65 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSyklooi
post Jan 17 2021, 11:19 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jan 17 2021, 11:13 AM)
Yeah, the only reason why I would pay attention to specific company's news is
1. It is on the top 5 holdings ----what is the % of this Pfizer is in that fund? How much will it impact your portfolio's value?
2. And it's not to decide to switch/sell. It is just to do some tactical top up to squeeze some value. ------it could also go another way....lost opportunity due to stopped adding in
This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 17 2021, 11:28 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 17 2021, 11:37 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jan 17 2021, 11:28 AM)
You have to ask @whirlwind. Healthcare does not register on my radar.
I follow tech closely.

If a person is having a fear of investing because he is overthinking, it is on that person itself, not the methodology
ok, noted.

to add on
the % of allocation & composition of the published top 5 holdings may have been changed before next public display....
review for similar holdings that are in other funds that is in your portfolio...add them up if have to.

tech or healthcare or any other specific sector / region / country focused funds .... if too worried about the combined % allocated into any specific stocks or sector or country....time to make changes to aligned it with one comfort level

"If a person is having a fear of investing because he is overthinking, it is on that person itself, not the methodology"
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 17 2021, 11:38 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 19 2021, 02:50 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Jan 19 2021, 01:38 PM)
Yeah, Am-China A-share became the top performing funds for China based fund, surpassing earlier RHB Syariah Focus Fund.
yes,...trailing behind by 0.4%

hopefully it will still be in the top 10 list by mid of Feb

SUSyklooi
post Jan 19 2021, 03:49 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(virgoguy @ Jan 19 2021, 03:38 PM)
so these 2 currently more potential and a replacement for Principle greater china/Eastpring investment dinasti?
i would not put it as a replacement.....just a supplementary....
as their coverage area is not the same...

1 is more broader area while the other is more focused in a particular equity.

my risk profile would be ok if a 4:1 ratio is applied.

you will have to decide what suits you best....if A-share is fully all in,...then A-share is it for you.
not right or wrong as long as you know what to expect from it.
SUSyklooi
post Jan 19 2021, 04:01 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Jan 19 2021, 03:36 PM)
anyone into healthcare funds?
i don't have any specific healthcare focused fund, but i think anyone holding greater china region/asia pac region and tech funds would have accumulated alot of healthcare segment too
i have about 5~8% of my port in healthcare segment
SUSyklooi
post Jan 20 2021, 09:20 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jan 19 2021, 10:19 PM)
something that I don't understand even after years of investing in funds.

What do they really mean when take money off the table but retain some exposure?
to me, that would means reducing the exposure to those "presumed" to be hot (making money) funds to desired comfort level and the money moved out can be out of the investment or to MM/FI funds
Do they mean to rebalance?
Rebalancing would normally mean realign/rebalance the asset composition ratio back to the initial intend ratio

Suppose you have only 5% in tech funds and they make a lot of money, say 40%, do you mean to cut it to 3%?
how much has this profit of 40% increased the % of that fund in relation to your portfolio
if your port have 5% of tech fund....40% profits would increased it to abt 7% of tech fund in your port....are you comfortable to have 7% of tech in your portfolio? if not reduce the % to suit your comfort level

Another weird thing is, if you look at the composition of almost every single fund, exposure is highest towards tech companies. Be it alibaba, tencent, jd, and telecoms in China, vs Apple, MSFT, AMZN FANGS, tesla etc in US.
that is correct if you looked to get similar mandated funds.....like Global tech focused funds,
but if you looked at the composition of those funds in deeper level, the % of exposure into countries, the % of exposure in Tech sector and the % of exposure in those 10 companies, they varies.
taking all those into consideration, together with your % of allocation into those funds...it could be alot/little variance too
that is why some liked get funds that are less correlated to each others

While, I do wholehearted agree with the fact that Tech is far too expensive and should come down, I wonder how to play it with funds, especially mutual funds. ETF's are not so difficult.
if you have a tech focused fund in your port, reducing/removing it would be a better option while keeping the other more general eq funds as the FM has more leeway to moves the holdings to non tech stocks.
just my take, maybe wrong....
SUSyklooi
post Jan 20 2021, 09:23 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 20 2021, 08:48 AM)
Anyone know when the fsm recommended list will be out for 21/22 yea?
i think normally in June/July/Aug period
SUSyklooi
post Jan 20 2021, 09:35 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(jj_jz @ Jan 20 2021, 12:34 AM)
Anyone have their eyes on Indonesia fund?
I have some bullet ready for the once-a-year (0 sales charges) but still looking around.

Current Portfolio: (High-Risk Appetite)
25% on China,
15% on Malaysia,
10% on Asia ex Japan
40% on Global and
10% on Emerging

Sector is quite diversify I would say, although I am tech-guy, where 30% is specifically on tech fund.

Have my eyes on Indonesia fund or the Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund - MYR.

Anyone can share their opinion?
i would opt for Indonesia than than Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund as it would be similar to your 10% in Asia ex Japan

"I am tech-guy, where 30% is specifically on tech fund"....do you mean the % of accumulated tech sectors by all your funds is 30% in Tech? if yes, how many % are in China and US?

SUSyklooi
post Jan 20 2021, 12:49 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(jj_jz @ Jan 20 2021, 12:39 PM)
yes, 30% - 40% actually, so i trying to make it more diversify, 80% of them are in China & US roughly
i think not easy to reduce this 30% as you currently have
25% on China, (have China tech inside)
15% on Malaysia,
10% on Asia ex Japan (hv china tech inside)
40% on Global and (hv US Tech & china tech inside)
10% on Emerging (hv China tech inside)

unless you replace some of them to sector specific? like finance specific?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 20 2021, 12:50 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 20 2021, 01:05 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 20 2021, 12:57 PM)
Do you know which fund will have more Finance specific sector?
maybe can ask FSM CIS?....i think they have more info about the composition of they funds and its allocation.

else can try FSM SG.....more fund choices than FSM MY
SUSyklooi
post Jan 21 2021, 10:48 PM

8,188 posts

i would not label my funds as "most satisfying" or most regretable funds in my portfolio...for if i would place emphasis about satisfying/regrets,....i may be swayed into looking for the best possible ROI funds in my portfolio...which would lead me to select funds for the composition of my portfolio that may be outside my comfort zone
SUSyklooi
post Jan 22 2021, 11:17 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JimK @ Jan 22 2021, 11:01 AM)
do you guys still DCA RHB AI funds?
i think it had to depends on the current % allocated in relation to the portfolio....

if it is only 1% current allocation in the portfolio, then if each top up amount is only 0.5%,...and if there is no other tech focused funds in the port then i feel can continue to top up liao,

if port has RM100 000
if your initial investment is only RM1000 to test the water
and now wanted subsequent top up is only RM500.

then i see and feel it is ok lor to top up....

SUSyklooi
post Jan 22 2021, 01:18 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(leesw2263 @ Jan 22 2021, 01:09 PM)
Hi All Sifu,
I bougut last year (follow my FC advice)
1) Principal Greater china, as per today 55% gain
2) A Hwang AP ex Japan Dividen Fund - 29% gain
3) A Hwang Aiiman Asia ex Japan Growth Fund - 29% gain

10K each

He suggests me to top up some, is it the right time to top it up?

thank you and your input is highly appreciated.
Lee
i am NOT a qualified advisor.....thus this is just for kay poh talk only...

btw, what is FC advise?

unknown to your risk appetite, risk capacity, your experience in investing and/or investment vehicles you have out there.....

thus if for me,....i think your portfolio is just to concentrated or correlated in just 1 area....to much for my risk appetite...

but if your FC thinks and advised you,...and if you believe him/her,...then it should be ok.

no right or wrong,...if it suits you.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 22 2021, 01:19 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 22 2021, 01:24 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ganesh1696 @ Jan 22 2021, 01:19 PM)
Hi
thinking of investing in RHB i-Global Sustainable Disruptors during the promo period .
What's your thoughts guys ?
Opinions most welcome.

if you wanted it in your port...then just go for it thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jan 22 2021, 02:51 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(leesw2263 @ Jan 22 2021, 01:34 PM)
FC - My company Finance controller
Sorry for incomplete info

He advise for the short midterm investment.
In fact, I am using my EPF i account to invest, previously not touching any unit trust.
I pump in 200k initially last year 2020
Actually, make some good money on these u trust rather than putting in EPF.

Now become big appetite, and searching counter to go in, but price look like very high.
Kenanga Growth fund - 70 k - earn around 10% - sold
Eastspring small cap - 30k - earn 23% - sold
------
Principal Greater China 30k - earn 26% - sold 20k, remain 10k, now higher return of 55%
Principal AP Divenden 10K - keep till now
Principal aiiman 10k - keep till now
Principal Global titan 10k - keep till now
Principal far east consumer 10k - Keep till now
Hong leong AP dividen 20k - keep till now
Principal AP dynamic 10k  - keep till now
you are lucky to have bought in later part of 2020, if you happened to invest in Feb 2020,
try look back the performance during mid Feb till End Mar period to see and have a feel of what is it like to see your EPF money used to buy UT had encountered 20~30% losses in just 1month +...

what would you do if you see losses like that again in the near future?
will you HOLD, SELL or BUY more if you see your investment nose dived by 15~20% in a matters of weeks?

2018 happened and 2020 also happened....
those believers would says....it will come back up in a matters of months....
well, that was PAST,...what will happens to your emotions if it stayed down for sometime longer?

well again, if that is not a problem......then buy all means do as you liked to do now....focusing on your currently selected funds

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 22 2021, 02:57 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 22 2021, 07:29 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ganesh1696 @ Jan 22 2021, 07:22 PM)
Hi guys,
these are my current portfolio.
Looking to more diversify my allocation.
1) Affin Hwang World Series - Global Disruptive Innovation Fund
    MYR Hedged
2)United malaysia fund
3)amdynamic bond
4)amanahraya syariah trust fund
5)am china a shares myr-hedged
6)principal islamic lifetime enhanced sukuk fund
7)interpac dana safi.

Planning to more diversify my allocation . planning to add on some cash.
waiting for (Affin Hwang World Series-Next Generation Technology Fund) but it seems FSMONE will launch this fund sometime later .
Any other suggestions guys?
to be able to view and understand better, can you put in the current % of allocation to each of them in relation to your portfolio
SUSyklooi
post Jan 22 2021, 11:32 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Jan 22 2021, 10:17 PM)
Dear all sifu, wanna ask, if there is bubble and bear market happen, what kind of fund you will purchase? Sell off all the equity fund and switch to bond fund?
My thinking only,...
I don't know if I am in a bear until it is too late to want to react.... For by the time I realised the severity of it, my port has loss alot of %. If I sell it, I would have locked my losses. Thus I usually said to myself, corrections are usually part of the investment journey thus always prepare the composition of my port that I think can stomach the losses.
Some bear was due to policy changes... Like 2018 trade war rheotics n some are black Swan events like covid19.
Some investors hv certain % of allocation in FI not only to smoothen the volatility of the port but also double them as a war chest to deploy them to EQ to try to buy at low.....
Like now, do you think now is a bull or a trap?...
Will you still keep the allocation or you gonna sell as a precautions?......
I can only tell by looking back next few months from now, thus I just go on as usual as I think I can stomach the losses of my port if a bear appear n are still happy with the gains if the bear turned out to be a bull.
As I can afford not to touch my invested money for many years if have to.

SUSyklooi
post Jan 23 2021, 08:40 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(leesw2263 @ Jan 23 2021, 02:03 AM)
fyi, last friday, I purchase quite a number of UT,
HL Asia pacific, Principal China/India/Indo, public far east consumer and top up the AHwang existing UT
My target is simple, short term investment for 6-12 months.
when gain, park it back to EPF

My knowledge is very limited, i at least know how to check on their daily unit price/their fund factsheet, then got the feel, go in.

Anything related to Malaysia UT, i dont really interested as I also quite active in today share market, malaysia eco is not really promising.

My current job is on commodity trade, china /vietnam /Indonesia are my main market to take care.
Cheers
Let us gain together
from your earlier post...
"Now become big appetite, and searching counter to go in, but price look like very high.
Kenanga Growth fund - 70 k - earn around 10% - sold
Eastspring small cap - 30k - earn 23% - sold
------
Principal Greater China 30k - earn 26% - sold 20k, remain 10k, now higher return of 55%
Principal AP Divenden 10K - keep till now
Principal aiiman 10k - keep till now
Principal Global titan 10k - keep till now
Principal far east consumer 10k - Keep till now
Hong leong AP dividen 20k - keep till now
Principal AP dynamic 10k - keep till now"

mind telling why ALL except Global Titan are similar mandated funds? if one goes up, all same mandated funds will goes up too right? (the correlation of ROI can varies alot between them?) why not just 1 or 2?

when after having reached your target, short term investment for 6-12 months, when gain, you park it back to EPF ....
what is your target % of gain?
you park only the gain back to EPF or ALL from that particular fund back to EPF?

thumbup.gif it is good to have a glimpse at some insights & investment perspective about doing UT investing from someone that is active in share markets and has a job in commodity trading notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

thumbup.gif yes it is very nice of you to suggest "Let us gain together", ...but too bad, i think my heart rate does not allow me to join your adventures blush.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 23 2021, 09:14 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 23 2021, 11:30 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 23 2021, 11:00 AM)
seems like many funds are 0%sc in their FSM site now..
QUOTE(chichabom @ Jan 23 2021, 11:03 AM)
It is open to all existing fsm investors regardless you attend the webinar or not. I clarified with fsm few days back.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thanks for the input...
just switched 10% out from my Nomura (equivalent to about 5% of my port) to EQ at 0% Sc

hmm.gif those that want to gain credit points can move from FI to EQ at 0%Sc then move back to FI next week to gain credit points? thumbup.gif hmm.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jan 23 2021, 09:51 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ganesh1696 @ Jan 22 2021, 07:22 PM)
Hi guys,
these are my current portfolio.
Looking to more diversify my allocation.
1) Affin Hwang World Series - Global Disruptive Innovation Fund MYR Hedged = 12.5%
2)United malaysia fund=19.25%
3)amdynamic bond=16.635%
4)amanahraya syariah trust fund=14.45%
5)am china a shares myr-hedged=12.5%
6)principal islamic lifetime enhanced sukuk fund=16.41%
7)interpac dana safi =7.5%

Planning to more diversify my allocation . planning to add on some cash.
waiting for (Affin Hwang World Series-Next Generation Technology Fund) but it seems FSMONE will launch this fund sometime later .
Any other suggestions guys?
now after adding in the % allocated, can see clearer....

1) Affin Hwang World Series - Global Disruptive Innovation Fund MYR Hedged = 12.5% ---84% in US

5)am china a shares myr-hedged=12.5% --- China A share focused fund

2)United malaysia fund=19.25% ---Malaysia focused Balanced fund (90% in Equities as per Dec 2020 factsheet)
7)interpac dana safi =7.5% --- Malaysia focused Eq

total in M'sia Eq = 26.75%

3)amdynamic bond=16.635% -- Malaysia focused FI
4)amanahraya syariah trust fund=14.45% --- Malaysia Focused FI
6)principal islamic lifetime enhanced sukuk fund=16.41% --- Malaysia focused FI

Total in M'sia FI = 47.5%

your portfolio composition is roughly about this,....
China A-share mkt EQ = 12.5%
US tech & US healthcare EQ = 10.5%
Malaysia focused EQ = 26.75%
Malaysia Focused FI = 47.5%

how do you want to diversify it to make it comfortable with your risk appetite and risk capacity? you are in a much better position to make that decision....
to some,...they may said that you are too heavy in Malaysia EQ for your port has 53% in M'sia Eq out of your total Equities investment ...but if you liked it to be so,...it is OK too.

65 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0720sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:33 PM