1553 Pages « < 736 737 738 739 740 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

coolguy99
post Aug 21 2018, 09:59 AM

7,349 posts

Unit trust should be long term investment as it is different from stock. As long as you have picked a good fund with good fund managers, give it some time. Don’t even have to check back that often.
DozeMeWithTea
post Aug 21 2018, 10:03 AM

106 posts

what u guys think of this fund:

-Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund

I plan to invest 10k in it. 3 - 6 months or 1 year
MUM
post Aug 21 2018, 10:42 AM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(DozeMeWithTea @ Aug 21 2018, 10:03 AM)
what u guys think of this fund:

-Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund

I plan to invest 10k in it. 3 - 6 months or 1 year
If tis 10k is chicken feed...then go into just tis .....else...try go i to 2 funds (ex. Cimb asia pac xxxxxx)...for more diversification?
hong823
post Aug 22 2018, 05:10 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Aug 20 2018, 08:00 AM)
Maybe switch some to United Global Quality Equity Fund - MYR Hedged ?
It looks more industry diversified. Probably a good one to reducing the exposure to Tech and yet keeping in touch with Tech lol (United Global has 30%+ in tech). hmm.gif

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 20 2018, 09:43 AM)
hmm.gif if you felt too heavy about it and you thought about switching it.....
you hesitated due to the current performance.....

hmm.gif i guess there is no easy answers, for the answers would only be within yourself.

To provide a bit of ease to make a decision in this dilemma,
one can try do switches partially in batches over a period of time?
try to tell your mind that, Sell high, buy low?
read the FSM weekly PE valuation reports to "brainwash" to go more into lower PE regions/sector?
read the FSM articles on forming a diversified port to "convince" one of the need to do so?
use the "profits" from the TA global Tech to buy something nice,.....so even if in the event of  ranting.gif  cry.gif  vmad.gif ,....one would still have some consolation  devil.gif ?
etc.

Tell us what you had decided to later...ok?
That's true, there's always no easy answers to choosing a fund. The best way i think is to rebalance the portfolio overtime to reduce the exposure and risk.

I read up and it seem that US EQ has the highest PE among other country and rated 2 stars unattractive from FSM. I think i might slowly reduce exposure to US EQ.

I still haven't decide anything yet, still trying to look around and finding a good fund to switch over (Or even keeping it as cash?).

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 20 2018, 10:31 AM)
I have been holding TA tech for the past two or three years. I am happy with this UTF.

In my personal port, right now I keep skimming profit from it and put it to M'sia KLCI exposed UTF [ some people use the term " rebalancing " ]
Same for me too, i first bought TA Tech 2-3 years ago with some small top up in between and YTD hovering around +35-40% since early this year. rclxub.gif

It get me a little concern now with that hovering and market sentiments, so i'm trying to think of which fund to switch over/cash out while my unrealised profit is still there.

Which Malaysia KLCI exposed fund do you recommend? Do you mean KGF?

This post has been edited by hong823: Aug 22 2018, 05:11 AM
MUM
post Aug 22 2018, 08:32 AM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Aug 21 2018, 08:00 AM)
He only cares about and for the US market, and it is doing very well so far.

After all, he is the US president not worldwide president.....
rclxms.gif ...YES,..."He cares about and for the US market, and it is doing very well so far".....this I agreed 100% with what you mentioned

hmm.gif ...but for this "After all, he is the US president not worldwide president".....i kind of also agree because he cannot control how CHINA manages its economy....
thus should we blame CHINA and not US for our portfolio tanking now if we are heavy in Asia pac?

the chart is self explainatory.

T231H
post Aug 22 2018, 06:24 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 19 2018, 02:55 PM)
my plan.

wait next uptrend.  sell eq. in bond.

wait recession.

so far my prediction for August will downwards trend comes true...
just saw this....

"Studying the monthly returns of the MSCI AC Asia ex Japan Index in August dating from 1988 to 2017, empirical data tells us that perhaps there is something seasonal about August.
Two-thirds of the time investors are likely to suffer a negative return during August, with median and average losses ranging from 4%-6% respectively.

Even if we exclude periods of turbulent markets resulting from the onset of financial crises such as the Asian Financial Crisis (1997-98), Dot com bubble (2000), and the Great Financial Crisis (2008-09), the results show that markets still tends to be in the red 60% of the time during the month.

What about the month September?"...read more at

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...-iotw-17-aug-18

monkeyrangers
post Aug 22 2018, 09:40 PM

17 posts

is it a good time to invest into china now if i want to invest to those china funds like ponzi 2.0 for 5 years? Or should I invest more on USA funds like cimb great principal
MUM
post Aug 23 2018, 12:02 AM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(monkeyrangers @ Aug 22 2018, 09:40 PM)
is it a good time to invest into china now if i want to invest to those china funds like ponzi 2.0 for 5 years? Or should I invest more on USA funds like cimb great principal
if you trust FSM.....
see FSM star rating

"Star ratings are ratings FSM assign to various regional markets or individual country to determine their level of attractiveness to an investor assuming a 3-year time frame. "

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tarRatings.svdo

Drian
post Aug 23 2018, 09:49 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(monkeyrangers @ Aug 22 2018, 09:40 PM)
It all depends , if trump put more tarrifs at china products then you can expect china and the whole world to go down .
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 23 2018, 11:54 AM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

the mobile apps so lauya.
want to see indices direct crash.
lee82gx
post Aug 23 2018, 03:03 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 22 2018, 08:32 AM)
rclxms.gif  ...YES,..."He cares about and for the US market, and it is doing very well so far".....this I agreed 100% with what you mentioned

hmm.gif ...but for this "After all, he is the US president not worldwide president".....i kind of also agree because he cannot control how CHINA manages its economy....
thus should we blame CHINA and not US for our portfolio tanking now if we are heavy in Asia pac?

the chart is self explainatory.
No point putting blame anywhere, the question should be how to make money, no?

I can only say in this case, go heavy in US? Titanic, TA global, that dunno what world fund?

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Aug 23 2018, 08:31 PM
ben3003
post Aug 23 2018, 03:13 PM

10,859 posts

why KGF when small cap down they down, but small cap increase, they macam no increase pun?

This post has been edited by ben3003: Aug 23 2018, 03:13 PM
MUM
post Aug 23 2018, 04:55 PM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Aug 23 2018, 03:03 PM)
No point putting blame anywhere, the question should be how to make money, no?

I can only say in this case, go heavy in US? Titanic, TA global, that dunno what world fund?
hmm.gif Who is blaming? are they blaming? notworthy.gif
yes, the question is a million dollar question....

[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 23 2018, 05:42 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 23 2018, 04:55 PM)
hmm.gif Who is blaming? are they blaming?  notworthy.gif
they of course can't say in article.....

but it's either go big or go home during this year....

got one more meeting between cn and us at November.

our local market all eye on budget.

so yea....

2018... glad to be part of it.
lee82gx
post Aug 23 2018, 08:32 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 23 2018, 04:55 PM)
hmm.gif Who is blaming? are they blaming?  notworthy.gif
Had to edit my post lol. Quoted the wrong post!
ChessRook
post Aug 23 2018, 09:29 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Aug 21 2018, 09:59 AM)
Unit trust should be long term investment as it is different from stock. As long as you have picked a good fund with good fund managers, give it some time. Don’t even have to check back that often.
I fully agree with this statement. It is not the end of the world, if the price goes down. Think more than 5 years and think roller coaster. If you can't take 40-50% down for 2-3 years(worse case scenario), then equity UT is not for you. There are better investments out there.
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 24 2018, 10:44 AM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Aug 23 2018, 09:29 PM)
I fully agree with this statement. It is not the end of the world, if the price goes down. Think more than 5 years and think roller coaster. If you can't take 40-50% down for 2-3 years(worse case scenario), then equity UT is not for you. There are better investments out there.

50% for 2 years down.....

it's either you don't care your money, you filthy rich, or you just invest for the sake of invest.

you know now long for a super duper performing fund to climb back 30%?

or even 15%....

wa.... ini cara orang kaya main nih
ChessRook
post Aug 24 2018, 11:04 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 24 2018, 10:44 AM)

50% for 2 years down.....

it's either you don't care your money, you filthy rich, or you just invest for the sake of invest.

you know now long for a super duper performing fund to climb back 30%?

or even 15%....

wa.... ini cara orang kaya main nih
If I invest the money I am not using for 20-40 years, then does this matter? I know on AVERAGE I will get between 8-10%(or even more) per year.

I know the part of the money I am going to use, I am going to put it some where safer.

Just to give a thought on (1) how one invests in the different financial instruments and (2) the expected risk of UT.

(1) diversification and allocation according to a plan are the two very important advice I have gotten. What are the proportion of money for emergencies, short term (1-2 years), mid term (3-5), and long term (6 and over)? Allocate the money according to the correct financial instruments by the time horizon and risk one can bear.

(2) Just because UT has been doing great for the past years does not mean it will be on a straight line trajectory. I am just highlighting the worse case scenarios. Bad things can happen (eg war, regional uprising see cimb principal MENA fund, trade war, subprime etc).

This post has been edited by ChessRook: Aug 24 2018, 11:07 AM
T231H
post Aug 24 2018, 01:41 PM

5,143 posts

hmm.gif hmm.gif Just weeks ago,...there had been unhappiness among some of the investors whom had taken up the managed portfolio subscription...

FSM HK came out with this.....(too bad,...just in Chinese)

"FSM Managed Portfolios – 3 Problems Investors Face At Times of a Bear Market (Chinese Only)"
https://secure.fundsupermart.com.hk/fsm/art...nese-only-15004

xuzen
post Aug 24 2018, 02:44 PM

4,436 posts

Sep 18 looks promising for my port... Go go go!

Green green green.

Xuzen

1553 Pages « < 736 737 738 739 740 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:15 AM