70 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 07:46 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 07:42 PM)
Well, in a bull run if you buy when it started picking up is better than wait for the bear to come before you buy. Because you would have lose out on the bull while waiting for correction; there's opportunity cost of waiting.
Eg would be: If you diligently buy ponzi 1.0 and APEI as soon as FSM recommend them as fund of the month, you would have made quite a lot
How many % success rate for this strategy? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 17 2017, 07:47 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 08:05 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 17 2017, 08:03 PM)
I think it is kind of hindsight words. If my memory is serving me right, there was a time asian pacific funds were recommended but collided with unexpected potus result and shits started hitting the fan.
That's why must ask probability of success. If 70%, good enough for me. tongue.gif
It's still a strategy.
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 08:53 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 17 2017, 08:27 PM)
I was thinking locking in the profits and placing them in a stable bond fund. I'm just playing scenarios in my head why keep profits? do they gain capital appreciation by sitting there?

i know in stocks, you buy it cheap and let it go up and up and collect the dividends but unit trust is different as we do not get rewarded for staying long.

yeah this has been plaguing in my mind for a long time.
Well you mentioned that your india fund was at 15%. Because you didn't cash out it became 9% or something like that. That's a real lost there.
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 10:15 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Mar 17 2017, 10:11 PM)
Who is "her" ? hmm.gif
dasecret
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 10:24 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 10:18 PM)
A backtesting done by FSM last year
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...nting!-7372
Not very successful; but last few months were quite good la. If you feel like betting, you can try. I only buy if it's a fund I like. skipped all those India, greater china stuffs. But i think it did well
Haiz was thinking of giving it a try via SG UT (0% SC) and earn quick money sad.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 10:37 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 10:30 PM)
Not sure where did you get the idea that paper gains on a fund is not a gain until you materialise it. Say you invest RM10k on a fund that grows 10% per annum; if you take out the 10% gain every year and put it in a bond fund that earns 6% or you continue to put in the fund where some years it's 15% gain and some years it's -5% loss but over 10 years it's annualised 10% (think kapchai fund or ponzi 1.0 fund)
Surely the latter give you more... too lazy to do excel to show the numbers
What about if you cash out at 15% and it grew to 21%? Then you lose out the 15%*6%
Just something for you to think about. No right or wrong answer
What are the chances for the fund to move to 21% vs 9%? I think chances for it to drop is higher than for it to hit 21% hmm.gif

My thinking once it reached a certain target, withdraw all and put into the select bond fund. Then wait. Eg 15% returns. After all it's already 15% return in less than a year. Even if didn't pump back inside after one year, the return is already 15% pa. Still decent...
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 11:32 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Mar 17 2017, 11:19 PM)
And what if u dont feel lucky enough to re-enter? Again it's a dilemma in UTF investment. There just isn't a clear cut "resistance" or "support" point to TP/SL at.

I'm as clueless as some people here are. On one hand I would like to just reap the profits in the long run regardless of the volatility. On the other, why let profits dwindle? No right or wrong.. I hope some veterans can shed some light.
Xuzen uses allocation. If it exceed that certain value he transfer it out so that the allocation come back to what he want.

Eg. The fund is supposed to be 10% of his total portfolio, it increase to 20%, so he take 10% and divert it to another fund which is (-)

Ramjade
post Mar 18 2017, 10:21 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 18 2017, 10:16 AM)
I think is a little late for it as best time was when Malaysia was beaten down badly at the end of last year.
Ramjade
post Mar 18 2017, 10:25 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 18 2017, 10:24 AM)
So in your opinion what is the best place to park the money now ?

Bond fund ? That's what I gathered .....
If you read the Stock exchange thread, it seems the the upwards trend is unnatural.
Ramjade
post Mar 19 2017, 05:48 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Mar 19 2017, 05:44 PM)
pls allow me to ask one off topic question to sifu:

how u guy make that shortcut (in excel) as i point in the pic

[attachmentid=8612619]
Select all the white row > Click Data > Group > Group... > Row > Ok
After that, reselect the white row + the grey row > Click Data > Group > Group... > Row > Ok
Ramjade
post Mar 19 2017, 10:24 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Mar 19 2017, 09:55 PM)
When I try to copy + insert new rows of data according to the instructions...the grouping all messed up...I have to re-group every single one of them...is this normal?
Follow the instructions in the excel file.
You have to click carefully or all will mess up.
Ramjade
post Mar 20 2017, 12:36 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Mar 20 2017, 12:02 AM)
Maybe you didn't read my post above.
Try read it again, carefully.
Better you post a pic. Last time also people cannot help me because I didn't post a oic.
Ramjade
post Mar 20 2017, 01:15 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 20 2017, 01:04 AM)
recent bull run still on-going. lol. didnt expect asian markets to fare so well this year after the US trump thing and interest hike?
Cause the fed stuck with their 3x hike for this year. Had the feds said they want to increase it to 4x for this year or increase >0.25%, the asian market would have tank.
Ramjade
post Mar 20 2017, 08:33 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Nullify @ Mar 20 2017, 08:25 AM)
Hey guys, sorry for the rookie question but I was wondering if the sales charge (2%) applies on subsequent purchase of units (like when RM100 is put in every month after initial investment using DCA method)? Thanks
Yes. Used to have promo for new user if they use DCA after the first month, they will get 1% SC for 6 months. Now no more. Whether you DCA or don't do DCA, you pay full 2% unless
(i) there's a promo
(ii) you have credits to offset the 2% SC
Ramjade
post Mar 20 2017, 09:03 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Nullify @ Mar 20 2017, 08:44 AM)
Thanks guys. Was thinking of testing the water by starting off with 1k and DCA-ing for a few months but doesn't seem worth it for such a small amount after taking into factor the sales charges, etc. sad.gif
What's 2% when returns can be double digit? Of course if buy wrong fund then different story devil.gif

Banks charging you 5.5% vs this one at 2%, I will take this.

woonsc even if you are millionaire, you still need to pay 1.25% laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 20 2017, 09:03 AM
Ramjade
post Mar 20 2017, 09:51 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Nullify @ Mar 20 2017, 09:10 AM)
My worry is that ASB interest rate has been steadily decreasing over recent years and I'm pretty worried of putting all my eggs in one basket  hmm.gif

True. So you're saying DIY-ing with FSM is the way to go?  tongue.gif
For the first time ASB gave a return of 6.75%. Whether can go back to 7.xx% depends on how bursa perform over this year. But it's true. It's dropping every year.
My recommendation is build up your fixed price portfolio first be it ASB/bond fund. Make sure the amount is your total 1 year salary.

If you asked me last time when I only know amanah saham, I will tell you that's the way to go. But since there's FSM, you need to be more "risky" to preserve your wealth. No choice or else your money in RM is eroded by depreciation + erosion.
As Showtime mentioned in the USD/MYR thread people who invest in malaysia have to fight both depreciation + inflation. To make your life easier, we can remove depreciation from the equation and fight only inflation. That's why risk adverse people have no choice but to take on risk.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 20 2017, 09:53 AM
Ramjade
post Mar 20 2017, 10:29 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Mar 20 2017, 10:17 AM)
well i looked at amanah saham gemilang fund fact sheet for asg pendidikan, the dividend distribution and also the NAV looking good for this year...i already ask my sister to invest 1000 in it plus she also eligible to apply asb loan for 4.8% rate...hehe...anyway what im trying to tell that ASN funds are also good to invest in. smile.gif
Stay far away from ASG/ASN3. You as an agent/salesman should know that dividend in UT is not important. Exception is the fixed price fund. Unless.. whistling.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 20 2017, 10:42 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Mar 20 2017, 10:40 AM)
Why above 5k can consider eUT? Can explain?  hmm.gif
Because eUT usually have promo. Topping up >=RM5k = 0% service charge thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
Now is whether you got the money to topup RM5k one shot or not whistling.gif

Imagine 6 funds to topup = RM30k blink.gif shocking.gif Of course for some, RM30k is peanuts whistling.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 20 2017, 10:51 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 20 2017, 10:45 AM)
Again another fresh discussion on eut....service charge...then later going to FSM sg.

Getting bored of it
Maybe it needs to be put on first page difference between FSM MY and eUT? But then again how many people actually read 1st page? hmm.gif laugh.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 21 2017, 08:23 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Mar 21 2017, 11:44 AM)
True , true, but there are RM2k rings and there are RM15k rings.
RM2k ring is the lesser of 2 evils
You forgetting the other super duper expensive diamond whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 21 2017, 08:24 PM

70 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0422sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:58 PM