76 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

babylon52281
post Apr 5 2023, 11:21 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(aloy5415 @ Apr 5 2023, 07:47 PM)
hello everyone. I'm about to boot up my ancient Asus Z97M-Plus, i7 4790 computer.
The motherboard has one m.2 slot. Which M.2 model should I buy?
Could you please advise me on the best value for money?
If not mistaken that is still SATA in M2 format so ur choices are limited.

PS. Those NVME M2 drives recommended above might not work for ur mobo, some M2 those generation are SATA only or dual type, pls check ur manual to confirm.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 5 2023, 11:24 PM
babylon52281
post Apr 6 2023, 09:13 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(am_i_rulez @ Apr 6 2023, 08:19 AM)
looking around i think i'm gonna buy used rtx 3060 with 12gb vram. can get around rm900 at carousell.

btw, how about this rig i setup

i3-12100F RM439
Asrock B760M-HDV/M2 RM475
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 16GB 3200Mhz RM199
Kingston NV2 1TB NVME SSD RM228
EVGA 600W 80+ Gold RM250
Casing RM150

Total = RM1741 without graphic card.

Good enough?
Crap mobo but then ur pairing with an i3 so they should do fine together. The issue is will you then be CPU bound as its only 4cores+HT. Need to check ur AI usage will it use lotsa CPU threads or not. Otherwise a 12400 or 12600K might make more sense.

Also will 16GB RAM be sufficient? A lot of productivity programs do scale well with at least 32GB.

The NV2 SSD... erm many here would critic but if ur on a tight budget where Rm50 makes a difference, then it will do fine.
babylon52281
post Apr 6 2023, 06:14 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Apr 6 2023, 02:30 PM)
Asus rtx 3060ti, 8gb gddr6 / rtx 3070, 8gb gddr6
AMD ryzen 5, 7600

Asus amd tuf gaming b650-plus wifi atx AM5

Kingston fury beast 5200mhz ddr5 (8gb * 2) kit

Sell off the GTX1650 super, it cannot handle high volume resolution of 2K output
For normal use & casual gaming plus lotsa reusing of hardware tells me OP is budget limited so pointless to reco him expensive AM5.

Better just get

5800X3D,
any B550 mobo,
any 8GBx2 3600MHZ DDR4,
RX6700XT/6750XT (the extra VRAM will benefit for use in 2K)

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 6 2023, 06:14 PM
babylon52281
post Apr 6 2023, 09:50 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Apr 6 2023, 07:46 PM)
Now all modern already

Try new AM5 platform

See how ddr5 ram 5200mhz can do

Future proof

What for recommend a previous gen proc???
Modern or not it is a matter of affordability. AM5 is expensive. And DDR5 5200 is pisspoor speeds. To future proof a DDR5 system you'd need at least 6400MHZ or higher so that you can still use the same RAMs while not crippling a future RAM upgrade.
babylon52281
post Apr 7 2023, 08:04 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Apr 6 2023, 11:13 PM)
He jump from DDR3 to DDR5, make sense..
Unless ur OCing or have specific applications, RAM is something you don't feel much difference with higher speeds. Ur programs generally don't open faster when going DDR3 to DDR5.

Right now DDR5 tech is expensive and speeds are still in the infancy. Unless ur got money, no point to buy now.
babylon52281
post Apr 7 2023, 08:09 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 7 2023, 01:17 AM)
This will do for casual gaming at 1080p. i am afraid there's little u can re-use from ur current build apart from the psu, casing, monitor, kb/mouse. Time to ditch those old Sata and drives and embrace a more modern platform.

I5 13400f
Msi B760m Mortar / Pro Wifi (depending on whether u want to spend more on the Mortar)
Kingston KC 3000 1Tb nvme (spend a bit more will be it's brother, Kingston Fury Renegade).
Any acceptable D4 Ram (at least 16Gb)
GPU (up to your consideration to upgrade) - Rx 6650 XT (can be had for 1.3k Powercolor Hellhound. nice card at that). This will double the performance from that 1650 super and adequate for CASUAL gaming and at 2k resolution provided u don't push too high image quality (Ultra).

All the above can be bought online and more down to earth for your needs.
Vcys86
I'd also reckon this build but instead topup to RX6700XT/6750XT (about RM 1.8~2k), since you have a 2K monitor why waste its capabilities sticking to 1080.
babylon52281
post Apr 7 2023, 12:31 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 6 2023, 06:33 PM)
if u can wait b2b order

i5-13500 - RM1129 (back 2 back order 2-5weeks)
MAG B760M MORTAR WIFI DDR4 - RM950
16gb 3600mhz CL18 kingston fury black - RM270
thermal PA120 - RM99
CM CMP510 RM229
Bro where you can get PA120 for RM99? I want 1 bijik.
babylon52281
post Apr 7 2023, 12:34 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Apr 7 2023, 09:33 AM)
This 1 not expensive at all...
5200MHZ crap speed no better than DDR4 3600. Try 6400MHZ and above if really want to future proof.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 7 2023, 12:35 PM
babylon52281
post Apr 7 2023, 06:42 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 7 2023, 05:39 PM)
6400 not guaranteed on Ryzen. 6000 CL30.
Then futureproof for AM5 is crap if only limited to 6000MHZ DDR5.
babylon52281
post Apr 7 2023, 10:07 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 7 2023, 10:05 PM)
Gg.. it's ax120...haha
doh.gif
babylon52281
post Apr 8 2023, 12:24 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Apr 8 2023, 11:30 AM)
Same cpu socket.. same platform..

AMD may come out AM5+
Intel 1700 is more futureproofed then. Same socket til Raptor refresh, but able to take in up to DDR5 7200, able to update RAM years later on. AM5 will need a new mobo & new CPU family to effectively use the same speed that Intel can use now. Where is this futureproof BS then.
babylon52281
post Apr 8 2023, 01:17 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(yonghong @ Apr 8 2023, 12:09 PM)
Hi, thanks for recommendation. But this is not for high end purpose. Mainly for office usage,not gaming.
Would lik to have 64gb ram and high cpu inside, graphic card normal will do.

Can help to repropose? Ram and cpu is more important.

Let me tweak it a bit from TristanXs
Core i7-13700
Use Intel Box Cooler (yes you will need to run at default which will drop PL2 to 65W but office nonGraphic heavy use is ok)
MSI B760M-A Pro Wifi - 779
Corsair Vengeance 4x 16GB DDR4-3200 kit (getting to 3200 will give better compatibility with XMP but if faced instability, drop it to 3000/2933)
Transcend MTE220 1TB <300
Adata Core Reactor 650W - 405
Any standard airflow case - <200

I think it will be sub RM4k.

I agree that GPU will be too stretch ur budget, a decent one will about RM 1500-2000 nowadays. Nearly half ur budget gone so how to get the rest?

I advice build first then use the onboard iGPU to try see if it suits ur usage. If not then later add Quadro or RTX Aseries workstation GPU. These if you get used 2ndhand oso shd be no problem as they werent popular with miners, so most would have came from office workstations too.

Gaming RTX might work in certain cases but I dont know ur building software enuff to know how compatible these are. To be safe use work focused GPUs. That meant staying away from Radeons too.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 8 2023, 01:18 PM
babylon52281
post Apr 8 2023, 06:54 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(storm.trooper @ Apr 8 2023, 03:54 PM)
Hi sifus, need your advise on my first gaming rig. I have basic knowledge of assembling PC. Please do include what accessories (e.g. CPU brackets, gpu stand & etc) if needed.

[Budget]

[Purpose]
Work and gaming.

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Hyper-V, browser with lots of tabs and windows, Need for speed, Final Fantasy XV.

[Personal preferences]
AMD ryzen 7 5800X3D only because some work related software tested it's stable. And also limited budget.
Hope this new rig can tahan next 5 years.
If possible, would like to have all white parts.
Budget 7K for the latest gaming CPU that's just been released? Very hard.

If you could bump up budget to 8k, then use TristanX recommend to AthrunIJ but swap out that 3090 GPU for a 3060Ti/3070 for around ur balance RM2k. If purely gaming I'd say RX6700XT/6750XT/6800 but since you work on it as well, no Radeons.
babylon52281
post Apr 9 2023, 08:49 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(storm.trooper @ Apr 8 2023, 11:29 PM)
Not aiming for 7800X3D, work requires 5800X3D. Good for me, cheaper by RM 500 (read rumours 7800 is going to cost at least 2k)tongue.gif
Why no Radeons for work? My work doesn't requires heavy GPU processing though.
Thanks for the suggestion. Did some googling, found out that Radeon 6700XT works for NFS:Heat & FFXV. Most importantly, it's cheaper. I'm thinking to swap out the newer RTX 3080 for Radeon 6700XT for slightly better parts, what do you think?

AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D - 1500
Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3600 kit - 410
Kingston KC3000 1TB - 360
Adata XPG Core Reactor 850W - 525
Cooler Master ML240 - 350
Asus Prime X570-pro - 1065
Sapphire Pulse Radeon 6700XT 12GB - 1700
Lian Li Lancool II Mesh C RGB ATX Desktop Casing Snow White - 450

Total: 6360

Does it make sense to upgrade B550 to X570? Is this future proof to upgrade GPU & RAM (to 128GB)?
Asus Prime X570 doesn't come with wifi and bluetooth, what do you suggest?
Thinking of getting Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme Paste, is it worth it?
7k is a lot of money to spend so why stick to older and obsoleted platform? Topup 1k more and get 7800X3D but you will need to compromise a bit on the GPU side, still a 6700XT/6750XT should suit ur needs for games but I will still advice go for 3060Ti/3070 if it involves working.

There is very little room to upgrade an obsoleted system. I doubt AMD will come out any new CPU for AM4 anymore.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 9 2023, 08:56 AM
babylon52281
post Apr 9 2023, 11:21 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Apr 9 2023, 10:30 AM)
Old platform or hardware =! bad sweat.gif
This mentality coupled with FOMO from gamers is why companies are more than happy to charge ever higher prices for their hardware (see RTX40/RX7000 for starters) icon_idea.gif
Even something like Comet Lake is still very doable for budget builds icon_idea.gif

A 5800X3D is still a very impressive CPU for gaming (it even compares well with modern CPUs and it's basically the 1080Ti of CPUs), and if you say AM4 is old and outdated then the same can be said to LGA1700 too icon_idea.gif
Am not saying is bad, but for the price one is paying (RM7k) it is just too much money to put into a dated system with no more upgrade path. This unlike 1700 with RPL refresh still to come.

IMHO if paying 7-9k, its better to get a DDR5 system; either Intel or AMD.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 9 2023, 11:26 AM
babylon52281
post Apr 9 2023, 04:13 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(Dovienya @ Apr 9 2023, 11:54 AM)
addtional googling/youtubing .. what about the below spec for budget-ed build?

Ryzen 5 5600
16gb corsair lpx vengence 3200
Gigabyte B450M DS3H WiFi Motherboard
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro M.2 2280 (1tb)
SMART BM2 B S (Bronze 650w)
used rx580
<and sub-200 casing>

compared to my earlier thought, got gpu at similar price, but lost out 16gb ram.. but I think this spec is "as is", and dont think about future component upgrade, right?
Stay away from used RX500series or even 'new' ones from brands like AFox, MLLSE, 51RISC, CORN, etc. Most likely exminer or remade from miner GPU parts.
babylon52281
post Apr 9 2023, 04:18 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Apr 9 2023, 12:52 PM)
Knowing Intel it'll probably be just regular 13th gen chips with a minor clock speed boost which basically makes it sort of a moot point anyway icon_idea.gif
As long as it goes 4-5 FPS higher than 7800x3d they regain the Epeen crown. Thats all that matter. wink3.gif
babylon52281
post Apr 10 2023, 09:08 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(darksider @ Apr 10 2023, 07:30 PM)
Help my friend ask. He saw this in local shop. Sifu see if it's worth the price

INTEL CORE I5-12400F
ASROCK B660M PRO RS/AX(WIFI) D4
PNY RTX3070 UPRISING DUAL 8GD6
PNY XLR8 RGB 16GB(8X2) 3200MHZ D4 RAM SILVER
KLEVV C710 1TB M.2 NVME SSD
ESUPER 750W 80+ BRONZE PSU
1ST PLAYER M-ATX GAMING CASE
THERMALRIGHT AX120R SE ARGB CPU COOLER
WINDOWS 11 HOME 64BIT TRIAL
TOTAL = RM4850
Last gen CPU & mobo. But at those prices I guess its okayish. The SSD if below Rm250 is okay but if closer to Rm280-300, there are better ones even DRAMless with much higher speeds. The PSU is a sus, topup RM 5k and get a better unit.

As usual, prebuilds will have compromises and this unit in no exception.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 10 2023, 09:08 PM
babylon52281
post Apr 11 2023, 03:17 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(storm.trooper @ Apr 11 2023, 02:00 PM)
Previously I set my eyes on Radeon 6700XT due to its big VRAM and price tag. Is there an alternative in RTX in terms of VRAM & price tag? Intend to use it with ASRock B550 STEEL LEGEND ATX & Ryzen 7 5800X3D. Games to play in mind are FFXV, NFS:Heat.
RTX ka? Closest to VRAM & maybe pricing(?) is RTX2080Ti, most likely used ones by now. Yes it is way back this gen. 3060 12GB has the VRAM count but not the GPU muscle to use all of it.
babylon52281
post Apr 11 2023, 10:07 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 11 2023, 03:21 PM)
NONE. unless u hunt for 2nd hand 2080 ti / 3080 / 3090
anyway 6700 xt is already attractive at 1.7k (that will only get u a new Rtx 3060 Ti 8gb at the same price)
In USA, EU, Australia markets the 6700xt is selling slightly under 3060 nonTi prices. AMD Msia is smoking strong weed.

76 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0605sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:53 PM