1554 Pages « < 734 735 736 737 738 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSDavid83
post Aug 18 2018, 12:35 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kzy @ Aug 18 2018, 12:33 PM)
actually i am having Aberdeen islamic world equity 50% and EI equity income fund 50%, 1k each.
i am clueless if we MUST have a portfolio of different type and region of UT and consist of bond and equity?
how long we need to hold only then conclude that the return of UT is not good and switch to other UT?

"EMB don't enter" -> meaning all emerging market UT or EI global emerging markets fund?
"India 5%" -> which UT?
"ManuReits (suggest if can enter REITS directly better)" -> enter directly to REITS listed in BURSA?
Purpose: Diversification but don't over do it (over-diversification)
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 18 2018, 01:46 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

actually i am having Aberdeen islamic world equity 50% and EI equity income fund 50%, 1k each.
i am clueless if we MUST have a portfolio of different type and region of UT and consist of bond and equity?
how long we need to hold only then conclude that the return of UT is not good and switch to other UT?

"EMB don't enter" -> meaning all emerging market UT or EI global emerging markets fund?
"India 5%" -> which UT?
"ManuReits (suggest if can enter REITS directly better)" -> enter directly to REITS listed in BURSA?
portfolio diff region is to diversified. let say one region like JP, IN fall. you won't kena much because other region can cushion. but if major market correction, you won't be spared either lol

EQ and bond... bond has the less likely to go burst. and up down trend less powerful.
but... if you already have other form of bond outside FSM, you're welcome to have full EQ. when eq drop, must don't cry la.

EMB..... I think all EMB fund can't pakai now. EI EMB is the fund of the month by FSM. that also can't pakai... I can't imagine others.

REITS yes, go counter. be it local or foreign.

India... manulife India.
T231H
post Aug 18 2018, 03:06 PM

5,143 posts

"India 5%" -> which UT?
Q: i am clueless if we MUST have a portfolio of different type and region of UT and consist of bond and equity?
bond and equity ratio in a port will determine type of risk appetite the investor wanted...as per Step 1
different type of fund and regions will determine the type of diversification the investor wanted in the port....as in Step 2

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...ing-a-portfolio

Q: how long we need to hold only then conclude that the return of UT is not good and switch to other UT?
after a predetermined period (ex, a year or 18 months)......then compare their performance against other fund of "similar" mandate, to determine the performance.

monkeyrangers
post Aug 19 2018, 10:12 AM

17 posts

invested every month since early this year and i'm still down 5% =_=
yfiona
post Aug 19 2018, 10:24 AM

34 posts

Hi guys, can help to analyse my portfolio after 8 months entering unit trust:

- Affin Hwang Select Bond - MYR 5%
- Affin Hwang World Series - Japan Growth Fund 6%
- CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR 5%
- CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund 3%
- Eastspring Investments Dinasti Equity Fund 5%
- Eastspring Investments Global Emerging Markets Fund 5%
- KGF 30%
- United Global Quality Equity Fund - MYR Hedged 25%
- CIMB-Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity
- Class C 16%

p/s: I'm kinda lost of direction LOL, should I rebalance my portfolio?

btw, my portfolio up to date is -4.39%, managed Portfolio (moderately aggressive) -6%

ChessRook
post Aug 19 2018, 10:24 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(monkeyrangers @ Aug 19 2018, 10:12 AM)
Bad year for equity because of the trade wars. Fixed income unit trusts like Malaysian bond or money market funds are giving like 3.4-4.5% returns. Depends on your time horizon and risk appetite. Maybe you need to put a % into these funds?
MUM
post Aug 19 2018, 11:30 AM

14,867 posts

yes,...like mentioned by ChessRook....this year is not a good your for Equities.....(just a few UTs managed to stay + YTD)

if you had just invested thru those fund house that charged 5.5% SC....your losses would be more

QUOTE(yfiona @ Aug 19 2018, 10:24 AM)
Hi guys, can help to analyse my portfolio after 8 months entering unit trust:

- Affin Hwang Select Bond - MYR                                     5%
- Affin Hwang World Series - Japan Growth Fund              6%
- CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR 5%
- CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund                                 3%
- Eastspring Investments Dinasti Equity Fund                   5%
- Eastspring Investments Global Emerging Markets Fund   5%
- KGF                                                                            30%
- United Global Quality Equity Fund - MYR Hedged            25%
- CIMB-Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity
  - Class C                                                                     16%

p/s: I'm kinda lost of direction LOL, should I rebalance my portfolio?

btw, my portfolio up to date is -4.39%, managed Portfolio (moderately aggressive) -6%
KGF at 30%, may I suggest that it be REDUCE it to 10% then go more into GTF and TA Global tech

AHBF at 5%,...I think it would not have a much impact as a stabilizer of your port....
switch to India

thus you will have

Supplementary Funds
- Affin Hwang World Series - Japan Growth Fund 6%
- Manu India 5%
- Ta Global Tech 5%
- Eastspring Investments Dinasti Equity Fund 5%
- Eastspring Investments Global Emerging Markets Fund 5%

Core funds
- KGF 10%
- CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR 5% + 16% PRS
- CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund 18%
- United Global Quality Equity Fund - MYR Hedged 25%

above are just my agar agar uneducated guess ONLY...Caveat emptor

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 19 2018, 11:52 AM
SUSMNet
post Aug 19 2018, 02:35 PM

11,954 posts

Which fund u invested?
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 19 2018, 02:55 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

my plan.

wait next uptrend. sell eq. in bond.

wait recession.

so far my prediction for August will downwards trend comes true...
yfiona
post Aug 19 2018, 03:15 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 19 2018, 11:30 AM)
yes,...like mentioned by ChessRook....this year is not a good your for Equities.....(just a few UTs managed to stay + YTD)

if you had just invested thru those fund house that charged 5.5% SC....your losses would be more
KGF at 30%, may I suggest that it be REDUCE it to 10% then go more into GTF and TA Global tech

AHBF at 5%,...I think it would not have a much impact as a stabilizer of your port....
switch to India

thus you will have

Supplementary Funds
- Affin Hwang World Series - Japan Growth Fund              6%
- Manu India                                                                  5%
- Ta Global Tech                                                            5%
- Eastspring Investments Dinasti Equity Fund                  5%
- Eastspring Investments Global Emerging Markets Fund  5%

Core funds
- KGF                                                                            10%
- CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR 5% + 16% PRS
- CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund                                18%
- United Global Quality Equity Fund - MYR Hedged            25%

above are just my agar agar uneducated guess ONLY...Caveat emptor
Hi MUM, thanks for the advice, much appreciated that.
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 19 2018, 04:46 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(yfiona @ Aug 19 2018, 03:15 PM)
Hi MUM, thanks for the advice, much appreciated that.
I supposed drag you down the most is KGF.

but you have the united quality that should lift you up. is it lump sump port or DCA port.

if DCA the port should be lesser...
yfiona
post Aug 19 2018, 05:00 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 19 2018, 04:46 PM)
I supposed drag you down the most is KGF.

but you have the united quality that should lift you up. is it lump sump port or DCA port.

if DCA the port should be lesser...
Yes you're right that KGF dragged my whole portfolio down and is being offset by United quality,
however the overall portfolio is down due to:

- Affin Hwang World Series - Japan Growth Fund - MYR Hedged -7%
- CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR -6%
- Eastspring Investments Dinasti Equity Fund -5%
- Eastspring Investments Global Emerging Markets Fund -7%
- CIMB-Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C -6%

I usually do lump sum and Value dollar averaging rather than disciplined DCA.

I think I'm a bad investor LOL
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 19 2018, 05:30 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(yfiona @ Aug 19 2018, 05:00 PM)
Yes you're right that KGF dragged my whole portfolio down and is being offset by United quality,
however the overall portfolio is down due to:

- Affin Hwang World Series - Japan Growth Fund - MYR Hedged -7%
- CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR -6%
- Eastspring Investments Dinasti Equity Fund -5%
- Eastspring Investments Global Emerging Markets Fund -7%
- CIMB-Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C -6%

I usually do lump sum and Value dollar averaging rather than disciplined DCA.

I think I'm a bad investor LOL
oh yea... miss look your dynamic. that's around 50% of port dragged you down.

same boat la we 2. sob sob

-TcT-
post Aug 19 2018, 05:59 PM

577 posts

Anyone here has any outlook for China/HK shares? Hang Seng Index now at 27000 level. Are you guys looking for it to fall further or do you guys think this is bottom for temporary recovery of at least 10% before the predicted recession?
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 19 2018, 06:17 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(-TcT- @ Aug 19 2018, 05:59 PM)
Anyone here has any outlook for China/HK shares? Hang Seng Index now at 27000 level. Are you guys looking for it to fall further or do you guys think this is bottom for temporary recovery of at least 10% before the predicted recession?
no one can predict recession....

but market have been stagnent for quite sometime....

if you see on the graph.... up from 0117... till 1117... start to up down up down...... till now.

when is the real deal... maybe 1118.... maybe.
MUM
post Aug 19 2018, 06:17 PM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(-TcT- @ Aug 19 2018, 05:59 PM)
hmm.gif if the one that is expecting the coming of the recession......then there is just one outlook for China/HK shares...
SUSDavid83
post Aug 19 2018, 06:19 PM

52,874 posts

With Trump is still in the administration, it's hard to even predict! laugh.gif
hong823
post Aug 20 2018, 03:50 AM

100 posts

My portfolio:
TA Global Tech - 55%
KGF - 19%
CIMB Asia Pac Dynamic MYR - 14%
Eastspring Dinasti - 11%

I felt my portfolio is too much overweighted on Tech sector, since Dinasti and CIMB Asia Pac is also holding much Tech stocks.

I'm thinking to switch out some TA Global Tech to some other fund is a little diversify it.

Despite all these news mentioned Tech sector is too expensive i still get a relatively stable +/-5% YTD for TA Global Tech and the rest is just red since Feb 2018. rclxub.gif

Any recommendation?
5p3ak
post Aug 20 2018, 08:00 AM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

QUOTE(hong823 @ Aug 20 2018, 03:50 AM)
My portfolio:
TA Global Tech - 55%
KGF - 19%
Eastspring Dinasti - 11%

I felt my portfolio is too much overweighted on Tech sector, since Dinasti and CIMB Asia Pac is also holding much Tech stocks.

I'm thinking to switch out some TA Global Tech to some other fund is a little diversify it.

Despite all these news mentioned Tech sector is too expensive i still get a relatively stable +/-5% YTD for TA Global Tech and the rest is just red since Feb 2018.  rclxub.gif

Any recommendation?
Maybe switch some to United Global Quality Equity Fund - MYR Hedged ?
MUM
post Aug 20 2018, 09:43 AM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(hong823 @ Aug 20 2018, 03:50 AM)
My portfolio:
TA Global Tech - 55%
KGF - 19%
Eastspring Dinasti - 11%

Despite all these news mentioned Tech sector is too expensive i still get a relatively stable +/-5% YTD for TA Global Tech and the rest is just red since Feb 2018.  rclxub.gif

Any recommendation?
hmm.gif if you felt too heavy about it and you thought about switching it.....
you hesitated due to the current performance.....

hmm.gif i guess there is no easy answers, for the answers would only be within yourself.

To provide a bit of ease to make a decision in this dilemma,
one can try do switches partially in batches over a period of time?
try to tell your mind that, Sell high, buy low?
read the FSM weekly PE valuation reports to "brainwash" to go more into lower PE regions/sector?
read the FSM articles on forming a diversified port to "convince" one of the need to do so?
use the "profits" from the TA global Tech to buy something nice,.....so even if in the event of ranting.gif cry.gif vmad.gif ,....one would still have some consolation devil.gif ?
etc.

Tell us what you had decided to later...ok?

1554 Pages « < 734 735 736 737 738 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:43 AM