65 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSyklooi
post Apr 17 2019, 09:14 PM

8,188 posts

in 4 months of 2019 most of the EQ losses of the whole 2018 had been recovered (except local one).....
xuzen,....has the mean reversion completed or more to go?
what did the Algozen says?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Apr 17 2019, 09:15 PM
SUSyklooi
post Apr 18 2019, 08:32 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Apr 18 2019, 11:10 AM)
Didn't mean it that way, last time bought into Nomura as they were holding (MGS) Malaysian Government Securities as their top holding but looks like it's not the case anymore
from the below article....
"However, the impact on each bond fund differs by the underlying exposure. For funds that have higher holdings of Malaysian Government Securities, such as RHB Bond Fund (26.2%* of NAV) and Eastspring Investments Bond Fund (16.23%* of NAV) have witnessed a greater magnitude of correction compared to those that have lesser exposure like KAF Bond Fund (0.89%* of NAV)."

How many % of MGS is Nomura I income is holding now?

Ancient-XinG-, do that note of this latest development....for I think you are following onto this fund too....(I think you had mentioned previously....it holds high % of MGS thus maybe it is the reason for its good returns last year....)

I was last month, planning to shift a chuck to Nomura next month......now seems like "hesitated abit".

QUOTE(T231H @ Apr 18 2019, 08:09 PM)
thumbup.gif  you just discussed it these 2 days.....
today they published their thought about it...

FTSE Russell Review and What You Can Do About It
British index provider FTSE Russell has placed Malaysia government debt on it's watch list, with possibility of removing MGS from FTSE World Government Bond Index.

In this article, FSM MY share their views on this matter with investors.
By: Tan Wei Yine |  Published on Apr 18, 2019 

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/art...Can-Do-About-It
This post has been edited by yklooi: Apr 18 2019, 08:35 PM
SUSyklooi
post Apr 19 2019, 09:35 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(goatbernard @ Apr 19 2019, 09:27 AM)
Nomura i-Income Fund raise back a bit yesterday

NAV(2019-04-18)
    Day Change

MYR 1.0798
    0.06%
thumbsup.gif thks for the input

latest plan since the starts of this current uncertainties ....
bcos of my age,...my planning changed...may shift to EPF instead of FI funds..
planning still pending...
SUSyklooi
post Apr 19 2019, 10:48 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Apr 19 2019, 10:46 AM)
But EPF then the funds become tied up right ? Or you reach the age where can withdraw as you please ?
yes,...reached 55
SUSyklooi
post Apr 19 2019, 10:50 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Apr 19 2019, 10:50 AM)
Happy retirement sir and enjoy your hard earned savings !
SUSyklooi
post Apr 19 2019, 11:05 AM

8,188 posts

I find this article contain many mantra that needs to be highlighted again regularly...

Take a Long-Term View
No doubt hanging on to your portfolio holdings during a recession can be painful especially when the slow down in the economy starts hitting your pocket.
That is why it is important to set aside an emergency fund that should ideally be composed of 3-6 months’ worth of your living expenses in a current account.
This way an investor does not need to dispose of their portfolio holdings (that may possibly even be underwater) so that they can weather through the head winds ahead.

The Fallacy of Market Timing
investors should look beyond intraday volatility and short term fluctuation in markets to isolate between noise and fundamentals.
If you can’t stomach the wild price swings in your portfolio, chances are you may be taking more risk than your circumstances allow.
Take the time to sit-down with your client portfolio manager to run through your fund holdings and look into areas to de-risk and allocate towards more defensive asset classes like fixed income.

Ride the Cycle by Building Resilience
diversification acts as a risk-reduction strategy that serves as a logical reminder to not place all your money in a single asset class or location.
But, when the bulls are charging and the markets are having a good time, such advice to ‘diversify’ often fall on deaf ears

Stick to your investment plan, drown out market noise and stay focused on the long-term to achieve your goals.

https://affinhwangam.com/breaking-the-cycle...ycle-investing/

SUSyklooi
post Apr 19 2019, 11:12 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Apr 19 2019, 10:54 AM)
You have so much confidence in EPF ?

So a quick look on the factsheets of  Affin SBF, Eastspring IBF , Nomura i Income and Asnita, only Eastpring has MGS in its top holdings. ASBF is majority foreign corp, Asnita local corp and Nomura local corp sukuk . Those worried can stay clear of Eastpring Investment Bond Fund.
hmm.gif of all these, which one do you think can provides or have more chances of providing a 6% pa?

hmm.gif even thought historical results does not determine future performance,....EPF has past through many test before......

but again....60 yrs of "sure' things had changed last year May 2018 too..... cry.gif sweat.gif will EPF follow suit? devil.gif
SUSyklooi
post Apr 19 2019, 11:17 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 19 2019, 11:13 AM)
I am holding Nomura since last August.
They hold MGS more than 60% last Jan I think. But the latest fact sheet show 94% cop sukuk. Pretty nice move I must say

While RHB bond fund hold the most. At 10%, standing top at top holding.
thumbup.gif active mgmt. thumbup.gif

SUSyklooi
post Apr 19 2019, 12:33 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Apr 19 2019, 12:28 PM)
There is annual limit of RM60k for shift to EPF, right?
Yes...if by self contribution....
But....looks like if thru the usual payroll deduction, the limit us the pay amount....i hv not tried that thou.
SUSyklooi
post Apr 20 2019, 03:28 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 20 2019, 03:15 PM)
Wah.. all in, you have heart of steel. tongue.gif
I only have about 5.8% in TA global tech in relation to my UT investment,
if in relation to my cash investment money...then it is just about 2.3% only.

thus if you only have 1 fund and only invested RM1000 cash....then it can be also 100% in it
but if you also have RM200k in EPF, cash RM100k, Property investment RM300K....then that RM1000 in TA Global tech is just 0.x% of the money.
SUSyklooi
post Apr 22 2019, 01:48 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 17 2019, 10:42 AM)
KLCI kennot pakai Liao.

Gg Liao
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 17 2019, 01:53 PM)
Just avoid Malaysia market lo like this. No hope d.
thumbup.gif WOW you guys really knows the current environment.... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Why ordinary investors are shunning Bursa Malaysia ---- Published: 21 Apr 2019

"......Right now, many ordinary investors choose not to invest in the stock market because the odd is not in their favour. Short of using harsh words, many listed companies are con jobs."

https://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/473131

ranting.gif doh.gif

SUSyklooi
post Apr 26 2019, 05:46 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 19 2019, 11:13 AM)
I am holding Nomura since last August.
They hold MGS more than 60% last Jan I think. But the latest fact sheet show 94% cop sukuk. Pretty nice move I must say

While RHB bond fund hold the most. At 10%, standing top at top holding.
QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 19 2019, 07:05 PM)
wow, a good example of fund houses can change their fund's holding and allocation to reflect/anticipate coming environment.....
(from 60% in MGS to 94% in Corp sukuk in 2 months)
thus what ever predetermined reasons for selection and criteria for buying of that unit trust fund earlier.....all had been distorted.....for by the time those published data reached us......the actual holdings and allocation may had already changed by a large margin.
a quick no 100% wrong or 100% correct (just for fun) quiz.....
from the above, do you guys think / agree that there are things to we cannot change, like the direction or latest investment strategy or know of the latest holding of a fund.

what if, one studied the printed prospectus, the fund factsheet, the general investment policy / holdings and assets allocations %, and these would include data in the PTR/MER/FVF etc of that fund as stated......then he/she liked them, thus bought that fund.
as from the above, we know that published data can change almost 180 degree in a very short period

what if that are changed by the fund house (like the above)...should we sell, for it had gone against our purchase/holding intention?
(we can select to alight the train the moment we saw those change)
or
we let the FM be the driver and let the result of his driving be the judge to see if his driving met our goals?

hmm.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Apr 26 2019, 07:23 PM
SUSyklooi
post Apr 26 2019, 08:11 PM

8,188 posts

I just liked this post by Wong Sui Jau.
(too bad FSM SG cut the link to his many timeless posts) ranting.gif vmad.gif

Sui Jau's ....
"The most important advice I would give to anyone who hasn't started (be it man or woman) and is being held back is to starting investing now, but use a small amount.
Something you are comfortable with even if you suffer losses. It can be as little as one thousand dollars because that is usually all you need to start investing into a unit trust.
Then, as you invest, you will see how markets and such affect your returns and you will be able to learn from your experiences without suffering too much heartache compared to if you placed your entire life savings into the market and lose half of it in a market crash.
The key thing is you have to accumulate investing experience. No amount of prior reading up and accumulating of knowledge can compare with actual investing experience which can only be built up by using your own money to invest. You have to experience the emotional pull that comes from market ups and downs and learn how to handle your emotions during those times. And learning from mistakes made is the greatest teacher."

SUSyklooi
post Apr 26 2019, 08:17 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 26 2019, 08:09 PM)
I very noob only wor. I see go up I buy. I see go down I sell. laugh.gif
WOW thumbup.gif
Go with the flow investing..... thumbsup.gif

way higher up than most people... icon_rolleyes.gif brows.gif

https://www.desmondwealth.com/blog/go-flow-investing

Your investment journey likewise is best made by observing the laws of financial nature.
No doubt about it; our markets are a strong and wild force.
A wise strategy for moving along your way is to harness that energy and direct it toward your personal goals, accepting what you cannot change and managing what you can.
Try paddling upstream, and you’ll not only have to work very hard, but your efforts are likely to get you nowhere fast, stuck between a rock and a wet place.

brows.gif
SUSyklooi
post Apr 29 2019, 11:41 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(djnfwugniskldnf @ Apr 29 2019, 11:08 PM)
Need some help / advice here 
I bought bond fund the day before the ex date of an income distribution, then switched to an equity fund as soon as I could , but that's after the ex date but before the income distribution was credited
The amount of the minimum distribution is less than the minimum holding and minimum top up
Will I still receive the income distribution ?
Does that mean that I have to purchase the bond (inject the minimum initial amount) then either cash out or switch to equity (not planning on holding bond fund at the moment)
buy before Ex date
sell after ex date (before the distributed unit are reflected in your account)

yes, you will still get the distributed units......even though the amount is very little.
why, because it amount you have before and after the ex date have to be about the same.

you bought at higher NAV before the ex date...you sell at a much lower NAV just immediately after the Ex date. (much lower NAV because of the pending of the "floating" extra units)

the "little" units will still need to be given to you to be reflected in your account.....you can sell off ALL the little units after getting that reflected in your accounts.

well that is just my uneducated guess....
SUSyklooi
post Apr 30 2019, 08:07 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 30 2019, 10:22 AM)
CN and AAXJ market started to tank. For the past few weeks.
I think it is good for them to take a breather after a sudden up surge....
this month of April alone, my port went up 4% and I was heavy in those 2 regions...

will this MAY be the jinx? devil.gif innocent.gif

SUSyklooi
post May 2 2019, 09:59 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 2 2019, 05:45 PM)
Portfolio performance as of April 2019:

ROI: 14.1%
IRR: 2.1%

MoM ROI: +3.6%
thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
my MoM is only 3.54% blush.gif
SUSyklooi
post May 2 2019, 11:10 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 2 2019, 10:56 PM)
my MoM for prev month up by only 7.88%
thumbsup.gif TA Global tech fund thumbsup.gif
1 good one is enough
SUSyklooi
post May 2 2019, 11:55 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ May 2 2019, 11:40 PM)
i have this but i do not know when is good exit point.
guess you are not alone in this dilemma,
but some said the good exit point
is usually be known 1 yr after it had happened.
is usually 1 yr before one needed to use the money.
is usually after having reached the goal of investing with that money
is usually getting jitterish everytime NASDAQ is jumping up and down.

but i had just 6% of it in my port currently, thus it does not matter much though.

This post has been edited by yklooi: May 3 2019, 12:07 AM
SUSyklooi
post May 6 2019, 07:30 PM

8,188 posts

Thanks to Trump..... for the shiok sendiri.....just have to post this last YTD portfolio status updated BEFORE the day of BIG SLIDE.
cry.gif cry.gif console.gif

65 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0500sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:16 PM