high growth companies use a fair amount of cash to expand so how much they leave in the bank will be skewed.

The number of years used in the formula influences the final value so was wondering of the significance of the 5 years. So if I use a smaller number like 4, I end up with a smaller value (2.91). If I expand it to 6, it increases the value.

Anyhow, let's jump into the projected growth of the company at 10%.
I think the industry is expected to grow at 6-7%, not sure if I remembered it wrongly as I read it somewhere and is purely from memory. If that is true, then would it be better to use industry growth rate as a projection?

Sorry for the deluge of questions!
statikinetic
post Jan 26 2021, 10:15 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

On another note, Magni looks to continue being flat-ish at least until the next QR. Doesn't have a calatyst in the short term.

Waiting for SPMX QR. Guessing it may be record profits, and the market responds by being red again.

QUOTE(MedElite23 @ Jan 26 2021, 09:27 PM)
It’ll take time to grasp the gist, as we’re dealing with technical knowledge here. It makes me wonder though..how do other investors here come out with the intrinsic value of a stock..do they just guesstimate or eyeball it or take the simply way by comparing to its 52 weeks low?  smile.gif
For long term positions, I'm more of a guesstimate.
Usually starts off with the basic fundamentals, revenue and balance sheet. Then management and what the company direction is, this one is a little tricky as I'll need to go back and read like the past 10 years AR and see if they have grown the business the way they set out to. This one is really subjective. Then comes the news search to see if any articles come up, and how that ties into the entire 10 year journey. After that, it is checking up on peers if they are competing for the same customers or is largely separated and if they are a better prospect. Industry analysis follow that to see how it generates money, where it is headed and prospects (airlines die here for me). If at this point I'm still game for it, then comes price entry analysis.

This is where I take the 52 week history, plot in the QR release dates and see how it responds to news. Some can be really sensitive to news, others can announce a good quarter and the price doesn't change. Big price swings in between QR, I'll try search for news on that date to map out the story. At the end, I'll probably derive a price range that's acceptable to me with a CL level.

Short term punts are generally less work. I'd call these calculated gambles.

This post has been edited by statikinetic: Jan 27 2021, 01:25 AM
TSBoon3
post Jan 27 2021, 09:03 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 26 2021, 09:29 PM)
If you are using the measurement of a business in turning earnings to net cash (Disregarding profit margins, revenue growth, etc), wouldn't it be better to use Cash from Op instead? Free Cash Flow (As a bank balance) is influenced by investing and financing activities, and high growth companies use a fair amount of cash to expand so how much they leave in the bank will be skewed.

The number of years used in the formula influences the final value so was wondering of the significance of the 5 years. So if I use a smaller number like 4, I end up with a smaller value (2.91). If I expand it to 6, it increases the value.[B]
I think the industry is expected to grow at 6-7%, not sure if I remembered it wrongly as I read it somewhere and is purely from memory. If that is true, then would it be better to use industry growth rate as a projection?
WOW!! first of alll... great stuff.

ya.. I do note that the number of years do play a significant part. Discount it too far into the future and the figures do really get dizzy. tongue.gif

even the discount rate ....

thumbup.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 27 2021, 09:05 AM

15,942 posts

smurfs

saw it yesterday evening....

Smurfs
post Jan 27 2021, 09:15 AM

1,060 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jan 27 2021, 09:05 AM)
smurfs

saw it yesterday evening....

I'm not so sure / convince why the stock fly like this sweat.gif...even with current market sentiment..

too fast too furious...

Bonus Issue got so powerful meh shocking.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 27 2021, 09:22 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Jan 27 2021, 09:15 AM)

I'm not so sure / convince why the stock fly like this  sweat.gif...even with current market sentiment..

too fast too furious...

Bonus Issue got so powerful meh  shocking.gif
Yalo... recent few bonus issue so power rclxub.gif

TSBoon3
post Jan 27 2021, 09:26 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(MedElite23 @ Jan 26 2021, 07:56 PM)
CODE
@statikinetic

Projected growth rate of Thong Guan’s cash flow in the next 5 years.

TGuan’s YoY net profit has been growing at CAGR of 15.23% (NP T4Q 80615 - 39679 NP 2015 over the last 5 years).

*all figures are in 000’*

Conservatively speaking, I’ll take CAGR 10% after factoring in possible drop in sales, fluctuation of resin prices & foreign exchange losses).

Discount factor formula: 1/(1+risk free rate)^n , whereby n = number of years to be discounted.

Our current OPR is 1.75%. (In United States, risk free bond rate is used instead).

Based on above formula:

Discount factor of TGuan in next 5 years:
1/1.0175, 1/1.0353, 1/1.0534, 1/1.0719, 1/1.0906 for year 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024 respective.

Discount factor of TGuan: 0.983, 0.966, 0.949, 0.933, 0.917

Next, we need to find the discounted value of all future cash flow. (DV)

DV = Projected cash flow x Discount factor

Assuming the projected earnings and cash flow to be increasing at the rate 10% annually, the projected cash flow for year 2020 = free cash flow 2019 + 10% growth.. free cash flow for year 2021 = free cash flow 2020 + 10% growth…etc..

Free cash flow 2019: 227,217

Projected free cash flow 2020: 249,938
Projected free cash flow 2021: 274,931
Projected free cash flow 2022: 302,424
Projected free cash flow 2023: 332,666
Projected free cash flow 2024: 365,932

Total discount value for year 2020-2024: 245,689 + 265,583 + 287,000 + 310,377 + 335,559

Total number of outstanding shares to date: 380,969

Intrinsic value: sum of discount value / NOSH = 3.79 MYR.

Hence,based on projected free cash flow in the next 5 years, discounted to present value, one share is worth 3.79 MYR as of today.
WOW! Great stuff! thumbup.gif

Try ... change the rate to 5% instead of 10% for the free cash flow....

what would you get?
statikinetic
post Jan 27 2021, 11:33 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Another day of just sitting in the market.
Numbers are pointing that I'm way better at picking funds than picking stocks. Might have to portfolio adjust next quarter.

Looking at the whole GME drama for entertainment.
MedElite23
post Jan 27 2021, 11:58 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 26 2021, 09:29 PM)

The number of years used in the formula influences the final value so was wondering of the significance of the 5 years. So if I use a smaller number like 4, I end up with a smaller value (2.91). If I expand it to 6, it increases the value.
Sorry for the late reply. Just done busying.

I think the reason why free cash flow is used instead of operational cash flow is because it would be futile to know only how much money the company can generate if it utilizes most if not more of its operational cash flow to finance debt, paying dividends or investing and end up with illiquidity.

As you may know, some companies go bankrupt not because it’s not profitable, but because they don’t have enough cash liquidity.

Plastic demand projected to increase approx. 5% annually, but TGuan’s growth in percentage is double digit annually. So it would be fairer imo, to use company’s projected growth rate..
MedElite23
post Jan 27 2021, 12:12 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jan 27 2021, 09:26 AM)
WOW! Great stuff!  thumbup.gif

Try ... change the rate to 5% instead of 10% for the free cash flow....

what would you get?
Thanks Boon, I’m still learning haha..

Anyway, I derived the free cash flow growth rate based on its track record..not plucking any numbers from the sky to fit the equation haha..
MedElite23
post Jan 27 2021, 12:20 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 26 2021, 10:15 PM)
On another note, Magni looks to continue being flat-ish at least until the next QR. Doesn't have a calatyst in the short term.

Waiting for SPMX QR. Guessing it may be record profits, and the market responds by being red again.
For long term positions, I'm more of a guesstimate.
Usually starts off with the basic fundamentals, revenue and balance sheet. Then management and what the company direction is, this one is a little tricky as I'll need to go back and read like the past 10 years AR and see if they have grown the business the way they set out to. This one is really subjective. Then comes the news search to see if any articles come up, and how that ties into the entire 10 year journey. After that, it is checking up on peers if they are competing for the same customers or is largely separated and if they are a better prospect. Industry analysis follow that to see how it generates money, where it is headed and prospects (airlines die here for me). If at this point I'm still game for it, then comes price entry analysis.

This is where I take the 52 week history, plot in the QR release dates and see how it responds to news. Some can be really sensitive to news, others can announce a good quarter and the price doesn't change. Big price swings in between QR, I'll try search for news on that date to map out the story. At the end, I'll probably derive a price range that's acceptable to me with a CL level.
Short term punts are generally less work. I'd call these calculated gambles.
https://www.google.com.my/amp/s/www.cnbc.co...on-reports.html

I read somewhere in the news yesterday that if Japan decided not to host the Olympics, UK (if I remember correctly) would take over..
TSBoon3
post Jan 27 2021, 12:31 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(MedElite23 @ Jan 27 2021, 12:12 PM)
Thanks Boon, I’m still learning haha..

Anyway, I derived the free cash flow growth rate based on its track record..not plucking any numbers from the sky to fit the equation haha..
Oh I do understand where that 10% came from. I feel 5% would give one an alternative value .... one which is not as optimistic as a 10% over 5 years.

icon_rolleyes.gif
statikinetic
post Jan 27 2021, 12:33 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(MedElite23 @ Jan 27 2021, 12:20 PM)
https://www.google.com.my/amp/s/www.cnbc.co...on-reports.html

I read somewhere in the news yesterday that if Japan decided not to host the Olympics, UK (if I remember correctly) would take over..
Hey, hope you are doing OK and the Covid cases aren't weighing you down too much. Your workload must be on a consistent high!

Internally, I read up that Japan is still trying to unwind the financial Web of sponsorships and investments that have already gone in. Sheer financial power might just see the Olympics through. Not sure about UK, they seem even worse off than Japan in terms of the pandemic.

Shaking legs at the lack of action in the market today.

TSBoon3
post Jan 27 2021, 12:39 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 27 2021, 11:33 AM)
Another day of just sitting in the market.
Numbers are pointing that I'm way better at picking funds than picking stocks. Might have to portfolio adjust next quarter.

Looking at the whole GME drama for entertainment.
Sitting is a very important phase, in regardless one is a trader or an investor.

I am in a sitting period too. I once sat more than a year before, not trading. wink.gif

So don't get too worked out over sitting.

icon_rolleyes.gif
MedElite23
post Jan 27 2021, 12:40 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jan 27 2021, 12:31 PM)
Oh I do understand where that 10% came from. I feel 5% would give one an alternative value .... one which is not as optimistic as a 10% over 5 years.

icon_rolleyes.gif
Yup.. you’re right..

Tbh these calculations are rather personal to me, anyone else doing it would derive a different number. For this reason, initially I wanted to pm statikinetic instead of posting it publicly but at the end gave in due to technical reason laugh.gif

At the end of the day, the intrinsic value one get may well be used as a tool for self-comforting purpose only.. because if the market doesn’t agree with you..man it’s an endless waiting game..

Borrowing a quote from John Maynard Keynes: “the market can remain irrational longer than you stay solvent.” tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 27 2021, 12:56 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(MedElite23 @ Jan 27 2021, 12:40 PM)
Yup.. you’re right..

Tbh these calculations are rather personal to me, anyone else doing it would derive a different number. For this reason, initially I wanted to pm statikinetic instead of posting it publicly but at the end gave in due to technical reason laugh.gif

At the end of the day, the intrinsic value one get may well be used as a tool for self-comforting purpose only.. because if the market doesn’t agree with you..man it’s an endless waiting game..

Borrowing a quote from John Maynard Keynes: “the market can remain irrational longer than you stay solvent.” tongue.gif
I hope my memory does not fail me. Some 1 taught me this b4.

Use the 10 year CAGR and then compare it versus the 5 year CAGR (which you used). Now if the 5 year CAGR is lower than the 10 year CAGR, then there is a possibility that the company growth is slowing .....

But then this is something I am not entirely keen on myself. lol. tongue.gif
Cause, generally, our companies really do not have the strong competitive moat... so seeing the 10 year stuff is really ancient. tongue.gif

Anyway, ya... the discount rate and the growth rate ... the 2 most important assumptions here.... and not forgetting time. smile.gif
statikinetic
post Jan 27 2021, 01:00 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jan 27 2021, 12:39 PM)
Sitting is a very important phase, in regardless one is a trader or an investor.

I am in a sitting period too. I once sat more than a year before, not trading. wink.gif

So don't get too worked out over sitting.
icon_rolleyes.gif
"The money is in the sitting".
Quote I heard from somewhere before. Peeping at the announcements at the end of the day for SPMX QR.

QUOTE(MedElite23 @ Jan 27 2021, 12:40 PM)
Yup.. you’re right..

Am really happy you posted it here.
Very true about market irrationality. And the degree of it has been staggerring these days.
statikinetic
post Jan 27 2021, 01:05 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

General question : How much of you total portfolio do you invest directly in stocks? Taking into account fund, commodities and cash.
TSBoon3
post Jan 27 2021, 01:06 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 27 2021, 01:00 PM)
"The money is in the sitting".
Quote I heard from somewhere before. Peeping at the announcements at the end of the day for SPMX QR.
Doing nothing when there is nothing to do - and this one is about the hardest thing to do... more so when one just came out from a very huge win. Hands all gatal... itching and itching and itching to buy again... tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jan 27 2021, 01:16 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 27 2021, 01:05 PM)
General question : How much of you total portfolio do you invest directly in stocks? Taking into account fund, commodities and cash.
Position sizing and expectancy .... something great to read... biggrin.gif

233 Pages « < 188 189 190 191 192 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:58 AM