Insurance Talk V4!, Anything and everything about Insurance

ckdenion
post Jan 24 2018, 04:31 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(Dennis66 @ Jan 24 2018, 03:58 PM)
Dear All,

I have been reading with much interest what has been written here. Thank you to all the contributors - taking the time to answer all sorts of questions.

Both my children are looking at getting hospitalisation cover and CI as well. From what I have read here, they ought to get a whole life policy and have the hospitalisation and CI as riders. Is that a prudent approach?

They have just started earning some money so a smallish plan is suitable but the emphasis should be sufficient hospitalisation cover.

Can I get a quote from some of you? Could you please pm me? Or, if you are interested, please leave a message and I will pm you.

Thanks so much.
it depends much on how you want the benefits to help you with. so there is no plan that fits all. most importantly it takes your worries away wink.gif
ckdenion
post Jan 29 2018, 06:03 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(IamNOT @ Jan 25 2018, 08:46 AM)
Hi sifus, just last month I signed-up for AIA A-life signature; for life and critical illness.
The Plan says I have to pay for 10 years and the ILP will continue on without paying.
Besides this plan I also have medical card.
Now I keep feeling I am overspending on Insurance because of the high premium.
Need suggestion from sifus.
first thing first, what do you buy the policy for? you buy it because you know you must have it and you can afford to commit to pay? or you buy because agent try hard to persuade you to get it?

because end of the day if you have hard time paying it (squeezing the very last bit every month), you will probably not continue paying it. I cant give much comment. First of all make sure you don't "kill" your monthly cash flow.

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 27 2018, 01:03 PM)
For allianz ilp, even though u choose monthly payment, it will auto buy the unit trust if u pay more than 1 month of ur payment
perhaps different company works differently in that aspect

QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ Jan 28 2018, 11:33 PM)
Hi Guys,

Need Input on my first Insurance policy.

Currently 24 turning 25 in 2018
Non Smoker

Looking for ILP, mainly for medical health and CI
Already have company AIA medical card

Need some info on entry level product named so I can research.

Thank you
already have AIA medical card. is that a standalone since you say you are looking for ILP?

QUOTE(I_am_Mushi_90 @ Jan 29 2018, 11:27 AM)
Wanna to have a medical plan that include annual health screening. So far i only know Pathlab x MXM (Smart Medic 3.0) did offered this but unclear about the plan as i read the brochure, this plan is more to family instead of individual? Any can assist? If not mistaken, last time i found out MXM did sold a individual Medical Plan ( Smart Medic 2.0?)? Now still can purchase Smart Medic 2.0?
as of now i have not come across medical plan that come with annual health screen.
ckdenion
post Jan 31 2018, 04:28 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ Jan 30 2018, 10:18 PM)
Yes , standalone medical card provided by employer
ic. ok then in this case you will be getting a new ILP for your own personal purpose.

QUOTE(talzer @ Jan 31 2018, 11:16 AM)
Hi all, checking with your opinion.

I was approached by agent to ralk about investment link plan.

Is it practical to commit rm750 monthly for the plan while im just earning rm3400 monthly(after deduct epf)?
well. to determine whether it is practical or not i think it still lies down to your own judgement. so long as after spending everything you still have say at least 10% to 15% balance (RM340~RM510) then it will be fine. then again you see whether is the plan really beneficial to you and will it help you achieve the financial goals that you want or not.

QUOTE(I_am_Mushi_90 @ Jan 31 2018, 04:17 PM)
If i have 2 medical insurance from Prudential and AIA, let say i admitted to hospital and use prudential medical card to cover all my medical expenses. After 1 year, i admitted to hospital again for the same disease, can i use AIA to pay the medical expenses? I read regarding pre existing illness from somewhere, is this considered as pre-existing illness if i claim the medical expenses before but with another company? I am new and keen to buy a insurance now, spending days to read through this thread, so far only read 40 pages., hopefully can gain something new knowledge here for my 1st policy. smile.gif
the pre-existing illness means before you apply the insurance policy. lets say for the scenario you mentioned, if the Prudential and AIA medical card is bought before you claim anything, then yea it is able to claim like the scenario you mentioned. no worries on that.
ckdenion
post Feb 1 2018, 12:02 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 31 2018, 05:33 PM)
I have been reading on the rules of thumb mentioned by you guys. But as a fresh grad, I don't have much experience in Insurance. As company does provide insurance coverage, do you think it is nessasary to get a term life insurance and a personal medical card?

If so, what are the best for a 23 year old male , non smoking. If no, when is the best to buy this insurance?
It is better to have a personal insurance of course. The best time to buy insurance is always now. The very basic i will say is at least get a medical card then slowly plan progressively in terms of life insurance. wink.gif

QUOTE(initialdota @ Jan 31 2018, 05:40 PM)
i have an brain operation last 2 years ago (tumor).recently i heard from friend said that i should claim from 36 critical illness.i checked back my insurance,i bought 6 years ago......Do i eligible to claim?mine is prudential
There is a certain criteria on the brain surgery under 36CI claim. U can still try to file the claim. No guarantee though. Do update here the progress after you proceed with the claims.

QUOTE(NXaqua @ Jan 31 2018, 05:51 PM)

I am looking for a standalone medical card.

1. Should i get it from non life company like Allianz or from life company like AIA or Prudential & etc.
2. In term of coverage like critical illness , are both non life & life company
Offering ?

Allianz is a life insurance company too. Standalone medical card is just covering medical/treatment expenses upon hospitalization/surgery. Simple and straightforward. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(talzer @ Jan 31 2018, 09:58 PM)
Something like r&b 150, hi 400
Ci + tdk + life = 1mil
Whats your personal profile? Age, gender, smoker/Xsmoker, occupation.
ckdenion
post Feb 5 2018, 08:56 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Feb 2 2018, 06:08 PM)
hi,

im looking for some insurance for myself, wife, and my 1 year old son.

im looking for life insurance for myself, and medical insurance for wife and son. any recommendation?
If you have yet to have any insurance on hand, the very basic is to cover medical needs first. Then after that look into the needed life insurance and CI coverage amount. wink.gif

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Feb 2 2018, 06:17 PM)
okay i do have a budget in mind. but really lost in this since this is my first time. any companies that you can recommend for me to survey around?
Start from AIA, Allianz, GE and Prudential.

QUOTE(Yogi Bear @ Feb 2 2018, 06:36 PM)
Hi wta is insurance agent really important? Like after signing the paperwork what are the chances you will need to find your insurance agent in the future???

Like if you are from kl and will be moving to Johor soon, is it better to sign up with an agent in Johor or can just sign up now with an agent in KL???
Can always change agent as you wish even after you sign. Paperwork to deal with perhaps change of some details like payment method, address, status, etc. But if not mistaken most of this can be done through online. I could be wrong though. Or you can also call your agent to email the needed forms if needed to.

QUOTE(roimekoi @ Feb 5 2018, 03:37 PM)
May I know what is the difference between traditional medical card and investment linked medical card?
U mean standalone? Difference as in the medical coverage benefits?
ckdenion
post Feb 9 2018, 12:03 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Feb 7 2018, 11:08 PM)
Is it true that once we are diagnosed with a certain illness, it would be impossible to get medical insurance, as no insurance companies would want to insure an ill person?
not all illness though, subject to underwriter's review on the illness medical report's result.

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Feb 8 2018, 09:43 PM)
But let say that this is not critical illnesses, but say, i was hospitalised for suspected dengue (not a CI, if I am correct?), will I be able to get medical card/be insured in the future?
small issue like dengue fever, appendicitis, etc are mostly ok. no worries on that. just that upon insurance application, there are chances that medical report need to be furnished for the application and let underwriter go through.
ckdenion
post Feb 12 2018, 01:18 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(citacitata @ Feb 10 2018, 03:17 PM)
Any insurance that cover me for lost of ability to work?
Yeap there is. You can get insurance with these 3 coverages.

Lost of ability to work due to:
1. Accident (Personal Accident Insurance)
2. Critical Illness (Insurance with Critical Illness Payout Benefit)
3. Total & Permanent Disability (Life Insurance)
ckdenion
post Mar 3 2018, 02:29 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(alextan333 @ Feb 18 2018, 01:09 AM)
for overseas treatment will be reimbursement basis and also must be within 90 days from the date leaving Msia. other than overseas treatment, i think most insurance companies can fulfill your needs. wink.gif

QUOTE(pherrytail @ Feb 21 2018, 04:23 PM)
It's very hard to conclude how much you need to aim for without really discussing. if follow your potential income earn, rule of thumb is get 10 times of your annual income of protection.

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 21 2018, 09:49 PM)

yeap it makes sense to have your own medical plan though. imagine this that company has first aid kit for the staffs, highly likely you do have your own personal first aid kit at home. the personal medical card you get for yourself is to cover yourself in case you no longer work with the company in the future. most importantly is get it when our health allows us to.

if you think that the annual limit is not enough to cover medical expenses anymore.
QUOTE(cheekily @ Feb 28 2018, 08:00 AM)
if budget and health is not an issue to get one, can get one as a backup. still eligible to buy before age 65. so long she can get one, most medical plan covers up until 99 years old already. it's good that she is cover under husband's company insurance too. anyway get one for just in case situation.

QUOTE(nicklim17 @ Feb 28 2018, 10:22 AM)
there's no really pros and cons here. you see whether there is any upgradable options with your existing HLA plan or not. only if the plan that HLA offers cannot fulfill your needs then you can look into other plans from other companies.
ckdenion
post Mar 3 2018, 02:30 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(Micheal Ng @ Feb 28 2018, 11:34 AM)
most insurance companies have non-inv linked life/CI insurance policies. can easily browse through their website for more info.

QUOTE(Kelvin920 @ Mar 1 2018, 10:00 AM)

for your situation, get each a medical coverage (if you haven't have any insurance policy). after that look for something to protect your income. this is the very 2 basics that I will recommend you to look into. smile.gif

nope.
QUOTE(jackchong890 @ Mar 1 2018, 10:10 PM)

since you are looking for GE agent, can one shot ask for your father's plan as well.

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Mar 1 2018, 10:25 PM)
RM400 total for both?

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Mar 2 2018, 02:13 PM)

more advisable to upgrade wink.gif i estimate by adding another RM30/month can give you the 1mil/year limit already. can seek for your sevicing agent to assist you in this.
ckdenion
post Mar 3 2018, 02:46 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Mar 3 2018, 02:43 PM)
Adding 30 sounds decent. Thanks for the info.
I got a close friend who is from another provider asking me to switch. But the Monthly premium is going into 300-400 range.
best is upgrade from your existing plan. if you want to switch, make sure your current GE plan is running because when medical plan is around 1 to 2 years old, touchwood should any major medical claims is made, company has the right to investigate and claims will be reimbursement basis. its ok to switch but you have to make sure your existing GE plan is active for another 2 years.
ckdenion
post Mar 7 2018, 12:26 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(nicklim17 @ Mar 3 2018, 05:15 PM)
New plan from HLA did can cover my needs. Others company also have almost similar plans.

Will look into the upgrade option but I think it can't compete with current market offering?

So ur advise is to buy new plan from other company.

What if I buy new plan with HLA. Any advantage on medical history. Never make any claim since buy the plan from 2009 though.

Thank
U see whether the upgradable options are on par with the current benefits from other new plans or not. Since the plan is since 2009, guess there is not much new benefits to upgrade. As of buying a new plan, sadly to say that there is no advantage even though you buy from HLA. Same applies to other companies as well.
ckdenion
post Mar 8 2018, 07:21 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ Mar 8 2018, 01:01 PM)

looks like it could be the standalone medical card. actually RM2900 I can say its not expensive already. if she will like to get one now with higher annual limit and can cover up to age 99, the expected premium will be more than RM2900. already

you can log in to MY AIA and key in your mum's details to register. you can see the summary details of your mum's plan.
replies in blue. cheers! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Mar 8 2018, 02:33 PM)
The real question is do you plan to cover the medical for your mum beyond the age of 70?

Most insurer in Malaysia is unable to accept application when a person reaches the age of 70.
that's a very valid question right there!
ckdenion
post Mar 9 2018, 02:21 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(000022 @ Mar 9 2018, 11:29 AM)
Just wanted to see what response will I get based on my situation.

I bought my life and medical pretty early, just as I started working. Been a couple of years. Since then, I've had two surgeries for my nose:

1) Sinusitis surgery ( removal of polyps )
2) 2 years later, a septoplasty for correcting deviated septum and turbinate surgery  for reducing my swollen nasal turbinates

What I'm trying to understand is that, since I've undergone surgery twice for my nose, does that mean, if I ever do attempt to top-up / extension on my existing insurance plan, or move to another ( if it even makes sense at this point ), what would generally be the response from the insurance companies?
it depends on the decision based on the underwriting department. they will request for medical report from the hospital and review first.

Would they come up with a clause about insuring everything except my nose and anything pertaining to it? This isnt exactly a critical illness or a hereditary disease, seems pretty 'common', but what should I be careful about now, that I have a medical surgery record?
there are a few possible scenarios.
1. no exclusion. meaning if your case is not severe and the surgery you done is not a major surgery. then yea no worries on that.
2. exclusion. For your nose, perhaps any disease on your nose will be excluded.
3. loading (very unlikely i guess). meaning your medical card still cover as normal but premium charges is slightly higher than usual.

I had done 1) the same surgery as you. for 2) my case is not that serious. as of the upgrade i'd done after sinusitis surgery, there is no exclusion on my medical card.
ckdenion
post Mar 14 2018, 12:57 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(cringe @ Mar 12 2018, 09:45 PM)
Normal sickness cannot cover?

Batuk, selsema, demam? I got it quite often especially Sinus.

If that case, useless for me to register for medical card.
normal visitation to clinic is not covered. so long as your case requires you to be admitted for treatment/surgery, then yes it is covered. wink.gif

QUOTE(pg84 @ Mar 12 2018, 10:07 PM)
Im planning to get medical card for my kids age below 7. As i dun want to strain my finance ,Wats the cheapest plan available ? I just want effective coverage in case of huge hospitalization bills . Wat i know is those yearly burn type , those with investment . How about takaful ?
cheapest will be just the medical card (no life insurance, no cash value, no other riders, etc.) both conventional and takaful also have standalone medical card.

QUOTE(labtec @ Mar 13 2018, 11:59 PM)
my AIA agent told me that this Investment-Linked Insurance plan is very good and only some people are offered to purchase. This Plan will also be withdraw at 1st April 2018. Is the plan really good?

[attachmentid=9655851]

[attachmentid=9655859]
agents will of course say all their insurance plan are good. so long as you see it benefits you for the future and it can really take away your worries and not a burden to your monthly commitment, then yea it will be a good plan to you. wink.gif i will say insurance plans are good, depends what you buy it for.
ckdenion
post Mar 14 2018, 05:44 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ Mar 14 2018, 11:28 AM)
Currently looking for medical insurance (without critical illness, life) for my mom (age : 57). Current insurance premium increasing year 2 year basis which taken by my dad 20 years ago.

Let me know if anyone have a good plan.
Your mum is currently having a medical insurance whereby the premium increases year to year? If that is so, that it is a standalone medical insurance (medical plan, without critical illness/life insurance coverage). Are you still looking for standalone medical insurance then?

QUOTE(paogeh @ Mar 14 2018, 04:20 PM)
Recently my father passed away at 69 due to sudden heart attack ,

QUESTIONS:
1. is there anywhere to find if my father has insurance coverage in malaysia ?
have to call to each insurance company to inquire one by one just by using your dad's IC number first. Then to proceed with claims, just furnish the documents needed by the company. Any idea whether your dad write a will?

2. I;m 36 this year , male , non smoker , planing to buy LIFE insurance , where death only payout , premiums burn yearly. Any good plan/package ? 
If possible , the cheapest options.
looks like the one that suits your need is a TERM LIFE INSURANCE

Thank you
Replied as per above. wink.gif
ckdenion
post Mar 18 2018, 06:58 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Mar 16 2018, 10:25 AM)

so long as you reviewed your plan and know what is the latest plan in the market that suits your current needs, its already good enough. true enough that plans that are very old might not be able to cover our current needs.

QUOTE(yahiko @ Mar 16 2018, 03:05 PM)
what the meaning of GIO

anyway.. is there another insurance cover for pre existing disease?
what is the pre-existing disease first? it depends. i give a real life example of myself. I did a sinusitis surgery in 2009. claimed my own medical card and did an upgrade on 2014. Because the condition is not severe so the new medical card still covers without exclusions. it still depends on what pre-existing disease are you referring to.

QUOTE(SureshG @ Mar 16 2018, 08:44 PM)
IT's not actually true. An agent won't give you a neutral point of view. For example, an agent from Company X won't give you neutral advise if a product from Company B is actually better.
it depends bro. not all agents are like that. smile.gif i will say that the HLA medical plan is very good given with the low insurance charges. i think most importantly is really looking the plans for consumer's point of view wink.gif

QUOTE(aspartame @ Mar 17 2018, 10:46 AM)
May I know if it is necessary to still buy travel insurance when we travel IF we have already bought medical insurance that covers medical treatment overseas on a reimbursement basis which include repatriation costs? Is travel insurance normally cash-free or also on reimbursement basis?
check up the benefits offered by the travel insurance that you are getting. if budget is not an issue, it is always advisable to get a travel insurance if you are travelling to overseas. look at their T&C before purchasing smile.gif

ckdenion
post Mar 18 2018, 07:04 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Mar 17 2018, 11:28 AM)

hmm... its not about the premium. its about having a backup just in case.

QUOTE(aspartame @ Mar 17 2018, 12:37 PM)
Ok, thanks.
If we buy own medical insurance, and if we get cancer later, how long will the insurance company continue to cover us? until the medical card coverage term ends. normally most medical card covers till at least 99 years old now.

Any changes in premiums? no. premium changes depends on the insurance charges at that time. it doesn't change because of your claims.

Is this where the annual limit and life limits come into play? yes
QUOTE(aspartame @ Mar 18 2018, 12:21 PM)
I am thinking of getting own medical insurance but with deductible option so that premium is cheaper. This is just a back up for my employer's medical insurance. My question is: normally, in the event I become unemployed later, or retrenched due to falling ill, can I then take out the deductible option of my own medical card and go for full cashless card at that time? Meaning, can I revert back to full cashless card without deductible?
yes you can.

And also, even if I do not revert back to full cashless, isn't it still quite OK if I do not mind paying my own bills up till 10k to 20k but if disaster like leukemia happens, I am still insured against those monstrous medical bill like over 200k to 300k maybe?
so long as you know the risk that you are taking, example bearing the bill up to 20k or so, yeap it is still consier a plan that can cover your bigger risk. I do have clients that is ok to bear 50k upfront bill and claim the exceeded amount from insurance companies.

QUOTE(Genghis Khan @ Mar 18 2018, 03:06 PM)

looks ok to me. you mean coverage is too much or premium too much?

QUOTE(jfleong @ Mar 18 2018, 04:19 PM)
Suppose I start buying insurance at 25 and keeps paying until 65 , renew at 66
vs I start buying only at 66 (after retirement)
What's the difference in premiums?
Most of the insurance I see can accept coverage (new clients) up to 70 right ?
difference in premiums could be around 5k to 10k? actually to view it in a full picture, one is giving a very small amount for 40 years+ and one is giving only from 66 years old. actually the total given premium I will say is almost the same (let's exclude investment return and inflation all together). what trigger your question?
ckdenion
post Mar 19 2018, 12:16 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Mar 18 2018, 07:51 PM)
I have employer covered insurance now, makes no sense for me to buy one myself
it really depends how you see it. I have a friend who employer covers him RM20k/year. End up he go for a surgery that costs him RM23k. the balance of RM3k is from his pocket. Perhaps you can see personal insurance as a backup. Not sure how much company covers you because different company covers differently too. So yea, hope you can get one for backup purpose. wink.gif

QUOTE(Genghis Khan @ Mar 18 2018, 08:30 PM)
Hi there, RM550 would be around 12% of my current nett pay.

I believe its kind of expensive, but I appreciate other peoples' opinion before I commit to anything.
with the plan benefits given, RM550 is still consider ok. have to see through the details of the plan to really judge but generally with that premium, you are already getting good benefits already. as for monthly commitment, make sure you still have at least 10%~15% left after committing and spending. save some emergency cash in savings account every month. then you are good to go.
ckdenion
post Mar 21 2018, 10:50 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 21 2018, 02:26 PM)

eh for real, sometimes hospital report small matter also can tulis until like big matter. i kena once before too.

QUOTE(eddyooi @ Mar 21 2018, 04:24 PM)
stand alone medical card better or the bundle with investment link medical card?
in terms of the medical card benefits and coverage, most now are the same in terms of whether you take the standalone or the one attached with an investment-linked.

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Mar 21 2018, 06:06 PM)
after reading a lots on this thread...i found that my thinking is totally wrong as im 100% depending on company insurance and medical. My company insurance even cover my wife and children. i'm almost 40 years old. My only commitment now is my family and children. House and car already settle. Should I get myself a life insurance and medical insurance for my wife and children?
in short, get each of you a medical insurance cover and for life insurance wise, plan for yourself until your retirement age and also until your children reach independent age. wink.gif
ckdenion
post Mar 26 2018, 12:18 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Mar 26 2018, 12:42 AM)
Can I buy medical card from the same company but diff agent ?
yes you can

I have 190k medical card now from company G , however I do not want to upgrade the existing card anymore, just gonna let it lapse itself.

So can I buy the new million ringgit medical card from company G again without engaging the same agent ? Without cancelling my existing plan too.
yes if u buy from the same company but with different agent, best is dont cancel existing policy
in short yes you can proceed with your idea. smile.gif

13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1135sec    3.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:34 PM