17 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

killdavid
post Dec 31 2020, 10:12 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 31 2020, 10:00 AM)
Unlicensed stock gurus on SC radar
By GANESHWARAN KANA
Thursday, 31 Dec 2020
In its Guidance Note on Provision of Investment Advice, the SC however said that not all investment-related activities require a licence.

“Generally, conducting trainings or seminars on stock trading would not likely require a licence from the SC.

However, a licence is required if your training or seminar includes any material, content or if any of your trainers or speakers makes a statement that amounts to a recommendation or inducement to take action or position (for example, buy, sell or hold) regarding a particular class, sector, or instrument in relation to securities or derivatives, ” it said.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...rus-on-sc-radar
Ah I see where this is going. I noticed there are tons of adds on youtube for local online investment training. I think the gov is moving to regulate them to ensure these people are qualified.
killdavid
post Dec 31 2020, 07:45 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 31 2020, 07:38 PM)
with a day to go.......counting the chickens before fully hatched......2020 was a roller coaster ride for my DIY port....
thanks to the last 2 months of mini rally.....my port at 50% in FI, 35% Reits and 15% in Asia Pac

MoM = +1.8%
YTD = +5.72%

moderate aggressive managed port
MoM = +3.38%
YTD = +16.84%

my Spouse PM port that is 52% in Global Eq + 38% in Asia Pac + 8% in Asean = YTD = +29.21%

Happy New Year everyone....may next year brings more HUAT but with lesser volatilities to ALL... thumbup.gif  thumbsup.gif
i guess your positions in REITS took a hit
killdavid
post Jan 5 2021, 05:28 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 5 2021, 04:49 PM)
just got this from THESTAR...
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...technology-fund

KUALA LUMPUR: Affin Hwang Asset Management Bhd launched its world series Next Generation Technology Fund on Tuesday which will feed into a target fund managed by the world's largest asset manager BlackRock.

BlackRock Global Funds - Next Generation Technology Fund is a wholesale feeder growth fund providing access to opportunities in the tech universe outside of mega cap names by capturing emerging innovative leaders.

Affin Hwang AM's Next Generation Technology Fund will invest a minimum of 80% of its net asset value (NAV) into the target fund and a maximum of 20% of the fund’s NAV into money market instruments, deposits and/or cash.

....most probably cannot get from FSM yet....
Tech focus funds are mushrooming left and right. We are already spoilt for choices.

killdavid
post Jan 5 2021, 07:44 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(ganesh1696 @ Jan 5 2021, 07:11 PM)

Full link
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...technology-fund

Just read about this new fund.
Can I buy it through FSMONE MALAYSIA.
Considering to invest in this fund.
Hopefully initial investment amount RM5000. 00
Share your thoughts friends.
Tq😊
They are all the same. After taking a look at all the existing ones, i basically see 2 types.
1. The conservative tech funds- like TA GTF, United, Principal ....the usual FAANG and etc ...these are your stable , established companies
2. The riskier ones ...you know what they say about risk ....AH Disruptive fund, RHB AI fund. these are the more upcoming tech companies. AH includes genomics + fintech which is a form of diversification.

Alot of their holdings overlap each other. So i don't expect Blackrock to bring something wildly different to the table.

And to add on, if you are targeting Far East Tech sector, you are better off with Eastspring Dinasti. Their top 5 holdings: 4 tech, 1 biotech.

This post has been edited by killdavid: Jan 5 2021, 07:50 PM
killdavid
post Jan 6 2021, 10:09 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jan 6 2021, 09:39 AM)
What're the reasons?  hmm.gif
He said the grouses of foreign equity investors have mainly been on issues around political uncertainties and governance, the latter which happened to be one of the reasons for the Fitch downgrade to BBB+ recently.

killdavid
post Jan 7 2021, 09:44 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

Hello investors, good day to top up your funds with tencent and alibaba holdings. Big reactions in comming with US threat to ban investments on these 2 companies
killdavid
post Jan 7 2021, 09:54 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jan 7 2021, 09:48 AM)
Are you qualified to give such advices as per SC guidelines?
what ? We need qualifications to share opinion ?
Its fine if it is not welcomed then i won't share in the future.
killdavid
post Jan 7 2021, 10:01 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jan 7 2021, 09:57 AM)
I'm testing if the mod is doing the job as per new SC guideline.
Welcome or not is another matter.
I believe some already shed some light the context of that notice.
You are here to enforce suppression on opinion now?
killdavid
post Jan 7 2021, 11:47 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jan 7 2021, 10:10 AM)
No worries since not welcomed, I'll leave this forum as you wished.
Hey nobody is asking you to leave. I have no hard feelings. I am open to a good debate anytime to clarify and get to the truth.
We are all here for the same purpose, to make some $$$

The way i see it, that ruling is to address people trying to influence investor for their own/company's monetary benefit. I get zero benefits and i make no claim on being an expert. Only sharing what is happening currently and discussing possible opportunities.

This post has been edited by killdavid: Jan 7 2021, 11:56 AM
killdavid
post Jan 7 2021, 12:56 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 7 2021, 12:04 PM)
i think that should be attached to posting that "makes a statement that amounts to a recommendation or inducement to take action or position (for example, buy, sell or hold) regarding a particular class, sector, or instrument in relation to securities or derivatives, ”
That is an option but I think it's too excessive. Somebody need to go kopitiam and take action against those to hype up gloves and bitcoin holdings everyday.

I read the notice very clearly it points making statement on behalf of a business. I don't offer your any courses biggrin.gif

What kind of world do we live in when speech is policed biggrin.gif
Then someone pls catch those uncle aunty day traders spouting tips in the coffee shops
killdavid
post Jan 7 2021, 02:54 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 7 2021, 02:32 PM)
i think the SC guidelines started to formulates after this....

SC WARNS INVESTORS OVER ‘PUMP AND DUMP’ SCHEMES VIA INTERNET AND SOCIAL MEDIA
21 March 2018   |   Kuala Lumpur
The Securities Commission Malaysia (SC) today issued a warning to investors over the increase use of blogs, forums and social media platforms to spread false and misleading information on certain companies in order to perpetrate ‘pump and dump’ schemes.

https://www.sc.com.my/resources/media-relea...nd-social-media

the named blogger has the same name as a forummer that was active in LYN stock forums since 2007 too.....
i think the forummer has last posted in Feb 2018
Thanks for the deeper insight on this issue. The more I read, the clearer it is that this has no relation to what we have here.

"The SC advises investors to always exercise diligence and verify the legitimacy of information before making an investment decision. Investors are reminded to be cautious of the risk of fraud and when in doubt, to seek advice from persons who have been licensed by the SC"

At the end of the day investors have do their own due diligence and take their own responsibility. SC only take action to misleading and nefarious information that seek to profit out of unsuspecting investors.

If anyone feels my comments on market are inappropriate by all means let me know. I will shut my dumb mouth smile.gif

This post has been edited by killdavid: Jan 7 2021, 02:55 PM
killdavid
post Jan 8 2021, 08:19 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(whirlwind @ Jan 8 2021, 07:36 AM)
Wall Street at record high as Democrats take control of Senate
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/wall...-control-senate

I’ve read somewhere saying investors prefer Republicans win the senate election but this news seems to be the opposite. Will this be a temporary surge?
They dislike uncertainty more than high corporate taxes. At least now they know for sure the policies that will be adopted. See Tesla shooting up.

killdavid
post Jan 8 2021, 09:30 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(JAIDK23 @ Jan 8 2021, 09:24 AM)
Morning..

i want to divert my bolehland % to tech fund

TA global or united global? or other tech fund worth jump into?
Refer here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=99505302

Generally there are 2 category:
1. Established tech investment
2. Disruptive tech invest. This is riskier as many in the list have not turn in profit yet or may end up having their tech rejected. There is even a chance companies here will disrupt those in category one.

Best advice : look through factsheet on the list of companies and see which one you comfortable with.

This post has been edited by killdavid: Jan 8 2021, 09:32 AM
killdavid
post Jan 9 2021, 02:18 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Jan 9 2021, 02:16 PM)
Can look at the SG virtual event now as Nikko people talking about their ARK disruptive fund...which they admit is more like a tactical fund, and the guy said in morning that he would buy global equity over ARK lol
You say like tactical fund is bad thing. How so?
killdavid
post Jan 9 2021, 02:39 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Jan 9 2021, 02:24 PM)
Maybe you got my nuance wrong. I have not taken sides here. I mean the Nikko guy himself said so.
This talk today is quite informative on tech sector.

Most of them bullish on China, Tech and Finance. Especially if you start from earlier this morning.
Ok. Based on the nikko guys input, my guess is the theme is about investment in 2021. Cause for the long term I see disruptive tech will decimate financial sector if they fail to move with time. Right now they have the political clout go suppress back.
killdavid
post Jan 9 2021, 03:18 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jan 9 2021, 03:03 PM)
the problem with disruptive tech stock is that most of them dont have earnings. they are flying of hopes and dream, same like bitcoin. how long before reality sets in and some whale start shorting it. i think if you are conservative person, chasing such growth stocks can only be a tactical move within a strategic asset allocation.
True that's why more research is required. I have done mine to my best ability and have come to conclusion. The world is not going discard the industrial 4.0 revolution. It will come just how fast. And the use of bitcoin example, the first crash was the prove of concept, this latest rally is backed by financial institution, not like the first one fueled by retail investors.

But but but I am just a rambling idiot. Don't follow me tongue.gif
killdavid
post Jan 10 2021, 02:26 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(ganesh1696 @ Jan 10 2021, 02:15 PM)
Is investing in UNIT TRUST which directly invest in ALIBABA and TENCENT is considered safe enough as I noticed too much pressure is  given to them as their share price fluctuates sharply in an extremely short time interval ?
Eventhough they are excluded from being blacklist by USA, is it recommended to invest in ?
I read most of CHINA based UNIT TRUST (fund factsheet), are investing small portion of their amount to these types of companies.
I'm new to this kind of high risk investment as I go through a lot of sources to make a good decision in investing.
Please share your opinions guys.
Thanks. smile.gif
Just to share with you, a source of info is youtube. There are people showing how they calculate the intrinsic value and target price of the company share.
To make things short, ask yourself what is alibaba's core business ? Are the core business impacted by these hoo-ha ? Has fundamentals changed or just the sentiment that has changed?

This post has been edited by killdavid: Jan 10 2021, 02:26 PM
killdavid
post Jan 11 2021, 05:58 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(whirlwind @ Jan 11 2021, 05:34 PM)
This week Malaysia sector Red red red
Hopefully some green after today announcement
Today got good news ? Everyone expecting not so good news.
killdavid
post Jan 12 2021, 06:05 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(chichabom @ Jan 12 2021, 05:44 PM)
Thanks ma fren..will have a read up..
Haha i just invested a small lump sum towards end dec 2019/early jan 2020 and left it aside without looking at it even during the march meltdown. The funds i bought were principal greater china and eastspring dinasti fund.
this goes against conventional wisdom but lump sum invest gives very meaty returns. When we dca, the gains are watered down, averaged over time.
Lump sum invest gains alot and lose alot also. But its mutual fund. With time in market eventually it will go up
killdavid
post Jan 12 2021, 09:54 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 12 2021, 09:17 PM)
previously, FSM will come out a monthly article PE of various region/country....
like this one (attached image) i keep last time...
they will use it to compile the star rating....

now they still have star ratings.....(just have not found where they kept the PE table)
In our Star Rating exercise, we look at key valuation metrics like PE and PB ratios, expected earnings growth, along with excess earnings yield to determine how attractive a particular market is. In addition, we consider the economic outlook, generational reforms as well as fiscal and monetary policies in a particular market and tie those stories with our estimates. The Star Rating reflects the upside potential of a market, which is inclusive of valuation expansion, expected earnings as well as expected dividends.

https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/star-rating

at times, due to the mandate of the fund or the benchmark it follows.....the FM cannot cut exposure....
There is a debate that PE ratio evaluation is outdated. If based on PE ratio rule, you would have to stay away from tech funds

17 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.1300sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:11 PM