73 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

T231H
post Mar 14 2017, 12:29 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(newdnewd @ Mar 14 2017, 12:18 PM)
Hi sifu-sifus, I am super noob to FSM. just wondering is anyone has any thoughts on the kapchai fund now? Is it a good time to buy in now?
Seems like it is at the peak now. Any chance of an upside now?
how many % of your investment money are you going to dump into this kap chai?

i would say "yes" it is a good time to buy...just allocate the % that is comfortable to you in relation to the portfolio....
just don't take my word for it....if you believes in valuation...contact FS CIS to ask them about the current valuation of this small cap segment....

hmm.gif on your questions on "Any chance of an upside now?"
how many % do you want that upside to be and when do you want to see results?

This post has been edited by T231H: Mar 14 2017, 12:33 PM
T231H
post Mar 14 2017, 09:27 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Mar 14 2017, 09:16 PM)
Portfolio status before tmr's RSP tongue.gif

[attachmentid=8593215]
Top up all funds kah?
T231H
post Mar 15 2017, 08:11 AM

5,143 posts

United States debt-ceiling crisis???

NOt the first nor will this be the last....

just like the same old rerun of old classic movies....on Astro Tv.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States...-ceiling_crisis

T231H
post Mar 15 2017, 08:43 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Mar 15 2017, 08:25 AM)
Does this mean you think MYR will start rising? Seems odd. Oil prices are down again and we might have an election. US raising interest rates would also mean more cash flocking that way.
Where is the Ringgit heading to?

Moving into 2017, we see limited downside for the Ringgit. Improving capital inflow, strengthening current account and the implementation of BNM’s new FEA rules are some of the catalysts that could drive Ringgit stronger moving forward. Hence, investors should refrain themselves from chasing FX returns when investing into the foreign markets. Instead, investors should focus on the fundamentals of the region and invest into the markets with potential upsides that could cover the losses coming from marginal rebound in ringgit.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...eading-to--8042

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 15 2017, 08:30 AM)
Agreed.
with analytical skill, guts for challenge and an ample supply of unlimited cash or just some simple pocket money gambling.....
some money can still be made at those times of news generated fear that could spook the short term investment ideology's investors...
T231H
post Mar 15 2017, 08:55 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Mar 15 2017, 08:51 AM)
I think FSM is always hesitant about people using their funds mainly to chase forex returns. I can agree that MYR has limited downside from here on out but I'm not so sure that it has any upside either.
thumbsup.gif

Hence, investors should refrain themselves from chasing FX returns when investing into the foreign markets. Instead, investors should focus on the fundamentals of the region and invest into the markets with potential upsides that could cover the losses coming from marginal rebound in ringgit.

(that was mentioned in that article.......) thumbup.gif
T231H
post Mar 15 2017, 10:16 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 15 2017, 09:48 AM)
If like that (fundamental strong), no more downside, country like Greece, Venezuela, Egypt won't exist liao. rolleyes.gif

Fundamental strong but can loose against indon, thailand puke.gif

woonsc where is that? Kuching?
it is up to my FM to determine and invests in fundamentally strong companies....
i don't care if that countries is good or bad......i don't want my FM to invest i countries...i want them to invests in companies...that is unless my funds are mandated to invests in that country's govt securities papers...

T231H
post Mar 15 2017, 10:30 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 14 2017, 09:47 AM)
RHB EMBF 3 weeks already, distribution still haven't come in ?

Damn slow this distribution thingie is a real nuisance.
rclxms.gif yesterday you screwed them here or did you talked to them?

FSM already updated the extra units of RHB EMB in the a/c today.... thumbsup.gif

T231H
post Mar 16 2017, 08:36 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(fense @ Mar 16 2017, 07:50 AM)
Is there an option in Fundsupermart website for our investment chart like in Apps?

For who work in Fundsupermart, why there is no function or chart for ROI and IRR in website? since the formula is ready in this forum excel.
while waiting for those who really know the true answer and also works in FSM to answer you....

but I guess, the investment style complicated the calculation.....
1 time investment or periodic investment with equal intervals or periodic investment with non equal interval would requires not the same calculations/results.

also, if the IRR/XIRR/CAGR of a fund is lowest among your "portfolio".....
does it mean it is "baddest" fund that needs to be throw out?...
different funds in one portfolios would have different mandate, times of bloom and falls, its risks are different too.

if one invested during the "Bad" periods,...the IRR/XIRR/CAGR things would be very low...do that makes one think that their investment decision is wrong?
if one invested during the "good" period....the IRR/XIRR/GAGR things would looks rosy....do that makes one thinks that their investment decision is right?

which one actually do the right decisions?

just some guesses of answers that FSM would gives... wink.gif

T231H
post Mar 16 2017, 08:43 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(fense @ Mar 16 2017, 08:03 AM)
ya. now my excel file already cannot handle my data, too much funds.
extend the rows to accommodated the number of funds required in your portfolio?
unless the number of funds in your portfolio exceeded the number of rows in the excel programs....
I think is > 10 000 rows
T231H
post Mar 16 2017, 10:14 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yupng @ Mar 16 2017, 10:01 AM)
Hi sifu,

What is the recommended fun can buy?
Mid to long term investment.
For easier DIY use...try the FSM recommended portfolio
T231H
post Mar 16 2017, 11:14 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(asimov82 @ Mar 16 2017, 11:00 PM)
have any one hear of "RHB US INDEX BETA FUND" unit trust before??
just know it today and is a feeder fund into sp500 etf.

will we get this as another alternative for us exposure?
fsm and eut?? bank channel?
get from RHB....

for more info of this fund....
http://www.rhbgroup.com/~/media/files/mala...fund.ashx?la=en

T231H
post Mar 16 2017, 11:24 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Mar 16 2017, 11:18 PM)
When you gonna add this fund to FSM  cool2.gif  tongue.gif
wait till I get called in to make that decision... biggrin.gif
T231H
post Mar 16 2017, 11:27 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(asimov82 @ Mar 16 2017, 11:24 PM)
thanks, look like wholesale fund  hmm.gif
see list number 281

List of launched funds in relation to Wholesale Funds (As at 31 January 2017)

https://www.sc.com.my/wp-content/uploads/en...s/stats/RIS.pdf
T231H
post Mar 17 2017, 08:45 AM

5,143 posts

Possible Topic for some discussions....
When an investor or potential new investor posted.....
1) I am going to invest mid to long term,.......what does it mean generally?
2) i am a mid to high risk person, what does tis mean too?

To be frank....i really got not precise answers to that.....

This post has been edited by T231H: Mar 17 2017, 08:58 AM
T231H
post Mar 17 2017, 01:18 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Mar 17 2017, 01:11 PM)
Hi peeps,

I recently came back to Malaysia after close to 2 years of earning foreign income and brought back with me some foreign currency which is sitting in my FCA now...

With the current weakening RM, should I convert it out to RM and then invest in funds through FSM or should I just keep it in the FCA without earning any interests to hedge against the historically downward trend of RM?

Dilemma. Sifu please advise  notworthy.gif
Put in fca no interest.but with possibilities of Fx gains/loss...
Convert to invest got gain with possibilies of fx gain/loss.....
Put in fd or asn fp fund also better......you do the math....

T231H
post Mar 17 2017, 08:50 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 17 2017, 08:44 PM)
The way at how i look at things is that one would stay in stocks/UT for a long period of time if they anticipate the share price/fund price to be on an upward trend. Pls correct me if I'm wrong.
hmm.gif what a timely article.....
Having a good time thus far? Beware of these behavioural pits [17 March 2017]

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...arch-2017--8128
T231H
post Mar 17 2017, 11:37 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 17 2017, 11:32 PM)
Xuzen uses allocation. If it exceed that certain value he transfer it out so that the allocation come back to what he want.

Eg. The fund is supposed to be 10% of his total portfolio, it increase to 20%, so he take 10% and divert it to another fund which is (-)
I think that is called rebalancing...sort of like this....

In order to “play” the game of investing, we need to be “in the game” longer than our fellow peers. Rebalancing is a strategy that can keep you “in the game” for longer.
Author : iFAST Research Team
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ebalancing-4232

What Is Rebalancing?
Why Rebalance?
The Importance of Rebalancing A Portfolio
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Portfolio-5374
T231H
post Mar 18 2017, 10:07 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 18 2017, 09:54 AM)
You can backtest rebalancing vs. no rebalancing in the simulator.. for my port it wasn't worth the extra effort smile.gif
for some, maybe due to the portfolio's asset classes composition, % of allocation, range of coverage it may not helps much....
rclxms.gif so you can be right when you said...."for my port it wasn't worth the extra effort".

but for this old article.....it does....

Rebalancing Works For Your Portfolio
June 7, 2007
Investors hear it often enough that it is important to rebalance one's investment portfolio, but just how effective is rebalancing? Our General Manager delves deeper to find out.
Author : Wong Sui Jau

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...?articleNo=2215

http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...6-4863?lang=en#

but just don't do it too frequently....
You might have heard this one before: frequent rebalancing to simultaneously lock in profits and dollar cost average into lower priced assets will provide better returns. We examined the myth and here’s what we found.....
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/artic...Mythbusting.pdf

This post has been edited by T231H: Mar 18 2017, 10:10 AM
T231H
post Mar 18 2017, 10:25 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 18 2017, 10:16 AM)
thumbup.gif thought provoking article...

this would definitely spooked those that has opposite views and has drastically reduced or eliminated their exposures in Malaysia for the past few months....

well, I would just continue with my planned allocation, sit tight and wait to see if this article is correct.
will see in 6 mths... innocent.gif
T231H
post Mar 18 2017, 10:31 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 18 2017, 10:21 AM)
I think is a little late for it as best time was when Malaysia was beaten down badly at the end of last year.
hmm.gif maybe that is why many "experts" used to say....have a diversified portfolio....allocate some to it even it is bad now...for no one knows when it would strike back....

ex...Brasil was for the last few years...."Bad'.....
then
Brazil Seized The Throne In 2016
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...razil!-8117

73 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0448sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:53 PM