70 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Ramjade
post Mar 16 2017, 01:56 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 16 2017, 01:50 PM)
I'm just pretty damn optimistic about the US economy for at least the 1st Quarter of 2017.

Would tweak my portfolio accordingly when i get more funds next month.

Btw, i went over to Maybank and enquired if i could open a sg savings account from their branch here and they said No. Messed up thing was that the staff even told me that if i was to head over to SG to open up an account, I have to prove that I have a working permit/studying there which is pretty messed up.

She claimed that i could have a chance of easily opening an account there if i was to subscribe to one of their products and deposited a huge sum of money  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

Sadly, god didn't bless me with RM2.6B, If he did, i would have definitely signed up for some financial product there lol whistling.gif
You do not need to buy anything from Maybank. It's a free service by Maybank. Not sure if it still exist or they have shut it down due to too many people exploiting that hole to open account.

You can always give it a try. Make sure you have account with Maybank MY first. Then download the application. Fill it up and drop it off at selected Maybank branches. And wait for 1 month. Call SG for updates you won't received any notification/sms/email from them that your application is successful.
Ramjade
post Mar 16 2017, 02:02 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 16 2017, 01:59 PM)
Guess you understood me wrongly, she said that if i bought/subscribed to any products in Maybank SG, then they would accept my request to open an acc with them
Again you do not need to buy anything from Maybank SG whistling.gif Hantar form je. Only cost
1x banker cheque
1x Pos Laju fees

The question is whether it still exist or not is another story whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 16 2017, 02:02 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 16 2017, 02:58 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 16 2017, 02:56 PM)
I have chosen to invest in CIMB Asia Pacific PRS Fund since 2014.

For those who do not want pure malaysia exposure, fund choices are not plenty, makes it easier to choose i think.
1) Affin Hwang PRS
2) Am Asia Reits PRS
3) the fund mentioned above.
Which affin hwang do you mean?
Ramjade
post Mar 16 2017, 04:41 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Mar 16 2017, 04:38 PM)
Actually just to clear my doubt...can our muslim friends legally invest in non-syariah compliance funds? or is that a choice?

It sometimes puzzled me in which that major non-syariah business (eg. gambling, alcohol, etc) are heavily taxed, which in turn the money (if not went into MO1's pocket) will be used in the federal budget...which the end user is the citizen, and it consist of many muslims...?? How?
Well my muslim friend told me syariah stuff is nonsense and all marketing stuff. He decide not to choose syariah funds as it limit his opportunities and choices.

It depends on who you asked. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 16 2017, 04:41 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 16 2017, 05:31 PM

24,392 posts

Wow amasia. From 0.52% to 0.82%!!!!
Ramjade
post Mar 16 2017, 11:23 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(asimov82 @ Mar 16 2017, 11:00 PM)
have any one hear of "RHB US INDEX BETA FUND" unit trust before??
just know it today and is a feeder fund into sp500 etf.

will we get this as another alternative for us exposure?
fsm and eut?? bank channel?
If you really want ot buy that fund, let me suggest you 2 cheaper way
(i) get a fund from SG which is able to beat the ETF (ie Fidelity America). You can open online via FSM SG/mail it in person to Phillip SG. Rather than paying 5.5% SC, the 2 platforms are 0% SC but FSM SG have platform fees of 0.4%pa
(ii) invest straight into the ETF. How?
Read this https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3396549
You might want to check out 8 securities too. It's a HK based broker which let you trade on US market for FOC. YOu only need to pay Bank's TT rate + any trasnfer fees.
Keep in mind if you dive straight into the US, you will kena 30% with holding tax. If you want to save on the tax, can go the way recommended in the thread above via London Stock Exchange. That way will be taxed 15% with holding tax.
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 10:55 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 17 2017, 10:45 AM)
Want to know what's worst ?

Having a Malaysian think JJPTR > FSM bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
I know a few people personally with these kind of impression
Apa itu JJPTR? Scam?
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 01:29 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Mar 17 2017, 01:11 PM)
Hi peeps,

I recently came back to Malaysia after close to 2 years of earning foreign income and brought back with me some foreign currency which is sitting in my FCA now...

With the current weakening RM, should I convert it out to RM and then invest in funds through FSM or should I just keep it in the FCA without earning any interests to hedge against the historically downward trend of RM?

Dilemma. Sifu please advise  notworthy.gif
1st I do not know you came back from which country, but holding FCY in Malaysia is not an option. Why? You cannot withdraw out that foreign currency. If you want to withdraw, it will be converted back to RM at bank's rate which sucks.

2nd since you came back, maybe you could go back to that country and open an account again with the same bank. The TT your money over (no conversion will take place since it's the same currency) and invest from over that side. That way your money is not sitting idling. If it's a modern country like SG, HK, AU, UK, US, you can invest in ETF funds/stocks.

Well the choice is up to you. For me I choose option 2.
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 01:30 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Mar 17 2017, 01:21 PM)
Down under, former land of convicts?
Excellent. Go back to AU open up your bank account, read the ASX thread under stock market section. All info and recommendation are inside there.
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 01:35 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 17 2017, 01:31 PM)
Ramjade  Manulife Asia Pac Reits up 1.31%.  blink.gif
Where? hmm.gif I only see same results as yesterday. Excellent thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 01:43 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 17 2017, 01:40 PM)
Wow rclxms.gif thumbup.gif FSM haven't update yet. I only look at FSM price blush.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 01:57 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 17 2017, 01:53 PM)
I bought some Manulife Asia Pac Reits recently, since it is under promo, used some to top up India already where the rest gone negative >1% in a short time. Was cursing.

With this, it is positive now. LOL.
It never been negative for me. Close to negative but never negative unlike amasia. Negative for a long time...
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 02:27 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 17 2017, 02:18 PM)
Yesterday was a fantastic day for Asia Pac equity but did not expect reits also did well.
All those waiting to topup S-reit yesterday tak jadi because the S-reits also rally. Since Manulife holds 50% in SG, so that's why.
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 02:48 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 17 2017, 02:47 PM)
my Manulife India returns have hit 21%. part of me is saying leave it there whilst another says cash it. oh dear Lord
If 20% I cabut liao.

KGF waiting for 15%, Cimb also 15%, India 20%, Quantum 18% TA Global Tech 18%

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 17 2017, 02:49 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 04:30 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Mar 17 2017, 04:09 PM)
Its the only red in my portfolio, just checked, its -1.45%

If 2 years doesnt perform, i so gonna switch to manulife reit
Do like me. I hold both just for the fun to see which one perform better. So far, if I am going to continue staying with FSM MY I will most likely switch to manulife by end of this year.

Since holding amasia, my returns are ~1% -> (-) doh.gif And that's almost 6 months.
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 07:27 PM

24,392 posts

Finally my FSM funds beat my Amanah Saham fixed price in less than a year rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif ~6 months Hopefully overall total can go to 10%.
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 07:30 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Mar 17 2017, 07:29 PM)
Overall return ? Wah congrates bro...
For now 6.20%. Jangan ada correction sudah... Let it run biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 07:34 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 07:30 PM)
Question is why do you want to sell? Is there anymore upside in that market? Do you foresee it to come crashing down? ROI is just a number; a rather poor indication of performance if you ask me. That's why IRR is more superior for comparison

I have many funds with >20% ROI but that's because I've held them for >1 year. If I sell them, what should I buy? If the potential is there like ponzi 1.0, instead of selling, you should be looking to buy more
Buy more when it's going up and up? What logic is that? Please explain...

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 17 2017, 07:34 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 07:39 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 17 2017, 07:35 PM)
Well, there's another strategy.
Sell them off (cash out); wait for deep correction, buy them back again.

In my portfolo, I got 3 funds with ROI > 30%
Wow blink.gif shocking.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 07:41 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Mar 17 2017, 07:39 PM)
have to remember though, this 6.2% may drop to example 3% after a year. fixed price on the other hand, will still get the 6%.
That's why I said please no correction. Let it run until 10-12% sweat.gif

70 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0396sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:02 PM