76 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

babylon52281
post Dec 18 2023, 07:17 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Dec 18 2023, 10:34 AM)

is this ram good? im going to buy another one any recommedation?
For lappie its okay. Just get another exact one and you can get dual channel memory
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/sk-hynix....72fb6IOJ6IOJTQ

It will prolly help a bit on average FPS but check out the 1% & 0.1% lows, higher means ur games will be smoother.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 18 2023, 07:17 PM
babylon52281
post Dec 19 2023, 09:15 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 19 2023, 08:55 AM)
i suggest u buy pc 1st then wait super series

thermalright ultra extrene 120  RM259.00

Yo whats up with the Ultra Ex120 lately? No more PA/PS 120/SE stocks?

Such an old cooler (it has support for LGA775 LOL!) and doesnt seem on the website it supports LGA1700 but pricing still topkek better go for more modern SE225XT or SE226XT with better thermal headroom.
babylon52281
post Dec 19 2023, 09:24 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(NYCheesecake @ Dec 19 2023, 03:23 PM)
Thanks for the recommendations.

From what I read, Colorful is a China brand but seems to work okay compared to other brands. How is the heat/temps like and the warranty process like for Malaysia? Reddit seems to say the warranty process is quite confusing/vague but those are for Western markets.

Also quite different price points for the monitors, is it because the MSI one has quantum dot?
Colorful is the better brands coming out from China with some longterm presence in Europe. They are also OEM to some of the better well known brands from Taiwan/USA. Their standard lineup is very good for the money whilst their igame & Vulcan lineup is comparable to Asus TUF & ROG level of insanely specced.

Another is prolly Galax, as their stuff are often used in WR OCing.

Manli is another lesser known but decent OEM brand in China. But lately their stuff seem to have dried up in market.
babylon52281
post Dec 20 2023, 09:59 AM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 19 2023, 09:56 PM)
all casing can fix.. macam got new bracket
All casing is a bit of a stretch with its >160mm height. To fit even maxi SFX casing, tower coolers has to be <155mm ie Mugen 5 (154.5mm) SE226 & 225 (154mm)

IMHO this is a dinosaur from Core2 era, i think ur dealer is trying to make you 'eat' their old unsold stocks leh.

Whatmore for such an ancient design the pricing is truly topkek for asking top dollars. It should not be more than RM160. Sorry to say but for that money can ady get dual tower AK620 with far far better performance

babylon52281
post Dec 20 2023, 10:15 AM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(Triton @ Dec 19 2023, 10:51 PM)
thanks but 4.7k without gpu is over my budget. I suspect gpu alone will be 2k++
5k these days are not a lot of money. Will need to use a lot of previous gen parts. If you need to fit in a GPU, try play around with these specs

CPU 13700F / 14700F (will come in Jan 2024)
MOBO MSI B660M-A DDR4
RAM 32GB (16x2) Corsair vengeance 3200 DDR4
GPU RX6700XT / RX6750XT / RX7700XT (or RTX 4070 if budget can still fit. 7800XT pun boleh but then will need to up the PSU to 750/850W Gold)
SSD 1TB either S70 Blade / Legend 960 / KC3000
PSU MSI MAG A650BN / FSP HVPRO 650W
Case Tecware Nexus Air / Montech Air 1000 (both ATX casing)
or else Nexus Air M2/Forge / Montech Air 100 (MATX casing)

Monitor not included the budget otherwise can only get office/productivity type cheapo monitors.

This will also work for you twkidd
babylon52281
post Dec 20 2023, 10:30 AM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 20 2023, 10:17 AM)
B660m a pro extinction liao... B760m a pro got.. hopefully more max version come out..
Online still can find but yeah prolly dealer channel ady stop selling. Pro B760m-A is just the updated one, still gooding. thumbsup.gif

PS I forgot to add cooler, but actually can use the Intel stock cooler if budget no more dy later can upgrade to big beefy towers Mugen5, SE226XT, or PA/PS120 /SE and then can unlock PL1 cap.
babylon52281
post Dec 20 2023, 09:15 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Dec 20 2023, 02:55 PM)
Maybe those list of PSUs could also be overkill for my spec. Here is the lower price range available from the store: (RM 200 - 400) and wonder if any of this also sufficient/efficient even after adding a GPU?

If can afford up to rm500 for PSU then its either Core Reactor or Hydro GPro. Both are Tier A actually but Im leaning to the Hydro as its made inhouse by FSP while Adata subcontracts to an OEM for their PSU and you might not know what funky thing they change inside.

FYI Dagger Pro is for SFX case. Perf not really an issue but often they have smaller cases and fan so PSU cooling is a bit lower. If ur getting a ATX/MATX case it might not fit (too small if the case not support SFX PSU).
babylon52281
post Dec 20 2023, 09:20 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(Waachaaa @ Dec 20 2023, 04:55 PM)
Hi all
Am looking for a pre-build Desktop

I am down to below options which meets my budget
Is there any of the options i should avoid? (due to the specs not compatible/brand/model/price not worth/etc)
Just give a budget and let sifu Myway quote you. Will kick all these prebuild asses with poor spec parts.
babylon52281
post Dec 20 2023, 09:26 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Dec 20 2023, 08:09 PM)
Any thought on those shopee rx 580/ rx 590 price about 300+?
How many tereds you wanna ask this? Rule of thumb when getting used, if you dont mind getting burnt then go ahead, if buy today kaputs next week, then make sure you got money to buy a new GPU or else just make sure you got a CPU with igpu & mobo to output video so you can still use ur PC while saving money to buy a new one.
babylon52281
post Dec 22 2023, 11:55 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(EpicStory1 @ Dec 22 2023, 02:16 AM)
Thanks for input so far.

If I may - would like to also seek for an alternative build suggestion for AMD GPU. And the CPU can be either Intel or AMD. I'm contemplating because I read RTX 40 series is just not really worth the money now and would be better to spend money on getting an AMD GPU card like RX7800XT or RX7900 if I were to go for 4070Ti. Or wait for RTX 50 series but realistically waiting forever is not viable either as there's always something better.

Budget can remain at 8.5K and purpose is to game mainly (ignoring design work).
If you keep to this same budget (rm9k) and topup just measly rm50, you can change out that 4070ti for a rx7900XT
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/sapphire...2420964334.html?
babylon52281
post Dec 22 2023, 11:56 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 22 2023, 02:17 PM)
All price going up . Next year tax from 6->8> 10%

If budget allow buy now ..

Ddr5 only beneficial if u use the top of the top line.. currently only i9 can see real 2 digit FPS increment from ddr4

I5 NO difference for D4 n d5
Tenkiu PMX! No wait it should be tenkiu rakyats for choosing PMX! doh.gif

Oso DDR5 performance gap can only be seen at 1080P. At 4K its basically the same.
https://www.techspot.com/review/2777-ddr5-vs-ddr4-gaming/

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 22 2023, 11:59 PM
babylon52281
post Dec 23 2023, 01:01 AM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 23 2023, 12:15 AM)
Its not totally our issue. Its DRAM and SSD price going up. Plus crappy ringgit.
Crappy ringgit (plus tax hike) is TOTALLY our issue. sad.gif
babylon52281
post Dec 23 2023, 11:23 AM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 23 2023, 08:06 AM)
Haha... U think if PN government it will become better? World economy it's mess . Plus war
I didnt say things would have been better under PN. Plus PN isnt the only other choice cool2.gif

World is a mess but some countries are doing much better at weathering it (look south, look north). Anyhow I have filled my DRAM needs (4x sticks) and stocked my SSD+storage needs for the foreseeable future. Will only left one M2 slot open for the next big change.

Yes I would add the chorus to all to buy RAM & SSD as DRAM & NAND chip prices have started trending higher with the stock cuts started since last month.
https://www.techspot.com/news/100491-dram-n...-upward-q4.html

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 23 2023, 11:37 AM
babylon52281
post Dec 24 2023, 02:12 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Dec 24 2023, 10:58 AM)
only ram and ssd prices going up next year?

i am planning to build a rig as well
In general looking at this year, whatever price reduction happening elsewhere have been countered with our falling RM so you dont see any price decrease which is bad becoz these 2 parts prices are rising again so the effect on local price hikes will be more drastic than just 6 -> 8% tax hike.

If going to build next year, I see a narrow sweetspot in whole of March 2024, when new 14th Core nonK has ady launched (mid Jan) and RTX Supers too (end-Jan to mid-Feb), these would replace the current gen so there are going to be good deals for previous gen parts plus just prior to tax hike rise. But since this window is so small, in general just try to get one right after these launches will do.

As for ur lappy i suspect something else is throttling ur system, most likely heat, and generally lappy parts are one tier below desktop spec so dont expect it to perform same as others
babylon52281
post Dec 24 2023, 02:30 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Dec 24 2023, 01:33 PM)
Budget max 8k wat can i build? The other day my acer nitro 5 added another 16gb ram but fps still below 30 when playing the isle. Lol i ask another guy his fps is 100 averagely and he us using gtx 4060
This from Myway is ur best option today (dont have to be all white as it was for another person)
i5-14600KF RM1,399.00
MSI z790 P wifi D4 RM1099
32GB 3600mhz kingston fury white rgb RM499.00
1TB KC3000 RM400.00
SApphire RX7800XT Pure (white) RM2999
1st player steampunk 850 gold RM399.00
thermalright frozen vision 360 white RM699.00
CM h500P White RM399
RM7893

But if for next year build;
14600K swap with 14700 nonK (8Pcores is now reco spec for AAA games) *no need bother with Ksku OCing stuff*
Z790 swap with B760M-A Wifi (same series but lower B760 chipset)
3600 DDR4 swap with 3200 (lower speed cuz nonK IMC cannot hit 3600 on XMP)
frozen vision 360 swap with PA/PS 120/SE (nonK no need AIO and no worries on pump failure)
Whatever budget saved push all to GPU RX7800XT(min)/4070Ti or RX7900XT/4080(if budget can still fit)
babylon52281
post Dec 24 2023, 02:59 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Dec 24 2023, 02:56 PM)
I saw the build u recommeded earlier what is the difference between intel processors K and KF? In layman term
K got igpu
KF is w/o igpu so u need a GPU card.
babylon52281
post Dec 24 2023, 08:18 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Dec 24 2023, 03:31 PM)
means K got integrated GPU but it's kind of useless as im getting a GPU right?

so a KF will do

btw if my processor is intel but GPU is AMD is it ok?
Why not? GPU is GPU, CPU is CPU.

BTW if ur not OCing, going Ksku is kinda pointless.
babylon52281
post Dec 24 2023, 11:19 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Dec 24 2023, 09:31 PM)
https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/best-gpus,4380.html

After RTX 4090, 4080, RX7900 XTX, RX 7900XT, RTX 4070 is RX7800 XT still considered low tier?
bro can comment in layman's term?

im kinda new sorry
Read up
https://www.cgdirector.com/intel-k-vs-kf-vs-f-cpus/

Knowing the difference meant getting what your paying for or else overpaying for something your not gonna use.

As for your GPU brands question you can also refer this
https://www.cgdirector.com/gpu-brands-amd-nvidia/

And a subtopic
https://www.cgdirector.com/is-pny-a-good-gpu-brand/

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 24 2023, 11:26 PM
babylon52281
post Dec 24 2023, 11:26 PM

2,681 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 24 2023, 11:26 PM
babylon52281
post Dec 25 2023, 02:51 AM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Dec 25 2023, 01:48 AM)
Hi sifu, i just bought ssd and ram

Ssd kingston kc3000 2tb
Ram kingston 3600mhz 16gb x 2
Is it okay? Good deal? Compatible with pc right?

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Dec 25 2023, 02:52 AM

76 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0466sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:07 PM