253 Pages « < 235 236 237 238 239 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

TristanX
post Oct 27 2024, 06:02 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Oct 27 2024, 05:06 PM)
Hi sifus...

If I just want to change from my current Intel rig to AMD rig... What is the mobo and CPU to recommend which is good enough to do gaming? Currently I play Helldiver the most. Also I prefer to reuse all my PC parts including RAM so prefer still can use DDR4.

Thank you!
There is no DDR4 boards for AM5. AM4 doesn't give you enough performance boost to justify buying it as well.

I can see RTX 3070 8GB in your spec. This is definitely a problem. Not enough VRAM.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Oct 27 2024, 06:04 PM
TristanX
post Oct 29 2024, 11:55 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(gooni3 @ Oct 29 2024, 09:45 AM)
Thank you. 7800x3d seems like still out of stock đź« 
9800X3D coming. It will cost more.
TristanX
post Oct 31 2024, 11:44 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(rifrif345 @ Oct 31 2024, 10:54 AM)
hi doods. need recommendation for new rig. old rig (ada 2060 super) want to give to my adik mahu belajar

[Budget]: max 6k

[Purpose]: mostly gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use]: monitor, keyboard, mouse

[Monitor resolution]: 1440p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]: latest AAA games and sometimes work

[Personal preferences]: please include 512gb ssd (or 1tb ssd mana-mana pun boleh) as boot drive and 2tb ssd for storage drive (and please info on how many ssd can fit. maybe in future i want to add 1 more). dont want hdd too slow

[Location]: Klang Valley

Ty..
RM6k for 1440p. Not easy... Want 3TB SSD and M.2 slots some more....

Try

Core i5-14400F - 668
MSI B760M-A Pro Wifi DDR4 (M.2 X2) - 719
G.Skill Aegis 16GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 308
Gigabyte RTX 4070 12GB Windforce - 2499
Kingston KC3000 1TB - 359
Kingston KC3000 2TB - 559
FSP Hydro GT Pro 850W - 579
Corsair 4000D Airflow - 299

RM5990 total (Viewnet prices)

This post has been edited by TristanX: Oct 31 2024, 11:45 AM
TristanX
post Oct 31 2024, 12:13 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(rifrif345 @ Oct 31 2024, 11:59 AM)
thanks bos for ur recommendation  notworthy.gif
hey bos, gaming for 1080p also should be fine for me. if want 3tb ssd and i can flex my budget to 7k, should be enough and what should be change ya?
Just change motherboard and gpu. Add better cooler to CPU too.

Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 SE - 139 (Shopee)
MSI Z790-P DDR4 ( M.2 X4 ) - 1039
Gigabyte RTX 4070 Super 12GB Windforce - 2699
M.2 heatsink - 27 ( https://shopee.com.my/Thermalright-TR-M.2-2...439.13639448198 )

Done. Still got budget for KC3000 4TB X1 instead of 1TB x1 + 2TB X1

This post has been edited by TristanX: Oct 31 2024, 12:15 PM
TristanX
post Nov 1 2024, 08:12 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 31 2024, 11:56 PM)
14400F so cheap now!?
See for yourself.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1_6j...feUULTGxIjPEFpo

Viewnet requires bundle with motherboard though.
TristanX
post Nov 1 2024, 10:15 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 1 2024, 12:52 AM)
about warranty, does KL need pay fee? that konvengen (i forgot the name)
because i send RAM to amble action, i need pay RM15 processing fee
Its Convergent. Yes, you have to pay service fees.

I've RMAed Crucial and Corsair before.

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 1 2024, 08:45 AM)
Ic ok thanks. Really drop by a lot. Given the price, it should be a better choice than the 12400F.

Besides, u have been recommending viewnet all the time which I noticed. Are they having the best price so far when comparing to the rest of stores?
Not all the time. Only when its worth it. Mobo price there isn't great.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 1 2024, 10:18 AM
TristanX
post Nov 1 2024, 06:57 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Nov 1 2024, 03:59 PM)
Hi all, after 10 years - I have decided to upgrade my main rig.

What I currently have: i7 4790k (first one fried, bought a used one somewhere in 2021) + Asus Z97A, 4x4GB CORSAIR 1600MHz DDR3, 500GB Samsung 870 EVO SATA3 (upgraded from 840 Evo in 2021), Gigabyte 970 GTX (Upgraded a year after I built the PC) and it's been serving me well until I struggle to edit 4K videos on Premiere Pro starting in 2018 or playback H.265 videos and only up till recently, it started to BSOD on a daily basis. I'm guessing it's either the RAM, MOBO or processor.

Now, I don't have a budget, I just want to have a reasonably fast high-end PC without going too deep into the point of diminishing returns.

[Budget] N/A

[Purpose] Video editing, Lightroom, Stable Diffusion, Casual browsing, Python Coding, very very occasional gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] My 2x8TB HDDs

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Lightroom, DxOMark, Davinci, Premiere Pro, Handbrake, Stable Diffusion, Visual Studio Code, Selenium

[Personal preferences] Prefer something that can still be relevant for close to a decade, Noctua CPU cooler, Be Quiet or Corsair cases that are not flashy (absolutely no RGB please). I'm comparing against i7 12700k (to avoid the 13th/14th gen fiasco, let me know if i'm being too paranoid) vs Ryzen7 9800x/3d

[Location]: JB/KL/SG

Many thanks!
14th gen is safe to buy. Final BIOS fix is out. Just make sure you update to the latest. Also, price cut for 14900K as well.

Core i9-14900K - 1948
MSI Z790A Pro Wifi DDR5 - 1348
32GB DDR5-6400 CL32 kit - 699 (estimated - Price all over the place)

or

Ryzen 9 9900X - 1999
MSI X870 Tomahawk Wifi - 1499
32GB DDR5-6400 CL32 kit - 699 (estimated - Price all over the place)

Corsair H150i Elite Capellix XT - 850 (Shopee)
Gigabyte RTX 4070 Ti Super 16GB Windforce - 3799
Kingston KC3000 2TB - 559
FSP Hydro GT Pro 1000W - 649
NZXT H7 Flow case - 569

RM10421 total for Intel, 10623 for AMD (Viewnet prices)

48GB DDR5-7200 kit also available but price is all over the place.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 1 2024, 07:10 PM
TristanX
post Nov 2 2024, 12:22 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Nov 1 2024, 07:40 PM)
Thanks Tristan, how's MSI motherboards fairing these days? I've had bad experience with MSI boards more than a decade ago, i'm usually on Asus and Gigabyte's camp
No idea for MSI. Asus and Gigabyte has more issues for the past few years.
TristanX
post Nov 2 2024, 11:05 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Nov 2 2024, 09:29 AM)
"Cheap" & Small:
Ryzen 7 9700X RM1548
Noctua NH-U9S RM373  (Or just go for value for bucks Thermalright PA120 SE for 139 and change to Noctua fans when it breaks)
MSI B650M Gaming Plus WiFi RM759
Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-5600 64GB Kit RM939
MSI RTX4070 12GB Ventus 2X E OC RM2799
Kingston KC3000 1TB SSD RM359
Silverstone DA 750W PSU RM449
Lian Li 205M (RGB fans, but you can disconnect the RGB cable if you don't want) RM189

Total: RM7415

-------

Ryzen 7 9900X RM1999
Noctua NH-U12S RM489
MSI B650 Tomahawk WiFi RM1315
Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-5600 64GB Kit RM939
MSI RTX4070 12GB Ventus 2X E OC RM2799
Kingston KC3000 1TB SSD RM359
Silverstone DA 850W PSU RM519
Lian Li 207 (RGB fans, but you can disconnect the RGB cable if you don't want) RM339

Total: RM8758

Zen 5 is plain fast in single threaded workload (I'm looking at you, damn Python GIL!)
https://www.phoronix.com/review/amd-ryzen-9950x-9900x/9
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/...w/#Introduction

There isn't much point to choose Intel 14th over AMD since the package price is quite identical due to more expensive cooler needed to tame the hot Intel down. The platform is dead end too.  hmm.gif
It depends.  wink.gif Intel IGP is proven good in supporting latest codec (so scrubbing through timeline will be quick!), but some plugins just outright only supports CPU computation. NVIDIA GPU isn't that far off unless TS has specific codec that can only be supported by Intel IGP but not NVIDIA. For rendering wise, GPU still has a long way to beat CPU in terms of quality per bitrate.

So in this case, we can have a look at this : https://www.techpowerup.com/review/amd-ryzen-9-9900x/11.html
Don't see any point of going B650 Tomahawk when X870 is just a bit more cash. With future CUDIMM support.

NH-U12S at RM489? Thermalright Frost Commander 140 at RM255 will blow it away by a country mile. Even Peerless Assassin 140 is still a lot more cooler. Stick it to Montech Air 903 Max for space. Arctic P12 and P14 Max fan has very good price/performance as well.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 2 2024, 11:24 AM
TristanX
post Nov 2 2024, 12:31 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Nov 2 2024, 11:41 AM)
The underlying chipset is still Promontory 21 anyway, but X870 M.2 is PITA due to the forced USB4 implementation.  puke.gif
CUDIMM is to solve high speed memory issue, but can be solved technically with X3D.

I'm not a fans of the poor Thermalright fan, that's why there is an extra option mentioned. Arctic fan is ok for the price (Mine had fan blade just flew off), but TS mentioned about longevity and Noctua specifically, so why not?  wink.gif For casing it is quite subjective.
This is a work pc. Unless you want to deal with potential "I don't know which chip has X3D" issue on gaming. You have so many M.2 slots. Definitely more lanes than B650. I think issue is over exaggerated.

I wouldn't want to feed greedy distributor. Paying so much more for better acoustics and less performance is no thanks.

TristanX
post Nov 2 2024, 03:40 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Nov 2 2024, 12:44 PM)
The same goes to I bought a 8000MT CUDIMM RAM, but my processor/board couldn't drive it. With 64GB RAM, is it really necessary for TS to change to CUDIMM in years to come? It could cost more but the performance gain could be better obtained by pouring the fund into some other parts.

As for X870, the problem is more like you spend extra but you get a x2 speed on CPU-linked M.2. For sure you can disable the USB4 functionality in BIOS to get that back, but now the board becomes B650 in functionality. biggrin.gif If OP has specific reason and needs USB4 then it would be okay to have X870 instead.  wink.gif
CUDIMM is very new. Don't know how much you can get from performance. It does give some uplift for Arrow Lake. From the news, it has 10000+mhz.
TristanX
post Nov 3 2024, 10:52 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Nov 3 2024, 10:41 AM)
New ram lagi? Different from camm2?
Yup. RAM with clock speed generator. Can hit 10000+mhz. X870 and Z890 supports it.

Looks like it uses standard DDR5 slots.

https://www.kingston.com/en/blog/system-bui...-cudimm-csodimm

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 3 2024, 10:55 AM
TristanX
post Nov 4 2024, 07:37 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Nov 4 2024, 02:34 PM)
8bit H.264 4k is doable but needs a bit of patience haha. After spending sometime getting myself up to speed on the current processor market, I am more inclined towards the red camp. AMD with their 4nm architecture is leaps ahead. Plus, I've heard that after the X3D chips unveil on the 7th of Nov, 3 days from the time of writing - the non-X3D chips will see a price drop, making it even more lucrative.

How's MSI mobo fairing these days? Tristan (see quote below) mentioned that Asus and Gigabyte has more issues lately.
Decide after looking at these.

And

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/...l9yx77hHZkSB-YZ
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/...0LrKsh2VxfqKtfe

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 4 2024, 07:40 PM
TristanX
post Nov 5 2024, 10:39 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Nov 5 2024, 11:53 AM)
Hi everyone, need a recommendation for a 3D Modelling and Rendering work

[Budget]: 5k-ish

[Purpose]: 3D Modelling and Rendering

[Hardwares that will be re-use]: None

[Monitor resolution]: 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]: 3DMax and D5

[Location]: Penang
Try

Core i7-14700K - 1429 (Viewnet)
Thermalright Peerless Assassin 140 - 209 (Shopee)
MSI Z790-P DDR4 - 1039 (Viewnet - bundle required with CPU. Z790-A more suited for this CPU with RM350 more)
G.Skill Aegis 16GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 308 (Viewnet)
PNY RTX 3050 8GB Verto - 999 (Viewnet)
Kingston KC3000 1TB - 359 (Viewnet)
Deepcool PN650M - 429 (Viewnet)
Montech Air 903 Max - 319 (Shopee)

RM5091 total

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 5 2024, 10:43 PM
TristanX
post Nov 5 2024, 11:55 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 5 2024, 11:41 PM)
Is CAD still CPU reliant or now GPU?
Otherwise I would put lesser for CPU (get 14700 nonK) and boosting GPU to 3060 12GB.
Deepcool is tied to US sanctions for supplying Russia so nope, rather get from FSP/Seasonic/others for the same price. That PN650M uses CWT platform which Corsair/CM also uses so get those instead.
3DSMax can be CPU or GPU. Depends on plugin.

Sanction whatever. I'm beginning to think US just wants to be anti competition. They can never compete with price. You go ahead and avoid while I can buy anything I want at cheaper price.
TristanX
post Nov 6 2024, 10:26 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 6 2024, 08:28 AM)
Umm on a certain level I agree but that sanction is aimed at Russia and their warmachine so w/r I agree with USA.

Another thing, it didnt make DC products any cheaper (I wish!) coz for the same price you can get Corsair RM650 using the same CWT platform
https://shopee.com.my/product/20108462/3052...AyABEgID__D_BwE
Or pay a bit more for RM650X.
Thats one of the excuse for them.

Corsair isn't immune from RMA either. I just RMA SF600 not long ago.
TristanX
post Nov 6 2024, 03:42 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 6 2024, 12:23 PM)
Corsair bunyi macam ada nama but maybe quality aftersales service is only good at 1st World countries. haha
They support their products. Even if the part has no warranty. My multiple K70 v1 keycaps broke after 2 months. They said no warranty for keycaps. I had to "convince" them. They sent it to me for free.

Then a good episode. Asking corsair on how to buy LGA1700 mount for my H150i. They asked for my serial number and address. Shipped to me without even asking for payment. I've double checked. Its free.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 6 2024, 03:43 PM
TristanX
post Nov 16 2024, 12:51 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(darksider @ Nov 15 2024, 08:25 PM)
Looking to build three office pc with normal ability to surf net and do WhatsApp’s or WeChat

Budget including keyboard mouse and monitor for each pc is rm2000, thanks Sifu

wondering if same specs it’s better to get a mini pc or desktop pc as well
QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Nov 15 2024, 08:49 PM)
Ryzen 5 5600G RM489
MSI A520M-A PRO RM299
Kingston Value 16GB DDR4-3200 RAM x2 RM290
Kingston KC3000 500GB SSD RM239
Silverstone FARA 313B RM169
FSP Hyper Pro 550W PSU RM159
Viewsonic VA2432-H 24" RM309
Logitech MK120 KB+Mouse Combo RM47

Total: RM2001

Or

ASRock DeskMini X300 RM709
Ryzen 5 5600G RM489
Kingston Value 16GB DDR4-3200 RAM RM145
Kingston KC3000 500GB SSD RM239
Viewsonic VA2432-H 24" RM309
Logitech MK220 Wireless KB+Mouse Combo RM79

Total: RM1970
Unfortunately. 5600G gives PCIE 3.0. Go for 8500G or i3-14100 or i5-12400 setup instead.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 16 2024, 12:52 PM
TristanX
post Nov 16 2024, 06:16 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(darksider @ Nov 15 2024, 08:25 PM)
Looking to build three office pc with normal ability to surf net and do WhatsApp’s or WeChat

Budget including keyboard mouse and monitor for each pc is rm2000, thanks Sifu

wondering if same specs it’s better to get a mini pc or desktop pc as well
i5-12400 and build that doesn't bottleneck KC3000. Try

Core i3-14100 or i5-12400 - 439 / 534
Gigabyte B760M H DDR4 - 459
Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 16GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 278
Kingston KC3000 512GB - 239
Deepcool PF 450W - 139
Mbox X45 case - 89
Arctic P12 fan - 39
Acer EK241Y - 308
Logitech MK120 - 47

RM2037 / 2132 total (Viewnet prices)

Haggle for some discount.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 16 2024, 06:23 PM
TristanX
post Nov 21 2024, 11:43 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(kent_lee @ Nov 21 2024, 03:11 PM)
Good Day all Sifus,

Looking at getting a new budget/value gaming PC to replace my ailing one.

[Budget] +- RM 3k

[Purpose] Mid range gaming, watching movie

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, mouse, Keyboard

[Monitor resolution] 1080

[Personal preferences] Pls provide options for Intel and AMD

[Location] PJ

(Would waiting for the new Nvidia 5 series to launch make a difference to the prices)

Thanks!

Edit : Current PC - Intel Core i3-4150 CPU @ 3.50GHz 3.50 GHz, Nvidia GTX 960, Corsair CX600M psu
Try

Core i5-12400 - 544
Gigabyte B760M H DDR4 - 459
Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 16GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 278
Zotac RTX 3060 12GB Twin Edge V2 - 1279
Kingston KC3000 512GB - 239
Reuse your PSU
Cooler Master Elite 500 case - 199

RM2998 total (Viewnet prices)

Swap to these for AMD

AMD Ryzen 5 5600X - 489
MSI B550M Pro VDH Wifi - 559