TSBoon3
post Sep 13 2020, 10:41 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(hybr1d3d @ Sep 13 2020, 10:01 AM)
https://edition.cnn.com/2020/09/11/business...-hnk/index.html

What do you guys think about this news, gloves big 4 price tomorrow will be impacted or not? (e.g. Topgun drop again before rebound on tues?)
For me, I have no idea how the market would react to the news.... wink.gif

But .... there's nothing new really in that article really......

this forced labor issue was actually highlighted on the Guardian in 2018....

mixed feelings on it...

1. such labor practice is what it is.... these so called employment agents made unscrupulous lots of money. It's really terrible....

2. It exist everywhere la....other countries too.

3. the amount involved it's really staggering. Harta recently said it paid (reimburse) these agents up to 40 million in recruitment fees!! (googleable these news)

TG on the other hand, clearly could have done better. Once the report was made in an international news, the Guardian, in 2018, TG should have wise up and clean up shop. It's now 2020.... why dilly dally?

rolleyes.gif

AVFAN
post Sep 13 2020, 11:34 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 13 2020, 10:41 AM)
For me, I have no idea how the market would react to the news.... wink.gif

But .... there's nothing new really in that article really......

this forced labor issue was actually highlighted on the Guardian in 2018....

mixed feelings on it...

1. such labor practice is what it is.... these so called employment agents made unscrupulous lots of money. It's really terrible....

2. It exist everywhere la....other countries too.

3. the amount involved it's really staggering. Harta recently said it paid (reimburse) these agents up to 40 million in recruitment fees!! (googleable these news)

TG on the other hand, clearly could have done better. Once the report was made in an international news, the Guardian, in 2018, TG should have wise up and clean up shop. It's now 2020.... why dilly dally?

rolleyes.gif
yes, it is old news.

but as long as the CBP order isn't revoked, the story will be repeated every so often.

we will see if the recently submitted audit will be effective; the ban was placed on 15 july.... coming up 2 months.

not only gloves... someday, someone, some org, some country will also get onto palm oil, construction, maybe durians too.

later, maids, coffee shops.... becos malaysians are too rich or lazy, get foreign workers to do every dem thing!! tongue.gif
ChAOoz
post Sep 13 2020, 01:50 PM

3,497 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 13 2020, 10:29 AM)
Went Sunday morning. Got some time to talk some ayam. laugh.gif

Ok, my main focus always is making good trade on a good setup. There's got to be a plan.
I would rather lose a well planned trade then simply trade and win... tongue.gif

This was Top Glove chart on the 9th.

As noted several days b4, I mentioned the point that 'top top' for TG... ie Double Top was formed....
and there we were on the 9th... TG is right where the neckline is for Double Top.... and most of all, it was already trading with the uptrend channel being breached... and technically the stock was already weak since the correction in July (yes, it did reached a new high after the correction but the signs were there (via the lower traded volume) that the big boys weren't interested in participating in the rally at THAT point (do they not believe the stock go could much higher?) ....and most important, the down days kept on increasing... the clearest sign that the rally doesn't have legs no more... it needs a good correction.

and oh.... the volume.... the volume looked better on the 8th and 9th.... (increase volume on down days?  rolleyes.gif ) .... but the one thing that needs to be mentioned is..... we need to remember that TG is now 3 times bigger.  sweat.gif  so whatever volume we see now.... we need to remember that TG is now a stock which is 3 times bigger!

That was where we were on the 9th...

So clearly, it wouldn't be good trade in my books to go in on the 10th... and when I saw the message.... it was starting to trade below the neckline already....

the thing I asked...

Aren't I clearly betting against the market? If the stock decline started gathering momentum, do I even know where the exit door is? ( yeah... I could guess where the so called support is (hate such trading) or I could use % as my cut loss ... but nah, I fancied neither... tongue.gif )

and yeah.... what's the catalyst to enter the trade? Catch the rebound? Nah....

Everything else.... still the same for me. There's nothing new! Still waiting for TG to show me their big earnings... which is at least 1.5 B for the coming quarter...
Any earnings else is technically very, very good but we need to remember... it's already as expected by the market.... which is a joke really. TG could report 1 billion in profits.... which will be very, very good ...... 1 billion profit wo.... but then..... those marker scientist had already spoiled it lo cos such profit numbers was already as expected......

So I really dunno how to trade TG on the 10th.... and so TG closed on the 10th like this...

and btw the buyback is reckless.... laugh.gif
But for now... nobody will care .... cos the stock rebounded nicely.... dragging the whole market up....  thumbup.gif
Well it could possibly be a bull trap.

The rationale of going on tv right before qr report is out and the large buyback would certainly lure in many new holder to ensure a strong base or either allow the existing holders to realized their profit.

If this is true, kinda shocked to believe the owner will do this kinda move. Top glove has always been the slow and steady kind.
TSBoon3
post Sep 13 2020, 03:14 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Sep 13 2020, 01:50 PM)
Well it could possibly be a bull trap.

The rationale of going on tv right before qr report is out and the large buyback would certainly lure in many new holder to ensure a strong base or either allow the existing holders to realized their profit.

If this is true, kinda shocked to believe the owner will do this kinda move. Top glove has always been the slow and steady kind.
Okay. You are talking about the boss. laugh.gif

Took me a while to figure that out. Sorry but am not following this too closely.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/late...d-order-buildup

That one?

My rough idea on TG remains. I agree profit will be good, very good but the problem is how good is the 'very good'.

The market had been totally disjointed by the wild, wild projections which in turn has helped drove the stocks very high. So as we have been seeing in other reports, most glove makers despite reporting very good profits but their profits is really meh.

Yes... it's all as been as expected.

The other day that Cimb report, which gave a rather modest TP for TG is basing the tp on 18x 21CY eps. Which works out to some 51 sen plus for cy21 or on average 12.75 eps per quarter. Multiplied by 8.1 billion shares, that's about 1 bil profit per quarter for the said CY.

Some had given as high as 1.2 billion per quarter if I am not mistaken.

So here's the issue.

If TG reports for the coming quarter a profit of 1 billion, which is really very, very good (imo) and certainly is deemed as a robust profit under the boss eyes, but this number, I tell you, is simply a meh.

It's as expected.

... and this is the problem.

Ps.. I am not a fan of the boss. Ok?

This post has been edited by Boon3: Sep 13 2020, 03:15 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 13 2020, 03:22 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 13 2020, 03:14 PM)
So here's the issue.

If TG reports for the coming quarter a profit of 1 billion, which is really very, very good (imo) and certainly is deemed as a robust profit under the boss eyes, but this number, I tell you, is simply a meh.

It's as expected.

... and this is the problem.
absolutely.

expectations are high... due to all that hype for weeks and months.

1bil is excellent but is too low to sustain current expectations.

it will have to be significantly more than that.

at EGM, a slide flashed "analysts expect 1.4bil".

8tv on thu also flashed "1.4bil" for a split second.

one can either take that as a hint or it was all a sham-scam trick!! laugh.gif

ok... better we wait thu...
TSBoon3
post Sep 13 2020, 03:29 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 13 2020, 03:22 PM)
absolutely.

expectations are high... due to all that hype for weeks and months.

1bil is excellent but is too low to sustain current expectations.

it will have to be significantly more than that.

at EGM, a slide flashed "analysts expect 1.4bil".

8tv on thu also flashed "1.4bil" for a split second.

one can either take that as a hint or it was all a sham-scam trick!! laugh.gif
ok... better we wait thu...
8tv? So drastic? Lol.

Sorry ah. I do not trust bosses and definitely not this one.

If profits were so good, they should not done the buyback and instead focus on dividends.

AVFAN
post Sep 13 2020, 03:36 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 13 2020, 03:29 PM)
8tv? So drastic? Lol.
Sorry ah. I do not trust bosses and definitely not this one.

If profits were so good, they should not done the buyback and instead focus on dividends.
nah... we r just discussing here.

i dun really know what to expect anymore...

if it turns sour, people learn a good lesson.

if it turns sweet, people also learn a good lesson.

so, we wait till then!
TSBoon3
post Sep 13 2020, 04:42 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 13 2020, 03:36 PM)
nah... we r just discussing here.

i dun really know what to expect anymore...

if it turns sour, people learn a good lesson.

if it turns sweet, people also learn a good lesson.

so, we wait till then!
Just doing some catch up reading. Saw the Macquaire report posted on the Edge.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/macq...dodTqG_vndeEjEI

This part is most utterly interesting imo.

Macquarie expects Top Glove to post a net profit of RM1.75 billion for FY20, which will rise to RM10.3 billion FY21, before easing to RM2.02 billion for FY22.

1) Those numbers are far more optimistic really.

2) look at those numbers. 10 bil profit for fy21!!!!!

3) Just like reports from CIMB, the fy 22 does notlook promising. From 10 bil profit, they expect profits to ease to 2 bil. Ease is such a gentle word here. Cos it literally says profits is expected to plunge a lot in fy 22.

4) They cite fy numbers. The proper standard unlike those local jokers who used CY numbers.

5) let's compare. The latest cimb report the other day.

The arrows. They too highlight a plunge in earnings come fy22.

6) now unlike cimb, the folks at M, they are calling out the decline... which I believe they have a solid case. Moving forward, the glove makers profits are like a time bomb... earnings will plunge once the ASP normalises... which to me sound logical.

Well.. do think about it.

And yeah, you know me.. I have no position now and I don't think I will want any position in the near future...

GL
AVFAN
post Sep 13 2020, 04:53 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 13 2020, 04:42 PM)
Just doing some catch up reading. Saw the Macquaire report posted on the Edge.
u should catch up on the McQ warrants story too, really sexy.
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...er-glove-makers
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/trading_w...ve_Warrants.jsp

about FY or CY2022... that's where the trick is, isn't it?!

u can plug in any ASP 2-3 years out, who dare say u right or wrong?

argue for a case of int rate rise, build in steep incr in discount rate, future cash flows will look shitty for sure!

and who dare say u r right or wrong?! biggrin.gif

TSBoon3
post Sep 13 2020, 06:24 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 13 2020, 04:53 PM)
u should catch up on the McQ warrants story too, really sexy.
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...er-glove-makers
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/trading_w...ve_Warrants.jsp

about FY or CY2022... that's where the trick is, isn't it?!

u can plug in any ASP 2-3 years out, who dare say u right or wrong?

argue for a case of int rate rise, build in steep incr in discount rate, future cash flows will look shitty for sure!

and who dare say u r right or wrong?! biggrin.gif
1. Look and compare the 'trend' of the profit between M and Cimb....

FY2020. M has it at 1.75 Billion. Cimb has it at 1.589 B.
FY2021 M has it at 10.3 Billion. Cimb has it at 5.313 B.
FY2022 M has it at 2.02 billion. Cimb has it at 1,905 B.

Both saying the same exact thing. Big profits for 2021 (which we all know) and Huge DECLINE in profit in 2022.

Both saying the same thing ....

very unique yes? But M has said as it is... it did not sugar coat anything...
and because the market prices forward ( Question now for you is do you want to price it on 21 numbers or 22 numbers?) and based on 22 numbers, well TG is not gonna be priced so highly.

Is there anything wrong with that statement from M?
Nope.

The only difference is CIMB has the same exact profit trend and CIMB fy22 numbers are even lower but CIMB chose not to value TG based on fy22 numbers.

Well this is the crux of it, yes?

M downgrades TG based on fy22 numbers... numbers which CIMB has it even lower....

2. I am not here to convince you what to do with your trades. I am only sharing what I think from I see..... okay?

3. Friend... I really, really, really do not want to read any articles from i3. Serious hor... so do excuse me if I don't attempt to read that link at all. And I have refrain from the Stock Discussion thread as it was horribly the same as i3....so I have not read that thread for few days already. laugh.gif

As it is... at this moment... both CIMB and M recognizes the huge DECLINE in profits come 2022. M took action and highlighted it. CIMB chose to remain silent on it.

rolleyes.gif

okay? This for me is what's interesting.... for me lor...... icon_rolleyes.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 13 2020, 06:44 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 13 2020, 06:24 PM)
1. Look and compare the 'trend' of the profit between M and Cimb....

FY2020. M has it at 1.75 Billion. Cimb has it at 1.589 B.
FY2021 M has it at 10.3 Billion. Cimb has it at 5.313 B.
FY2022 M has it at 2.02 billion. Cimb has it at 1,905 B.

Both saying the same exact thing. Big profits for 2021 (which we all know) and Huge DECLINE in profit in 2022.

Both saying the same thing ....

very unique yes? But M has said as it is... it did not sugar coat anything...
and because the market prices forward ( Question now for you is do you want to price it on 21 numbers or 22 numbers?) and based on 22 numbers, well TG is not gonna be priced so highly.

Is there anything wrong with that statement from M?
Nope.

The only difference is CIMB has the same exact profit trend and CIMB fy22 numbers are even lower but CIMB chose not to value TG based on fy22 numbers.

Well this is the crux of it, yes?

M downgrades TG based on fy22 numbers... numbers which CIMB has it even lower....

2. I am not here to convince you what to do with your trades. I am only sharing what I think from I see..... okay?

3. Friend... I really, really, really do not want to read any articles from i3. Serious hor... so do excuse me if I don't attempt to read that link at all. And I have refrain from the Stock Discussion thread as it was horribly the same as i3....so I have not read that thread for few days already. laugh.gif

As it is... at this moment... both CIMB and M recognizes the huge DECLINE in profits come 2022. M took action and highlighted it. CIMB chose to remain silent on it.

rolleyes.gif
okay? This for me is what's interesting.... for me lor......  icon_rolleyes.gif
Ok, ok. biggrin.gif

Then, i dun understand... if the profit projections are similar,... why cimb still maintain 9.xx as TP while McQ is 5.40?

I must have missed something v big. Any idea?

TSBoon3
post Sep 13 2020, 06:52 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 13 2020, 06:44 PM)
Ok, ok. biggrin.gif

Then, i dun understand... if the profit projections are similar,... why cimb still maintain 9.xx as TP while McQ is 5.40?

I must have missed something v big. Any idea?
Cimb target price is based on fy 21.

Macquarie target price is based on fy 22.

But the important thing is both of them agree that such extraordinary profit cannot be sustainable. And once it declines, the profit decline will be massive.

ChAOoz what's your opinion? smile.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 13 2020, 07:07 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 13 2020, 06:52 PM)

But the important thing is both of them agree that such extraordinary profit cannot be sustainable. And once it declines, the profit decline will be massive.

Ok, tq.

I will monitor future changes.

These scientists and mathematicians as u know, can change their methods anytime. biggrin.gif
ChAOoz
post Sep 13 2020, 07:55 PM

3,497 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 13 2020, 06:52 PM)

Both have the same direction, but each choose their TP based on different timing.

Cimb choose to go with a TP at the max earning curve, while Big Mac choose to go with an ASP normalized assumption timing.

Both actually have same down direction long run. Not surprise to see CIMB put it from overweight -> Neutral -> Underweight -> Sell in future to come.

Also i know you don't care about their TP, so when you read both report it will look like both telling the same story, but gave different ending conclusion haha.

TSBoon3
post Sep 14 2020, 01:17 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Sep 13 2020, 07:55 PM)
Both have the same direction, but each choose their TP based on different timing.

Cimb choose to go with a TP at the max earning curve, while Big Mac choose to go with an ASP normalized assumption timing.

Both actually have same down direction long run. Not surprise to see  CIMB put it from overweight -> Neutral -> Underweight -> Sell in future to come.

Also i know you don't care about their TP, so when you read both report it will look like both telling the same story, but gave different ending conclusion haha.

Yes, I do not really care about TPs and in fact, to be honest, I have been reading much lesser reports.... blush.gif
Guilty as hell! Lazy as hell! LOL!

But in this moment.. TG and Superman fortunes lies heavily on the TPs... yeah oh well... it is what it is...
and the article on the Star blaming M for their 'brave' downgrade and thus, blaming M for the sharp correction on TG is simply ridiculous in my 3 sen opinion.

Stocks always needs to consolidate. That's a fact of life. And them glove stocks never had one good consolidation until recently... So that consolidation was much needed.

And the biggest brain damage for me was why blame M soley? Yes, it was a drastic downgrade .. but look at where we are... FY 21 numbers will be coming in soon... and to give a review on TG based on 21 numbers, is for me, seriously near sighted....

stocks are priced/valued based on their future earnings... and fy22 numbers are not far away... what? some 4 or 5 quarters away only what... so to based their call on fy22 numbers is logical....

and yes... CIMB had basically the same set of numbers. In fact, their fy22 numbers is even lower than M...

so why didn't CIMB had the balls to call it out as it is? I cannot brain that. It's in their OWN tables... their own estimates.... which showed a massive earnings downtrend comes fy22.... so why...oh why... doesn't it have the courage to call it as it is?

and you know what... if these jokers are correct in their estimation.... ahem... sooner .... others will have to start calling the DOWNGRADES!

no?

btw... see... these stocks were trading in a very lackluster manner recently...
stocks were hitting the peak but on the low volume...
why tarak interest from the big boys?
were they all aware of the coming normalisation of the ASP ? which meant drastic decline in earnings is in the forcast?
could this be why?

lol ... just had a nice bowl of curry... tongue.gif
so a bit spicy my comments... LOL!!! laugh.gif

and wow... the market is rather so kind to Genting M...
looks like their all okay for Genting M to be the designated ATM machine... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

TSBoon3
post Sep 14 2020, 01:19 PM

15,942 posts

ChAOoz why you tag me the other thread... tongue.gif

whistling.gif
TSBoon3
post Sep 14 2020, 01:35 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 13 2020, 07:07 PM)
Ok, tq.

I will monitor future changes.

These scientists and mathematicians as u know, can change their methods anytime. biggrin.gif
the thing is ... we now have 2 of them giving fy22 profits to be around 1.9 to 2 bil ,,,, that's about 24+ eps based on 8.1 billion shares...

and very soon... new reports will have to be based on fy22 numbers and not fy21 numbers....

ehm... get the 'risk'?

anakMY
post Sep 14 2020, 01:45 PM

1,450 posts

Hi bro what’s ur comment on TG defying the double top pattern? Another strong rally coming?
TSBoon3
post Sep 14 2020, 02:01 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Sep 14 2020, 01:45 PM)
Hi bro what’s ur comment on TG defying the double top pattern? Another strong rally coming?

See.. those that know me... would know that one phrase I used b4.... 'use charts but don't let the charts use me'... smile.gif

Well... a double top was formed... The neckline was broken... and the stock staged a wild comeback thanks to the reckless buybacks from the company.... and so here we are where we are.

TSBoon3
post Sep 14 2020, 02:17 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Sep 14 2020, 01:45 PM)
Btw... The possible top top forming was noted on Aug 25th...

just saying la..

233 Pages « < 153 154 155 156 157 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:35 AM