11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

lee82gx
post Mar 19 2021, 11:26 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

All in 5099!
lee82gx
post Mar 19 2021, 11:39 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(CSW1990 @ Mar 19 2021, 11:38 AM)
Maybe TS or any sifu can create another thread for FSM stock discussion?
Let this thread only for UT disucssion
Just my suggestion
Agree. Because shares are a totally different animal. Seriously.
lee82gx
post Mar 19 2021, 12:32 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(CSW1990 @ Mar 19 2021, 12:26 PM)
Hmm, can foresee more people will withdraw from FSM UT and enter FSM stock market?
Especially those used to trade UT for short term one
FSM business getting bigger hehe
All I know is sure Rakuten / M+ etc getting less business. UT vs Shares, I think has been on going for a long time....
lee82gx
post Mar 19 2021, 01:56 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

again, having spent considerable time with both UT and shares, I can only say, read books first before going into shares. Peter Lynch, Warren Buffet or apparently in Chinese there is a Malaysian uncle dubbed the Malaysian Buffet, he's got some books.

Or you can follow the regular method of paying for tips and advise. Sifu out there plenty. Some will lead you to Holland.
lee82gx
post Mar 21 2021, 03:24 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 21 2021, 10:16 AM)
Bursa ETF have low liquidity.. will have problem when want to sell?
there is a problem. If you want to sell at a price no one wants to buy then for sure it will stay in the queue. And if you die die need the money you can price it a lower value which will deviate itself from the Net asset value of the holdings.
The role of the ETF manager is to NOT allow too much of this, and they track by %. This is what you are paying for in the management fees. The mechanisms of maintaining this is that the fund manager needs to actively buy and sell, and leverage some options (short and long, call and put) with banks etc etc. I won't even pretend I'm expert in this. Suffice to say they usually have to step in and buy if the discount gets too much, and sell if the premium also gets too much. Take a look at an example from Myetf:

https://www.myetf.com.my/en/MyETF-Series/My...rical-NAV-Price

In Malaysia they try to promise like 2-3% which is already bad compared to US ETFs of the same type, and if you look at the actual discount / premium of the fund vs NAV it can deviate by 10%!!!!! Never happens if you bought from a more liquid fund such as those sold in US Brokerage / UK Brokerage.

Another issue is that if the ETF is traded purely during US market closed hours, then you are hardly expecting the NAV to change at all, but yet if you see that there is LIVE fluctuations of the prices, it means market forces local to Malaysia is at play, while NAV is actually static (since market is not really open). At least for funds traded during their actual local market open hours, you can technically track the NAV live, and that leads to much less deviations.

Suffice to say, I'm not a fan of the illiquid ETF's.

The tradeplus China ETF sounds interesting but they don't publish the daily NAV vs price in a graph. Last count was 1.1%, perhaps it is not as bad as Myetf.
lee82gx
post Mar 27 2021, 09:31 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ganesh1696 @ Mar 26 2021, 10:44 AM)
My updated portfolio following the "dip".

Affin global disruptive innovation fund = 29.6%
Affin Next gen tech fund = 12.1%
Am china a shares myr hedged = 20%
Interpac dana safi = 12.3%
Principal greater china equity fund= 1%
Rhb shariah china focus fund = 8.5%
United malaysia fund= 16.5%

Only interpac and United fund, is in green.

Others are bleeding "unstoppable" .

Almost every week I've top up my USA and CHINA funds to minimize my losses which drag me to "five digit" losses.

But price fall is continuing with no sign of rebound.
Almost losing hope with both regions' portfolio.

But am still holding.

Thinking of  use ( i sinar) funds to top up and find some better opportunities.

So much confused.

How about your portfolio friends?
If you can still stomach the losses, top up some more. If not just sit tight. See you next year.
lee82gx
post Mar 27 2021, 03:25 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(rojakwhacker @ Mar 27 2021, 09:41 AM)
Sounds like US and China fund will only be up next year? hmm.gif
If I knew, I wouldn't be here talking about it.
What I mean is with mutual funds do give it time. One year is a good time to review, rebalance, reallocate.

It is the same with good stocks. If you invest beyond your sleep limit, it is time scale back. Emotional well being worth far more than any number in the bank. At the same time if you can build your gut then the markets have proven themselves over and over again, that it will rise. Especially with good funds.
lee82gx
post Mar 29 2021, 12:57 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(real55555 @ Mar 28 2021, 10:23 PM)
slight correction there, I take profit when it reaches my profit target. I only take out the profit portion of the investment. Up to each person's interpretation in terms of timing, but the main point I commented is that for DCA must have a clear strategy so you won't deplete your funds before the market reaches the bottom in case of a downturn.
You should try and keep a record or comparison with just holding it.

I've tried to time stuff, it didn't work out.

I think options can help but it's not for unit trusts.
lee82gx
post Mar 29 2021, 06:49 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(real55555 @ Mar 29 2021, 03:23 PM)
I keep my investment records in Excel. Basically I did backtest for some time periods in the past. For funds with frequent distribution, lump sum and hold for 3 years or more will generate similar returns to regular investment (monthly). But for funds that have less frequent or irregular income distribution, lump sum investment will lose to regular investment over the same period of time.

and my strategy is not about timing the market, it's about meeting investment objective. With a system in place, you can handle investment emotions better instead of making investment decision based on your current emotions for example your investment dropped 15% and you are stressed and wanting to average down by doubling your DCA amount etc, then next month it dropped another 10% and you become even more stressful and so on. With a clear strategy in place, you can always standby the amount in balanced fund or money market for such events to happen and DCA without any stress knowing the funds are earmarked exactly for this purpose.
Sounds like you are just keeping a portfolio balance. In that case it can work out. Except your formula may or may not be giving you the best outcomes. With a review / backtest you can refine it. Mind to share how you decide to trim?

With funds I find that it doesn't do much for me to rebalance.
lee82gx
post Apr 12 2021, 01:22 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(LoTek @ Apr 12 2021, 01:12 PM)
I personally wouldn't touch epf monies. Maybe I'm too Conservative..
same, I wouldnt touch EPF money. They are paid to give you 5-6-7% without loss. If the rest of your money doing great you should not have issue to reach end game, if they are not, then you should not touch the backup plan.
lee82gx
post Apr 12 2021, 02:04 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Apr 12 2021, 01:56 PM)
On paper, EPF guarantee return of 2.5%
Any more than that are bonus.
yea, but have they given any less? It has always exceeded GDP growth. Its really up to the individual. I won't comment further.
lee82gx
post Apr 12 2021, 02:50 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Apr 12 2021, 02:12 PM)
I just want to clarify that such statement "paid to give 5-6-7% return" are not true.
sorry, i meant to say, they are paid, and they return 5-6-7%.
lee82gx
post Apr 12 2021, 11:22 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

I can almost guarantee 25% over 3 years too....with much less risk if you just buy world equity fund....
lee82gx
post Apr 26 2021, 12:18 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 26 2021, 12:03 PM)
but malaysia etf performance like so so only
i suppose it has to start somewhere. When a healthy proportion of the investment is passive, we will see a healthier market.

Right now too little money is circulating in the market.
lee82gx
post Apr 29 2021, 04:28 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Apr 28 2021, 09:54 PM)
I can understand and accept if the drop is due to market condition. In the current situation, there is an expectation of interest rate increase. Thus, this affects the bond funds.

But i cannot accept a UT that have overconcentration of only a few bonds - pls see this link

https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...=article-search
QUOTE(hedfi @ Apr 29 2021, 08:45 AM)
Is it a good time to pick up some of these funds?
Here is one of my latest attempt at talking about bond funds.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4750563/+13900#

The reason for overconcentration can be various but it seems the RHB bond funds are actually stuck with them and can hardly sell all of it at a good price anymore. Hence they just hold and hope their fund investors stay patient forever. Like dead bodies patient. Either way you can always give a call or write to the fund manager for a good explanation. And that’s for a poorly managed bond fund. Even if you have a neutral one like BNDX etf, it is not doing well at all due to market forces.

Interest rates are all time low and still low even if their are raised gradually. So it doesn’t fully explain why bond funds are dropping. Need to factor in rising inflation and default risk.

Please, a low price means no one wants it. There must be a good reason if it keeps happening. You don’t go to the market and choose the ingredient where no one goes to buy it, and the stall owner keeps lowering the price all the time without actually checking why, right?

Please understand what it means by buying and trading (*investing*) in bond papers before actually buying it. Read the prospectus, read the report, read about bonds first. Only after you understand about buying the bond directly should you even consider to buy into bond funds.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Apr 29 2021, 04:36 PM
lee82gx
post Apr 29 2021, 04:32 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Edit

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Apr 29 2021, 04:33 PM
lee82gx
post Apr 29 2021, 04:32 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Edit double post

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Apr 29 2021, 04:34 PM
lee82gx
post May 28 2021, 01:13 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

To all Cathie fans, I am still long ARRK / disruptive innovation etc. But I have learned a hard lesson. We aint going to the moon by magic. We need to actually build the rocket, and there are plenty of cost and setbacks to this venture.

If you think this way, then you will realize how much money you can actually comfortably invest in rocket building. For me its not a lot.

Its just a philosophical way of saying be realistic and diversify.

If you are so bullish on it, just buy it everytime it goes down significantly.
lee82gx
post May 31 2021, 11:32 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(mas1900 @ May 31 2021, 08:02 AM)
FMCO 1/6.

What to invest? and when?
you mean you want to goreng?
lee82gx
post Jun 14 2021, 04:30 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(encikbuta @ Jun 14 2021, 12:35 PM)
like you, i too have very little trust in investing via foreign brokers (IBKR, FSM Singapore, Tiger Brokers, etc). so i am just waiting on FSM Malaysia to enable purchase of stocks/etf in NYSE. they said the feature will be enabled some time this year. if the fees are reasonable, then i intend to transfer all my funds in United Global Quality Equity Fund (UGQEF) to VOO (or whatever S&P500 index etf provided).

P/S: My UGQEF is underperforming the S&P500 Index sad.gif
you don't have Stashaway? Its is in general able to match SP500 for the 36% Risk Index portfolio.

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0656sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:54 PM