QUOTE(storm.trooper @ Apr 11 2023, 04:00 PM)
I suspect so too. Thanks for the advise. Now, need to make up my mind of which brand's of 6700XT to buy 
As long as not Powercolour. They are the makers of Radeon MBAs. [OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!
Apr 12 2023, 08:15 AM
2,674 posts Joined: Apr 2017 |
Apr 12 2023, 08:22 AM
QUOTE(Dovienya @ Apr 11 2023, 10:37 PM) hi all, I heard that Asrock B550m Pro-4 is best AM4 budget board at the moment. But if I dont have old CPU to use for bios flashback cause I'm thinking of pairing with 5600g. Can't the shop do bios flash for you? Imo by now mobos should able to support all the latest CPUs from the last gen, these are outdated stuff after all, unless the mobo stock from seller is really old and not support out of the box. Anyone know if this board support 5600g out of box, or any motherboard alternative for 5600g? Even the B660 mobos I saw in shops got sticker says it supports 13 gen, so I'd assume for AMD its the same. PS A quick check in Asrock site says that mobo with bios from [U]2021[U] will support 5000Gs natively so it begs the question how old was the sellers mobo stocks if it does not support that CPU out of the box. Mind you the latest bios rev was less than 1 month ago. This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 12 2023, 08:42 AM Dovienya liked this post
Apr 12 2023, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(Dovienya @ Apr 12 2023, 09:30 AM) Nice.. Thank you.. i didnt notice the bios 2021 thingy when I checked their website, so maybe my eye blur .. Check CPU QVL list then cross reference to BIOS release list... I did some extensive reading to understand on Asrock site references for my own mobo so it was easy. Dovienya liked this post
Apr 15 2023, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(oRoXoRo @ Apr 14 2023, 10:36 PM) A rig with the best gaming CPU right now cannot be considered midrange lar nor will just released new products be cheap in anyway unless ur in USA. Only way for these to be affordable is to get them right before or just when the new family is about to or has just launched. |
Apr 15 2023, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 15 2023, 07:54 AM) Coming soon No Gen5 on either PCIEX16 nor M2 slots. If wanna spend that much, might as well future proof by getting a mobo with either or both is Gen5. Or B650E or X670 nonE range?AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D - 1999 (estimated) Thermalright Frost Commander 140 - 269 MSI B650M-A Pro Wifi - 929 Kingston HyperX Renegade 32GB DDR5-6000 CL32 kit - 729 Kingston KC3000 2TB - 681 Lian Li Lancool III non-RGB case - 539 Powercolor RX 6950 XT 16GB Red Devil (more powerful than RTX 4070) - 3499 Corsair HX 1000W - 1099 RM9744 total (Shopee prices) or Colorful or Zotac RTX 4070 - 2899 Corsair HX 750W - 749 RM8794 total (Shopee prices) For some reason, Powercolor demands 950W for RX 6950 XT Red Devil. You can pick smaller casing like Fractal Pop Air for RTX 4070. There are motherboards with more features as well. This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 15 2023, 11:48 AM |
Apr 15 2023, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 15 2023, 01:06 PM) Spending nearly 10k with no futureproof? That is poor/lazy mobo choice sorry to say.But that is not ur fault, paying 1k for a mobo with such poor features is a thing with overpriced AM5 platform. This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 15 2023, 01:14 PM |
Apr 15 2023, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 15 2023, 03:12 PM) Unlike Intel, just about the most cheapest & basic B650 mobo is sufficient in the VRM depthttps://www.techspot.com/review/2633-amd-b650-motherboards/ VRM is no longer the issue, features & specs are the key here. But if talking about value for money, similar priced Intel B760M has PCIE5 X16 https://www.ecytech.com.my/product-page/asu...ming-b760m-plus vs only PCIE4 for that MSI mobo https://www.ecytech.com.my/product-page/msi-pro-b650m-a-wifi Highlighting just how much of a poor value for money that is AM5 platform. This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 15 2023, 04:12 PM |
Apr 16 2023, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(targon @ Apr 15 2023, 04:31 PM) When it comes to Zen , it not just the money factor. Amd has poor record in addressing irritating issues on the Zen platform. Or it it ever get fixed at all. Ryzen architecture is a very polarising platform either being an ultimate gaming machine or a thread monster for application, but poor in between; its gaming CPU is only 8cores whilst i7 is 12-16cores, and unlike R7900s the i9 is an allrounder capable gaming and thread application machine. For something so specific, the cheaper AM4 pricing could overlook its flaws but for pricier AM5, imho its just not worth it, even the promise of futureproofing is arguable when cheaper mobo is only limited to DDR5 6000, PCIE Gen4 on X16 and M2, and no guarantees future CPU will be drop in compatible. |
Apr 16 2023, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 16 2023, 10:24 AM) My experience with 5900X is BIOS can break things. AMD has been fixing things with more regular BIOS updates, some would say that is a good thing as AMD are taking their BIOS problem seriously, but that beggars a question if their BIOS are that unstable and unfinished that they keep needing to release updates after updates like a GPU driver. I've seen people complaining about other issues. USB dropouts is one of them. Happens on current ones too. PS Even Jay2Cents has to dedicate a rant towards expensive AM5 mobo This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 16 2023, 11:54 AM |
Apr 18 2023, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(Kaya Butter Toast @ Apr 18 2023, 03:56 PM) CPU - Intel 13500 RM1050 (where do i get this model, its out of stock everywhere...) You can cut more than half the cost of cooler if go for SE224XTS Black, BeQuiet's only shtick is their silent fan which you could buy and replace the ID one and still be cheaper.MOBO - MSI Mag B660 Tomahawk Wifi DDR4 LGA1700 RM899 Cooler - Be Quiet! Pure Rock 2 Black RM200 RAM - Kingston Fury Beast RGB DDR4 3200MHZ 16GBx2 RM392 Case - Fractal Design North Black Tempered Glass RM629 PSU - FSP Hydro G Pro 850W Gold RM659 GPU - EVGA RTX3080 2nd hand - RM2300 Total: 6129 Roast my setup, and any recommendation for a good 850W psu other than FSP Hydro G pro? Im looking for something quiet and less buzzing noise. FD North only shtick is that wooden slats, which makes it overpriced even compared to other FD cases. Unless wood trim is ur thing, others are cheaper. Want quiet PSU, then get BeQuiets (hahaha really as those fan you can't replace!) or else get ones with zero fan feature. Kaya Butter Toast liked this post
Apr 21 2023, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 21 2023, 03:52 PM) Hmm, went snopping around lowyat and got 1 well priced rig. I think. Need some sifu opinion Rm10k PC with only RTX4070? AMD7800x3d cpu MSI X670P mobo Kingston 6000 8x2 RAM - forgot to clarify further which model Deepcool AK620 cooler Kingston renegade 2TB SSD Corsair RM850 shift psu Corsair 5000d Airflow rgb casing Around RM12k with Zotac 4080 Around RM10k with Zotac 4070 Around RM11k with Zotac 4070ti Let the roasting begin!! Might check with myway1985 quotation soon |
Apr 21 2023, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(oRoXoRo @ Apr 21 2023, 05:00 PM) Saw idealtech got promo Both have hidden spec problem.Processor: INTEL Core i7-13700K GPU: GIGABYTE RTX 4090 Gaming OC 24G Cooler: GIGABYTE AORUS Waterforce X 360 Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z790 Aorus Elite AX RAM: GSKILL Trident Z5 RGB Black 32GB 5600mhz (2x 16gb) SSD: KINGSTON Fury Renegade 1TB Power Supply: GIGABYTE UD1000GM PG5 1000w (80+ Gold / Full Modular) Casing: Fractal Design Meshify 2 Gray TG Light Tint Misc: FREE Idealtech Mousepad (800mm x 300mm) Total Price: RM14999.00 Processor: INTEL Core i5-13400F GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4080 16GB Cooler: PCCOOLER EX400 ARGB Motherboard: MSI B760M Mortar Max Wifi DDR4 RAM: GSKILL AEGIS 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz (2x 8GB) SSD: KINGSTON Nv2 PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD 500GB Power Supply: FSP Hydro G PRO 850W PCIe 5.0 (80+ Gold / Full Modular) Casing: ANTEC DP503 Flux (3x ARGB FAN) Misc: FREE Idealtech Mousepad (800mm x 300mm) Total Price: RM9599.00 Trying to build somewhere in between and trying out the AMD 7800x3d, The 15k PC has RAM way too low for Intel rig. 5600 is pisspoor slow and you should be looking at 6000 above, at G2 Intel XMP can even eat 7200 for breakfast. While not all Giga PSU are bad, I would stay away from a brand that have sold fire hazard models. The 9.5k PC should have at least KC3000 1TB. NV2 for nearly 10k PC is where Ideal gets their extra profit margin. Granit3Grey liked this post
Apr 22 2023, 10:25 AM
Apr 22 2023, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 22 2023, 10:50 AM) Yes and no. While our currency plays some part, the main contributor to high prices are due to hardware prices have went up tremendously in general.CPU didn't have much price change due to fierce competition. But AMD is starting to be priced higher every generation. Not good. Mobo prices have went up A LOT! As J2C said, uber high end mobos used to be $200-250 but now for AM5, a decent entry level mobo starts from that price and high end these days meant $1000 above. Crazy! RAM prices fluctuate year to year but in the past you would find RAM sometimes dirt cheap due to each maker competing & oversupply the market, these days they pakat2 to restrict output to keep prices high. So RAM prices have went up historically. Storage prices is higher these days due to SSD making it far pricier than ye olde HDD. Back then RM200 could get a decent sized HDD and you could store games for years but nowadays storage is about speed as much as space so expect to pay 300-400 for a decent starter and your bound to add or replace for bigger storage sooner than later. Then the big kahuna; the GPU which has went up like crazy. Back then $1000 could get a Titan GPU which is truly overkill for any games at whatever highest settings and more of a productivity card, nowadays $1000 cant even get you an RTX4080 and the top dog 4090 (@ $1600! Whatmore back then a x70 class GPU performs like it should as a upper midtier GPU, now the 4070 barely does 2K ultra setting at competitive FPS if didn't use Fake Frames. Nvidia scammed us on that. So really the whole hardware scene is to blame rather than the currency. langstrasse and Wedchar2912 liked this post
Apr 22 2023, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(targon @ Apr 22 2023, 09:16 PM) Going back abt a decade from 8800 GT, top of line flagship nvidia Riva TNT 16mb abt Rm600++ ,then the TNT2 Ultra doesn't cost a bomb either. Yes indeed, inflation and hardware price gorging is more to blame. The currency not really that much.Price inflation (not due to currency) in hardware covid times are highest than any period. |
Apr 22 2023, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 22 2023, 05:47 PM) try this.. i just delivered 1 For games better to spend a bit more to get 3060 12GB at least the VRAM will give it longer lifetime than the A750 and for now it has less driver issues.i5-13600k RM1459 PRO Z790‐P WIFI DDR4 RM1150 32GB 3600mhz D4 kingston fury black RM399 1TB kingston renegade nvme gen 4 RM380 Corsair RM850e Gold RM620.00 CM TD500 mesh black RM379 asrock A750 RM1150 CM ML360 illusion Black RM 599 RM6166 |
Apr 22 2023, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(targon @ Apr 22 2023, 11:08 PM) Could be a case of a batch of Ryzen suffering overheating issue. DerBauer had recently reviewed a user Ryzen cpu that had the liquid metal within the IHS melted and flowed out. He wasnt able to find a source of the problem. |
Apr 23 2023, 01:08 AM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 23 2023, 12:52 AM) Yes Im aware that budget could squeeze that in but these days 8GB GPU is a no go particularly if your gonna spend even higher for ithttps://www.techspot.com/article/2661-vram-8gb-vs-16gb/ |
Apr 24 2023, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 24 2023, 03:20 PM) Thank you both for the replies. Appreciate it i3 level 12100 can oso be paired with much cheaper crappy B660 mobos like Giga B660M DS3H or Asrock HDV since even with PL2 unlocked it will only max turbo to 90W. A 12100+B660M mobo+16GB 3200MHZ RAM could be had for <Rm1000.I'll go for the RX6600 then or maybe look around for used GPUs if I'm feeling more adventurous. If the GPU upgrade alone does not suffice, I'll look into getting a new CPU+Mobo+Ram? As we are on this topic, curious if the Ryzen 5 5600 might be better or the i3 12100? Not sure which camp is more value for money for lower budgets, let's say RM1,600 for CPU+MOBO+32GB RAM? Am looking at the Ryzen 5 5600+ Asus B550M board https://shopee.com.my/ASUS-TUF-GAMING-B550M...41-6e0c83ec997b But with games coming out so highly unoptimised, I wonder how much longer can such a system still suffice. -kytz- liked this post
Apr 26 2023, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 25 2023, 04:14 PM) After seeing some gaming benchmarks at 4k max settings, I think I give up already Imho since u got a 40 inch 4K monitor, playing 2K or low 4K feels kinda wasted if you dont mind me being frank.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMjgFJBRHVY I'll aim for 1440p instead or medium-high at 4k resolution to get 60fps. Also the i3 is a really nice budget CPU lol, little difference in gaming performance with much more exp CPU, eg: i5-12400 or even the Ryzen 5 5600 TristanX appreciate your advice too bro targon Noted on used gpu without warranty. TBH I had a bad experience one time before with a faulty 5870 Any comments on the build below with NEW parts? 1440p gaming or 4k at medium-high settings. Aiming for 60fps only. (Shopee price) i3-12100F RM400 MSI B660M Pro RM419 RX 6700XT RM1,709 Kingston 16GB X2 RM378 Kingston KC3000 1TB RM351 [Reusing my Corsair HX750W PSU and my FD casing] Windows 10 RM400 Shopee RM120 rebate now and RM150 coins cb -RM270 Total RM3387 Honestly you shouldnt try to skimp on budget and if you cant afford it now, save up and upgrade bit by bit Firstly ur selected system needs a boost to play 2K high settings at high FPS but with an eye for 4K high, so here is my recommend: i7 12700F or 13700F (get at least 8cores as AAA titles are becoming hogs now) if can get Ksku even better MSI Pro B660M-A or Pro B760M-A Kingston 16GB X2 3200MHZ DDR4 RX 6700XT RM1,709 Kingston KC3000 1TB RM351 [Reusing my Corsair HX750W PSU and my FD casing] Windows 10 RM400 Thermal PA120, FS140, FC140, DCool AK500, AK620, ID SE226XT, SE207XT cooler (any that has up to 253TDP) or 360/420AIO for Ksku Then later on for 4K high/ultra with RT, just need to upgrade GPU & PSU only; RTX 4090 (or future Nvidia or AMD equivalent later) At least 900-1000W A tier PSU This way ur upgrade path to 4K high is more manageable (financially) and you wont need to change too many other parts for 4K playability. AMD platform is expensive just cuz of "futureproofing" but it has no bearing to play 2K/4K, Intel LGA1700 platforms can do the same at cheaper price. This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 26 2023, 12:34 AM -kytz- liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0643sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:35 PM |