13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

mbr
post Oct 30 2018, 12:53 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(gtjurtu @ Oct 29 2018, 10:13 PM)
Hi everyone.. looking forward to buy new desktop... kindly recommend  me apropriate setup based on my budget.. tq

[Budget] : Around RM 2.5k

[Purpose] : Data analysis using SPSS, movie streaming, office work,  occasional basic game like dota2

[Hardwares that will be re-use] : -

[Monitor resolution]: 1920 x 1080 (already got acer nitro vg270 monitor)

[Games & softwares that use frequently]: SPSS, DOTA

[Personal preferences]: SSD n 1TB HDD

[Location] : KL/Johor/Kelantan
Not high spec required.

intel:
I3-8100, h310 motherboard and 8gb ddr4-2400 (1050-1150)
250gb ssd and 1tb hdd (400-550)
casing and 400-550w psu (250-450)
gpu is optional, eg GT1030 (300)

amd:
ryzen 2400G, B450 motherboard, 8gb ddr4-2666 (1400-1550)
250gb ssd and 1tb hdd (400-550)
casing and 400-550w psu (250-450)

compare: https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/amd-ry...gpu,5467-7.html
mbr
post Nov 5 2018, 09:49 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(WinterEnix @ Nov 5 2018, 09:18 PM)
[Budget] 4k
[Purpose] Gaming & multimedia
[Hardwares that will be re-use] rtx 2070, ssd*1 hdd*3
[Monitor resolution] 1440p
[Games & softwares that use frequently] GTAV, Warframe & BF1
[Personal preferences] Possible for i7?
[Location] Selangor
i7-8700K (1600)
Cryorig H7 (280-300)
Asus TUF Z370 PLUS GAMING II (880)
Kingston Fury DDR4-2666 8GB x2 (600)
Corsair RMX650 (500)
Thermaltake Versa H25 (170)

Price: RM 3750 (viewnet) + cooler (280-300)

Alternative is to go with i7-8700 with asus-tuf-h370-pro-gaming-wifi, then get a better M.2 SSD (cant recall if support NVME)

This post has been edited by mbr: Nov 5 2018, 09:53 PM
mbr
post Nov 5 2018, 09:53 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Nov 5 2018, 09:50 PM)
8700k requires a cooler biggrin.gif
I know... I didnt list at first coz still looking for CM Hyper212... but viewnet list is kinda sparse
mbr
post Nov 7 2018, 09:28 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Nov 7 2018, 08:54 PM)
But based on ur experience is there any disadvantage for having everything so compact in a small case? Do u recommend to do so? Or safer to just go for the 120mm?
Disadvantage of small cases:

1. Small space to work with
-Changing and maintaining parts (cleaning fans, radiators, etc)
-Cable management
-Limited GPU that can fit
-Reduced space for HDDs

2. Ventilation issues due to packing many things inside that space, eg unused cables hanging around
-Even if you AIO for CPU, GPU needs to be cooled and that requires good ventilation

3. Limited choices of PSU that would fit well
-There are some good models around but would be pricey also la
-Installation in some cases may require dismantling a lot of parts

4. Noise
-Lack of noise dampening structures for small compact casing
-Not too bad if you have headphones

5. Limiting size of motherboards
-may lose out on some features
-Cost more for ITX

This post has been edited by mbr: Nov 7 2018, 09:29 PM
mbr
post Nov 11 2018, 10:52 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(bryanhwm @ Nov 11 2018, 09:25 PM)
[Budget] - MYR3000 (exlcuding desktop and keyboards)

[Purpose] - soft photo & video (4K quality) editing & light gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - NIL

[Monitor resolution] 1080? not sure on this. please advice .

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - Dota 2 & Overwatch

[Personal preferences] - Not sure how it works, but looking to have min 3 internal harddisk to store my files.

[Location] - KL
Thanks in advance.
Erm... excluding desktop?

Are you planning to edit 4k videos on a lower res monitor? https://www.quora.com/Do-I-really-need-a-4k...n-to-edit-in-4k

For your desktop, should you choose to have one, I would prefer Ryzen 5 2600, B350 motherboard, 16GB DDR4-2666 and GTX1050 for around RM 2400. But adding 3 x 1TB HDD, 550W PSU and a casing will be roughly RM 900. So overall cost around RM 3300-3500

To save cost, you could go with i5-8400 and lower priced B360 motherboard, same GTX 1050 and just 8GB DDR4... that should get you down to RM3000

Alternatively:
Ryzen 2400G + B350 motherboard (RM 1100-1200)
8GB DDR4-2666 + 550W PSU + Casing (RM 670-750)
250GB SSD + 2TB HDD x 3 (RM 950-1050)

Overwatch with 2400G: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x49US_2avFA
mbr
post Nov 12 2018, 05:12 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(bryanhwm @ Nov 12 2018, 04:30 PM)
Thanks for the reply.
yeah, currently having a samsung monitor, p4s purpose.

icon_rolleyes.gif
Why 3 HDD needed? To store different stuff or bigger space??

I mean rather than 3 x 1 TB (RM 180 x 3 = RM 540), might as well get 2 x 2 TB (RM 245 x 2 = RM 490)
mbr
post Nov 12 2018, 06:37 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Nov 12 2018, 06:25 PM)
Hi, I need a small/compact desktop connect to LED TV for movies, youtube, and music.

[Budget] - RM500 possible? pls advise

[Purpose] - for entertainment 

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - NIL

[Monitor resolution] - not required

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - windows, internet browser & media players

[Personal preferences] - need to have HDMI output

[Location] - KL
Thanks yaa....
1. Google Chrome
2. Android based TV box
2. Raspberry Pi 3 or other SBC

Or buy refurbished PC for that price
mbr
post Nov 13 2018, 12:08 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(ASSKICKERr @ Nov 13 2018, 11:49 AM)
Hello..im currently surveying and looking for an ideal pc gaming..hope otai2 can help huhu..second hand parts also can..

[Budget]not exceed RM4000

[Purpose]gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use]Monitor

[Personal preferences]intel,nvidia

[Location] terengganu
Ideal with second hand parts? Cool thought!

Get these from garage sales:

Processor: i5-8400 https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4688934
Motherboard B360 https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4657559
GPU: GTX 1080 https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4678259
8GB DDR4-2666 (RM 300)
subtotal: 3050-3100

Then add
Samsung EVO 850/860 250Gb SATA III SSD (RM 240-260, find online store)
1TB HDD (RM 180)
Superflower leadex Gold 550W https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4647402
Casing (RM 120-180)
subtotal: RM 840-920

Things ok to buy used: Processor, Casing, GPU (ensure still has warranty), RAM (usual lifetime warranty, get receipt)
Things prefered new or lightly used: Motherboard, HDD, PSU

This post has been edited by mbr: Nov 13 2018, 12:12 PM
mbr
post Nov 17 2018, 03:12 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Nov 17 2018, 11:47 AM)
Sifus, if I am looking to build a rig for games that doesn't require a powerful pc, what would be the budget I should set for the CPU/Graphics Card or even motherboard? Is it better to go for the AMD route rather than Intel?

Games that I intend to play: Dota 2, Prison Architect, (Maybe if possible PUBG at even the lowest quality).

Other than gaming, I'll be using it just for basic use like browsing internet, watching videos and using spreadsheets etc.
Consider 2400G with 8gb ddr4-3000 on a B350 board.
Pair with SSD, 500w PSU and a casing.

If you still think you need better gaming next time just add a GPU like 1050ti or better
mbr
post Nov 17 2018, 10:41 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Nov 17 2018, 09:57 PM)
Actually, if Im thinking of using the i5-8400 and GTX 1050Ti, what are the some mother board I can pair them with? Sorry if this sounds stupid but through some research, I see that not all motherboard can suit all CPU/GPU  :confused:
It is not stupid... It is all because of architecture. You might not know it but back in the days, AMD produced 32bit chips that are sharing same socket as Intel. But market decisions happen and AMD had to come up with their own chips and eventually came up with the 64 bit standard.

Are you sure you want to use i5-8400?? That is quite powerful, unlike what you requested earlier. Even i3-8100 is probably plenty for light gaming that you want to do.

Just pair it with the GTX 1050ti is adequate, on a B360 (or even H310) motherboard.
mbr
post Nov 20 2018, 09:28 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(GGikhwan @ Nov 19 2018, 10:50 PM)
[Budget] 3k
[Purpose] For office work and light gaming
[Hardwares that will be re-use] keyboard and mouse
[Monitor resolution] 1080p
[Games & softwares that use frequently] normal office work software. A bit of autocad. Game that i will have for sure is football manager.
[Personal preferences] An Ssd for fast boot time. I kept most of work file in external hard disk. So i can easilly transfer between office pc and home laptop currently.
Core items

i3-8100 (499)
GIGABYTE B360M-D2V (339)
KINGSTON D4 PC2400 8GB (260)
ZOTAC GTX1050 TI 4G MINI (739)
SAMSUNG 860 EVO 500GB (485)
WD BARRACUDA DESKTOP 1TB (175)
Cooler Master MWE 450W (189)
Tecware NEXUS TG MATX (139)

Total = 2825 (C-zone, 12 Nov)
mbr
post Nov 20 2018, 09:44 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(celee @ Nov 20 2018, 03:03 AM)
[Budget] 3.9 ~ 5k (exclude monitor)
[Purpose] Able to play AAA gaming (high), PUBG (high), warframe new open world map
[Monitor resolution] Please recommend suitable monitor for the GPU (budget 1k below?)
For monitor, wants to have a decent one that can utilize the graphic card. no need too high end
Suggested:

CORE I5 8400 (799)
GIGABYTE B360M AORUS GAMING 3 (399)
KINGSTON D4 PC2666 8GB x 2 (530)
ZOTAC GTX1070TI 8G AMP (1849)
SAMSUNG 860 EVO 500GB (485)
BARRACUDA DESKTOP 1TB (175)
Superflower LEADEX II GOLD 650W (415)
Cooler Master MASTERBOX LITE 3.1 TG (189)

Total = 4841 (C-Zone, 12 Nov)

Suggested monitor: Acer XF240H
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/acer-xf2...s131779242.html
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/genuine-...s642670330.html
mbr
post Nov 20 2018, 11:10 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(celee @ Nov 20 2018, 09:54 PM)
Thank you for suggestions. Can you suggest me a build if i were to just run at medium settings? want to know the price difference
Hmm... For medium settings:

Gpu
Or gtx 1050 Ti mini at around rm739
(Others like Rx 570 are good too)

Ram:
Ddr4-2400 8gb RM260

Ssd: you could also opt for 250gb SSD instead of 500gb, further saving around rm210.

Other parts are more or less recommended for gaming.

This post has been edited by mbr: Nov 20 2018, 11:33 PM
mbr
post Nov 20 2018, 11:30 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(flywolf @ Nov 20 2018, 10:42 PM)
Hi all , i'm looking for a gaming pc

[Budget] 2.5k-3k

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Already have monitor
[Monitor resolution] 2333HD syncmaster samsung

[Games & softwares that use frequently] monster hunter world , dota2

[Personal preferences] amd or intel whichever is better  (ssd+hd)
With your budget, MH:W may need to be slightly reduced settings...
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.systemrequ...world/17493/amp

i5-8400 (799)
GIGABYTE B360M-D2V (339)
KINGSTON D4 PC2400 8GB (260)
RX580 4G ddr5 (799)
SAMSUNG 860 EVO 250GB (275)
WD BARRACUDA DESKTOP 1TB (175)
Cooler Master MWE 450W (189)
Tecware NEXUS TG MATX (139)

Total = rm2975 (C-zone, 12 Nov)
mbr
post Nov 21 2018, 06:37 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 21 2018, 01:27 AM)
AMD recommends 500W or better for RX 580. Switch to FSP Hexa+ 500W at RM159 from Viewnet.
Yeah. I missed that part, thought the 4gd5 is less power hungry
mbr
post Nov 21 2018, 09:08 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 21 2018, 08:27 AM)
RAM power consumption is only a few watts.
The 4GB Pulse that I was looking at definitely takes less power
http://pulse.sapphiretech.com/en/580-4.html#specifications
<225W, Needing 1x 8-pin AUX Power Connector

Compared to the 8GB nitro
http://www.sapphiretech.com/productdetial....B689F9&lang=eng
<250W, needing 1 x 8-pin AUX Power Connector and 1 x 6-pin AUX Power Connector

But both recommended 500W supply, so... yeah

mbr
post Nov 22 2018, 08:24 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(LoneRangerZz @ Nov 21 2018, 06:52 PM)
Hi all,

Need help with any suggestions:

[Budget] 3k, including monitor and chassis.
[Purpose] Light gaming, able to handle the Sims 4.
[Hardwares that will be re-use] Mouse.
[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Not much of gaming, only the sims 4 and internet browsing.

[Personal preferences]
Chassis: CM MasterBox MB600L
Monitor: Dell 24 Monitor: SE2419H (529)
8gb ram
SSD
Sims 4 is hardly challenging
https://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/...he-sims-4/12305

For your preference:
Chassis: CM MasterBox MB600L (189)
Monitor: Dell 24 Monitor: SE2419H (529)

Other parts:
CPU: ATHLON 200GE (235) or Ryzen 3 2200G (452)
Mboard: GIGABYTE A320M-DS2 (269)
RAM: DDR4-2666 8GB (around RM300) Make sure it is compatible! https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-A32...-10#support-doc
PSU: CM MWE 450W (189)
SSD: SAMSUNG 860 EVO 250GB (275)
HDD: Any brand 1TB (170-185)

Total so far is around RM 2200 if you choose Athlon and RM 2400 if you choose Ryzen

Pair up with decent keyboard (not gaming one) would still be below RM 2500

Performance of Vega 8 in Ryzen 2200G compared against GTX 560Ti (better than GTX650 in requirements):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3oLNosK4_sw

mbr
post Nov 25 2018, 02:39 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(kevin916587 @ Nov 25 2018, 12:09 AM)
Budget: RM1000-RM1500
Purpose: Downloads/ Movies, light video editing (travel GoPro videos)
Reason to upgrade:
• Mainly is due to my current laptop CPU is bottlenecking, can’t get ideal top speed from my UNIFI 800Mbps, and
• Second, my laptop was bought in 2013 (ASUS K46CB, I5 3337U, GT740M), might as well upgrade to a better affordable build
Hardware to be reuse: SanDisk SDSSDHII120G
Monitor: ACER G205H (currently connected with my ASUS laptop)
Games & Software: GoPro Studio, Lightroom (occasionally), PUBG (not a gamer, but this is game I would play if the new build allows)
Personal preferences: Nvidia Graphic Card and Intel Processor (i5)
p/s: Saw this online, I not sure is it a good build or slight overpriced, can I go lower for the specs as in from the link?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/intel-co...713dpmZiMg&mp=1
So... used parts? Consider slightly more budget?

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4535672
or...
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4680189 (pair with used low profile gtx 1050)
mbr
post Nov 26 2018, 10:32 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(kevin916587 @ Nov 25 2018, 11:56 AM)
if were to consider a slightly more budget, what options do i have?
You might want to consider increasing budget to 3500 to get new rig. 1500 is not going to get you a decent set nowadays.
mbr
post Nov 26 2018, 11:06 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 26 2018, 10:35 AM)
Not everyone can afford it though.
Of course. But we can recommend suitable budget revisions for what they want.
Editing with rm1500 will be painfully slow. But it still do it.

13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0425sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:36 PM