7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

spiderman17
post Feb 5 2018, 02:02 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 5 2018, 01:02 AM)
During my last portfolio health check, my CIS advised me to cut down the supplementary funds, as it exceed 20% (G.China + Tech + India), so i made such move.
My situation might be different with yours, below were my considerations in making such move, that might not useful in your situation.

1. TA global tech to United Global Quality (MYR hedged) because:
-  I need a Global Equity Fund in my portfolio, as one of my CORE FUNDS, which can invest freely onto anywhere,  any sector, any capital size of company. So that, i don't have to hold too much number of funds just for diversification purpose (esp country specific/ sector specific fund). United Global Quality is the ONLY ONE fund that fits above requirement because it is "not Global islamic" fund, "not Global Titans/ Leaders/ small cap/ growth/ value/ dividend" fund. Furthermore, it is Hedged to MYR, which can limit the currency risk. I believe that 2018 will be a bad year for USD.
- TA Global Tech is the second worst performer (in term of IRR) with 16.6% IRR, in my portfolio.
- For Tech stocks, PER of Nasdaq 100 is 26.342, but the fair PE is 18.0, it priced at 46% more than its fair value. So, i feel a bit worry to be concentrate on only tech sector.
- To cut down my supplementary funds, and move it as core funds.

2. India to Greater China because:
- volatility of india is too high for me. It can suddenly drops 4% in 1 day, then the other 2% the next day, wash out all the profit make in 2 months before, then repeat this cycle about 3 months later.
- It is the worst performer (in term of IRR) with 13.3% IRR, in my portfolio.
- Sensex Index PER  is 23.85, fair PER is 18.0. That make India the most expensive market in Asia.
- To cut down my supplementary funds.
- My Asia Fund (50% of my portfolio) do cover India.
- For Greater China, HSML 100 PER is at 13.81, not exceed its Fair PE 14.
I assumed it's from FSM.
Do you need to visit their office in order to get/request the portfolio health check? Or it's done thru phone/email?
what exactly is covered in this "portfolio health check"?
notworthy.gif
spiderman17
post Feb 5 2018, 06:22 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 5 2018, 04:19 PM)
I just wrote an email to  investhelp.my@fundsupermart.com (not client.help) for my portfolio health check, provided them my investment's market value @ eUT/ASNB/ others  and target FI/EQ ratio etc.

Every account of FSM has a dedicated CIS, who can access to our holding with FSM, so not need to provide them our holding at FSM.

I asked for advises to reduce the number of funds ( i was holding 9 funds at that time), but he provided 2 pages long of suggestions which will increase the number of funds if i follow bulat bulat.

Suggestion from my CIS includes:
=====================
Asia Ex-Japan region
....You may have Asia Ex-Japan region Funds about 25-30% percent of your portfolio as we believe this market is still trading at a cheaper valuation hence higher upside potential in longer term.

supplementary Funds
Your portfolio overexposed to supplementary Funds and single country funds. You have the total of xxxx% percent of these categories such as Specific fund (TA Global Technology), Greater China and Single country funds ( India and Singapore). You may consider reducing funds in this area because anything less than or equal to 10% will be good for the supplementary portion of this type of funds caring very high risk and have higher market volatility.

Fixed Income funds,
you may remain Affin Hwang Select Income Fund (Asia Ex-Japan) while, switch the other 2 funds to Libra AsnitaBond Fund  (Malaysia).

While reducing the percentage for the funds mentioned above you may also consider to diversify those funds to other region as below:
Emerging market region (Eastspring Investments Global Emerging Markets Fund) (about 10% of your portfolio)
The fund management team believes that the emerging stock markets are inefficient and provide strong potential for adding value through active fund management. The fund manager believes that these values can be extracted through both country and stock selection, and each country will have its respective investment approach given that the emerging economies are all at different stages of development.

Developed Market region (CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund) & Global (Eastspring Investments Global Leaders MY Fund) (about 25% of your portfolio)
We have always been emphasising the inclusion of global equity funds  as one of the core holdings in an investor’s portfolio not only to achieve the purpose of portfolio diversification, but also to capture opportunities shall they arise in any part of the world

Malaysia fund (Kenanga Growth Fund) (about 15% of your portfolio)
Malaysia’s economy is gaining momentum as it grows at the fastest pace in more than two years. The global trade recovery has spurred exports, with Malaysia outperforming its peers in the region as earlier weakness in the currency helped to keep its manufacturing industry competitive.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance.
Thank you! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 5 2018, 04:29 PM)

lol...basically they just ask you to follow Managed Portfolio ratio
Oh... hmm.gif
That would seem like Agressive portfolio?
15% Msia, 10% EM, ....
spiderman17
post Feb 6 2018, 12:00 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 6 2018, 11:47 AM)
Yes if i have extra cash and i am already plan to top up as VCA.  biggrin.gif
If only i have so much cash as of double my current holding...  wub.gif
QUOTE(yklooi @ Feb 6 2018, 11:56 AM)
so you  does not want to switch current holdings to FM bond fund, use credit to switch back when recover, you may have much better return at the same time continue with your top up plan?
so...what would you do if you actually have a 50% war-chest?
hmm.gif

spiderman17
post Feb 6 2018, 11:43 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 6 2018, 08:58 PM)
Check your January monthly statement, then you will see Managed Portfolio sold all global titan and bought EIGEM and Templeton(?)
I checked my statement. It did really sold all global Titan. Almost 2/3 proceed goes into ei global leader, 1/3 into Templeton.
By the way, I'm on balanced portfolio
spiderman17
post Feb 6 2018, 11:53 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 6 2018, 09:25 PM)
this morning, switch < 10% of my fi to equity fund.
If tomorrow is as bad as today, or worse than today,
will switch the other 10% bond fund to equity fund as I have 6 digits credit to dispose, that I held for almost  1 year.

I m the only one in this thread who took action today?
I only did rebalancing, as I've gone extra heavy into ponzi2 during the 0% promo recently. Now switching some % out into other fund.

What's your fi% after this switch? I sort of remember you're on around 40%. More importantly, what percentage is this portfolio to your overall investment? Maybe your other investment are fi type, so you can afford to go very agressive on your ut portfolio?
spiderman17
post Feb 7 2018, 09:26 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 7 2018, 12:36 AM)
thumbsup.gif then, i am not the only one.
REIT and India fund are not in my radar.
My bond fund are with Affin Hwang, and Eastspring, i can only switch to EQ in these fund house ... no much choice...

Last week, i switched all my Affin Hwang Aiiman Asia Growth to Esther bond, to lock +5% profit, that i put a bet in early December.
Today, just switch back only... So, my FI-EQ ratio remains unchanged at 30-70%.

My plans for the coming days is : if market drop >4% like today (HSI drops 5% today leh), i will switch 10% of my FI to EQ fund.  Switch back to bond fund if this bet have around 5% profit in these coming months.

10% of my FI is only 3% of my total UT portfolio (eUT + ASNB + FSM).
I can repeat it maximum 7 times until FI-EQ ratio at 10-90%, because 10% of my FI are with ASNB.

If i reach 10-90 FI/EQ ratio, that means the market drops at least 30%. sweat.gif  Then, we are in bear market/ economic recession.

But, recent economic data (unemployment, inflation, PMI) are all good, companies earning still grows. We are not in economic recession loh. So, i put a a bet.

The fear come from the change of FED president to a hawkish one, and fear on steep interest rate hike by him.

=====
Don't follow me, our situation are not the same.
I have a good job, insurance and EPF to secure me. Nobody depends on me, no commitment. And, I have experience in 2008 fin crisis.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts/plan.
Don't worry, I won't blindly follow. I'm a slow mover anyway...
spiderman17
post Feb 9 2018, 06:37 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 9 2018, 11:35 AM)
VIX is a measure of volatility meaning how " swinginess " is the S&P 500. It means the higher the VIX the more " swinginess " the S&P 500 index around its mean.

When it is time like this, there are three things an investor can do:

1) Sit out, stay out come back when the dust is settled.

2) Don't give a Fcuk! Just DCA all the way.

3) Buy low sell high b'coz ya feelin' lucky!
[attachmentid=9579066]

Which type of investor are you?
a bit of 1), mostly 2)

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 9 2018, 03:34 PM)
er.. last closing, S&P500 -10.16% ish only from the highest point, which was sometime last month.
so.. big deal yet meh?

technically, in their jargon, it's already a correction
now to see if it's going for a -20% or more heheh

personally, i'll start lelong buys at -16% to -18% and if fall more significantly from there, chunking in.
like my grocery shopping - Tesco give 10% voucher.. see la if i'm doing groceries anyway, use lor
BUT
if Tesco give me 15% or 20% voucher, i'd start looking for things to buy and stockup tongue.gif
Simplistic but clear  laugh.gif
when lelong season started, do give a shout-out here icon_rolleyes.gif
spiderman17
post Feb 12 2018, 01:38 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 12 2018, 01:32 PM)
thumbup.gif

I will decide either tomorrow or day after tomorrow!
waiting for this? laugh.gif
spiderman17
post Feb 12 2018, 08:24 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 12 2018, 07:57 PM)
UT is a basket of stocks. In fact, ALL Asia Equity Fund are investing into Tencent, Samsung, and Taiwan Semicon. Their direction determine the direction of NAV of fund like ponzi 2.

All of them are go up today. So, definitely,the market is not bleeding today.

May be, you meant LAST FRIDAY was another bleeding day.
i never noticed that...you're good notworthy.gif
spiderman17
post Feb 14 2018, 01:54 AM

309 posts

this time it is quite a dip on my port bye.gif
spiderman17
post Feb 14 2018, 12:48 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 14 2018, 09:04 AM)
hmm.gif just curious....
why is your IRR number falls almost in tandem amount with your ROI number?
the IRR numerical value has become even less than the ROI value  confused.gif
Any sudden or large amendment to the port?
Q1
I don't know. I thought that's normal? Shouldn't IRR drop when ROI drop? Correct me if i'm wrong.

Q2
I thought it is correct that way coz I already invested > 1yr, so definitely ROI > IRR. Correct me if i'm wrong.

Q3
Trimmed AH Select Bond from 20% to 10%, over-allocated Ponzi2 from 10% to 30% then trimmed to 25%. Will continue trim down monthly either by switch-sell or buy other funds if found extra $ sitting around.
and i added AH Japan Growth 5%

This post has been edited by spiderman17: Feb 14 2018, 12:52 PM
spiderman17
post Mar 13 2018, 09:06 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 13 2018, 07:43 AM)
hmm.gif how does one goes about on 'forcing" them?
how does one goes about to complaint to SIDREC?......
......based on what? the published data that are based on historical value and holdings?did you read the disclaimer on the web?
One can always sell their managed portfolio to protest
spiderman17
post Mar 13 2018, 01:50 PM

309 posts

just a thought...could the discrepancy be due to date?
maybe idyllrain or i1899 can vary the start/end dates and see if it sort of match up?

i bought balanced managed port. factsheet for 1M says -0.4%
looking at my own record, on 8feb port irr was 0.05%. on 3mar port irr is 2.44%. that's abt +2.35% vs factsheet -0.4%..
i made a small topup ~5% of port on 19feb. my dates are the day i look at the port value, not necessarily same as the date of the fund nav.

spiderman17
post Mar 16 2018, 11:18 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 15 2018, 07:28 PM)
idyllrain, i1899

here is the latest update....

"Pertaining to your previous query.

We wish to update you on our new findings.

We would like to sincerely apologise for the inaccuracy in calculation due to the mistake in recognition of dates. The on-going rebalancing and portfolio adjustment during the end-of month (reporting date) has caused this inaccuracy.

Please find below the calculations that we have worked out accounting for the rebalancing period.

(see attached table and note)

*Please take note that last row in above table is the inaccurate return in factsheet (2/2/18 – 28/2/18). This error occur due to previous round rebalancing was still on-going from 25 Jan 2018 to 2 Feb 2018. As such, system mistakenly capture 2 Feb data instead of 31 Jan data to calculate for overall portfolio return in Feb. (1 Feb 2018 is Federal Territory Day, holiday)

We will re-upload the factsheets soonest possible and rectify the inaccuracy. Thank you".

thumbup.gif i1899...nice catch  thumbsup.gif  notworthy.gif

hmm.gif are they correct this time and "future time"?
oh... faith restored thumbup.gif
topup again biggrin.gif
spiderman17
post Mar 21 2018, 06:22 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Mar 20 2018, 03:13 PM)
blush.gif My comments:

To cut loss or to invest more in a dipping market depends on the 1) potential of the market and 2) performance of the the fund itself.

1) If the market drops, it is common that the fund invest in the market drops also.
But if the potential of the market in the future is still bright and the valuation (PER) is still cheap (such as China, Asia Ex Japan), invest more loh.
If no potential (such as REIT) in the near future or the valuation (PER) looks expensive (like Msia, India), dont invest more .

2) if the market did not drop significantly or "flat", but the fund dropped significantly lets say 5% drops more than its peers/ index, it is the time to CUT LOST before it getting worse.
Get IDS as example, compare with Eastspring Small Cap or CIMB Small Cap, FBM Small Cap, IDS drops of -27.4% from the peak is unacceptable, incompatible with its peers, should CUT LOSS before it reach -10%.

It is true that Unit trust is long term investment, but it doesn't mean you buy and hold without monitor or transaction.
When it is time to switch out or switch in, please do so to avoid any further loss or to take profit.
=============

I invested in UT ~10 years, with IRR as 11.4%  dry.gif .  (In early years, i was very conservative  bangwall.gif , else wise IRR will be much higher)
Over these years, value of my UT investment had reached 105 months of my current salary. With 12% p.a., i am earning 1 full month salary from my UT Investment alone, every month.  rolleyes.gif Basically, i reached financial freedom.

I would like to say UT is an easy and convenient tools for saving ur monthly salary for retirement purpose/ financial freedom.
Dont give up.
crouching tiger hidden dragon!
105months! very inspiring. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(elea88 @ Mar 21 2018, 01:19 PM)
personal reasons. too much $ with FSM haha. and slowly need to cash out for Kid Education.

my relationship with FSM since 2010!!
and I started with EASTSPRING INVEST GLOBAL EMRGING MARKET FUND
another dragon reappear here... whistling.gif
spiderman17
post Mar 27 2018, 07:16 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(spiderman17 @ Feb 14 2018, 01:54 AM)
this time it is quite a dip on my port  bye.gif
my diy port stuck low mad.gif bangwall.gif vmad.gif
spiderman17
post Mar 28 2018, 12:17 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 27 2018, 08:12 PM)
mind telling the dates between these Yellow lines?

just curious what happened to the port during that period?
what did you do to the port?
the mkts goes haywired from 2 Feb 2018......but yours looks a lot earlier...... confused.gif
16Jan to 14Feb.
Made a big lump sum purchase of Ponzi2 on 22Jan during FSM event. Bad timing really.
No other major changes during that period.

In March I've switched CIMB G Titan to United Global Quality-MYR.

My current port:

The last column is % of port.
spiderman17
post Mar 29 2018, 11:15 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Mar 29 2018, 09:34 AM)
So u all pump in strategy wait drop above 2% only pump in? Due to the sales fee...
if you keep pumping in, then the 2% threshold gets lower and lower as you move from silver to gold to platinum.
Then how? tongue.gif
spiderman17
post Jun 1 2018, 06:29 PM

309 posts

My DIY port:

Latest IRR:

Meanwhile, my managed port(Balanced) is still -1% IRR.
grumble.gif

Missed topping up in May...will resume this month.
spiderman17
post Jun 26 2018, 01:53 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 26 2018, 10:48 AM)
light shower je tongue.gif
more MORE!! muahahaahh  devil.gif
flag here when you start your shopping spree
cheers.gif

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0526sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:23 PM