76 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

babylon52281
post Dec 6 2023, 03:55 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(seand19 @ Dec 5 2023, 09:16 PM)
thats why i came here to see if any experts can help me with this project. because im not so IT fluent so some of the terms and explanations just flies above my head
To manage JBOD I think one needs to have a certain level of server hardware and software & network troubleshooting skills, building it you can offload to someone but need knowledge to maintain otherwise will be costly if constantly need tech support cuz its bespoke to ur requirements.

Can go with TristanX suggestion but I think there is more backend stuff for real JBOD, as typical consumer mobos are not designed for hotswappable feature.
babylon52281
post Dec 6 2023, 04:16 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 6 2023, 11:13 AM)
Try

Core i3-10100 -  479
MSI Z590 Gaming Plus - 569

Or

Core i3-12100 - 499
Gigabyte Z690 UD - 749

Kingston 8GB DDR4-3200 -  99
Adata XPG Core Reactor 650W - 439

Lots of HDDs cases:
Fractal Define 7  (14 HDD max, requires purchase of additional brackets, got XL version if you can find stock ) - 729
Phanteks Enthoo Pro II (12 HDDs max, requires purchase of additional brackets)  - 599 (out of stock)
Prolly that ADL is the better option, perhaps can go with Pentium G if cost is much lower. It will need at least PCIE Gen4 for the bandwidth, cuz will need a miniSAS to PCIE x16 converter card. Which meant the CPU must have iGPU too.

What I gather, SAS HDD are a power hog, able to spin up to 10k RPM(!) so a bunch running would draw lotsa power, I suggest up to 850W PSU depending on how big his array will become. I think 10 x 10TB drives will be sufficient to power?
babylon52281
post Dec 8 2023, 09:44 AM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 6 2023, 07:16 PM)
Pentium G7400 is extremely overpriced. Around RM400. Might as well topup for i3-12100.
I wonder why. I suspect its becoz might be due to its underground popularity with extreme Ocers whom chasing for core HZ WR under LN2/LH. It can ramp up real high due to its dual core only.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 8 2023, 09:45 AM
babylon52281
post Dec 11 2023, 06:17 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(Hiiryu @ Dec 10 2023, 10:13 PM)
Hey all, not sure if this is the right place to ask, but was wondering if anyone knows what happened to Asus z790 mobo prices?

For example, based on Czone, Viewnet and even shopee prices, the ASUS ROG Strix Z790-E is around RM3K+.

On Amazon tho, its around RM1.8k or $399 usd. Quite the mark up in our local market.
Transportation + Kastam taxes + Asus tax + reseller markup + Asus fanboi waterfish tax + local warranty (buy outside sendiri tanggung) + EOL platform soon

Can pay for the best but want something more value? Asrock Taichi /Lite.
babylon52281
post Dec 11 2023, 06:27 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Dec 11 2023, 03:31 PM)
PSU is good as well? I am checking this Super flower, Corsair Shift and FSP Hydro hmm.gif Any recommendation or all of them are good?
Get from Superflower, FSP, or Seasonic. They make their own PSU under their brand names.
babylon52281
post Dec 13 2023, 08:43 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Dec 13 2023, 10:01 AM)
babylon52281, TristanX any recommendation for Z790 DDR4 motherboard?

I am looking at MSI Z790-P Wifi DDR4, MSI Z790-A Wifi DDR4 - not sure what is the major difference between the 2

Then also looking at MSI MAG Z790 TOMAHAWK WIFI DDR4 and Gigabyte Z790 AORUS ELITE AX DDR4. Among these which 1 is better ya?
All of them are full ATX so features aplenty unless ur aiming for specific capabilities (ie better audios on the Tomahawk).

Depending on which is ur CPU, all of them are able to OC to varying degrees. The -P has weakest VRM amongst so it will have decent OC thermals, -A & Tomahawk has nearly the same VRM (Toma slightly better) so ur paying more for the MAG bling both will OC similarly I guess. Go whichever meets ur needs and ur bling/budget preference.

Say NO to Gigashit for their backdoor bios & unintuitive bios interface. MSI has the more stable bios.
babylon52281
post Dec 14 2023, 08:41 AM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(twkidd @ Dec 13 2023, 04:51 PM)
Oh sure bro, but I'm looking to buy next year Q2 FYI
Whats ur budget anyways? Its good idea to plan early and have an idea what you can get today then tweak around it when comes time to buy

AMD Ryzen 5600X
GIGABYTE B550m (change to MSI / Asrock B550M. Avoid Giga backdoor bios. Oso that VRM is pisspoor for OCing)
SAPPHIRE NITRO RX 6700XT (might be phased out soon so plan for alternative)
32GB RAM Corsair Vengence 16x2 3200MHZ (buy today if possible as RAM prices will go up next year)
1 TB SSD (KC3000, Adata S70/ Legend 960, any with DRAM will do fine)
Cooler? AMD stock cooler is okay but if got extra budget then ID SE224XT, Jonsbo CR1400 (but if OCing then PA120/SE)
PSU? 1st player steampunk 850 gold RM399 (if going basic then MSI MAG A650BN for about RM250)
babylon52281
post Dec 14 2023, 08:58 AM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 13 2023, 09:15 PM)
bro.. next yr AM4 GT version come out .. the dwarf version of AM5... better u ask again when u ready
LOL AMD suddenly realised their AM5 is way too expensive but cannot dumb it down past pisspoor A620 to make it cheap for their fanbase. So now they have to uncancel AM4 EOL platform and making new ones to keep budget AMD buyers in their pockets.

Many reviewers whack Intel for 14th gen as 13 refresh but in reality Intel fanbois are still getting a next gen CPU which can be paired with cheaper DDR4 mobos for a price parity with AM4 and defo under AM5 cost.

AM5 was a mistake to support only DDR5. By the time this RAM reach price parity with high capacity DDR4, Intel will launch DDR5 exclusive Arrowlake.
babylon52281
post Dec 14 2023, 11:51 AM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(Vortexx22 @ Dec 14 2023, 08:59 AM)
Hi all, any recommendation for a 2k build without GPU? I have a spare 1060 at home and I want to build for my parents.

I've scroll past some post back here and was wondering if I could get more up-to-date build. Much appreciated and thanks in advance!
For 2k only aint going to get the latest stuff sorry to say.

Go with Myway reco, but if want to meet ur budget cap swap the Steampunk PSU with MAG A650BN for rm130 less, then ngam at ur budget for rm2011. Sometimes that goes less than RRP so ur total budget could still under 2k. Good luck!
babylon52281
post Dec 15 2023, 01:41 AM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 14 2023, 08:20 PM)
can i just stick to 5200 and OC it to 5600?
5200 is pretty much JEDEC so for such kits the EXPO will be 5600/5800. Can try to shoot for 5600 EXPO kits if the cost difference isnt that much.
babylon52281
post Dec 15 2023, 10:51 AM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 15 2023, 09:04 AM)
what's the difference between buying 5200 and OC it 5600 and buying 5600 straight away?
EXPO/XMP is pretty much assured their higher speeds as long as its in mobo QVL & CPU IMC is able to support. OCing is no guarantee to achieve the speeds, you will have to do a lot of manual tweaking with primary & 2ndary timings to achieve higher speeds. EXPO/XMP does that automatically.
A caveat is that if you know what ur doing, you can typically get better results than EXPO/XMP. But getting to the knife edge meant a lot time intensive stability testing to ensure ur PC dont crap on you.
babylon52281
post Dec 15 2023, 11:13 AM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 15 2023, 11:00 AM)
so recommended to just spend a little bit more and get 5600 as this the most stable option?
You want as little headaches as possible when dealing with AM5 system esp with its finicky memory compatibility & stability. EXPO 5600 can be expected to achieve, 5800 is getting to the edge, 6000 is supposedly sweetspot for AM5 (according to AMD) but then again not assured to get. Many complain on Reddit they could only max stable @5800MT.
Thats AMD for you.
babylon52281
post Dec 15 2023, 08:58 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(Granit3Grey @ Dec 15 2023, 11:01 AM)
Hi All,

Is the attached desktop a good deal at the price of RM6495? The 4070 GPU is not really needed as the purpose of the desktop mostly for works and less gaming or maybe no gaming (no interesting game to play at this moment) so will choose (Amd Radeon because cheaper and more Ram?? Open for opinions.)

Thank you.

[Budget] - 5K - 6K

[Purpose] - rendering design and lighting

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - HDD of various sizes and 1080 monitor

[Monitor resolution] - using 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - Architecture software and Lighting software

[Personal preferences] - looking for opinions with Intel I7, 32GB Ram, 1GB SSD and the Microsoft Windows Pro activated

[Location] - KL
IMHO nope. Thats a gaming PC (albeit not a very good one either), what ur looking for is a CAD work PC.

Go Intel as its more stable if work uptime is important to you.

Go for Ksku i7 as CAD software likes core speeds rather than core count. Get a beefy aircooler ie FC/FS140 rather than worrying about AIO pump eventual failure. You want ur work PC to be ultra reliable, have you seen a work PC with AIO?

High end GPU not necessary but need lots of VRAM to output large design file so go for something like 3060 12GB. And yes go NVIDIA for better driver stability.

The rest is just poor mobo, poor DRAMless SSD, Myway can quote you a better work PC if ur in Klang Valley
babylon52281
post Dec 16 2023, 05:03 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Dec 16 2023, 02:53 PM)
Thank you! Refresh the spec with updated pricing from C-zone. Looks okay?

Since ur not going to have a GPU (using IGPU instead), can make do with cheaper PSU, MSI MAG A650BN or FSP HVPro 650W both C tier @Rm250ish but decent one tho.

Get a mobo with builtin Wifi ie https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B550M-PRO-VDH-WIFI so you dont need to spend money on a wifi card.

Ultimately while AM4 has a stronger APU lineup, I would suggest pay a bit more for Intel for better stability & less headaches.

i5 12500
MSI B660M-A Wifi (this has builtin Wifi)
MSI MAG A650BN or FSP HVPro 650W
Case Tecware Nexus M2 or Montech Air 100 (much cheaper than branded ones)
The rest same above, the cost saved in PSU & case can go into offset the pricier CPU. You will have much more better balanced system if when you want to drop in a GPU later on(max 230W ie 6700XT or 3070).

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 16 2023, 05:08 PM
babylon52281
post Dec 17 2023, 06:25 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 17 2023, 10:06 AM)
I could find Gigabyte P450B too. There is FSP Hyper 80+ 550W at RM159 as well.

Light usage. i3 definitely stomps Ryzen 5000. Not to mention, overpowered Intel Quick Sync if he decides to do video encoding.
Never mentioned if its has DC to DC supply to 5V & 3.3V rails. Ok Cimaris found that this is group regulated.

And he has this to say in summing up Gigashit PSU

For the extra Rm20 just spec in that FSP unit. Plus it has 100W more headroom.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 17 2023, 06:40 PM
babylon52281
post Dec 17 2023, 06:32 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(Granit3Grey @ Dec 17 2023, 10:25 AM)
Thank you. I already got some knowledge as a result of reading your First Self Built Rig[12700F,16G D4,B660,3060Ti]. Like it smile.gif
Thanks for liking it.

It was the culmination of a noob beginner journey in PC building after stuck with a gamer laptop for 10 years, so at first i kena lotsa bambu for poor choices then which I learnt from https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5279514&hl=

Have patient built up ur knowledge then be confident with ur selection when you truly understand what ur buying. Good luck!
babylon52281
post Dec 17 2023, 06:42 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(Kopistall @ Dec 17 2023, 10:38 AM)
Both of you gila, I come here discuss you two say I spam,  how many spam, 1000 2000 3000 per hour ? Mental illness this senior members, see 2 stars posting is called spamming.
If you have alternatives to share (or the links) please do, otherwise IT IS SPAMMING.
babylon52281
post Dec 17 2023, 07:19 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Dec 17 2023, 06:53 PM)
Thanks guys for the suggestion. I course I can extend my budget a bit like 2k or something.
I already went to Shopee and watched couple of youtube but still have no idea which is consider "value" or "overpriced" in our country like our Tristan said. That's why I came here.
I'm just curious if nowadays I can make one with 1 to 1.5k budget. Maybe I'll go with Intel, with more ram, 16 or 32gb, and also a dedicated hdd for scratch disk. Thanks for helping. 🙂
These days a starting budget is about Rm 2-2.5k. But the danger in sticking to such low budget ur have a higher risk of picking bad parts like the Giga PSU I pointed out above. So rather than focus on budget, take ur time to find out what hardware is actually needed for ur use case.

You can start ur journey by referencing some PC reco sites like https://www.cgdirector.com/best-computer-for-graphic-design/

Bear in mind that certain components are no longer as current but the logic behind its selection can guide you to making a similar current gen choice (ie if it was 12900K an equivalent is 14700K/14900K). Also while a lot of it is high end, I advice see the logic of their choice (if its a 3090 then why, because of Nvidia better driver support for work apps. Then going for cheaper 3060 12GB is also fine, you see).

FYI if budget is a priority, a comfortable workable one is about RM 5000 where you most likely wont end up with any bad parts if you chose wisely. Good luck!

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 17 2023, 07:26 PM
babylon52281
post Dec 17 2023, 10:43 PM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Dec 17 2023, 09:26 PM)
can list out 5k specs?

i currently using acer nitro laptop
Device name LAPTOP-P72L8FV0
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600H with Radeon Graphics            3.30 GHz
Installed RAM 8.00 GB (7.36 GB usable)
Device ID D875B4AF-FD54-484C-866D-B99F5CB90E67
Product ID 00327-30990-35983-AAOEM
System type 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
Pen and touch No pen or touch input is available for this display
Nvidia geforece gtx 1650

laggy when playing the isle
These are the game Steam reco specs;
Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system
Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD processor, 3.4 GHz or faster.
Memory: 16 GB RAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
DirectX: Version 11
Network: Broadband Internet connection
Storage: 25 GB available space

For a game that came out in 2015.

Are you sure ur lagging due to hardware or something else? A nearly full SSD or overheating lappie can slow down system. Some thin n light laptops do have insufficient cooling issues when specced to its max. Or maybe ur running only 1 stick of RAM.
babylon52281
post Dec 18 2023, 01:52 AM

2,682 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Dec 17 2023, 10:55 PM)
how to check my RAM? i think only 1 stick of 8GB ram?
yes i just check 1 stick of 8GB ram, so i add 1 stick of ram can already?
Yes well sort of. Running 1 stick of RAM will hurt a lot esp game performance, and modern systems like dual channel so make sure get the same specs as ur current one. Im not sure for lappie but you can then see if can turn on XMP/DOCP/EXPO to boost RAM speeds.

It will help to up FPS but without knowing how ur system condition, I cannot say for sure its the main culprit.
Ie if ur running off that single SSD and its a cheapo DRAMless HMB unit which you might have filled >50% it will tank that SSD transfer rate.
Excessive overheating of parts can cause it to downclock thereby reducing performance too.

76 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0487sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:37 AM