11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

lee82gx
post Feb 11 2021, 07:23 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Feb 11 2021, 06:38 PM)
that post was 2020
the good old days when tweeter king tumbling the market with just a tweet
Some love him some can't stand him......overall I think for investment and business I actually can live with him. Haha don't shoot me.
lee82gx
post Feb 12 2021, 11:49 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Feb 11 2021, 11:55 PM)
Rhbam cio never think of concentrated risk. Seem like bailing out buddy
Got any data that shows other equity funds are into mex 2 sukuk?

I'm wondering if this also occurs across the board ie other bond funds.

Like I said a few days back, bond funds are not without risk, and in case of defaults or even just a down rating, the fund value will drop speculatively. Because the coupons can be worth any value less than the actual principle value, not even just the loss of dividend.
lee82gx
post Feb 12 2021, 11:55 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Conslow2020 @ Feb 12 2021, 11:06 AM)
At midnight drop about 2.5% now its climbing up again
If you buy the feeder fund, there is really no use to track the etf live, you have no option to sell at intraday prices. You will only get to sell or buy at market open or close prices on future trading dates after they get your order.

It is volatile, on live rates but not exceedingly more so than Individual stocks.
lee82gx
post Feb 13 2021, 10:59 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Feb 13 2021, 10:43 PM)
Nine Common Mistakes Investors Make

Mistake #1 Crowd support indicates a sure thing
Mistake #2 Current returns are a guide to the future
Mistake #3 “Experts” show the way
Mistake #4 Shares can’t go up in a recession... 
Mistake #5 Letting a strongly held view get in the way
Mistake #6 Looking at your investments too much  whistling.gif
Mistake #7 Making investing too complex  whistling.gif
Mistake #8 Too conservative early in life
Mistake #9 Trying to time the market  whistling.gif

https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...eb%5D?src=funds
i'm still guilty of several of the above, from time to time.
lee82gx
post Feb 14 2021, 10:59 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 13 2021, 10:55 PM)
reverse all the above and U get a good repeatable simplified process  tongue.gif
focus on plan-able & execute-able, track track track XD
Mistake #1 Crowd support indicates a sure thing (Go against the crowd?)
Mistake #2 Current returns are a guide to the future (losing now sure win later / winning now sure lose later?)
Mistake #3 “Experts” show the way (don't listen to experts?)
Mistake #4 Shares can’t go up in a recession... (only invest during recession?)
Mistake #5 Letting a strongly held view get in the way (don't have a viewpoint? )
Mistake #6 Looking at your investments too much (don't look at your investments after you buy?)
Mistake #7 Making investing too complex (just buy 1 fund? )
Mistake #8 Too conservative early in life (max risk is good?)
Mistake #9 Trying to time the market (DCA sure win?)

Hahaha!!! Just joking, but seems like #9 is solid.
To be honest all of these are not necessarily mistakes in hindsight. They could well have generated great returns. If I have to say any one thing, is to be well aware of your funds vs the market. And not to get too impatient.

lee82gx
post Feb 14 2021, 04:20 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

We can smell something once you started opening the cracks. Heads should roll.
lee82gx
post Feb 14 2021, 04:27 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

We can smell something once you started opening the cracks. Heads should roll.
lee82gx
post Feb 14 2021, 04:30 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Feb 14 2021, 04:22 PM)
what is the role of the trustee?
just observes, publish the findings in the reports?
the trustee does not act for the benefits of the investors?
what are the power of the trustee until the investors themselves had to go to enquire to the regulator
hmm.gif

just note...the fund size is just 8 million
Trustee is just to ensure that your units are there and divided properly, net asset value is declared correctly. It also states the trustees already note the exceedingly high allocation towards the MEX bonds which are in violation of the fund manager's mandate. You can't call the cops on this but I suppose some authorities should be looking at this and ensure civil and criminal elements of cbt are not present.
lee82gx
post Feb 14 2021, 06:40 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 14 2021, 05:11 PM)
Trustee for Unit Trust Funds

A unit trust fund is a collective investment scheme, which pools the savings of investors with similar investment objectives in a special "trust" fund managed by professional fund managers. The pooled monies in the unit trust fund will then be invested in a diversified portfolio of securities and other assets in accordance with the unit trust fund's investment objectives and as permitted under the Securities Commission's (SC) Guidelines on Unit Trust Funds.

The Trustees play a crucial role in protecting the unitholders by ensuring that the fund is operating in accordance to what is stipulated in the Trust Deed and by holding all assets of the said fund for the unitholders.

https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala...e%20unitholders.
Thanks for highlighting this, i actually start to wonder what is written in the deed, since it is just a master deed with amendments to include the newer and newer funds.
My educated guess is Manager still reserves the rights to make investments as he sees fit but should not exceed the mandate of investment ie allocations, etc.

Risk - this maybe under his purview as to how much risk to take.
Conflict of interest - this is easy, the manager should not do anything with a conflict of interest.
CBT - This one I think civil and criminal law is already enough?
lee82gx
post Feb 14 2021, 09:56 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 14 2021, 07:39 PM)
i may be wrong,...but i think the HIGH allocation was due to the money "Trapped" in those debt papers

Bright Focus is now MEX

Bright Focus problem started few years back....

since few years ago,...the fund size of those funds that we discussed had been drastically reduced.....

they are "trapped" for they cannot right it off,...investors redeem, have to sell off other holdings....thus causing the MEX debt holdings to be high?

just my thinking,...could be wrong, thus i think SC also cannot do much after seeing the reasons for the high allocations.
Makes sense, but the holders of the remaining units must be pissed.
lee82gx
post Feb 17 2021, 11:50 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Feb 17 2021, 10:57 AM)
i m very realistic. i will take out all units from non performing fund.
I was writing a few hundred words on this but fell asleep. Yes, I do this. But for me, performance is also based how well it performed vs benchmark and market. Not just the returns. Because a good alpha and beta still can tell me one day when the sector is up, that fund manager will be first to profit.

Example is eastspring dinasti, which I admit I sold off during trade war and is now doing not too badly at all.
lee82gx
post Feb 17 2021, 12:37 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(yycclin @ Feb 17 2021, 12:05 PM)
Me same,,, i sold my Eastspring dynasti also ;(  ;(

Now bang balls, bang walls   mad.gif  bangwall.gif
See the correct response below -

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 17 2021, 12:15 PM)
dont feel regret. we can only make decision base on the best available data at that time. so dont fret n just move on because at that moment you have your own reason to reallocate the fund else where as you see fit. nobody can win everything, all the time. not possible.
So in my case, when I sold the dinasti fund, 1/3rd went into Principal Greater China which was a yay rclxm9.gif (to illustrate my point that you can find a better alpha and maintain beta), while 2/3rds went into Eastspring Equity income fund which was a nay bangwall.gif . Now why on earth did I do that? I thought, perhaps China will struggle to make it through Trump and his nonsense, hence reduce China allocation but go heavier on chinese tech (Principal greater china was at that time a bit more into tech, while dinasti was more into finance, but it didn't really matter really, had I just kept it there I'd be quite happy today nonetheless).
Next, also thought about allocating back to Malaysia since got Harapan and Guan Eng, we sure fly. This illustrates another point - Malaysia equity has too much political overtones and even undertones, and KLCI as a whole is a bad bad bad tracker. It is almost the same as investing in EPF if you put your money in Malaysia broadbased funds. Needless to say, eventually my Eastspring investment Equity income fund has also been reallocated to other funds. Eventually you start to lose track after 3-4 switches and might as well track the whole portfolio in general.

So, yeah, re-allocation and rebalancing works if you can see the future, which many of us (including myself) cannot. But reallocating during a fund's highs - now that's something I have not done until today. I have only tried reducing the DCA / fresh funds, something I am learning from Stashaway. It hardly ever sells anything during a high, it just switches fresh funds to lower performing assets to maintain a balanced portfolio.

TLDR -I now tend to track my portfolio as a whole, trying to bring it up in XIRR from all cash flows. I think that will give the best overall picture of my own management.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Feb 17 2021, 12:38 PM
lee82gx
post Feb 17 2021, 02:55 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Feb 17 2021, 02:00 PM)
Actually Eastspring Dinasti Equity has about 10% in Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company. Personally I am very bullish about this counter given it is a blue chip counter in Taiwan and gives decent dividends. If the fund drop i will probably top up more. Now semiconductors have to produce more chips for both 5G and EVs, that's why you see the tech counters in Malaysia do well.

For Malaysia unit trust, i prefer United Malaysia Fund, it is rated as 6 (balanced fund) but it outperforms my expectations.

I used to be like you like keep re-balancing here and then but changed my strategy, try to hold for at least 6 months and top up when drop. It is important to stay to your own conviction. What goes up must come down vice versa. For FY2020, it only dropped 30% once in March and since then it is all the way up. There is 10% correction here and there.
At one time in 2018 I remember dinasti was more heavy in finance, I could be mistaken.
It looks like I switch around often but before 2019 I was actually pretty "convicted"..in a sense that I kept the Dinasti fund for 2 years with dca before finally switching. I kept most of my funds for 2 years with dca. Even had affing hwang Japan fund for 2 years. So, unfortunately when things don't go well it convictedly brings me down too.
lee82gx
post Feb 17 2021, 03:46 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Feb 17 2021, 03:42 PM)
yeah i get what u mean when market drop we all fear and sell... but we always forget market will always bounce back...and when drop you can buy at cheaper price.

If u check latest fund factsheet on eastspring dinasti ekuiti fund it concentrated mostly on china tech and industrial, financials i think around <2%. Fund manager must have restrategised its portfolio.
Agree, and what I can say I'm doing is to try and make sure I have the few better ones in the sectors that gave growth or recovery potential, this gives the best chance of return.

But, everyone don't follow uncle. I am a pretty average investor
lee82gx
post Feb 18 2021, 09:54 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Feb 18 2021, 12:33 AM)
The so-called dividends from mutual funds serve no purpose. They are artificial and misleading marketing tools.
They serve one bloody purpose. You get withholding tax on the dividend.
Although if the share themselves really declares dividend, some form of taxation must occur.
lee82gx
post Feb 19 2021, 03:22 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(lsyleong95 @ Feb 19 2021, 02:25 PM)
Bond funds have dropped alot lately, anyone sifu can shed some light on what’s happening? 🤔
When equities are bullish, bonds typically become bearish.

Please remember again that bonds funds trade bond coupons. Which are susceptible to supply and demand, ie it can drop in value even to below the principal.

Know what you are buying when it comes to bond funds.

Their values go up and down depending on - quality, time to maturity, risk of default, risk to principal.
lee82gx
post Feb 19 2021, 03:37 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

some international bonds are also not doing too well.
example BNDX, EMB.

lee82gx
post Feb 22 2021, 11:09 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Feb 21 2021, 09:08 PM)
Guys I can't get this out of my head.

Whatever portfolio I design and backtested 5 years it can't beat Eastspring Investments Dinasti Equity Fund alone. So why should I diversify? If I can stomach the volatility I just can invest single fund only right? Sorry for the dumb question.
on top of other's critics like using past to predict future etc. Why are you saying it beat "whatever portfolio". This indicates your portfolio options was not built well or tested well. a most simple graph like below already create holes in your thesis.

anyway, fund investment doesn't need so much thinking. if you have 10 to 20% of your investible cash right now there are worst ways to invest in compared to Dinasti fund.

lee82gx
post Feb 22 2021, 01:29 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(keluarpattern @ Feb 22 2021, 12:37 PM)
What's is d max loss u can take?Before you will call back your portfolio?

I was replying to the dinasti fund post...which I don't hold any at this point. But FYI during 3q 2019 I sold it off because I lost 2 years considering I enter in early 2018.
Didn't lose my principal, just lose opportunity. Anyway its just my own level of comfort. And it was a small portion of my portfolio. Would've done differently if big portion or even smaller portion.
lee82gx
post Feb 22 2021, 09:13 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(keluarpattern @ Feb 22 2021, 03:28 PM)
Mind to share when was your experience towards your greatest loss so far?
my biggest loss must be 2009 financial crisis when I think my ESPP (employee share plan) which formed the bulk of my investments lost 40-60% paper loss in a year. I didnt sell.

by the time Donald trump learned to press all the crazy keys in twitter in late 2018, I was in negative 3-4% ROI for my fundsupermart. That meant completely wipeout my gains which were built up over time from 2015 onwards via DCA. I think the ROI was +20+% at peak. i also did not sell but pivot to US ETF via Stashaway. now, the remnants of funds in FSM are all kinda going for high risk types.

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0614sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:52 AM