76 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

babylon52281
post Sep 25 2023, 11:54 AM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Sep 25 2023, 10:52 AM)
Hi sifus, I want to replace my 10 years old old i5-3550 PC and I need you help to put together a new PC.
[Budget]
5-6k

[Purpose]
Gaming and streaming to friend on discord

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
GPU 1080ti. I am considering upgrading to RTX4000 series next year

[Monitor resolution]
currently dual 1080p monitor. I am considering upgrading main monitor to 1440p next year.

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
FF14, Genshin & HSR are my main game. But I am into AAA game like Cyberpunk too.

[Personal preferences]
Need built-in Wifi.
I typically will use my PC for 5-10 years, so I'm thinking a 7800x3D build should last me a very long time. But it is not a must.

[Location]
Penang island
If ur not a PC enthusiast and knows to do some system instability troubleshooting, better to stay away from Ryzen or the very least go with AM4 as it has reached platform maturity.

Otherwise the minimum is something like i7 nonK + Bseries ATX mobo tht capable for PL2 unlocked or basic Z690/Z790

Wait for sifus recos...
babylon52281
post Sep 26 2023, 10:38 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Sep 25 2023, 12:04 PM)
It would be interesting if u are at the high end. Then u will see and experienced it in a different manner rather than always on the value.

Intel platform doesn't really require lots of bios updates unless it's a major one.
All those frequent updates are nice to have but not a necessity unless it's meant for a big fix.
Fyi, the last time I update the bios was last year. Couldn't be bothered with it. Then I throw in a new set of ram few days ago, runs fine at 6600 on first boot despite a year old bios. Won't be flashing it until 14900k arrives.

Speaking of bioses, Asus has the best one around. So sometimes, it's worth paying a premium for its Mobo (and it's bios). Lots of ppl saying this is Asus tax, well that's the reality.
And sure enough, there's the infamous Giga bios. One forumer even described it as qualify to be used as a Door Stopper only (the Mobo).
Yeah, helangs will see things differently being so high up. Too bad most of us don't have such privilege. sweat.gif
Unfortunately in Msia, high end hardware is expensive (relative to income per capita) plus our RM is like shit now. Not many of us can close eye go into shop and ask them: "build me the best PC money can buy". Which is the reason why people come this tered to ask, so they can get value for their money and not being waterfishes.

Bios update gotta see whats the reason. Asrock does it to expand XMP compatibility and enabling compatibility with newer CPU releases (see Update Microcode).

Colorful bios seems too far in between and either they are super stable that dont need new bios, very slow to support new CPUs, or they just slow to update support which could be big trouble if ur facing some instability issue. This isnt the same as Ryzen where keeps getting fortnight bios releases to try fix an inherent platform issue.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Sep 26 2023, 10:39 PM
babylon52281
post Sep 26 2023, 10:55 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Sep 26 2023, 08:25 AM)
Not really an PC enthusiast but I do value problem-free part hahaha
As long as the new PC will last me 5-10 years, even I have to play 50-60fps, I'm a happy man
The reco from Myway will do fine for next 5 years at least. Ur 1080Ti can last another 2 years, maybe more if ur can run FSR3. Target to change GPU in 2025 when Blackwell should come out promising 70% more perf than Ada.
But 10 years? Hmm hard to say if ur used to high end performance level ady.
babylon52281
post Sep 26 2023, 11:09 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 26 2023, 08:46 PM)
both ram same chip thou.. same distributor oso..XD
Some RAM maker do extra to differentiate themselves like using more PCB layers or higher level of copper inside for better OCing. Also makers with better reps are less prone to swap RAM chips (ie Crucial, Gskill) so ur know what ur getting unlike say Kingston or Adata.
babylon52281
post Sep 27 2023, 04:15 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 27 2023, 07:29 AM)
hehe... the cvn n predator both oem ram.. hard to say when he will secretly change ship le
Which is why the US popular brands with PC enthusiasts (Crucial & Gskill) are more predictable on the chips used so the performance is also around expected. OEM RAMS unless get really high speed kits (ie >7000 MHZ) then it can be from any supplier. In the past with DDR4 people learned to spot coveted Bdies based on RAM stick timings, but not so easy for DDR5 now.

Some in PC community have been narrowing down the timings on the hunt for hidden Adies, similar to that CVN & Predator. I would advice buyers interested to quickly buy now b4 they change out the RAM chips.
babylon52281
post Sep 27 2023, 04:34 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 27 2023, 01:40 PM)
dominator mean to terminate ur wallet.. XD
Buildzoid luvs his Dom Plats. But these are truly atas RAMS more for edge case OCing to the walls. If one can afford it, these are gr8 kits and super stable for OC play around. But for 99% users like us, this is overbuild & overpriced for daily usage PC.
babylon52281
post Oct 15 2023, 10:46 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Oct 15 2023, 06:14 PM)
Gaming on a Budget. ( I mean really tight Budget, ppl)
Low budget builds for entry level.

U only need to consider these 2 cards.

Arc A750 below 1k
Arc A770 8gb variant, 1.2k custom phantom gaming card

Priced seriously at a steal. They re more attractive than either red or green.
Performance slower than Red or Green, lousy software support, locked access from Afterburner, instability issues with some games, and slow driver support when new games launched. Buy only if you dont mind playing months after a game came out so that Intel can fix it first.
babylon52281
post Oct 17 2023, 11:19 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Oct 16 2023, 01:12 AM)
It's Not for you. This meant for entry level CaSuAL gaming.
One can't complain much at this price level.
Even a mediocre product can be viable if the price is attractive.
Especially if that custom model is marked down very near to 1k.
Even CaSuAL gamers has self worth to knows to choose better than that.

Lower price for lower performance. Yeah so? Get a 6600 or 6700 series if want lower performance for lesser money, still better than ARC. Want better performance? Get used cards.

Intel GPU is in its first generation so as with all things pioneer it has inherent issues and did not have the same level of support that Red or Green has built up for decades (working drivers b4 launch or even zero day hotfixes). If it can last, perhaps it will start competing in 3rd gen or so but without a GPU specialist helming after Raja left, even Arc's future is uncertain past Battlemage.

CaSuAL gamers are usually strapped for cash, something not that you concern it seems, and those like us will want eke out every performance for as long as possible but if Intel cut loose and ends Arc a few years down the line, it will hurt a lot of gamers more than those who have money to spend on another GPU.
babylon52281
post Oct 18 2023, 11:44 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Oct 18 2023, 02:36 AM)
If current location can't find any trustworthy pc store to build, will lonovo legion tower be good for gaming??
I have used a Lenovo gaming laptop for 10 years b4 building my own system, mine been rock solid but I dunno how is the quality these days. Prebuilds are never good value for money tho and they are pretty much the same same build quality so buy whichever is cheaper/meets ur needs.

Ur from Penang Island rite? I think someone mentioned Idealtech is also there so can ask them to build a PC for you. Search a few pages back there was a reco in island.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Oct 18 2023, 11:50 PM
babylon52281
post Oct 18 2023, 11:57 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Oct 18 2023, 12:14 PM)
What's the problem with u??? There's some inadequacies in you.
I am not belittling anyone. Be it in the high end space or low.
And I declare that I do not have any personal interest in some of the recommendations I made.

There's always a segment of CASUAL gamers who don't bother with the latest and greatest AAA games released. They just want to enjoy games as it is be it new games or older releases. Doesn't mean they are totally strapped of cash as u portrayed. And there's a segment who rather keep the budget as low as possible while still able to game on an entry level. And those that quote xxxx budget amt here doesn't mean they can't afford to exceed it. I believe a majority can stretch it, just a personal choice.
And getting a new arc a750 8gb custom card for rm8xx and possibly lower (depending on how u buy) is a good economic choice at the entry level.
Aint my problem when someone acts all haughty and giving poor advice to less well off people to make poor choices. ARC might be the only choice soon but for now CASUAL gamers have better choices for their money while RX 6600/6700 stocks last. You have no idea how budget gamers operate on a tight budget.
babylon52281
post Oct 18 2023, 11:59 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Oct 18 2023, 10:23 PM)
as far as i know about DELL PC / laptop, they are quite popular amongst corporate / companies for the aftersales services to corporate / companies.
for personal consumer usage, i'm not sure.
Dell factory and main warehouse is located in Penang so can expect top notch service from them there.
babylon52281
post Oct 19 2023, 09:42 AM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 19 2023, 12:12 AM)
Alienware lo.. haha.. Dell gaming G n Alienware r solid[B].. the low end 3 series forced to be removed becoz terrible review..

Err.. is it kah? sweat.gif

babylon52281
post Oct 19 2023, 09:45 AM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Oct 19 2023, 01:50 AM)
Wasting my time with ppl like u. Begone!
This is indeed trash forum.
Epic Karen moment there bro lol.gif
babylon52281
post Oct 19 2023, 12:26 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 19 2023, 10:50 AM)
This old failure .. r15..240mm straight.. r13 memang fail

Btw he talk bout laptop
Umm, OP was asking for PC tower tho... sweat.gif
babylon52281
post Oct 19 2023, 07:01 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 19 2023, 02:41 PM)
he post both place.. laptop n tower
Ohh? He got ask other place ka? Maybe got so lar I dunno cuz here his asking only PC tho...

babylon52281
post Oct 19 2023, 10:04 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 19 2023, 07:33 PM)
he got ask at lenovo group
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif cheers.gif
babylon52281
post Oct 21 2023, 12:45 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Oct 20 2023, 10:07 PM)
[B][Budget] RM4000?

[Purpose] FPGA development

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor

[Monitor resolution] 3440x1440

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Intel Quartus, AMD Vivado

[Personal preferences] Integrated graphic is enough as no gaming, fast CPU with large cache, 32GB DDR4 memory, 2TB NVME SSD, built in wifi, easy accessible USB3 port, silent

[Location] Penang
If CPU speed and cache size dependant then perhaps can go for 5800X3D, B550 mobo, 32GB DDR4

Or if hunt for good bargains

7800X3D, midrange A620, 32GB DDR5 6000. Easily 3x more cache size than 14700K!!!

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Oct 21 2023, 12:56 PM
babylon52281
post Oct 21 2023, 03:45 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Oct 21 2023, 12:59 PM)
X3D cache does nothing outside gaming. Its proven over and over every review sites.
Its super massive cache that will help certain dependent applications...
babylon52281
post Oct 21 2023, 03:49 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 21 2023, 02:31 PM)
AMD expo failure not stable for workload .. my nightmare still
For work PC, dont turn on Expo keep at Jedec speeds DDR5 5200 is also plenty fast dy.
babylon52281
post Oct 21 2023, 06:02 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Oct 21 2023, 03:55 PM)
No, it doesn't. I've yet to see one.

It's just a gaming chip. Thats about it.
https://www.techpowerup.com/review/amd-ryze...7800x3d/27.html
Err okay then... just to mention that FPGA development is very very very niche more rare than the usual software or game creation, or audiovisual applications stuff.
I havent seen a review bench for Quartus, Xilinx, Mentor Graphics or other PLD developmental programs out in the wild either so I cant say ur reference is accurate or not, but if the user knows his application is cache heavy dependent and it can make use of X3D tech it might well be more advantageous to go with AM5. Just saying.

76 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0632sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:17 PM