AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

lolzcalvin
post Nov 7 2020, 05:37 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(popadelic @ Nov 7 2020, 05:33 PM)
Gents, quick question im running 5900x with aorus atc800 cpu cooler, on stress test full load temp hitting 79c, is this safe? sorry for noob question, totally new on pc scene..

not planning to do OC or what in the future, just work, gaming and streaming
dunno, i have yet found a 5900X without a required PC bundle so i can't tell if it's normal or not biggrin.gif and i'm desperate atm

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Nov 7 2020, 05:38 PM
lolzcalvin
post Nov 12 2020, 04:30 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Nov 12 2020, 12:42 AM)
Bought Ryzen 9 5900x, G.skill neo 4x 8gb 3600mhz yesterday to run quad channel on aoruz x570 master and rtx3080. Hope tomorrow the delivery will arrive. Lets check how it flare over my existing current i7 6700k. and gtx1070ti. Hope it will gain at least 3 times improvement in the performance and it will be here to stay for the next 5 years.
nice one. for me i cant buy bundled things (i'd expect your stuffs are all bundled?) because i only want to replace my CPU. sad.gif
lolzcalvin
post Dec 25 2020, 01:22 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 25 2020, 08:39 AM)
there is no such thing as future proof. the last future proof mobo, which is by a huge luck with simple hacks (thanks to win-raid forum), is the ASRock Z170 OCF which support cpu that are years ahead of skylake era. that's also because intel is stuck with skylake as the reference design. tongue.gif
big up for this. for me, it's 'upgrade as you go'. i somehow calculated my own cost of me getting "future proof material" vs the "upgrade as you go" path...usually these future proof materials don't really get future proofed because they actually get obsolete instead... as companies will release them in the future many more times, on top of several iterations of additional refinements that bring more values to said future proof materials...turns out 'upgrade as you go' is a pretty viable option.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Dec 25 2020, 01:23 PM
lolzcalvin
post Dec 26 2020, 02:40 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Dec 26 2020, 01:34 PM)
i think there needs to be a clarification on tdp as many users seems to not understand and having misconceptions. power consumption does not equate to tdp.

intel may be drawing 250w on all core full load but the max tdp is only 125w where it will start to throttle at that temp. Likewise AMD are 105w.. the difference is the effeciency where the power consumption on amd is much lower thanks to 7nm, but the heat output is only 20w lower. So the answer to whether intel is Hot AF and can melt rooms... it’s a big NO. infact a 125W rated 120mm aio is quite sufficient to prevent a 10900k from throttling.

As for idle.. then it’s a diff game. Intel wins hands down here with a more mature speed step algorithm with probably 2-3C above ambient.
another overlooked fact is that intel is easy to OC as well
i remembered back in 2016 i had a 6600K, then 2017 changed to 6700K cuz beh tahan 4c4t...
but both were easy to OC, stamp an all core multiplier, test different voltages...all done. didn't even need to set basic settings like VSOC and LLC...all at auto. (most likely because back in z170 days there was no such thing as LLC)

then after 6700K i went for 3900X. it's a very good chip, not without my initial bumpy ride though.
so imagine my shock when it was idling at 45-55C (compared to last time usually at 30-32c on both 6600K and 6700K) stock, and a prime95 small fft load at >90C and >100c overclocked (i immediately stopped p95 stress test after i saw that temp) biggrin.gif
then i was shocked to find that when idling, it was doing 1.45V in both VID and VCore. that was where i learned about zen2 boost behaviour, where software such as logitech g, razer synapse and corsair icue would frequently "trigger boosts" on the CPU.
then of course i've had numerous bsod issues most of the time happened directly after startup, and always had to reset bios to test again.
one time the main bios was completely broken after a startup bsod, but fortunately i had second bios to boot from. somehow the main bios was fixed after i updated both bioses from the second bios about a week later.

it took me about 1-2 months to completely stabilize my system and perfectly stable... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
i had to
- learn about LLC, understood vdroop and amp/voltage relationship in CPU on how it pulls amp based on voltage, and LLC compensation on vdroop
- turn off fast boot not only on BIOS, but also on win10 settings as well
- get used to perform shift+shutdown
- distance myself with PBO, performed per CCX overclocking instead, one CCX runs at 4.5, the rest at 4.3 at 1.3V SET at LLC med and now my CPU runs at 40-45C idle, loads at 70-80C which is reasonable.
- avoid stress testing my CPU with prime95. when for 20-30 iterations of cinebench and 2-3 hours of aida64 extreme instead...
- set VSOC manually to 1.1 and always explicitly state 1.35V on mem voltage for DOCP/XMP memory config (this is probably not CPU related, most likely the BIOS is being stupid)

so yeah...verdict is if you're used to easy OC and that you are able to OC past the rated boost clock on all core...or don't want to read those aggressive numbers from temp and vcore on stock idle...intel is the most favorable one.
plus it's still perform like a beast in gaming.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Dec 26 2020, 02:43 PM
lolzcalvin
post Nov 26 2021, 02:56 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

still waiting for zen 4 patiently...they hinted around 2nd half of 22 didn't they?
lolzcalvin
post Sep 17 2022, 02:09 AM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Sep 2 2022, 10:38 PM)
wow. based on leaked R23 benchmark from both sides, Ryzen9 7950X is competitive against i9 13900K with less cores but same threads. guess that high frequency boost does help AMD out this gen. default 5.0 or 5.1 GHz all core boost for 7950X depending on cooling solution.

https://videocardz.com/newz/amd-ryzen-9-795...bench-r23-tests

also rumour said September 20 is the end of NDA.
tbh if 7950x isn't competitive enough against the raptors then might as well go with the raptors lol...plus i really hope AMD has learned all the lessons needed from AM4 and roll out AM5 smoothly. but we'll see. either of which fails to deliver means going back to intel for me innocent.gif since I've had good experience back in LGA1151 days.
lolzcalvin
post Sep 19 2022, 03:09 AM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Sep 17 2022, 12:34 PM)
It's not the just the performance. Ppl tend to forget or overlook other factors such as platform stability and user satisfaction; so does all those reviews.
exactly why I highlighted AM5. I didn't have a smooth experience on AM4 compared to LGA1151.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Sep 19 2022, 03:10 AM
lolzcalvin
post Oct 1 2022, 01:53 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Sep 28 2022, 02:46 PM)
All I've been certain of after reading and watching the Zen 4 content these past 2 days is to wait to see what Raptor Lake brings, and when AMD responds with the 7000x3d variants. Only then I'll decide.
pretty much this
lolzcalvin
post Nov 8 2022, 06:57 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

yet i'm here daydreaming about 7950X to go sub-3k because 13900k provides better performance with cheaper price tag lol.
lolzcalvin
post Mar 1 2023, 08:48 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

a lot reviewers not receiving 7900X3D review units innocent.gif guess there's something about it
lolzcalvin
post Apr 23 2023, 01:44 AM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

apparently there's a case of 7800X3D burnt up, and both mobo and CPU are killed.
https://wccftech.com/amd-ryzen-7-7800x3d-cp...70-motherboard/
https://videocardz.com/newz/redditors-ryzen...ffers-to-buy-it

other than the 7800X3D case, apparently a 7950X3D is affected in the same fashion too:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/11yfw...50x3d_are_burn/

le ledditers started to do their own investigations and suspecting the cause to be asus mobo messing up their bios
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/12uvc...urning_7000x3d/
https://www.reddit.com/r/hardware/comments/...or_their_x670e/

however, note that it's le reddit, better to wait for investigations from trusted sources such as GN instead of jumping the gun.

let's see if j2c gonna make a vid about this or not lmao

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Apr 23 2023, 01:46 AM
lolzcalvin
post Apr 25 2023, 08:54 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

uh oh

summary: der8auer's 7900X (given by a user, overheated and melted the IHS away) has had similar damage around similar area, and there's a chance it's due to EXPO (basically AMD's version of XMP) and VSoC. both EXPO and VSoC are highlighted by Asus in their statement regarding to the rushed BIOS updates, given to der8auer. in the video it is also implied that the issue not only affecting ASUS, but also other motherboards.

more related news:
TechPowerUp: AMD Ryzen 7000X3D Processors Prone to Physical Damage with Voltage-assisted Overclocking, Motherboard Vendors Rush BIOS Updates with Voltage Limiters

igorsLAB's analysis: Pin analysis of the destroyed Ryzen 7800X3D – All burned pins supply the VDDCR (CPU Core Power Supply)
lolzcalvin
post Apr 30 2023, 01:00 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

kaboom

lolzcalvin
post May 14 2023, 02:28 PM

shibe in predicament
1,583 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 14 2023, 09:04 AM)
Jay2cents also fired Asus.

kitguru also "fired" asus (fired by)
https://www.kitguru.net/channel/generaltech...sitive-reviews/

ASUS UK PR believes it is ‘legal to buy positive reviews’

Now in our 14th year as an independent technology publication, KitGuru has never been more shocked than when the person responsible for PR samples and budget for the UK posted publicly on one of our channels that they believed it was legal to buy positive reviews. The same sentiment has been expressed in a previous call with several ASUS personnel – followed by confusion on their part as we tried to explain that positive messaging was something that they would do with their advertising and promotions, but that we valued editorial integrity above everything else. This was not the behaviour and mentality that we had come to believe existed in ASUS, since it started to make big waves in the motherboard sector back in the mid-1990s, so we filed it away.

Increased pressure to say positive things and public statements from the person responsible for sampling and related budgets, saying that they were “Not expecting any coverage of ASUS at CES 2023, because KitGuru isn’t being paid”. Frankly, it was disgusting to see and so untrue as to be actionable. But that’s not who we are as a company. No one tells us what to cover. Despite this increasingly negative, non-customer-supporting view being expressed by ASUS, we still covered their 540Hz monitor, the Noctua-enabled RTX 4080 and their latest laptop products. Why? Because those stories are genuinely interesting for you – our reader – and our editorial focus is dictated by readers – not manufacturers.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0378sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:19 PM