41 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

xuzen
post Feb 9 2019, 11:00 AM

4,436 posts

2019 port so far is trending upwards.

Dear Datok Kong / Choy San Yeh / Thee Kong et al....

Not asking a lot from you gaiz this round. Just make Trump STFU and let us continue this heavenly ride.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Feb 19 2019, 04:21 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Feb 15 2019, 01:51 PM)
Bro Xuzen,

You still holding these?
yes
xuzen
post Feb 26 2019, 04:16 PM

4,436 posts

had a quick glance at my port and it looks like Feb19 is going to be a happy happy month for me.
xuzen
post Mar 1 2019, 02:47 PM

4,436 posts

March 2019 M-o-M result is in.

March 2019 M-o-M return is +ve 2.XX%

In the last 12 months tracking five months was in the red, seven months gave positive return.

in the last 12 months tracking, the total lost is still five figure.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Mar 1 2019, 02:58 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 1 2019, 02:47 PM)
March or Feb 2019?  tongue.gif
He he he, it is Feb 2019.
xuzen
post Apr 2 2019, 04:29 PM

4,436 posts

Algozen™ ver four M-o-M report:

1) M-o-M ROI for Mar 2019 is 0.55%.

2) The preceeding 12 months tracking has shown a inflection, where the cumulative sum is now in positive territory. Hopefully 2019 can bring back the glory days of pre-Trump era and throw the scary 2018 memories into the dustbin of history.

3) All my UTF in my portfolio are green but the main contributor comes from Manureits and Dinasti [ KWSP - MIS portion ].

4) I stopped looking at UTF NAV on a daily basis since the 2018 Trump crisis started and this habit has been with me for about a year already. I can say I am so much the happier and I do not miss the NAV stalking at all.

5) One of my acquaintance took a few week off and became a monk in Thailand and practise a austere and meditative life. As a result, he is a happier person.

6) One of my acquaintance took a few week off and enrolled in an ashram in India and practice yoga daily as well as meditation and engage in Ayurvedic healing. As a result, he is a happier person.

7) Some played tennis after work from six to eight, have a couple of beer, then go home, have dinner with family. Sleep at ten and as a result, he is happier person.

I choose action number ( 7 ).

There are so many things we can do to make ourself happier, and looking at the NAV on a daily basis is definitely not one of them.

Xuzen.

p/s Live long and prosper.

xuzen
post Apr 22 2019, 02:52 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 17 2019, 09:14 PM)
in 4 months of 2019 most of the EQ losses of the whole 2018 had been recovered (except local one).....
xuzen,....has the mean reversion completed or more to go?
what did the Algozen says?
Reversion of mean is always an on-going thing.

This means that in the larger scheme of things, the outcome by far and large has a tendency to regress towards the mean / average. If we know the average, then we can predict the long term outcome. However, how quickly or how long it takes, this is always has been the million dollar question.

And you gaiz har... like to cry wolf. Takut ini, takut itu. Takut bond outflow lah, Takut omputeh sell the bonds and make bond crash lah!

Today aku pun saja-saja log into my port and take a sneak peek.

Surprise surprise... it is a sea of green. My Asnita instead of turun, it is naik pulak!

Why is this so?

Because Asnita is local corporate sukuks ( zero coupons ) and has zero exposure to MGS ( Sovereign bonds ).

Omputeh boh-chap and boh-hiew local corporate sukuks wan lah! They only " play " MGS aje....

So all of you hor.. don't simply - simply , little bit only; cry wolf!

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Apr 22 2019, 02:54 PM
xuzen
post Apr 23 2019, 08:40 PM

4,436 posts

I beg to differ.

wasn't sure if you are responding to my post or not, but I reread my post as above and I never mention at all equities and bond fund are same.

5 - 6% for the low risk you are taking, ok mah. If you ask me, it is pretty good deal.

Hmmm... I reread the Product Highlight sheet as well as Fund Fact Sheet and all the above words you had bolded are not contain therein. It only says; I quote, " near cash instruments and sukuk " & "The Fund is an open-ended unit trust fund with a short to medium term investment horizon, which invests primarily in sukuk. "

Apa lu baca, kawan? How come lain punya?

Omputeh investor, which in my understanding means instituitional investors and they will not touch small capitilized corporate bonds. I mean; look at our large cap company, how many are listed as Fortune 500 company? Look again at the Fund Fact Sheet of Asnita Bond and look at their top 5 holdings... how many of the corporate sukuks are from Fortune 500 companies. How many of the sukuks are even from KLSE FTSE Index 30 companies? Therefore, my assertion that Libra Asnita Bond is not holding on to sukuks that will interest omputeh in the near and mid term stands.

Just my 2.75 cts

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Apr 23 2019, 08:48 PM
xuzen
post Apr 24 2019, 02:36 PM

4,436 posts

You are new here and perhaps you have not read what I had to say over the years. It is ok, I don't expect you to comb through all my thousand of post historically. Let me summarize my view on fixed income.

To me fixed income is mainly as a portfolio stabilizer. A slight better return of 0.5% or etc is immaterial when looking at returns gained from the equity side of the portfolio where the return could be double digit.

Anita was chosen because it gave a very good Sharpe. Optimal return with balanced risk. It has zero entry and exit fee unlike RHB Islamic Bond where there is RM 25.00 transaction fee and a 1% exit fee is held less then one year.

Eastspring Bond is good in my book and I am holding it as part of my KWSP - MIS post stabilizer.

KAF Bond min invest is RM 100K. Not your average retail investor type fund.

What you have posted with regards to alternative suggestions are good, but only in theory. If you have been in the market as a participant for a long time, you will realize there are practical considerations versus theoretical number crunching. Desk smart versus street smart.

Other points which I did not reply to, for the record means I do not have any additional info to add to it.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Apr 24 2019, 05:44 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(spiderman17 @ Apr 24 2019, 05:03 PM)
Good discussion thumbup.gif
A bond fund holding shorter term bonds inherently have higher PTR, compared to another found holding longer term bonds. It's not always due to itchy fingers trading.
Then we have to consider long term vs short term bond...which is likely to be more stable, lower default risk? Nothing is ever absolute, always relative.
nice discussion right?

much better than those, which fund to buy ar?

i got RM 50k, 100k, 500k.... which is the bestest of bestest fund ar?

should i buy or sell ar?

it is a breath of fresh air isn't it?
xuzen
post Apr 25 2019, 10:36 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Nicholas Kang @ Apr 24 2019, 04:12 PM)
"What you have posted with regards to alternative suggestions are good, but only in theory. If you have been in the market as a participant for a long time, you will realize there are practical considerations versus theoretical number crunching. Desk smart versus street smart. "

Do you mind giving examples?

(Hopefully it is not efficient market hypothesis vs technical analysis...)

I read several mutual fund and investment books before and I thought the authors should be telling the practical stories. No?

After all, if theories are wrong, investment book sellers would have been bankrupt long ago.
My reply above was in respond to you stating KAF Bond as an alternative to Anita Bond.

What I wanted to convey was sometimes we may look at the pure academic numbers and then decide, ah! This is the product I want.

When you click on the BUY icon, then a message pops up, saying, " Min invest is RM 100K ". Can a normal average Joe buy? These type of real life limitation, text book don't teach one. You have to be in the market to be in the know. It is called University de'Societe.

Want another example?

Here is another one. RHB Islamic Bond gives a 10 year average return of 6.XX% p.a. Sounds wonderful right? You put in your money and when there is a bull run, you want to sell and put into equities fund, you click on the SELL icon, you get hit with an exit fee of 1% pulak! doh.gif

Does the textbook teaches you all these? Do your investment books teach you all these?

Have you come across any investment book or any Uni Professor telling you all the above donkey tales? The above practical considerations is what that concerns retail investors.

And no, I was not even thinking about those high and mighty mkt hypothesis vs TA mumbo-jumbo.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Apr 25 2019, 10:41 AM
xuzen
post Apr 25 2019, 10:50 AM

4,436 posts

Nic Kang is a twenty something who has read a tonnes of investment books etc bla bla bla.

He may be book smart, no doubt about it.

And at twenty something book smart, I am sure his future is bright in the investment world thingy.

Now, he needs to swim with sharks to learn the street smart part.

He had 15 years head start than I had. I only started to be interested in investment around late 30's. It has been almost 15 years of investment journey for me. It is a journey that is well taken. I attest to it.

I too went through his journey, getting my hands on all the investment books that are available at that time and devouring them gluttoniously.

Nic, at such young age, you have such a good head start. I wish you all the best. You are throdding a right path.

Xuzen.

xuzen
post Apr 26 2019, 02:23 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 26 2019, 10:44 AM)
Ahhh. The IDS guy.

Even xuzen also fall for it.
At that time, the numbers were good mah....

I am not infalliable.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Apr 26 2019, 02:26 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 26 2019, 09:25 AM)
After so many conversations, nobody is telling what fixed income funds are they holding onto now.
Lai lai come open mouth wide wide...

Here comes my maggi mee; cepat dimasak, sedap dimakan answer:

1) Anita Bond thumbup.gif

2) Eastspring Inv Bond Fund. thumbsup.gif

rclxs0.gif

xuzen
post May 4 2019, 12:19 PM

4,436 posts

Algozen™ ver four M-o-M [ Apr 2019 ] result is in:

In Apr 2018 M-o-M, the ROI is 1.65%

The return came from Manureit ~ 1%, CIMB China ~0.7% & Anita Bond ~ 1%.

In my port, I am now holding only three UTFs.

My last crystal ball algozen™ ver four reading was at Q4Y2018 and only plan to review end of Q2Y2019. Forcing myself not to do too much switching, wanna keep my PTR low. Nanti ada orang merajuk pulak pasal PTR tinggi rclxs0.gif

Xuzen

p/s 12 mths preceeding return has turned positive with the inflexion point seen in Mar 2019. Hopefully the ghastly ghost of 2018 begone and do not come back.

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 4 2019, 12:21 PM
xuzen
post May 4 2019, 02:28 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ May 4 2019, 01:08 PM)
Since when you let go your equity income?
Still holding it albeit via the KWSP - MIS side.

I will probably switch out of it if it is underperforming once I do a review at the end of Q2Y2019.

Xuzen

P/S Just saw this pic in the Starbiz section today.

Apparently, I have been Marie Kondo'ing my investment since before the appearance of MK. Now I am down to 3 UTFs only.
xuzen
post Jun 11 2019, 11:17 AM

4,436 posts

Previous M-o-M report for Algozen™ ver four:

The portfolio made a loss of 0.9% M-o-M [ May 2019 ].

The main contributor for the loss came from China exposure ( no surprise actually ) which I had about 15% exposure.

The bond part [ Asnita ] and Manureits mitigated the loss.

I have shifted half of my China exposure to US through RHB GS US Equity. Since both Trump and Xi likes to quarrel, one's gain is another's loss, I bet on bothlah! Whoever wins or lose, my port stays more or less the same. This is not the time to be gung-ho, it is time to be a cautious investor.

In the mean time, let REIT and bond slowly do their work.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jun 11 2019, 01:45 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jun 11 2019, 12:26 PM)
Wow. U go really defensive to be down only 0.9% thumbup.gif
alakazam! Crytal Ball effect!

xuzen
post Jun 11 2019, 01:45 PM

4,436 posts

--- deleted due to double posting ---

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 11 2019, 01:45 PM
xuzen
post Jun 13 2019, 09:47 PM

4,436 posts

Someone mentioned about AmBon Islam. It is a good one which i think can be a good competitor to Anita.

Someone mentioned about Global Fund. Take a look at Amglobal emerging market opportunity fund [ daughter fund of Schroder ]

The above are my uneducated guess.

Xuzen

41 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.8354sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:37 PM