138 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V4!, Anything and everything about Insurance

lifebalance
post Apr 1 2017, 05:17 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Apr 1 2017, 05:13 PM)
AIA sifus. can you verify this
My wife bought a premium from an agent. I am afraid we lost the policy booklet. Couldn't find the brochure in Website.

Premier Critical Cover - Coverage is Critical illness and personal accident.

Question: Is this a standalone or investment linked?
Paying RM 250 a month for 3 years now.
Hmm I can't remember seeing such product name before
You may walk in to any of our branches or call in our customer service number and verify with your IC

You can also get the booklet reprint by requesting it at the branch.
Red_rustyjelly
post Apr 1 2017, 05:22 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 1 2017, 05:17 PM)
Hmm I can't remember seeing such product name before
You may walk in to any of our branches or call in our customer service number and verify with your IC

You can also get the booklet reprint by requesting it at the branch.
sad.gif Ouch, this is going to be a very expensive premium without an investment linked.
Hopefully it is, otherwise I will have to cancel it.

This post has been edited by Red_rustyjelly: Apr 1 2017, 05:22 PM
lifebalance
post Apr 1 2017, 05:25 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Apr 1 2017, 05:22 PM)
sad.gif Ouch, this is going to be a very expensive premium without an investment linked.
Best not to simply cancel a policy without knowing what is being offered as a benefit
SUSMNet
post Apr 1 2017, 08:57 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Apr 1 2017, 05:22 PM)
it depend on age as well.
TSroystevenung
post Apr 1 2017, 10:14 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Apr 1 2017, 01:47 AM)
Etiqa is by maybank right ? Is it very hard to claim ?
Etiqa is etiqa, Maybank is selling Etiqa products to complement to their insurance needs.

Claims wise, it is going to Etiqa directly.

I wouldn't say Etiqa is hard to claim, as it is an insurance arm after all bounded by the terms and conditions as stipulated in the policy contract. If the event being claim is claimable, they are liable to pay the claim.

For the claims, just make sure the documentations are completely submitted and for that purpose, the front desk counter should be able to advice.
TSroystevenung
post Apr 1 2017, 10:16 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Apr 1 2017, 05:13 PM)
AIA sifus. can you verify this
My wife bought a premium from an agent. I am afraid we lost the policy booklet. Couldn't find the brochure in Website.

Premier Critical Cover - Coverage is Critical illness and personal accident.

Question: Is this a standalone or investment linked?
Paying RM 250 a month for 3 years now.
Premier Critical Cover seems to be offered by ING (which was then bought over by AIA). Therefore if you need further information, going to the AIA counter should be able to resolve your issue.

I take it that the agent that sold your wife the policy is no longer around? If not, you may also ask the agent.

Red_rustyjelly
post Apr 1 2017, 10:50 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Apr 1 2017, 10:16 PM)
Premier Critical Cover seems to be offered by ING (which was then bought over by AIA). Therefore if you need further information, going to the AIA counter should be able to resolve your issue.

I take it that the agent that sold your wife the policy is no longer around? If not, you may also ask the agent.
thanks, u reminded me yes it was bought over by AIA. We didnt like the agent because she was too pushy to get every cent from us.
In the same time, we have got better agency, so we decided to change soon.
lifebalance
post Apr 1 2017, 10:55 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Apr 1 2017, 10:50 PM)
thanks, u reminded me yes it was bought over by AIA. We didnt like the agent because she was too pushy to get every cent from us.
In the same time, we have got better agency, so we decided to change soon.
I thought so as I search for name and found it tied to ING. As per my advise, please get your policy info from the customer service or branch and get an agent to review it for you.
mdyyliew
post Apr 4 2017, 10:17 AM

Hi Sifus,

First post here, would like to ask your opinions as I am currently lost in the sea of technical information.
My father bought a term life insurance for me since 12 years old which I took over. It covers RM100K with a premium of about rm1.2K yearly.

I am looking for early critical illness coverage and medical insurance so initially thought wanted to upgrade the plan. Found out I can't do that as the original insurance was by MAA which has been taken over now by Zurich. I was told that no changes can be made to the insurance except surrendering the policy for a value and signing up for a new one. I would most probably keep this insurance as it is just starting to accumulate cash value and I would definitely lose out if I surrender it now.

What kind of policy would sifus recommend me taking as my main aim now is just to get cover medically but most medical policy are riders on top of life insurance.

I am currently
30 years old
male
non smoker
Yearly income ~60K

Thanks in advance!
lifebalance
post Apr 4 2017, 10:27 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(mdyyliew @ Apr 4 2017, 10:17 AM)
Hi Sifus,

First post here, would like to ask your opinions as I am currently lost in the sea of technical information.
My father bought a term life insurance for me since 12 years old which I took over. It covers RM100K with a premium of about rm1.2K yearly.

I am looking for early critical illness coverage and medical insurance so initially thought wanted to upgrade the plan. Found out I can't do that as the original insurance was by MAA which has been taken over now by Zurich. I was told that no changes can be made to the insurance except surrendering the policy for a value and signing up for a new one. I would most probably keep this insurance as it is just starting to accumulate cash value and I would definitely lose out if I surrender it now.

What kind of policy would sifus recommend me taking as my main aim now is just to get cover medically but most medical policy are riders on top of life insurance.

I am currently
30 years old
male
non smoker
Yearly income ~60K

Thanks in advance!
Hi mdyyliew

If the plan is took over by another company already, sometimes the old plan will be discontinued for any upgrade and will need to buy based on the latest plan due to new T&C of the new company.

With regards on the early critical illness and medical insurance, it will drill down to how much do you think it's sufficient with proper calculation on how long do you want the income replacement to last you for.

It will be a better solution to sit down with a life planner to plan it throughout rather than getting quotes without proper analysis.
Avangelice
post Apr 4 2017, 12:18 PM

5,272 posts

I am seeing this all over my social media and I can't help to share it here. it would be advisable for insurance companies or agents not to deceive people by using calculations like this. it's comparing apples to oranges of course the PRU cash looks better. not trying to flame people's rice bowl here but come on be honest in your dealings. this is something I cannot stand for.
TSroystevenung
post Apr 4 2017, 12:40 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 4 2017, 12:18 PM)

I am seeing this all over my social media and I can't help to share it here. it would be advisable for insurance companies or agents not to deceive people by using calculations like this. it's comparing apples to oranges of course the PRU cash looks better. not trying to flame people's rice bowl here but come on be honest in your dealings. this is something I cannot stand for.
That is not acceptable. You may write in and email to customer.mys@prudential.com.my so that action can be taken against the agent as it is not allowed to do such unfair comparison. Same goes to EPF.
lifebalance
post Apr 4 2017, 12:42 PM

10,162 posts

smile.gif feel free to file a complaint to BNM & Prudential as the above is liable to penalty for not giving proper full sales illustration and attempt to deceive.

Not to mention the illustration is wrong for the bank for not showing the compounded interest. Which is already incorrect & deceiving.

The correct amount for the bank side should be RM147,008.035 @ 3% interest per annum basis. 3% for using the same assumption of this illustration and may not reflect the current FD rate of 1 year placement.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Apr 4 2017, 12:46 PM
Avangelice
post Apr 4 2017, 12:45 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Apr 4 2017, 12:40 PM)
That is not acceptable. You may write in and email to customer.mys@prudential.com.my so that action can be taken against the agent as it is not allowed to do such unfair comparison. Same goes to EPF.
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 4 2017, 12:42 PM)
smile.gif  feel free to file a complaint to BNM & Prudential as the above is liable to penalty for not giving proper full sales illustration and attempt to deceive.
you want me to report the whole cell in Prudential kuching? that's what is happening now as each of them are sharing it.
TSroystevenung
post Apr 4 2017, 12:46 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(mdyyliew @ Apr 4 2017, 10:17 AM)
Hi Sifus,

I am currently
30 years old
male
non smoker
Yearly income ~60K

Thanks in advance!
If the plan has been taken out from the market, changes to the policy may not be possible. Furthermore the plan is a traditional term policy, not as flexible as the Investment Linked Policy.

In this case you need to look for a new policy to complement to your needs (minus the term life of Rm100k).

Since you had just taken over the policy, do be advised to check and ensure that the nomination is up to date.
lifebalance
post Apr 4 2017, 12:48 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 4 2017, 12:45 PM)
you want me to report the whole cell in Prudential kuching? that's what is happening now as each of them are sharing it.
smile.gif if there is such modus operandi going around, and you're witnessing it but not doing anything, then what for you bring it up in the first place? It'll just wait until the victim accumulate and thereafter someone else will file a complaint but the person had already made away with the money
TSroystevenung
post Apr 4 2017, 12:51 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 4 2017, 12:45 PM)
Yes, our digital marketing team will take appropriate action once an official notice is made. At times they even monitor social media and email directly to the agent/agency if found to be in violation with the rules of social media.

I was also cautioned a few weeks ago for using the Prudential logo in one of my FB page. cry.gif
Avangelice
post Apr 4 2017, 12:55 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Apr 4 2017, 12:51 PM)
Yes, our digital marketing team will take appropriate action once an official notice is made. At times they even monitor social media and email directly to the agent/agency if found to be in violation with the rules of social media.

I was also cautioned a few weeks ago for using the Prudential logo in one of my FB page. cry.gif
Perfect. thank you. I'll email Prudential.
ckdenion
post Apr 6 2017, 12:43 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

yea man, so deceiving. people who are good in finance will be able to identify but most people won't go into the details.

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 4 2017, 12:42 PM)
smile.gif  feel free to file a complaint to BNM & Prudential as the above is liable to penalty for not giving proper full sales illustration and attempt to deceive.

Not to mention the illustration is wrong for the bank for not showing the compounded interest. Which is already incorrect & deceiving.

The correct amount for the bank side should be RM147,008.035 @ 3% interest per annum basis. 3% for using the same assumption of this illustration and may not reflect the current FD rate of 1 year placement.
nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif that shud be the correct calculation. Avangelice regarding on the post, did anyone comment on it?
Avangelice
post Apr 6 2017, 12:46 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Apr 6 2017, 12:43 AM)
yea man, so deceiving. people who are good in finance will be able to identify but most people won't go into the details.
nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif that shud be the correct calculation. Avangelice regarding on the post, did anyone comment on it?
Yeap. almost all the person's colleagues request to share it on their on fb page and I can see it going viral amongst the Prudential agents. can't comment on it as the agent is my friend's wife. don't wanna be that guy.

138 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1070sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:03 AM