13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

mbr
post Nov 26 2018, 04:28 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Nov 26 2018, 04:02 PM)
hi good evening all, just helping my friend

Budget : 5k

He has listed down some stuff below

But I would like to see if there are other better hardware that he can get for his money
Case
CM MasterBox TD500L
PSU
CM V650
Mobo
Gigabyte Aorus Pro WiFi
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600x
GPU
Asus RX580
RAM
HDD
WD 1TB
SSD
Kingston A1000 M.2 NVME
Monitor

As per the list, there are a few recommendations he need

1) RAM - 16GB??
2) Monitor - Any freesync monitor
3) Is Ryzen 5 2600x better or Ryzen 7 1700 better?

thank you brothers
I suppose they are going for gaming? Any particular games or software? At what resolution?
mbr
post Nov 26 2018, 04:48 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Nov 26 2018, 04:30 PM)
AAA FPS titles like BF4

1080p and above
Like that can consider i5-8400 also (unless really prefer Ryzen)

Why?

1. Slightly cheaper: i5-8400 (799) vs Ryzen 5 2600x (899)
2. In case of GPU problem, 8400 has integrated GPU for you to trouble shoot and hang on while waiting for RMA
3. Intel platform not tempting you to get more expensive RAM to perform better. Ryzen likes 3000-3200MHZ, Intel ok with 2400-2666MHz
4. Performance is comparable, so you are not missing out much
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ats6AYz6Z3I

For Rx580, I guess it is ok as you want to work with Freesync. But some say forget about Adaptive Sync and just go for better bang for buck, at which the GTX 1060 6GB (RM1099 for Galax at Viewnet) might save more, and you could even opt for GTX 1070 Ti (1899 at viewnet), as Vega 56/64 are still crazy priced.
mbr
post Nov 26 2018, 08:34 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(tryingtolearn @ Nov 26 2018, 06:16 PM)
[Budget] RM1.5k [Lower the better if possible]

[Purpose] 24/7 PC. Will populate with 2-4 HDD in the future.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Monitor resolution] No Monitor. Headless.

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Want to run either multiple linux VM or Linux with multiple containers. No resource heavy applications.

[Personal preferences] Want to start with Athlon 200GE and upgrade when I'm able to. Want a MATX/ATX with 4 RAM Slots, can accept Ryzen 7 1xxx/2xxx CPUs in the future. Cheapest 250GB SSD. 8GB RAM. Used casing is okay.

[Location] Ipoh but don't mind going to KL to get the items or online.
Barebones PC:
CPU: ATHLON 200GE (235)
Mboard: ASUS PRIME B350M-A (349)
RAM: DDR4-2666 8GB (around 270) Make sure it is compatible!
PSU: CM MWE 450W (189)
SSD: Kingston A400 240GB (155)
Casing: Tecware Core MATX (89)

Current total: 1287

Is this what you wanted? With that processor and RAM, unsure if you can do multiple Linux VM.
mbr
post Nov 26 2018, 08:42 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(kevin916587 @ Nov 26 2018, 06:47 PM)
i5-8400/8500, H310M mobo, GTX1050Ti 4GB, 8GB ram, with PSU, casing, HDD and SSD, roughly how muhc in the market now?
Help yourself to the many price lists around:

http://www.viewnet.com.my/downloads/viewne...y_pricelist.pdf
http://www.compu-zone.com/index.php/price-...ownloads-in-pdf
http://www.thundermatch.com.my/price_list
https://www.jayacom.com.my/jayacom-retails-price-lists

QUOTE(iamtheone2020 @ Nov 26 2018, 07:09 PM)
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Processor with Wraith Prism LED Cooler
Mobo: MSI Performance Gaming AMD X470 Ryzen 2 AM4 DDR4 Onboard Graphics CFX ATX Motherboard (X470 Gaming PRO)
GPU: PNY NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB XLR8 Gaming Overclocked Graphics Card
RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3000MHz C15
SSD: Samsung 970 EVO 1TB - NVMe PCIe M.2 2280 SSD

Hi sifus, the above are what im having so far.Buying bit by bit since last month.. Im looking for a casing and psu recommendation. Also is it necessary to buy a HDD ? i dont use above 1tb in my current desktop. This will be my first upgrade after 9 years . I have only another 1k to spend..
1. What kind of case depends on some factors
a. whether you plan to do water cooling in the future
b. how much stuff you want to add in the PC (eg how many HDD, how long is your GC)
c. Do you want to display your components and lighting?

2. HDD is prefered if you want to save some items that are not often used. It is not advisable to fill up your SSD beyond 80% capacity. Dont be surprised if large files like high def media come in fast once you get addicted to speed.

mbr
post Nov 26 2018, 08:46 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Nov 26 2018, 04:55 PM)
thanks for this valuable input

will relay this info to my friend
As for monitors... Ask your friend what is more important... graphical details or frame rate or resolution?

Usually you get to choose 2 of 3... that would determine the model

Good details generally mean IPS and usually you are stuck with 60-75 Hz refresh, but you have affordable options up to 2k display

Fast frames of 120-144 Hz generally mean TN/VA panels, with VA usually has slightly better looking details.

Check the monitor threads for more explanations and poisons https://forum.lowyat.net/MonitorDiscussions
mbr
post Nov 26 2018, 10:39 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(kevin916587 @ Nov 26 2018, 09:59 PM)
hi bro,
1) i5 8400 or 8500, to choose?
2) ASUS H310M-K mobo, is it future proof? i mean can i upgrade my hardwares in the future?
1. 8400 is pretty capable. The 8500 is slightly faster but not so much difference. Both cannot overclock

2. If want to upgrade stuff, better choose at lease B360/H370. You could upgrade to intel 9 series too...
mbr
post Nov 26 2018, 10:43 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(tryingtolearn @ Nov 26 2018, 10:02 PM)
This is great! Can I know the Motherboard and PSU sufficient enough for Ryzen 7 1700 or 2700? And if I go with the 1700/2700, what low power/low cost GPU should I pair it with?

I'm okay with running just one OS now [no VM] with multiple container. Currently running a Raspberry Pi with about 8 containers, its okay but looking for something much more powerful.
Thanks again.
Motherboard yes, PSU not recommended. Might consider something with at least 80 bronze rating as you are going to have it on 24/7. Maybe look at superflower leadex silver eco line?

Low power low cost GPU? You mean like GT 730 and GT 1030?
mbr
post Nov 27 2018, 06:36 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Nov 27 2018, 01:14 AM)
[B][Budget] RM2000

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] My preference is to maintain most of it
Here is what I currently have

[Monitor resolution] 1080p, I already have a BENQ XL2411P

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Current gen games, I find that my copy of Street Fighter 5 slows down terribly when I use some character mods.

[Personal preferences]
I prefer to upgrade only one or two items in my current hardware. I am fine with how most things are right now, I just find it weird that I get slow down when I'm playing SF5 with mods.
Then again, my PC is 10 years old.

[Location] KL
Complete upgrading of your rig is recommended.

i5-8400 with B360 motherboard and 8gb ddr4-2400 (around rm1450)
add a decent 250gb ssd (eg samsung 860 evo at rm280) and good 550w psu (eg superflower silver eco at rm260)

Can reuse your R9 380 and hdd.
mbr
post Nov 27 2018, 03:43 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Nov 27 2018, 01:40 PM)
I've got several questions,

1. Is the slowdown I'm facing while gaming due to the processor or RAM?
2. If I doubled my budget, would you recommend that I still use the same GPU?
1. likely CPU. you could check through monitoring cpu and gpu usage while gaming. See whichever seems to be running like 95++% when the stutters happen. 16gb ddr3 is a bit hard to fault.

2. At 4k budget, I would recommend GPU upgrade to a gtx1070Ti. You would be comfortably running games at 1080p for a couple of years at high or ultra settings. That will be 3 tiers above your r9 380

https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gpu-hierarchy,4388.html

This post has been edited by mbr: Nov 27 2018, 03:47 PM
mbr
post Nov 27 2018, 09:37 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(GGikhwan @ Nov 27 2018, 09:16 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion. If i dont want the 1tb hard disk as I have my external hard disk. I kept almost all of my work in there. What can i improve? GC or Cpu? And i have raise my budget to around 3.2k to.include monitor. What monitor can i get?
i5-8400 (799)
GIGABYTE B360M-D2V (339)
KINGSTON D4 PC2400 8GB (260)
SAPPHIRE RX570 4G NITRO+ (699)
SAMSUNG 860 EVO 500GB (470)
Cooler Master MWE 450W (189)
Tecware NEXUS TG MATX (139)

Monitor: LG 22MK430H (355)
IPS, Full HD (1080p), FreeSync https://www.lg.com/my/monitors/lg-22MK430H-B

Performance? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wr1FsEyQKVg

Total RM 3250 (C-zone)

This post has been edited by mbr: Nov 27 2018, 09:38 PM
mbr
post Nov 28 2018, 08:50 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(kevin916587 @ Nov 28 2018, 07:55 AM)
Hi, sorry, last question, i guess? 😅 would like to ask
i5 8400 vs Ryzen 5 2400G? Which to choose?
2400G is good if you want to do work without a GPU, kind of a value option. Just good enough but not great either for gaming or productivity. Will it save you money? That depends.
mbr
post Nov 29 2018, 09:10 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(GGikhwan @ Nov 29 2018, 08:46 AM)
Thanks again. Btw, i notice that c-zone sells their ryzen 5 2600 at 650. Is it a good option?
Intel config:
i5-8400 (799)
GIGABYTE B360M-D2V (339)
KINGSTON D4 PC2400 8GB (260)
Estimated total: RM 2900

AMD config:
RYZEN 5 2600 (649)
GIGABYTE B450M-DS3H (329)
KINGSTON D4 PC3200 HYPERX 8GB (305) *Check compatibility
Estimated total: 2780

Both equally good value, but you need to learn how to overclock the Ryzen 5 2600 a bit and change settings on motherboard to accommodate DDR4-3200

Gaming comparison: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nS-t2Z0Wc3I

This post has been edited by mbr: Nov 29 2018, 09:14 AM
mbr
post Nov 30 2018, 12:15 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(GnomeMage @ Nov 29 2018, 10:30 PM)
Budget below 2.7k
Purpose & software/games : watch tv box, use excel, need to be able to handle multiple heavily filled excel sheets opened at the same time, programming like sql, python, java, play some mid range popular games like dota 2 and world of tanks (doesnt have to play with the best graphic settings).

Reused hardware : i hope to scavenge the casing, hdd and ram and power supply and cooling system

Monitor resolution : i wish to use dual monitor anything above or around 1366 x 768

Personal preference : i5 core + 1 ssd + nvidia graphic card

Obviously the core and motherboard and graphic card needs to be replaced as they are outdated. But will the ram, power supply, hdd, case still be compatible with the new components?

Pic attached, if need upclose pic of certain component let me know.
http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Product/P...20-LL-Intel-RR-
That is an old LGA 775 board... so it will be using DDR2

The only thing worth reusing is the casing and MAYBE the HDD if still in good shape (run proper testing... could be close to end of life)

Just go with

i3-8100 (499)
GIGABYTE B360M-D2V (339)
16GB DDR4-2400 (500)
SAPPHIRE RX570 4G PULSE ITX (650) *Better than GTX1050Ti at this price point
SAMSUNG 860 EVO 250GB (260)
FSP HEXA+ 500W (159)

Then get monitors with your remaining sum
Note: i5-8400 is around RM 799, probably overkill for your needs.

==========================

Alternatively using Ryzen 2400G and no GPU

Ryzen 5 2400G (599)
PRIME A320M-K (219)
KINGSTON D4 PC3200 HYPERX 16GB (610) *Check compatibility
SAMSUNG 860 EVO 250GB (260)
FSP HEXA+ 500W (159)

Total RM 1850

world of tanks
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2geRPYeS0DY
mbr
post Nov 30 2018, 08:40 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 30 2018, 08:35 AM)
Excel responds well to core count and clock speed.

https://www.techspot.com/review/1614-ryzen-2600/page2.html
Yes, but at the budget given, it is hard to justify the i5-8400, unless getting the GT1030 GPU for his gaming needs. He still wants to fit multiple monitors into the budget, I think.

And opening heavy files is not the same as performing calculations such as the Monte Carlo simulations, right? Thus the 16GB RAM but 4 cores selection.
mbr
post Nov 30 2018, 08:52 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 30 2018, 08:46 AM)
For low budget gaming rigs, ignore the SSD. Dont need to increase quality of the parts as well.

Core i5-8400 - 799
MSI H310M Pro-VD - 249
Kingston 8GB DDR4-2666 X2 - 518
Sapphire RX 570 4GB Pulse ITX - 650 (from C-Zone)
Reuse hard disk
FSP Hexa+ 500W - 159
I seriously have reservations for that HDD for anything important, though... I had several WD 500GB failing after 4-5 years. And he did request for SSD, so I thought... why not?
mbr
post Nov 30 2018, 09:13 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 30 2018, 08:56 AM)
How about these?

Core i5-8500 - 899
Asus Prime H370-Plus - 449
Kingston 8GB DDR4-2666 X2 - 518
Intel 760P 256GB M.2 PCIE - 329
Seagate or WD 1TB - 179
Corsair TX650M - 379
Corsair Carbide 275R Case - 319

RM3072 total (Viewnet prices)

Like I said, budget issue. SSD does not improve performance. Just load times. He can either enjoy a good rig, or SSD with less performance. He can easily add SSD in the future.
Adding SSD and have it as the OS drive is not something they might want to do on their own, though. Other than that, I agree with your points.
mbr
post Nov 30 2018, 10:23 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(GnomeMage @ Nov 30 2018, 10:06 AM)
When my dad gave me the desktop he gave me the monitor mouse keyboard and the dongle for wifi as well. So i dont need to buy those. I just need to get 1 more monitor. So i5 better?
i5 better than i3, of course... Whether it is a 'value upgrade' depends on what you need to do. But go ahead with i5 if it fits your budget.
mbr
post Dec 1 2018, 01:26 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(GnomeMage @ Dec 1 2018, 11:30 AM)
Hi sweat.gif may i know where u get those price?

I googled and the price is higher

Rx570 costs rm829
16gb ram costs rm550

2nd is ... can desktop function with no gpu?
Check out C-zone for their GPU promo
http://www.compu-zone.com/index.php/price-...ownloads-in-pdf
mbr
post Dec 1 2018, 05:26 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(hoxxaf @ Dec 1 2018, 02:28 PM)
Hi.

Currently this is my rig. Any suggestion for the upgrades? Budget around rm2k

Proc: intel g4560
Gpu: zotac 1050 Ti Mini
Ram: gskills aegis 8gb
Hdd: toshiba 1tb hdd
Case : xfive n2
Mobo: Asrock H110M-HDS LGA1151
CPU upgrade:
check mobo support
i7-6700 (750) https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4700960
i7-7700 (900) https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4533065

GPU upgrade:
GTX 1060 6GB (used RM 650-850, new RM 1050-1250)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4698491
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4701732
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4653982

SATA SSD:
*Get models with DRAM cache such as Crucial MX500, Samsung 860
250GB should be RM 260-290
500GB should be RM 420-500
mbr
post Dec 1 2018, 10:59 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(Sliiick @ Dec 1 2018, 08:31 PM)

Can someone help me to choose a new case close to tecware nexus m looks. Looking for matx case with enough clearance for AIO mounted on top .

Im currently on nexus m case and trying to find some option to make it more cooler for noise reduction. Im unable to mount the AIO(ID Cooling 240) with fans on top as it is hitting the ram, currently mounted it on the front, adding more heat to my gpu.
Probably better to ask in casing side? https://forum.lowyat.net/CasingsandModifications

13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0972sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:55 PM